Do you gear up when riding?

arthur_chan

Do you gear up when riding?  

206 members have voted

1. 1. Do you gear up when riding?

• Yes
    • No

hi

need to necessarily be those hard type but its a plus if it is, better still if it can be removed.. otherwise padded ones will be fine with me too.. any recommendations? or a particular model i should look out for? my budget is quite low so i suppose komine and RS taichi are the 2 brands i shortlist.

somewhere earlier

http://www.komine.ac/products.php?function=detail&product_id=266&category_id=2

hard, removable 5piece. Back, Shoulders, Elbows.

$170

motoworld.

think Pplater's using that too?

Smile! Tomorrow will be worse.

SBT #1149 Price List

• Replies 586

waaa... 7 years old boots and u expect them to withstand the gear shifting meh? None of my foot wear ever last half as long wor.. except for the odd pair of sunday soccer boots.

can la, use for 2.5yrs then cold-storage until now. Time to break out the Shoe Goo! Glue on stuff.

SBT #1149 Price List

hi

i am actually looking for a full mesh jacket. any recommendations? komine and rs taichi? how much am i looking at for a full mesh jacket from these 2 brands?

Mesh jackets I recomend Komine. More Airey

Rebuilding my dreams. But first, the gears

1) WP RS Taichi riding jacket

2) WP riding pants

3) Titanium riding gloves

4) Garmine Nuvi 550 GPS (US$259)

5) WP Komine riding boots

6) Arai Helmet

7) The BIKE of course! :cheeky:

wat if nv go toilet breaks, anything can happen during a short toilet break, etc MSK incident:angel:

Er... but I think I've got nothing to escape from lah! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Mesh jackets I recomend Komine. More Airey

There's another brand that all of you can look at... it's called Clover! It's also pretty airy! :thumb:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

able to give me more details? best if can show me pictures of your jacket. thanks.

http://www.komine.ac/products.php?function=detail&product_id=20&category_id=2

exactly the same, size L, black colour

somewhere earlier

$170

motoworld.

roughly same as mine

somewhere earlier

$170

motoworld.

Er... I'm using this same exact model... It's just that mine is in black...

I've bought a Rjay's Meshed armor jacket recently. Feels safe riding with it, but will get weird looks from people. "Is it neccessary to wear so much protection in Singapore?" This questions comes to my mind. But only wearing it to trips(not very often) makes me feel the money spent not worthwhile. Also, i'm a pplater and trying not to get attention but if i wear that, i get lots of unwanted attention.

Damien :angel:

http://www.komine.ac/products.php?function=detail&product_id=20&category_id=2

exactly the same, size L, black colour

roughly same as mine

check PM.. thanks.

BTW when buying jacket, buy in black color. It will not turn blacker than your black.

One of the color jacket that I had turn dirty after a few weeks due to the dirty air and dust I passed through. It may look nice when new but look very used with strain after some times.

ok noted.. thanks for the advise..

I've bought a Rjay's Meshed armor jacket recently. Feels safe riding with it, but will get weird looks from people. "Is it neccessary to wear so much protection in Singapore?" This questions comes to my mind. But only wearing it to trips(not very often) makes me feel the money spent not worthwhile. Also, i'm a pplater and trying not to get attention but if i wear that, i get lots of unwanted attention.

Will you mind other ppl view??? Like what i always tell myself. "If i even fall, no one will pity me or help me. Its my fresh that is kissing the road. Eyepower won`t kill me, but the road will."

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-大ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

i wear this

http://www.mezzo.co.kr/bemarket/shop/index.php?pageurl=page_goodsdetail&uid=1241

gunmetal, look like robocop.

Fullface, draggin' jeans, mesh gloves, SAF boots.

Do i get funny looks at traffic lights? Sure.

Do i get laughed at at parking lots when i start gearing up? Now n then.

Jej posted this link on page 1

don't talk about those crashes where you break bones n stuff, but those slides/skids etc.

http://home1.gte.net/res0ak9f/bike.htm

I'd much rather look like robocop than like one of those abrasion cases anyday.

