eh side track abit, i am interested in learning to play a guitar but however i am left-handed and thus i would like to ask whether if there's any good left-handed teacher here/or if you happened to know there's any to guide me?

If u're patience in one moment of anger, u will avoid 100 days of sorrow.

• Replies 96

Originally posted by _CS_@April 11, 2007 11:22 pm

shi fu

got question

for some chords hor

need to use the index finger to depress across all 6 strings

how to press properly ah?

got any special way or not?

kaoz, i got many many many chords cannot play properly, becos of this problem of not pressing correctly

u mean barre chords is it?

i suppose u r right handed rite? so u'll be using ur left hand to press the strings, tilt ur fore finger slighty so tht u r using the side of ur finger to press the strings, tis way the strings wont be muted. hope tis helps, it helped me quite a bit last time

Originally posted by shinkai@April 12, 2007 09:57 am

eh side track abit, i am interested in learning to play a guitar but however i am left-handed and thus i would like to ask whether if there's any good left-handed teacher here/or if you happened to know there's any to guide me?

its the same thing, jus tht maybe if u buy a left handed guitar wld be easier for u but i have a couple of frens who r left handed but plays using the right handed position

Originally posted by redname+April 12, 2007 10:31 am-->
QUOTE (redname @ April 12, 2007 10:31 am)
u mean barre chords is it?

i suppose u r right handed rite? so u'll be using ur left hand to press the strings, tilt ur fore finger slighty so tht u r using the side of ur finger to press the strings, tis way the strings wont be muted. hope tis helps, it helped me quite a bit last time [/b]

yeah

me is right handed, so my left hand pressing la

and oh, din know the correct term is "barre"

Originally posted by redname@April 11, 2007 10:50 pm

dnt really get wat u mean?

if u dnt wanna learn chords then wat can u pluck? plucking jus play the chords by one string one string like tht lor

ok, ignore the chords thing. know any website to get music notes? i only know how to read by numbers.

i rather hav nightmares den sweet dreams of u

Originally posted by redname@April 12, 2007 10:32 am

its the same thing, jus tht maybe if u buy a left handed guitar wld be easier for u but i have a couple of frens who r left handed but plays using the right handed position

yeah i am learning right handed guitar but i realised my right hand is not as powerful as my left in terms of plucking and strumming and thus i would like to learn left handed way.

yup will be buying a left handed guitar but before that i need to get a tutor who knows how to teach me haha.. any recommendation? thanks.

If u're patience in one moment of anger, u will avoid 100 days of sorrow.

Originally posted by shinkai@April 13, 2007 11:58 am

yeah i am learning right handed guitar but i realised my right hand is not as powerful as my left in terms of plucking and strumming and thus i would like to learn left handed way.

yup will be buying a left handed guitar but before that i need to get a tutor who knows how to teach me haha.. any recommendation? thanks.

What's your budget for a guitar tuitor?

Originally posted by shinkai@April 13, 2007 11:58 am

how much u willing to spend on lessons?

Originally posted by shinkai@April 12, 2007 09:57 am

hi there bro,

i'm left handed also but i play a right handed guitar or regular guitar. it's not difficult. just gotta get used to it.

besides, it's kinda good for left handers to use right handed guitars too because your left hand is your master hand which makes it easier to change chords. especially barre chords. strumming is easier in the beginning so therefore concentrate more on finding the right chords first. being left handed, u should find this an easier process.

oh and one big disadvantage abt using left handed guitars - you can't share and you can't just pick any guitar up and start playing which is seriously troublesome because you can't show-off your skills to everyone whenever u want! :cheeky:

cheers and happy playing! :cheer:

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:TU8QDjA-Of9VgM:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/e/e2/That_%2770s_Show_logo.png

Anyone can play guitar, it's how well you play it :)

I know left handed playing right handed guitars and vice versa. There's this left handed who's playing a right handed guitar WITHOUT re-stringing the guitar. Yes. Here in Singapore. Anything is possible, just find which one you're comfortable with. Basically, when I started playing, this guy from school gave me some pretty goof advice. Just practice everyday. Even if it's 5min or 10min, still at least pick up the guitar and try to play it at least once a day.

Bass - You gotta feel it la. It's the same as guitar actually, except only 4 strings and instead of playing chords, you're playing single notes. So it's like macam every time playing solo. lol. But bass is fun la. And also important. Don't see the bassist just stand one corner pluck one or two notes here and there only, next time when you all jam you try, jam half way the bassist just suddenly stop playing. You'll see somehow suddenly the sound sounds very empty and lonely.

w y x m m

Guest billabong

Wo zhen de shou shang le

Hi can someone enlighten me what are the chords he uses to play the song?

I'm trying to learn this song though. Thank you very much.

C D Bm Em C D G

the rest go figure out urself bah. its more fun liddat. =D

learn from other's mistakes.

you cant live long enough to make all those mistakes yourself..

Guest billabong
Originally posted by darkyzz@April 19, 2007 01:46 pm

C D Bm Em C D G

the rest go figure out urself bah. its more fun liddat. =D

Thanks a lot fren :cheeky:

i also agar agar only.. its either Bm or B#m. my guitar from 1 guitar became 2 guitar liao, also cannot test.. so few ppl into guitaring? i still thought of finding some professional guitarist teach me. =D

Guest billabong
Originally posted by darkyzz@April 21, 2007 03:00 pm

i also agar agar only.. its either Bm or B#m. my guitar from 1 guitar became 2 guitar liao, also cannot test.. so few ppl into guitaring? i still thought of finding some professional guitarist teach me. =D

not necessary lah, 'san ger cho pi jiang sai guo zhu ger liang' LOL.

Bm/F#....Learn "open" barred chords. Then you can use your thumb to hit the bass notes. It helps a lot. Plus you can do the lazy method of changing chords with just a switch of a finger or two. :)

But barred chords really have to practice to get used to it and get the strength. That one bo pian.

w y x m m

barring hands will sour one lol. can ask u guys, got this clip thing that hold on to the neck like barring. main purpose is to tone up or down the guitar, so as no need to retune. whats that thing called?

Originally posted by plasticblackspecs@April 24, 2007 05:14 pm

Yea, capo. But it's mainly for changing keys not to replace barred chords. Train fingers abit la. Your significant other will be very happy with your strong fingers. lol

very chim. took some time to understand.

anyway thanks!