Originally posted by TheDoctor_46@Mar 24 2004, 09:13 PM

Hi fellow BBs..

As for the engine oil, do i really need to use a fully synthetic oil? or a semi one will do?

Mine is the FI model, FT plate... wondering if some mods are required to make it more "fierce" ? if yes wat is required?

and some good recommendations of trustworthy bike shops pls...thks!!

I feel..

Blackbird is known for it smoothness rather than anything else. If you really decided to mod it become more "fierce", i guess it might not be very suitable for ya. It like changing the real nature of the bike..

No hard feeling tot, just my personal opinion.

• Replies 995

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by dreams2345@Mar 21 2004, 08:16 PM

I've just hit my second oil change, before that i brought up the rear of the BB by 6mm using spacers inserted above the suspension. It gives the BB better handling and makes the bike lighter. Able to turn the bike easily as the handling is so much lighter. When I reach 3k on the odom then i'll tune the injector, change the air filter knn, change to iridium plugs,lower my front forks, purge the catalyic converters at the exhaust to make it run cooler and not trap too much heat. Maybe a rear hugger to keep my girl happy so that when it rains, water will not splash on her when pillion. And of course not forgetting a bra to protect my BB's modesty... haha!

Just some of my future undertakings

Care to share how does adding the 6mm spacers improve the handling and making the bike lighter?

And how does purging the catalytic converter helps the bike run cooler?

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by Duper_four@Mar 23 2004, 06:38 PM

erm..im juz curious..

anione out there actualli mould a one piece tailboard, single seater wan for black bird? not those pillion seat cover. if yes, how much it costs and where?

think will be quite hard rite? cos bb seat is one piece of cushion meant for 2 person.

juz curious..so far, nv see ani bb wif remould tailboard...onli those wif pillion seat cover, not v nice...:smile:

Alternatively you can purchase the single seater cover. It looks nice.

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by TheDoctor_46@Mar 24 2004, 09:13 PM

Hi fellow BBs..

As for the engine oil, do i really need to use a fully synthetic oil? or a semi one will do?

Mine is the FI model, FT plate... wondering if some mods are required to make it more "fierce" ? if yes wat is required?

and some good recommendations of trustworthy bike shops pls...thks!!

Apply a fierce paintwork will do the trick.

Originally posted by aiya4@Mar 25 2004, 11:19 AM

Alternatively you can purchase the single seater cover. It looks nice.

from where we can purchase ?

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by hondacbr2001@Mar 25 2004, 11:24 AM

from where we can purchase ?

try biketech21, motoworld.

Or even online auctions for used ones

hey, thanks for the reply guys... actually no tots of modifying it yet...juz curious

engine oil is ok to use semi syn ?

well, juz for fellow BBs infor i juz drop my bike at a traffic lite juz now...haven get use to the weight juz yet...used to ride super 4 which is alot lighter...sighzz

now my bike got few scratches liao...side mirror broke..:(

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by TheDoctor_46@Mar 25 2004, 02:28 PM

hey, thanks for the reply guys... actually no tots of modifying it yet...juz curious

engine oil is ok to use semi syn ?

well, juz for fellow BBs infor i juz drop my bike at a traffic lite juz now...haven get use to the weight juz yet...used to ride super 4 which is alot lighter...sighzz

now my bike got few scratches liao...side mirror broke..:(

Many bird riders swear by semi syn.

I'd always used fully syn for my 4 yr old bird, no complains.

For a newer engine its adequate to use semi-syn. For an older engine can use fully syn, so call more protection for a longer period.

Sad to hear that your side mirror is damaged. Its pretty costly to replace the bird's side mirror. You can try calling boon siew to ask for a quotation.

how bout the casing of the whole signal light and mirror thing(dunno wats tat called, mirror fairing?) how much does tat cost, any rough idea?

http://1990cbr1000f.superbikeclub.com/images/avatar_1.jpghttp://s.deviantart.com/static/fella-wrench.jpg

The church is near, but the road is icy. The bar is far away, but I will walk carefully.

Originally posted by aiya4@Mar 25 2004, 02:47 PM

Many bird riders swear by semi syn.

I'd always used fully syn for my 4 yr old bird, no complains.

For a newer engine its adequate to use semi-syn. For an older engine can use fully syn, so call more protection for a longer period.

Sad to hear that your side mirror is damaged. Its pretty costly to replace the bird's side mirror. You can try calling boon siew to ask for a quotation.

or call FJT @ 63925928

Originally posted by pai@Mar 25 2004, 03:39 PM

how bout the casing of the whole signal light and mirror thing(dunno wats tat called, mirror fairing?) how much does tat cost, any rough idea?

Pai same.. go down to FJT to ask for it. Show them what are the parts u wan..

They have a "honda parts book" which show every parts from signal to BB special washer. And btw they are definately cheaper than Boon Siew.

Originally posted by hondacbr2001@Mar 25 2004, 03:49 PM

do you have the address ?

i dun hab the exact address, it at rowell road. Left hand side shophouse.

Originally posted by luN@Mar 25 2004, 04:06 PM

i dun hab the exact address, it at rowell road. Left hand side shophouse.

hey thks luN, i hav tryin to find out their number. u r a great help.

http://1990cbr1000f.superbikeclub.com/images/avatar_1.jpghttp://s.deviantart.com/static/fella-wrench.jpg

The church is near, but the road is icy. The bar is far away, but I will walk carefully.

anyone here use the bt020 rear tyre? any comments?

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by pai@Mar 25 2004, 04:25 PM

anyone here use the bt020 rear tyre? any comments?

If you're not the sort who visit track, 020 is a good everyday road tire with good grip(not excellent grip) and lotsa mileage in it. A good touring tire with occassional fun rides thru the corners.

Originally posted by aiya4@Mar 25 2004, 04:52 PM

If you're not the sort who visit track, 020 is a good everyday road tire with good grip(not excellent grip) and lotsa mileage in it. A good touring tire with occassional fun rides thru the corners.

hmm...for me mileage is more impt...so i guess bt020 shd be good. thks!

Originally posted by aiya4@Mar 25 2004, 04:52 PM

but i feel it is rather slippery when riding in the rain !

how abt michellin ?

recently, there is this metzeler roadtec z6. dunno whether good or not. price wise shd be on the high side. might wan to try...

Guest blackbird749

I have try Castrol , Motul, Esso,Repsol on my blackbird. I think the best of all is the Repsol Semi-synthetic which is so smooth. I bought it from JB but dun know they still have it.

any birds here who was at jb today at lunch time? hehe...saw him behind me at the area near the money changer.

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by hondacbr2001@Mar 25 2004, 05:00 PM

but i feel it is rather slippery when riding in the rain !

how abt michellin ?

yup, its not really confident in the rain. Well alot of tires are not really good in the wet. Depends la. high speed straight it can still brake confidently, corners have to be real slow. Ride safe when wet.

Michelin no comments cos never use b4. hehe

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by blackbird749@Mar 25 2004, 05:06 PM

I have try Castrol , Motul, Esso,Repsol on my blackbird. I think the best of all is the Repsol Semi-synthetic which is so smooth. I bought it from JB but dun know they still have it.

Repsol, a couple of frds using it and they are full of praise for it. I never try before.

GOPA carries the oil

Foo Soon Heng Motor Repair

10, Ang Mo Kio Ind. Park 2A, #05-11, AMK Autopoint

Tel 64846033