Do you gear up when riding?  

206 members have voted

1. 1. Do you gear up when riding?

• Yes
    • No

Elbow and Knee guard? Erm, as in wearing these outside of the driving centre?

i seen an ah pek wore those before

I am looking at buying a pair of gloves and Jacket. What are mesh jacket? are they more cooling than the other type? Which brand would be recommended with a budget of 300 for both items?

mesh jacket are jackets tat are not waterproof but breathable.

which type of jacket u looking at? waterproof or mesh?

gloves? waterproof or with protection?

$300 shouldn't be a problem thou

• Replies 586

I am looking at buying a pair of gloves and Jacket. What are mesh jacket? are they more cooling than the other type? Which brand would be recommended with a budget of 300 for both items?

Mesh jackets are cooler than the all-weather types.

My Alpinestars mesh jacket feels like wearing a long sleeved shirt in the day, not warm at all. On cold nights, feels like not wearing anything, so sometimes I have to wear extra layer inside or else will catch a cold.

$300 should be ok to get entry level items.

PS: my Alpinestars mesh costs $300 alone

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

For mesh jacket, I would recommend the RJays Jet Stream which you can get for $150 from Regina or Ah Boy. It has a removable waterproof lining. Adequate protection. Alternatively, you can get the RS Taichi Drymaster for is about $180.

For gloves under $100, I'd recommend Komine gloves from Motoworld. Very good build quality and tough yet supple leather. Highly recommended is the Komine Goatskin gloves which is available for $70. Simple design fits all bikes and comes with knuckle protection. More importantly, you have a good feel of the throttle.

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

I think motoworld has Komine mesh jackets with 5piece hard protection, elbows, shoulders n back. not the soft-foamy types. Think it's around 170bucks? pretty decent imho. Give em a call to check.

Smile! Tomorrow will be worse.

SBT #1149 Price List

This thread is becoming a bit of a treasure trove of information...

Thanks for the heasds-up, BlackBandit! I really gotta start looking around for good deals like that.

Will be heading down to Motoworld later at about 5pm... heh heh

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

No worries lacrimosae,

I've been buying gear since I was riding a Phantom 6 years back. I think that my investment on ATGATT has passed the $4000 mark....

Here's a rundown of 6 years of equipment -

6 armoured jackets - 3 current.

More than 10 pairs of gloves - 3 current.

4 pairs of riding boots - 2 current.

3 full-face helmets - 2 current

For mesh jacket, I would recommend the RJays Jet Stream which you can get for $150 from Regina or Ah Boy. It has a removable waterproof lining. Adequate protection. Alternatively, you can get the RS Taichi Drymaster for is about $180.

For gloves under $100, I'd recommend Komine gloves from Motoworld. Very good build quality and tough yet supple leather. Highly recommended is the Komine Goatskin gloves which is available for $70. Simple design fits all bikes and comes with knuckle protection. More importantly, you have a good feel of the throttle.

Erm... For Komine mesh gloves, I dun recommend coz I had an accident with it. The Gloves survived perfectly well but I got 2 puncture wounds in my knuckles. Get something with knuckle protection k.

Rebuilding my dreams. But first, the gears

1) WP RS Taichi riding jacket

2) WP riding pants

3) Titanium riding gloves

4) Garmine Nuvi 550 GPS (US$259)

5) WP Komine riding boots

6) Arai Helmet

7) The BIKE of course! :cheeky:

Erm... For Komine mesh gloves, I dun recommend coz I had an accident with it. The Gloves survived perfectly well but I got 2 puncture wounds in my knuckles. Get something with knuckle protection k.

I don't like mesh gloves cos there is barely any protection when you hit the asphalt. Leather is better. Plus, knuckle protection is a must. What I'm recommending is the Goatskin leather gloves. Supple yet tough. Yet to see any tear after 1 year of using it. Another plus point is that it dries up very fast as opposed to other leather gloves.

Mesh jackets are more cooling then a windbreaker because it has better ventilation. Unless its stop and go traffic, you will seldom feel hot wearing one. 300 is a pretty high budget. The Komine one costs about 170, while a leather glove with knuckle protection costs 80, both at motorworld. Personally i skidded and landed palms down with the gloves, it still lasts up to today, after one and a half years. I spin it in the washing machine every week by the way. Too lazy to hand wash.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

For COMMUTING Biking, I am interested in wearing all the protective gear and still be able to Pack them all away simply and head in to the office.

My current gear:

1 * Full Face Helmet

1 * Pair of leather gloves

1 * Mesh Protection Jacket

1 * Chest & Back Protector

1 * Pair of Crash/Touring Boots

Overkill you say? Maybe, but I reason that internal organs and body parts cost more to replace. Riding is grand, Crashing is deadly. Anakin Skywalker anyone?

I'm the sort of chap that dresses for the occasion. Visit your local ER and ask for your "friend" that fell off his motorcycle that particular day.

Now, a regular backpack + helmet bag won't do. There's the Protector (0.9m long, cannot be folded) and the Boots won't fit into backpack.

Possibly, I would have to you a Medium-Size Sports Bag to fit all the gear in. Similar to the bags used by Rugby Players for their gear.

NEW PRODUCTS of INTEREST to me

Link : PacSafe Tailsafe (40L Security Soft TailBag)

http://www.pacsafe.com/media/product/product_image/medium/1951_29_1536_29_tailsafe_bag_anti-theft.jpg

Link : Kriega Long-Distance 35L Motorcycle Backpack

http://www.kriega.com/images/product/r35_pics/R35FS.jpg

Do tell me (via PM)what other solutions and ways you store your gear after your motorcycle rides. Happy to talk on this.

For COMMUTING Biking, I am interested in wearing all the protective gear and still be able to Pack them all away simply and head in to the office.

My current gear:

1 * Full Face Helmet

1 * Pair of leather gloves

1 * Mesh Protection Jacket

1 * Chest & Back Protector

1 * Pair of Crash/Touring Boots

Overkill you say? Maybe, but I reason that internal organs and body parts cost more to replace. Riding is grand, Crashing is deadly. Anakin Skywalker anyone?

I'm the sort of chap that dresses for the occasion. Visit your local ER and ask for your "friend" that fell off his motorcycle that particular day.

Now, a regular backpack + helmet bag won't do. There's the Protector (0.9m long, cannot be folded) and the Boots won't fit into backpack.

Possibly, I would have to you a Medium-Size Sports Bag to fit all the gear in. Similar to the bags used by Rugby Players for their gear.

NEW PRODUCTS of INTEREST to me

Link : PacSafe Tailsafe (40L Security Soft TailBag)

http://www.pacsafe.com/media/product/product_image/medium/1951_29_1536_29_tailsafe_bag_anti-theft.jpg

Link : Kriega Long-Distance 35L Motorcycle Backpack

http://www.kriega.com/images/product/r35_pics/R35FS.jpg

Do tell me (via PM)what other solutions and ways you store your gear after your motorcycle rides. Happy to talk on this.

Would side panniers solve this problem. Anyhow, I enter my office wearing my armoured jacket, carrying my helmet/gloves and wearing my riding boots. No one bats an eyelid. Just store it all in my locker. No worries.

Personal Experience.

Wearing Leather Jacket in Singapore's climate is IMPOSSIBLE. I defied the odds and was sorely humbled.

At Nights, you generally work up quite a bit of perspiration and ruin your Jacket. (especially the dryclean only varieties).

During the days, you run the risk of heat stroke within 1/2 an hour no matter what speed your riding at.

SOLUTION:

MESH ARMOURED JACKET preferably with Codura abrasion-resistant material.

Personal Experience.

Wearing Leather Jacket in Singapore's climate is IMPOSSIBLE. I defied the odds and was sorely humbled.

At Nights, you generally work up quite a bit of perspiration and ruin your Jacket. (especially the dryclean only varieties).

During the days, you run the risk of heat stroke within 1/2 an hour no matter what speed your riding at.

