CB400 S4 vs XJR400 - which is better?

surfnsplash

• Replies 42

XJR400 seldom seen on the road...

But outlook and performance wise...I still prefer Super 4 ! There muz be a reason why there's so many S4 out there...:thumb:

I think if you choose s4, you will not go wrong! I think it has a bullet-proof engine man! :thumb: Besides... if you bring your s4 for servicing, I think the spare parts are readily available at any motortiam....

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

yah...as mention by Sis s4^dreamer...Parts are easier to find and the engine is very hardy. :thumb:

You forgetting something.

whos going to have a second look at a cb400 when there are so many on the road? DRZs are also gaining in popularity and losing its unique factor.

While if you use another bike (Ducati Monster, Suzuki Bandit, Suzuki Impulse, Yamaha XJR400... etc) chances are someone will take a longer, lasting look at your bike.

CB400s are common, and starting to be boring on the eyes. especially when the design of the new cb400 REVO looks so strange. sharp tail, but engine block and exhaust trying to pass off as a vintage looker?

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

You forgetting something.

whos going to have a second look at a cb400 when there are so many on the road? DRZs are also gaining in popularity and losing its unique factor.

While if you use another bike (Ducati Monster, Suzuki Bandit, Suzuki Impulse, Yamaha XJR400... etc) chances are someone will take a longer, lasting look at your bike.

CB400s are common, and starting to be boring on the eyes. especially when the design of the new cb400 REVO looks so strange. sharp tail, but engine block and exhaust trying to pass off as a vintage looker?

if u compare just the "looks" super4 and XJR are not much different..

just take out the logo, they cant differentiate much from a glance..

(same goes for impulse 400 with rather squarish tank)

XJR

http://mybikeshop.files.wordpress.com/2007/12/yamaha_xjr-400-r_460px.jpg

CB 400

http://www.motorcyclespecs.co.za/Gallery/Honda%20CB400%20Super%20four%2005%20%202.jpg

suzuki impulse 400

http://www.bikez.com/pictures/suzuki/2005/21423_0_1_2_gsx%20400%20impulse_Image%20credits%20-%20Suzuki.jpg

i'd rather look twice for hornet 250, VTR 250, bandit 400, and ducati 400.. :)

honda hornet 250 (with unique undertail pipe)

http://www.motorcycle.co.nz/media/bikes/large/1033.jpg

honda VTR 250 (honda's ducati version.. love the naked frame)

http://www.motorsports-network.com/HONDA/models/vtr2502.jpg

suzuki bandit 400 (nake frame and monoshock)

http://www.suzukicycles.org/photos/suzuki-history/1989/1989_bandit400_450.jpg

ducati monster 400 (USD forks... ducati vroom)

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c4/Ducati_400_Monster.jpg

or old skool CB 400 four.... :lovestruck:

http://www.hayes.jp/photos/My%20CB400F.jpg

some more info can be found here..

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=3216104&postcount=42

wah vtr really look nice ek? did not know there is such model...must be rare breed ek...cool

well another bike u might consider...heh...SV400...if u can find though...i cant find a reliable one...

http://www.scs-tokyo.co.jp/suzuki/sv400/sv400image.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/khairul/siggy%20editor/Yishundam.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE - http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

Thread quite informative. Guess if you want peace of mind (i.e you care so much for resale value, availability of spare parts, range of mods), then perhaps the S4 is suitable for you. However, like mentioned, it's very common on the road.

The other bikes will definitely make for more variety on the roads :thumb:

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

if u compare just the "looks" super4 and XJR are not much different..

just take out the logo, they cant differentiate much from a glance..

(same goes for impulse 400 with rather squarish tank)

or old skool CB 400 four.... :lovestruck:

http://www.hayes.jp/photos/My%20CB400F.jpg

some more info can be found here..

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=3216104&postcount=42

There are minute little differences.

Like how the XJR has Ohlin suspensions as a standard.

How the Monster has inverted forks.

And the Bandit 400 has old school gigantic UFO shaped signal lights as standard.

Last picture, if i recall properly, is a Honda CB350 "Four". The 4-4 exhaust system is a looker isnt it?

http://www.realclassic.co.uk/honda05012100.html

The owner in the above thread had her original 4-4 exhaust to swopped to a 4-1 system. ugh. booooring. She found somone to recreate a 4-4.

wish its as easy here in singapore.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

I think all in all... for a 2A bike, resale value is pretty important!

Well, let's face it... I'm very sure that most of the present 2A license holders will eventually move up to class 2 and will want to sell off the 2A bike (Super 4, XJR, etc...) Therefore, the issue of resale value comes in.

For 2A bikes, I'm very sure that if you choose s4... you will not have any problems with the resale value! :thumb: And will be able to sell off the bike with lesser depreciation.

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

u haven seen it all yet:angel:

to TS, buy the bike tat u like

Actually s4 can be unique too! It really depends on how you mod your bike. I saw a lot of nicely modded super 4s in the forums...

In my opinion, as long as you keep your bike clean, your bike will still look very nice. Let's put it in this way... any bikes, be it new or old, if you don't take care and keep it clean, it'll look horrible...

So, surfnsplash... have you made a decision yet?

This equation is simple ppl

its true that s4 resale value is high compared to xjr4..BUT.....

riding in singapore roads for those just looking for transport xjr is cheaper when it comes to service. firstly EO is 2 ltrs instead of s4 3 ltrs ,air/oil cooled no need coolant ,and tank is 20ltrs..xjr is much more heavier but but it does not compromise on performance.xjr will run good as long as u got a good tune of the carb good eo..

the only difference is Vtec.