Sure, i was self-conscious when i started wearing gear, then I asked myself:

Who cares if ppl laugh at you? How will they affect your life? They laugh, sua lor, they have a right to laugh/say whatever they want. Can they cause you to lose money/suffer harm/any impact whatsoever, just because of what they say? Why bother? Who cares if they think you've got "no balls", need to wear so much protection, or if you wanna "act like lacer", so long as you can get to your destination in one piece to chillout with friends/home to parents/safely meet significant other. Which is more impt? Views of a stranger whom you're prolly never gonna see again? Or your loved ones?

Which hurts more? Snarky comments from strangers, or grinding your flesh on asphalt?

And if it's friends who laugh at you for wanting to protect yourself, maybe time to find new ones. heh.

Just my 2cents.

Oh, and i'm a Pplate as well, riding a transport bike.

SBT #1149 Price List

i wear this

http://www.mezzo.co.kr/bemarket/shop/index.php?pageurl=page_goodsdetail&uid=1241

don't talk about those crashes where you break bones n stuff, but those slides/skids etc.

Who cares if ppl laugh at you? How will they affect your life? They laugh, sua lor, they have a right to laugh/say whatever they want. Can they cause you to lose money/suffer harm/any impact whatsoever, just because of what they say? Why bother? Who cares if they think you've got "no balls", need to wear so much protection, or if you wanna "act like lacer", so long as you can get to your destination in one piece to chillout with friends/home to parents/safely meet significant other. Which is more impt? Views of a stranger whom you're prolly never gonna see again? Or your loved ones?

Which hurts more? Snarky comments from strangers, or grinding your flesh on asphalt?

And if it's friends who laugh at you for wanting to protect yourself, maybe time to find new ones. heh.

Just my 2cents.

Thanks for the advise! =)

I'm wearing Gortex boots and gloves too. Well, now i know i'm not the only one. Cheers!

Thanks for the advise! =)

I'm wearing Gortex boots and gloves too. Well, now i know i'm not the only one. Cheers!

no way dude... you are definitely not alone :thumb: and only if there were more people who think that taking care of themselves if important too...

Grounded... :/

Hey guys. I'm planning to buy a jacket for riding.

Can anyone explain to me what is mesh jacket? What are the recommendations for jackets which are water proof, includes armour and isn't too hot for day riding?

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg

i'm using arai mesh jacket. with alpinestar smx2 gloves.

go hand in hand together in terms of color and style.

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111128075727/xanthe/nl/images/1/1f/Asian-Troll-Face.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r3/iewgnail/LW2.jpg

BTW when buying jacket, buy in black color. It will not turn blacker than your black.

One of the color jacket that I had turn dirty after a few weeks due to the dirty air and dust I passed through. It may look nice when new but look very used with strain after some times.

I would recommend the opposite. A black jacket will actually reduce your road presence at night whereas a coloured one or better yet, one luminous colours/strips would make you more visible to other road users. I personally think that how 'nice and clean' my jacket would look like after use is pretty low on my list of priorities when looking for a jacket.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg

Hey guys. I'm planning to buy a jacket for riding.

Can anyone explain to me what is mesh jacket? What are the recommendations for jackets which are water proof, includes armour and isn't too hot for day riding?

mesh jacket not waterproof but very breathable, got amours also.

waterproof type also got amours but very hot n warm wearing it.

depends on wats ur need, some ppl get waterproof ones so when touring no need wear raincoat cos convenient.

some ppl get mesh jacket cos when riding dun feel hot wearing it.

but waterproof ones confirm hot, i heard alot of comments regarding it alot of times liao.

just giving u a rough idea.

The Rjay's mesh jacket i bought model is Octane Jkt i chose the camo one coz the white colour is quite bright. It has water proof inner lining which is detachable. Wear liao still can blow wind. Not tat pricy also (got discounted price coz my sis bought 1 too) best of all, alot alot of compartments on the jacket, although it's mesh, there's 1 compartment tat is water proof.

http://www.rjays.com.au/home/products/textile-octane-jacket.html

I wear my Motoport Air mesh Kevlar jacket daily.... can see a short review of it here (post 27 & 28): http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=184407

Expensive yes, total damage + shipping and GST = $1500+ i tink. Quad armor on chest, elbows, shoulders and back, full kevlar mesh, doesnt conduct heat or catch fire easily. No Polyurethane coating like 99% of other jacket that would melt onto skin when u tumble and slide. The armor cover larger surface area than any of my previous jacket. Own Joe Rocket Meteor 5.0, Phoenix 4.0, Reactor 2.0, Olympia GT Air and Rev'it Airforce. The back armor covers my lower back fully. elbows armor goes down to almost to my wrist.

