FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

FOR VISOR LEGISLATION

1. Do I have to wear a clear tint visor at night? / Can I continue to wear my tinted visor at night if it's within the regulations?

You can use any helmet with visor of at least 70% light transmittance at any time.

2. How about coloured tints? Or Full face helmets?

Coloured tinted visors are fine if they meet the 70% light transmittance. Full face helmets must also meet the requirements. However visors with reflective surfaces are not allowed. Please go to http://www.spring.gov.sg for a full list of the approved helmets.

3. Does the change in law means I have to buy a new helmet or change my visor?

No, you can continue to use your current helmet, if it meets the requirement of having at least 70% light transmittance.

4. I just bought a new helmet with some tint; how do I know the visor is within the law regulations?

You may check with the retailer whom you bought from. All retailers must also comply with the law.

5. Can I get a refund if the helmet I bought is not within the regulations?

You would have to check with the shop that sold the helmet. Nonetheless, it is an offence for the retailer to sell any helmet that is unapproved. You may provide the particulars of the retailer to Traffic Police for investigation pertaining to the sale of unapproved helmets.

6. Is TP checking the suppliers to ensure that the helmets they bring in, and which we subsequently buy, is within the law regulations?

TP will conduct spot checks on the retailers if information is received of an illegal sale. Any retailer found flouting the law would be charged in court.

7. Does the officer have to bring my helmet to LTA inspection centre if my visor is suspected of flouting the new rule?

No, the officer will be able to determine on the spot, the light transmittance of the visor using a tint meter.

8. Which are the stakeholders TP have discussions with on the review?

A Working Group comprising stakeholders, specific users and interest groups1 was set up in February 2003 to review the requirements for the motorcycle visors. There's also a public consultation on the revised requirements for the visor and eventual approval by the General Engineering and Safety Standards Committee (GESSC) to amend the SS9:1992.

1 Stakeholders - The Working Group was chaired by Prof Chin Hoong Chor of NUS. SPRING; Traffic Police Department, Criminal Investigation Department, Operations Department; Land Transport Authority; specific users such as Storm Riders and Harley Owners Group; interest groups - National Safety Council, Automobile Association of Singapore, Singapore Motor Cycle Trade Association, Ministry of Health, Singapore Safety Driving Centre, Comfort Driving Centre and Bukit Batok Driving Centre, NUS and the Ergonomics Society of Singapore.

9. Would it be safe for the riders and other road users? Or when they wear them at night?

The lifting of the ban on tinted visors was decided after a lengthy review process which determined that the 70% light transmittance for visors is safe for both day and night riding and will not impede the riders' view thereby posing danger to other road users.

10. Can I wear sunglasses while wearing an approved version of the tinted visor?

Sunglasses worn together with the approved visor is ok. This is also the current position for motorcyclists as well as for motorcar drivers. In situations where it's dark/dimly lit, riders are expected to remove the sunglasses. The standard for the new visor is deemed clear enough for universal (including night) use.

• Replies 256

Sunglasses i tot its our own business? I can wear them at midnite and they wun catch rite?

10. Can I wear sunglasses while wearing an approved version of the tinted visor?

Sunglasses worn together with the approved visor is ok.This is also the current position for motorcyclists as well as for motorcar drivers. In situations where it's dark/dimly lit, riders are expected to remove the sunglasses.

The standard for the new visor is deemed clear enough for universal (including night) use.

Biased against riders... pui! :sian:

don bother gng to find a approved tinted visor it will be hard to find and with %70 light to go through ....i find tat its as good as using a clear visor...not much help with that %30 tinted :giddy:

i and a few of my friends got fined for using the tinted visor $50 each...unless u got lots of $50 from ang bao if not don use tinted visor :thumb:

i learnt my lesson n made a pair of sunglass and change my visor to a CLEAR one :thumb: :thumb:

Originally posted by frz@Feb 23 2005, 01:28 PM

i thought is 50% tinted?

U thought wrong.

DREAM_MACHINE, good effort :thumb:

but....it's a repeated thread. Tat info was posted long ago.

In situations where it's dark/dimly lit, riders are expected to remove the sunglasses. The standard for the new visor is deemed clear enough for universal (including night) use.

Well, tell me how easy it is to take off a sunglass when entering a tunnel, or an underground carpark, while braking with right leg, right hand, left hand controlling clutch, going down a slippery concrete slope, going over speed bumps, negotiating barriers??

And where the F am I going to put my oakleys? Between my legs, so they can drop off and some car behind can crush my $300 oakleys? Issn't it so much easier to flip up a tinted visor?

End up everytime I enter a covered carpark from a bright sunny day, I get blinded for at least 2 minutes while my eyes adjust.

some additional info 4 u guys.

u guys shld have came across those visors from LAB rite?

they comes in CLEAR, SLIGHTLY TINTED & DARK as claimed by LAB.

dark visors ll definitely fails the light transmittance test.

debate is on the slightly tinted, how exactly is slightly tinted, tinted??

38%, tats wat one TP told a fren of mine when he was issuing the summon.

btw, those TP dun juz blabbe, they do carry the light transmittance tester with them.

ok heres some things which i need confirmation of...i am very sure that the rider is not allowed to wear tinted visor...but wat about the pillion???

so issit ok if the rider wear a clear visor but the pillion wear a tinted one???