Now let me explain a lil abt vtec..it does not improve performance but may give a smoother ride..if yall actually check this vtec thingy also is available in honda cars but its actually something like additional brain for the vehicle giving smooth gear shift ,controlled electrical discharge and so on.and also the new revo abs is also tapped at ecu thru vtec..BUT 1 Minor power glitch will damage the ecu.

Like the XJR if you get a new one and get to have the bike tuned to your personal riding style rest assured no problems will arise.Parts is cheap if u get from LAB.and ah boy will take in orders for xjrers not to worry. Y its not much otr is because the first batch of xjr in 95-96 can only do 170 top speed but now i have prooved n tried 197kmh no problems..and mine is stock..Just make sure the bike doctor u send your bike to has passion to his job..

If you r gettin a second hand xjr pls do ask xjr club members for help coz gettin to pay a high price for it really sucks..if only everyone rides an xjr ofcoz you will get parts as easy as s4 everywhere..

but with all do respect do get something u r really confortable with..

Live to Ride,Ride to Live

ppl say S4 so common... i'd say we live in HDB so common... but what else we can choose ?? private ? condo ? :sian:

resale value ??? the more u invest, the more u lose..

u buy spec3 about 9-10k ... 1 year later u sell 7-8k only. (havent include all the down payment and interest if u cant afford full cash)

u buy bandit 400 for $1k plus, u can sell back 800 anytime.... so resale value wise bandit is better than any other.... :p

engine oil ? u are not changing every week, once every 2-3 months for 50~$ is affordable.

so just get what u want.. :cheers:

resale value ??? the more u invest, the more u lose..

:

best till, u invest but dun sell, u will not lose:angel:

This equation is simple ppl

its true that s4 resale value is high compared to xjr4..BUT.....

riding in singapore roads for those just looking for transport xjr is cheaper when it comes to service. firstly EO is 2 ltrs instead of s4 3 ltrs ,air/oil cooled no need coolant ,and tank is 20ltrs..xjr is much more heavier but but it does not compromise on performance.xjr will run good as long as u got a good tune of the carb good eo..

the only difference is Vtec.

Now let me explain a lil abt vtec..it does not improve performance but may give a smoother ride..if yall actually check this vtec thingy also is available in honda cars but its actually something like additional brain for the vehicle giving smooth gear shift ,controlled electrical discharge and so on.and also the new revo abs is also tapped at ecu thru vtec..BUT 1 Minor power glitch will damage the ecu.

Like the XJR if you get a new one and get to have the bike tuned to your personal riding style rest assured no problems will arise.Parts is cheap if u get from LAB.and ah boy will take in orders for xjrers not to worry. Y its not much otr is because the first batch of xjr in 95-96 can only do 170 top speed but now i have prooved n tried 197kmh no problems..and mine is stock..Just make sure the bike doctor u send your bike to has passion to his job..

If you r gettin a second hand xjr pls do ask xjr club members for help coz gettin to pay a high price for it really sucks..if only everyone rides an xjr ofcoz you will get parts as easy as s4 everywhere..

but with all do respect do get something u r really confortable with..

Vtec is not something to do with the electrics. It's the camshaft. It just opens up more valves at a certain RPM. Do read up. Thanks.

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b112/h4hahak1m/DSC01047-1.jpg

Spark 135 and x1r riders!

Add yourself into our new FB page now!

Or if u're and ex-spark/x1r rider.

No registration fees :)

https://www.facebook.com/yamahat135sbf

I'm a Mechanical Engineer, and very interested in engines, so I read up about VTEC many years before. It's really not about the electronics. It's the Valve Timing, and that's the VT part of VTEC. EC stands for Electronic Control or something.

For 4-stroke engines, there are 4 strokes (duh!): 1. Intake (piston down, suck in petrol+air); 2: Compression (piston up); 3. Ignition (spark fired, piston pushed down, also called Power Stroke); 4. Exhaust (piston up, push exhaust out).

For all 4-stroke engines, at higher RPMs, all strokes take place faster. But fuel-air can only move so fast, and burn so fast. Result is, petrol has lesser time to get sucked in and so less get sucked in, and also lesser time to burn fully before being exhausted. So engines lose power, or unable to go to higher rpms.

But with VTEC, for motorbikes at least, the engine switches from a 2-valve (1 intake, 1 exhaust) to 4 valves once it reaches a certain high RPM (6-7k). This enables the engine to suck in more air in that short time (like when a swimmer gasps for air with a wide open mouth before plunging back into the water), and exhaust all the air too. (I think I read somewhere that the time of the spark firing is also slightly earlier to enable more complete combustion). Of course, fuel consumption increases.

Turbo, VTEC, fuel-injection etc are all ways of increasing the power. But done differently. Turbo pre-compresses the fuel-air, so there's actually MORE fuel-air pushed in at Intake. Fuel Injection injects the fuel directly between Intake and Compression, so the Intake only takes in air without the fuel, resulting in more fuel-air at Compression.

Sorry ah, but can't help going into so much detail about something I'm so passionate about - ENGINES!!

Hehehe... getting my Super 4 tomorrow. So excited.

'01-'03: RXZ (died before 10 y.o.)

'03-'08: Steed (at 14 y.o., started guzzling like 2 ltr car)

'08-??: S4 :)