Come with removable Aerotex/goretex waterproof breatheable liner. Added, 1.5 inch reflective strip across back and down the arms. removed the top pocket and added 4.5 inch reflective strips on chest and 1.5inch reflective on the mid torso adjuster strap.

If u guys looking for good gloves, check out Held Phantom or Akira or BKS leather gloves (CE aprroved). Kangaroo skin with some stingray leather patches in high wear area.. U'll be amaze how abrasion resistant Stingray leather is. For Singapore climate, i highly recommed Helimot F-108 gloves, Kevlar mesh with Kangaroo palms. Helimot gloves can be custom made. Just send in your palm outline and they will custom a glove for ur hands. They will repair gloves even if u need to replace one finger or alter the gloves to ur fit. Currently i'm using Held Steves gloves also kangaroo palm

Kangaroo palm higher abrasion resistant than cow or goat leather. Its sweat resistant and water resistant. water and sweat shortens the life an durability of gloves. Even if get wet, kangaroo leather still stays supple when it dries unlike cow leather which hardens. Plus point Kangaroo leather also thinner, so more feel of the bike controls.

My daily riding gear:

Gloves: Held Steves --> http://www.newenough.com/gloves/street_or_racing_gauntlet/held/steve_motorcycle_gloves.html

If it rains i wear Rainoff overgloves: http://www.rain-off.com/

Helmet: Shark RSR2 ECE 22.05 rated and SHARP 5 star rating --> http://sharp.direct.gov.uk/search/details/?id=39

Jacket: Motoport Air mesh Kevlar

Boots: Oxtar Airtech now changed named to TCX ---> http://www.newenough.com/closeouts/bargain_basement/oxtar/air_tech_xcr_motorcycle_touring_boots.html

Next up is the Motoport Air mesh kevlar pants and Leatt neck brace ... Have to save up first.

Some good links:

http://www.joerocket.com/

http://www.helimot.com/shopglovesdisplayproducts.asp?id=23&cat=Gloves

http://www.heldusa.com/gloves.html

http://www.olympiamotosports.com/home.html

http://www.motoport.com/Products.asp

http://www.shark-helmets.com/shark_gb.htm

http://www.leatt-brace.com/index.php?page_id=50&msg_id=151&id=3#151

http://www.bksleather.co.uk/bks_main.htm

http://www.speedtest.net/result/855609689.png

The Rjay's mesh jacket i bought model is Octane Jkt i chose the camo one coz the white colour is quite bright. It has water proof inner lining which is detachable. Wear liao still can blow wind. Not tat pricy also (got discounted price coz my sis bought 1 too) best of all, alot alot of compartments on the jacket, although it's mesh, there's 1 compartment tat is water proof.

http://www.rjays.com.au/home/products/textile-octane-jacket.html

hi bro may i know how much you got it for?

wow, cool stuffs

Will you mind other ppl view??? Like what i always tell myself. "If i even fall, no one will pity me or help me. Its my fresh that is kissing the road. Eyepower won`t kill me, but the road will."

Well said! I'm slowly buying more safety gears if i have the spare cash nowdays too..

i wear this

Just my 2cents.

Woah, another wise man with wise words :D

I would recommend the opposite. A black jacket will actually reduce your road presence at night whereas a coloured one or better yet, one luminous colours/strips would make you more visible to other road users. I personally think that how 'nice and clean' my jacket would look like after use is pretty low on my list of priorities when looking for a jacket.

I think mesh jackets will have 3M luminous materials on them so no matter black or bright coloured you will most probably be seen on the road. :thumb:

hi bro may i know how much you got it for?

Wah, now looking for mesh jacs already ah? Astar gloves, agv helmet.. Rich leh.. :cheeky:

It's not how fast you ride, but how well you ride.

I take my safety seriously when on bike, so i gear up maximum even tho i ride a canandian pizza bike.

MHR full face -> 2nd hand from forum. $10+$15 tinted visor @ LAB, total $25.

Yamaha jacket with removable "styrofoam" guards-> ". $100

Derbi 2 fingers-> Brand new. $20

Jeans

King's combat-> Free from SCDF!

Safe and sound to deliver pizza! Look damn bloody poser though :cheeky: