i bought 2 sets of garmin nuvi 500 one for me and one for her for mp3 . i use my hps...one for me and one for her...

i onli endorse garmin and i buy from east gear and jk low comercial...

both these company are realiable but mr low seems more bikers friendly

for car owner i would suggest eastgear for bikers mr low

the other company that i know is out to cut thier pound of money so i would not even want to mention them

yeah... well said...:thumb:

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

• Replies 2.6k

how much is the ZUMO600 & where to buy?

i too wanna know

so pls comfirm ...

with the garmin ... i will get full map of singapore , the whole of malaysia and thailands maps right ???

now mp3 is not important factor for me ....

bluetooth use too much energy ...

leaning towards garmin

thanks and sorry for all the questions

Demon, can you recommend what software to install on PC to convert jpg map files and such ? mapsource ?

I don't fully understand your question, and intention.

I'm not sure if there any map format in "jpg".

For conversion from Garmin map format ie "img" to other formats, I am using GPSMapEdit, however it does not support map compiled in NT format, such as the latest map from MFM or MSM.

You need a powerful PC to run it, otherwise the wait during the rendering process can be a killer. During conversion, some functionality may be lost, typically routing.

with the garmin ... i will get full map of singapore , the whole of malaysia and thailands maps right ???

generally the answer to your question is NO.

No garmin GPS will come free with original Garmin MT maps for "singapore , the whole of malaysia and thailands maps". However most retailers will supply you for free third party maps for "singapore , the whole of malaysia and thailands maps" such as maps from MFM.

For the Thailand map in MFM, it is only up to Bangkok, and at the moment the city map of Bangkok is still very underdeveloped as the street level details are still rather crude.

The pics below should better explain my point

MFM - Bangkok City

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/ScreenShot001-36.jpg

This is what you really want

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/ScreenShot002-17.jpg

I don't fully understand your question, and intention.

I'm not sure if there any map format in "jpg".

For conversion from Garmin map format ie "img" to other formats, I am using GPSMapEdit, however it does not support map compiled in NT format, such as the latest map from MFM or MSM.

You need a powerful PC to run it, otherwise the wait during the rendering process can be a killer. During conversion, some functionality may be lost, typically routing.

pardon my ignorance.. anyway you got the correct answer to convert image formats to garmin format .. and will try GPSMAPEdit.

i got city navigator SEA NT 4.0 and here's Bangkok screenshot.

http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/381/532.png

and for singapore, Map is from MFM.. i remember eastgear will load SLA maps.. with 3D buildings and more information.

is there really a need to get the waterproof one ?

no... there's no "need":angel:

it veri much individualised....:angel:

Buying a good gps is a long term investment. Best part is you can use it for your car and motorbike.

I have used Garmin zumo 500 for almost two years already. Lots of conviences. I can plan the trips with google earth and input into the system. Been venturing into wilderness with the GPS alot.

I can always join other people trip with confidence and do not need to rush to keep in pace with the convoy.

Personal safety is most important.

depend on your comfort level and mode of riding style during trip out. By coming into this thread, something must have happened recently that prompted you to get a GPS. Follow your heart. One time pain and get one. You will love it.

im currently using garmin 255w model. Been enjoying it for my opc.. gps on bike is stil a question.. e mounting is stil a headache for me..

ram mount would be your savior :angel: check with JK.. he is authorized dealer for singapore.

There is a products mass order:

Garmin GPS (Local Set) Promotion For SBF Members

20 sets only btw.

i was at JK, and met Mr Low. very helpful, and showed me his product and was able to answer my 21 questions. but regrettably the waterproof case for the iphone was just too chunky for me. he even told me to go see the alternative that i mentioned to him and see which one suits my needs better, doing so knowing he might lose the business - this i respect him!. anyway i bought the alternative from another shop which was the BIOLOGIC waterproof case made for iPhone, the form factor was of the iPhone itself.

Kawasaki 150ZX ::Rusty:: 2005-2010

Honda CB400 Revo ::BlackBeauty:: 2010-20XX

-------------

|Biologic iPhone Mount|Stebel Nautilus Horn|K&N Air Filter|

|Ah Pek's Grounding Wire|DIY 5V USB Port|Scorpio SR-i900|

|DIY Secondary Strobe Brake Leds|

http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg697/scaled.php?tn=0&server=697&filename=pf6.png&xsize=640&ysize=640

There is a products mass order:

Garmin GPS (Local Set) Promotion For SBF Members

20 sets only btw.

since i already got the same model... let me answer a few facts.

Which 6 nations? S'pore, M'sia and...?:confused:

1. singapore

2. malaysia

3. thailand

4. brunei

5. china

6. indonesia

sad... :sian:

wonder is the volume loud enough to hear it during high speed riding?

frankly, i've seen this model but yet to hear from it...

local riding at 50kmh (my bike with tall windshield) i can hear the voice..

highway.. cannot hear...

i still need the ram mount just not the other stuff ...

i think JK got different package for RAM mount only (without power cable and scooter mount)

and a few differences from this nuvi500 (local set) from others.

1. different software.. can pronounce names.. (turn left to orchard) even the voice pronounce in funny ang moh accent for local roads. Some earlier models dun have this function.. (turn left in 50meters)

2. security pin code upon power on...

according to Mr Low, this pin code is uncrackable, either change the system board, or send back to agent to reset.

so since it is local set, owner's name is registered with agent and anyone who reset the pin will be checked per invoice.

any other gps promo ?

does ram mount only do for garmins ??

waterproof ones currently off by budget ..

looking for below $250 ...

as above that is too close to the waterproof ones ...

maps i need is

-singapore

-whole of malaysia

-thailand ( i know it's still underworks but having one is gd as in future only need to update )

how good is a marbella gps ?

Edited by shahrul_azmil3

i dont own a dedicated GPS unit. Curious to ask, whats the difference between those garmin or other brands and the iPhone turn by turn gps? other than the screen size of course.

Kawasaki 150ZX ::Rusty:: 2005-2010

Honda CB400 Revo ::BlackBeauty:: 2010-20XX

-------------

|Biologic iPhone Mount|Stebel Nautilus Horn|K&N Air Filter|

|Ah Pek's Grounding Wire|DIY 5V USB Port|Scorpio SR-i900|

|DIY Secondary Strobe Brake Leds|

http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg697/scaled.php?tn=0&server=697&filename=pf6.png&xsize=640&ysize=640

i dont own a dedicated GPS unit. Curious to ask, whats the difference between those garmin or other brands and the iPhone turn by turn gps? other than the screen size of course.

Difference is in the MAP and OS.

Garmin maps for singapore/malaysia/thailand/laos/cambodia are readily available FREE. For the singapore and malaysia map. It is constantly updated.

Bikes

Men ride it. Boys dream about it.

Difference is in the MAP and OS.

Garmin maps for singapore/malaysia/thailand/laos/cambodia are readily available FREE. For the singapore and malaysia map. It is constantly updated.

Can enlighten on which website? :thumb:

i guess i go with marbella ...

at least they rent out the maps for free with 100$ deposit ...

the ones that i use frequently is singapore and malaysia ...

i be getting one tomorrow ...

so if there's any cons that i do not know about pls advise ...

Edited by shahrul_azmil3

i guess i go with marbella ...

at least they rent out the maps for free with 100$ deposit ...

the ones that i use frequently is singapore and malaysia ...

i be getting one tomorrow ...

so if there's any cons that i do not know about pls advise ...

up to u bro.. previously i had

1. singapore

2. malaysia

3. thailand

4. brunei

5. china

6. indonesia

and just got

1. USA Maxico Canada

2. Europe

3. India

no deposit.. no charge at all :angel:

those why seek shall find.

All current generation GPS is able to provide "turn-by-turn" during navigation.

All standalone GPS use pre-loaded map whereas Iphone uses goggle map from the internet. There is no recurring charges using map on a standalone GPS.

On an Iphone, you need an internet connection, and incur data charges. In Singapore, on an Iphone plan, your data charges may be capped but once you are overseas, you have to know your overseas data charges which can be extremely painful to the wallet.

A great feature on the Iphone is the Assisted GPS (AGPS) feature which uses the phone network to derive your location should the satellite signal becomes weak. This is useful in an urban buildup area with many tall buildings and LRT tracks running everywhere, such as in KL.

up to u bro.. previously i had

1. singapore

2. malaysia

3. thailand

4. brunei

5. china

6. indonesia

and just got

1. USA Maxico Canada

2. Europe