SOLUTION:

Mesh jackets are more cooling then a windbreaker because it has better ventilation. Unless its stop and go traffic, you will seldom feel hot wearing one. 300 is a pretty high budget. The Komine one costs about 170, while a leather glove with knuckle protection costs 80, both at motorworld. Personally i skidded and landed palms down with the gloves, it still lasts up to today, after one and a half years. I spin it in the washing machine every week by the way. Too lazy to hand wash.

the Komine one got armour? and izzit water proof?

Do you consider below 40 as ah pek :cry:

i see that one is 50++:sian:

i not sure, nv seen before, can go motoworld ask, if u wan i sell u my komine mesh amour jacket, cos i seldom use, only used twice

I just bought a komine mesh jacket, hard armour on elbow and shoulders, soft padding for the back @ $135, motoworld. Only XXL and S sizes available i think, want to order need to wait for 3 months.

RStaichi mesh gloves with knuckle protector @ $50, same place.

Personal Experience.

SOLUTION:

I think for leather, need to get those with perforation. I got this Vanson 'Breeze" perforated leather jacket (see pic below), that's actually very cooling. I wear it alternatively with my mesh jacket :)

BRZE.jpg

the komine one has 5 piece armour-shoulder 2, elbow 2, and 1 spine protector. What i like about the komine one is all the protectors can be removed easily.

For mesh jackets, you wouldn't want one where the elbow guards is removed from the inside. You want to remove it from the outside. Many first time buyers will overlook this and regret it every week when they wash the jackets.

The komine one is not waterproof. However, in SG weather, you wouldn't want waterproof mesh jackets, just as you wouldn't want to wear your rain coat in dry hot weather when its not raining. That doesn't make sense. When it rains, you can wear the rain coat over your mesh jacket instead. Water proofing and ventilation do not go hand in hand. If anyone has a 100% water proof mesh jacket that has the water proofing of standard Arai/OGK/RS Tachi raincoats and the ventilation of standard mesh jackets, pm me. I will be interested to check it out.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

I just bought a komine mesh jacket, hard armour on elbow and shoulders, soft padding for the back @ $135, motoworld. Only XXL and S sizes available i think, want to order need to wait for 3 months.

RStaichi mesh gloves with knuckle protector @ $50, same place.

soft paddings don't quite measure up in a situation where a rider lands on the kerb or boot of vehicles. They might only be good enough for abrasion resistance and to cushion a landing on the road.

currently i alternate between one such jacket and the komine one that comes with hard armour for the spine protector. For a little bit more money, I consider the Komine one a much better product. whenever i wear the non hard armour jacket, i always feel its a little "lousier" in terms of protecting me:sian:

soft paddings don't quite measure up in a situation where a rider lands on the kerb or boot of vehicles. They might only be good enough for abrasion resistance and to cushion a landing on the road.

currently i alternate between one such jacket and the komine one that comes with hard armour for the spine protector. For a little bit more money, I consider the Komine one a much better product. whenever i wear the non hard armour jacket, i always feel its a little "lousier" in terms of protecting me:sian:

may i know the price for komine with hard armour and which model is it>?

For mesh jackets, you wouldn't want one where the elbow guards is removed from the inside. You want to remove it from the outside. Many first time buyers will overlook this and regret it every week when they wash the jackets.

i nv regret, mine easy to take out

I think he mentioned in an earlier post it was 170, and iirc, when i knew, it was 170 when my bro got it. Think it's this model

http://www.komine.ac/products.php?function=detail&product_id=266&category_id=2

the pricing huh.. it depends on ur bargaining skills. generally in SG, if u are female and look pretty, u always get a better pricing on almost everything. These days i prefer to get my gf to buy l. She got that jacket at $150. Me, $170. U can see why i ask her to buy things for me liao. LOL

as for the model, i'm not sure of the exact model number. But if u walk into motorworld at Lavender st, its on the most left hand side one or two displays. u can check out how it looks like from front and rear in my blog post

http://www.pplater.blogspot.com

I think he mentioned in an earlier post it was 170, and iirc, when i knew, it was 170 when my bro got it. Think it's this model

http://www.komine.ac/products.php?function=detail&product_id=266&category_id=2

ah! thats the one. Comes in several colours. Red, beige and black i think.