Is SP a good bike?coz im tinking of getting it but my frenz sae its a fragile bike...easily breakdown...when one part start to spoil...the rest will follow...hard to maintain bike...expensive maintanace...alot more...so is this true?

need the comment of all the Sp rider/ex sp rider....

if its true?which bike do u guyz recommend...tanx

omething [E]veryone [X]periments

-My Precious Memory-

[06-08] Honda NSR Sp 150

[08-current] Honda Super 4 vtec2

[11-12] Yamaha X1 Supreme

[12-current] Yamaha X1-R

• Replies 45

I see you've rephrased your queries/questions..But its kinda offending to SP riders..At least to me but I'm not an SP rider..Anyways..All sportsbikes maintenance quite ex..If you want cheap and less maintenance bike go for kup kias like wave..X1 and etc..Or even an RXK..Good fuel consumption..Cheap parts and maintenance..

Originally posted by compfused@Aug 21 2006, 05:17 PM

I see you've rephrased your queries/questions..But its kinda offending to SP riders..At least to me but I'm not an SP rider..Anyways..All sportsbikes maintenance quite ex..If you want cheap and less maintenance bike go for kup kias like wave..X1 and etc..Or even an RXK..Good fuel consumption..Cheap parts and maintenance..

exactly SP is a gd 2B sport bike.Maintance wise is ok. Buy time check carefully and make sure e bike is in gd condition B4 u buy. i ride SP B4 it is gd bike to play.

NSR 150 FR 5716 U

CBR R MODEL FL 7167 Y

YAMAHA X-1 FBB 3508 Z

Super Four Revo FBC 7545

Phantom FV 2236

Yamaha Spark 135 FBB 2887 K

Super Four Spec III FBC %?00 K ( Current )

Also comes down to riding capabilities. Dont expect the bike to stay in one piece of you're a careless rider who skids/drops the bike often.

With regards to the bike breaking down often, it's also wise to do a thorough check of the condition BEFORE purchasing. Any Genuine motorcycle parts are not cheap (Not Counting aftermarket), hence anything that needs fixing will add cost to your purchase price.

I'm not a SP rider, but I ride a RS125 which is "reputed" to breaking down easily. I'm a rider who takes care of his bike and I've not had any major part failures for both my RS125's.

Always bring a friend who really knows about the particular model you're buying.

(This may sound offensive but. "Don't bring along a big cannon who can talk big about bikes but don't really know anything"

http://www.sysrealm.com/Pictures/RS125/side2asized.jpg

not true. if u ride normally dun whack ur bike everyday. nothing will spoil so easily. maintenance wise.. is the same stuff as other 2 stroke bikes... 2t.. change eo.. change sparkplugs.. lub chain..

if u didnt buy a problematic bike.. den i dun tink it will give u much problems.

if its hard and expensive to maintain, u wun see so many sp on the road le

get to noe more pple who noe abt SP loh.. then u will noe the wonders of the bike..

maybe FC abit more than the rest.. but for the price its a pretty good looking bike... maintance what? EO spark plug? reguarly lube ur chain.. what else? not veri ex wah...

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

the maintainence wise is onli exp if u dun hav the money ... and i heard for a full service for a sp cost ard 100+ .. which is exp for me la ... but mind be cheap to those that are working lor .. so the maintainence wise is onli exp if u dun hav the money de la .. if u got money will u say exp ?? .. tis is to show that diff pple got diff tinking of money de ... so u mus decide ur budget everytink ...

are u a student....so far my sp nv give me much problem...it all depends on the bike u get...its pretty a "by luck" thing. so be sure to get an experienced fren if u getting one...

maintenence wise also have to depend on hw is the condition like when u bght it...if u bght it at a time when most parts are due for change..then u will say its high maintenence. if ur bike alr has fairly new parts....then u will say its low maintenence....so ultimately is the cond of the bike u choose...

24th Feb'06 - 28th Jun'06 NSR 150SP FR 8*9*Y

29th Jun'06 -Dec'06 Crutches n Taxi

Jan'06 - present day Public Transport

25th May'07 Daihatsu Extol

bike sold on my bdae!!

hmmm i personally dun think SP is a problematic bike ...

my SP is no problem for me ... i'm a student but i nv feel any spoiling part for my bike except changing of EO n etc thingy ...

this bike onli thing is the FC ... abit more than the other bike ... haha ..

thats my thought ... so far i think SP is a very good bike too but i'm upgrading so i selling mine lol ...

MY RIDING HISTORY

Aug 2005~Sep 2006 - Honda SP 150

Sep 2006~Jan 2007 - Honda CB400 Vtec3

Feb 2007~Present - Honda Phantom 150

Jun 2008 ~ Jul 2008 - Honda CBR1000RR

Jul 2008 ~ Jan 2010 - Honda CB400 Vtec3

Aug 2010 ~ Present - PIAGGO Nexus 300ie

Sep 2008 ~ Present - Project Nissan Sunny

in my opinion , maintanience wise quite cheap,, not much problem except for the chain which tends to go loose very often... (maybe i did not oiled it often)..

rode it for 4yrs + before changing to wave.. due to the petrol price rising every now and then...

<u>Past Ride</u>

2001 Jan ~ 2005 Jan - Honda Nsr 150 sp (FR3*3K)

2001 March ~ 2005 Sep - Piaggio Hexegon (FM5128L)

<u>Present Ride</u>

2005 Jan ~ Current - Honda Wave 125s (FR3*3K)

2007 Jan ~ Current - Honda Nsr 250 se (FN55*5Y)

<u>Future Ride</u>

Honda VtR Sp 2

Kawasaki Ninja ZX 636

I was a NSF when I rode SP. It wasn't making my life miserable financially or anything. SP is not a "problematic" bike. At least there wasn't a bunch of recalls for it.

As long as you take care of your bike consistently, it is not going to die on you. If you buy a neglected bike, you may have to pay a bit more at the beginning to replace the worn out parts. But from there on, the cost of maintaining the bike is not high. The point is, when you replace a worn part, and your mechanic shows you that another related part needs to be changed, you should do it there and then - to save labor cost and also to prevent the old part from accelerating wear on the new part.

High FC? I could ride for 280km before reserve. Fragile? I brought it to PG many times. Only overhauled once during my 30000km of hard riding on it. Regular maintenance of the chain is required if you don't want it to slacken. That's true for any bike.

Lastly, $100 still means a lot to those who are working. If not, why do you see people queueing up for $1 Breadtalk and free milo at Carrefour, just to save a few dolloars? We spend more, but we don't spend unnecessarily.

May I also add that riding is not as "cheap" as you think. In fact, it is quite expensive with the rising fuel cost. If you don't have the money, take public. That is reality.

tanx all for the comment...rilli help....go to dis bike shop at tampiness dat daey...den he say sp is good bike uh...but he say cbr 150 better...he say cbr 150 is the replacement of Sp after it stop production....any1 riding cbr 150?...hehe...juz wanna noe how good is good..juz making sure dat uncle is not ripping my money off...coz the bike itself cost 4.8k....while sp itself cost abt 2-3k...sooo...throw in ur commenttt!!!!

and if anybody selling of their bike...juz pm me...coz i rilli dunow wad bike to buy...dun care kupchai...vespa...anyting...tanxxxx

-My Precious Memory-

[06-08] Honda NSR Sp 150

[12-current] Yamaha X1-R

cbr150 is 4 stroke...which means no 2t......and better fuel consumption..i wld say its a gd bike if u dun min it being smaller than sp. wat else u wann know?

24th Feb'06 - 28th Jun'06 NSR 150SP FR 8*9*Y

29th Jun'06 -Dec'06 Crutches n Taxi

Jan'06 - present day Public Transport

25th May'07 Daihatsu Extol

bike sold on my bdae!!

Originally posted by jimmysandro@Aug 29 2006, 06:32 PM

tanx all for the comment...rilli help....go to dis bike shop at tampiness dat daey...den he say sp is good bike uh...but he say cbr 150 better...he say cbr 150 is the replacement of Sp after it stop production....any1 riding cbr 150?...hehe...juz wanna noe how good is good..juz making sure dat uncle is not ripping my money off...coz the bike itself cost 4.8k....while sp itself cost abt 2-3k...sooo...throw in ur commenttt!!!!

and if anybody selling of their bike...juz pm me...coz i rilli dunow wad bike to buy...dun care kupchai...vespa...anyting...tanxxxx

The SEARCH function of the forum is there for a reason. :sian:

sp is a good 2b sport bike , my sp which is an FQ plate (quite old) but im de 2nd onwer and de engine is in great condition , lucky me , and tanks to de ex rider , for maintating de bike very well , maintainting de internal parts , so far , TOUCH WOOD , my bike has given me any problem so far , only thing was de battery , de life span was over , so had to get a new one , as for wear and tear , is de same as all other bikes , u take care of de bike , ur wear and tear is less , but wear and tear is standard for all bikes , and de cost of most wear and tear in sp , is affordable , as for performance , i try conering low with de bike its still very stable , pick up wise quite good , and top end i have hit almost 200km/hr (but with a few mods here and there like my pipe and carb and air box)

anyway bring an exprience friend along , and test de bike for ur for . AND MOST IMPORTANTLY MAI KANCHIONG WHEN BUYING UR BIKE , take ur own sweet time.

Originally posted by jimmysandro@Aug 29 2006, 06:32 PM

if u go for speed then choose SP, cos the speed is great cbr will stop at a speed thats wat my friend bike does it stop at 120 n can go up already lolz ...

if ur upgrading get a cheaper bike like wave ... low FC n low cost can sell after 1 year ...

its personal own interests ... some like to have style some like to have jus good engine performance :smile:

MY RIDING HISTORY

well, i dont ride a SP either.. but its a good bike, why? compare to my cagiva mk2, parts are damm hard to find, and too exp to get, Sp parts are easy to accuire, and alternative is at our neighbour country, malaysia. Talking bout maintenance, i guess all bikes are the same.. you take care of it like your wife, regular wash and polish, service and stuffs.. everything will go well, but if you whack and punish the bike, sooner or later any good bike will go into scrap.

About speed and style, oh yeah, SP is a Yes Yes. If not why i see so many SPs on the road? They have the balanced horsepower and style a class 2B rider can get his/her hands on. hee, sp is a good bike to have your galfren hugging you behind;p :smile:

</div><table border=\'0\' align=\'center\' width=\'95%\' cellpadding=\'3\' cellspacing=\'1\'><tr><td>QUOTE </td></tr><tr><td id=\'QUOTE\'>The ultimate purpose of riding is to get from point A to B in one piece..</td></tr></table><div class=\'signature\'>

Originally posted by Danthearcher@Sep 1 2006, 10:06 AM

well, i dont ride a SP either.. but its a good bike, why? compare to my cagiva mk2, parts are damm hard to find, and too exp to get, Sp parts are easy to accuire, and alternative is at our neighbour country, malaysia. Talking bout maintenance, i guess all bikes are the same.. you take care of it like your wife, regular wash and polish, service and stuffs.. everything will go well, but if you whack and punish the bike, sooner or later any good bike will go into scrap.

About speed and style, oh yeah, SP is a Yes Yes. If not why i see so many SPs on the road? They have the balanced horsepower and style a class 2B rider can get his/her hands on. hee, sp is a good bike to have your galfren hugging you behind;p :smile:

I HATE that feeling where u can feel the pehpeh behind ur back :cheeky: dont know whether de sp riders feel it or not , cos when ever i topang girls , they will side and share sit with me , and i can feel de 'p.ussy' find it disgusting sia .

Originally posted by bluelabel@Sep 2 2006, 04:45 AM

I HATE that feeling where u can feel the pehpeh behind ur back :cheeky: dont know whether de sp riders feel it or not , cos when ever i topang girls , they will side and share sit with me , and i can feel de 'p.ussy' find it disgusting sia .

lol lidat u wont get excited instead u get disgusting :giddy:

LoL ... :cheeky:

MY RIDING HISTORY

Well maybe he finds the feeling of a hard weiner on his back exciting rather than a nice juicy kitty instead..To each his own I guess..Whatever turns you on..

Maybe when he brakes, the girl slides forward and his balls squeeze against the tank, so painful that he cannot "get excited" liao. :cheeky:

lol , and yah , my kuku jiao damn pain sia , smash against de tank , starting like shiok but halfway , must ask de girl to move up , GIRL are TEMP ,but MY JUNIOR IS Permanant

wads the different between Nsr Sp 150 n Nsr 150?wad i noe is Sp is pro arm n Nsr is swing arm..m i rite?wads the diff between both of them?design all same wad...

-My Precious Memory-

[06-08] Honda NSR Sp 150

[12-current] Yamaha X1-R