Originally posted by standlee@Feb 25 2005, 06:57 PM

some additional info 4 u guys.

u guys shld have came across those visors from LAB rite?

they comes in CLEAR, SLIGHTLY TINTED & DARK as claimed by LAB.

dark visors ll definitely fails the light transmittance test.

debate is on the slightly tinted, how exactly is slightly tinted, tinted??

38%, tats wat one TP told a fren of mine when he was issuing the summon.

btw, those TP dun juz blabbe, they do carry the light transmittance tester with them.

ya, they do carry the device wif them and their own no lan CLEAR visor is only 82 percent light transmittence

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg

don bother about getting those tinted visors from lab that pass the light transmission test. it does not exist...even if it does...they sure tell u can pass if not how they earn money

get the clear one and wear a sunglass....not worth paying $50 every time kana summon by tp

pillion can wear tinted (meaning wont get summon but verbal warning )

Originally posted by Ah Siao@Mar 6 2005, 11:59 PM

don bother about getting those tinted visors from lab that pass the light transmission test. it does not exist...even if it does...they sure tell u can pass if not how they earn money

get the clear one and wear a sunglass....not worth paying $50 every time kana summon by tp

pillion can wear tinted (meaning wont get summon but verbal warning )

my Zeus light smoke 38% tinted(tp give chance)..he oso tested a clear visor for me to see..it's around 24% tinted(clear visor :sian: )

The reading's on the Tint 'O' Meter(Lame name for the gadget) will tell u how many % of light is going thru..

Pillion can be summon for wearing tinted visor which fail their test(my fren kena be4)..it's up to the tp on whether they wana fine u a not..

2 times of $50 can buy 1 new good helmet!

Originally posted by Dafanshu@Apr 4 2005, 05:43 PM

2 times of $50 can buy 1 new good helmet!

You sure?

My visor alone costs that much...

Originally posted by nE0@Apr 4 2005, 05:58 PM

You sure?

My visor alone costs that much...

wha.. bro,u using wad helmet?

living legend??? who else but the welsh wizard...

Originally posted by Stuntlover@Apr 11 2005, 09:58 AM

can pillion wear tinted visor..?

By right is cannot, but usually the TP will give chance as long as the rider is not wearing tinted visor....but when a person is suay, anything can happen :giddy:

April 2004 - June 2005 : Honda NSR150SP

June 2005 - August 2006 : Honda RVF400 NC35

August 2006 - Present : Yamaha YZF-R1

Originally posted by w3rT@Apr 7 2005, 11:15 AM

wha.. bro,u using wad helmet?

AGV.

Tinted Visors from the better brands cost around this price too.

Originally posted by Stuntlover@Apr 11 2005, 09:58 AM

can pillion wear tinted visor..?

Nope, same rules apply to pillion. So unless the TP turns a blind eye, it is a bookable offence as well.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

yesterday kena road block the officer told me pillion visor don really matters they more attention to riders. i kena $50. my visor only allows 35% lite pass. way below some more its from LAB and he says can pass one. anyone of u bought from him and kena b4? got complain to him?

Originally posted by kona@Apr 27 2005, 09:39 AM

yesterday kena road block the officer told me pillion visor don really matters they more attention to riders. i kena $50. my visor only allows 35% lite pass. way below some more its from LAB and he says can pass one. anyone of u bought from him and kena b4? got complain to him?

i think the posts above stated quite clearly... don't bother. LAB 'sure passed' tinted visors won't pass tp's tint o'meter.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

I don't think there'll be much use complaining to ah boy, but that's if you can get him off the phone to answer you first heh. According to Traffic Police's guidelines, you can let them know the vendor for your helmet if it was claimed to be yada yada, and TP will take action.

Originally posted by Kr0n@May 8 2005, 12:48 PM

I don't think there'll be much use complaining to ah boy, but that's if you can get him off the phone to answer you first heh. According to Traffic Police's guidelines, you can let them know the vendor for your helmet if it was claimed to be yada yada, and TP will take action.

In the end.. the point is.. did LAB twist your arm and insist that you buy the visor??

Neither did he insist that you listen to his sales pitch about the visor and that it meets the regulations.

He did not.. you willingly took out your own money, under no duress or threat, and paid him smiling, thinking you had a good deal.

And now kena book... cry father cry mother, want to blame LAB. As good as being caught whislt high on drugs then insist it is the drug pusher's fault and you are innocent.

I am not siding the TP or LAB. The point is.. the law is not new. Every rider knows about it. Even though they know they can get booked and fined.. some will still wear for whatever reasons they may have.

Some people just love to give their hard earned money to the TPs.

Originally posted by Raptor@May 8 2005, 01:08 PM

And now kena book... cry father cry mother, want to blame LAB. As good as being caught whislt high on drugs then insist it is the drug pusher's fault and you are innocent.

I am not siding the TP or LAB. The point is.. the law is not new. Every rider knows about it. Even though they know they can get booked and fined.. some will still wear for whatever reasons they may have.

Some people just love to give their hard earned money to the TPs.

I so agree... :thumb: