Originally posted by spy622@Feb 25 2004, 04:47 PM

aiya we hav nt seen a ET at any of our outing yet man...hope to c a GT also

soon soon.somebody bought GT liao......tat person is not me

• Replies 1.1k

Originally posted by JayTee@Feb 21 2004, 05:53 AM

ET8 -- PERFORMANCE MODS

Guys, as I mentioned in my first reply, I have an older ET8 (125 cc version).

It's the first scooter I've ever owned or really ridden, so I have nothing to compare it too--except fullsize motorcycles.

Are there any typical and reasonable (price, etc.) performance mods to improve speed, handling and braking? I realize the ET8 scoots are mainly for doddling about town, but I wouldn't mind having a bit more confidence in the bike. Especially handling and braking.

If so, any particular mechanic/shop to have do such mods?

Also, are there shops that will let me test ride a variety of new scooters and the ET8 in particular? I'm hoping to figure out whether new parts will make a difference (e.g., rebuild or replace shocks) or whether I ought to be considering a different model...

My ET8 is basically a hand-me-down from a colleague at work...it has over 20,000km on the clock, so possibly close to retirement time??????

THANKS!

finally!!! a blood brother.

haha.

fyi info, i m looking at HEL steel brake lines. i still dunno wat length. dat shall solve the braking part. front abit dun 'eat' rite?

for handling...i doubt u can do much bout it. its not meant to go fast.

aniwae i did some reading on the internet and found dat there are aftermarket exhaust systems for ET8 in taiwan. did some conversion n its over $1k. so there.

my bottomline is dat our babies r not meant to be fast!

juz stay slow, cruise n enjoy the ride.

and GUYS...i wanna go for a respray and knock out the dents caused by my previous accident. budget is $200. got lobang?

the usual person to find : kennyseaw :cheeky:

POWER IS NOTHING WITHOUT CONTROL, I LEARNED IT THE HARD WAY.........

NEVER UNDER-ESTIMATE WHAT A SCOOTER CAN DO!!!!!!!!!!

WE INNOVATE,THEY IMITATE........

Hi everyone,

This is my 1st time posting in this forum! :D

I'm looking for a used ET8... and have some questions:

1. Are there any shops selling this 2nd hand? This little scoot seems pretty hard to find in the 2nd hand market.

2. Anything that I should be looking for when inspecting a potential ET8? e.g. what to check for when test-riding, what to look closely at. I looked up the "Guide to buying 2nd hand motorcycle" at the articles section, but it's pretty generic... not sure what is applicable.

3. Are the parts cheap or easily available? Well, "cheap" is a relative term... ;) So let's say whether they are reasonable when compared to other 2B scoots/bikes.

Thanks in advance!

Originally posted by lws@Mar 12 2004, 05:06 PM

Hi everyone,

This is my 1st time posting in this forum! :D

I'm looking for a used ET8... and have some questions:

1. Are there any shops selling this 2nd hand? This little scoot seems pretty hard to find in the 2nd hand market.

2. Anything that I should be looking for when inspecting a potential ET8? e.g. what to check for when test-riding, what to look closely at. I looked up the "Guide to buying 2nd hand motorcycle" at the articles section, but it's pretty generic... not sure what is applicable.

3. Are the parts cheap or easily available? Well, "cheap" is a relative term... ;) So let's say whether they are reasonable when compared to other 2B scoots/bikes.

Thanks in advance!

maintenance is cheap if u take care of your bikes.

remember its for cruising...not speeding.

like i always said..wanna speed on a scoot. get a runner.

hmmm...italian electronics r well known to cook themselves. for me, my clock is dead. need to change whole panel if wanna rectify. so no point lah. i got a watch on my wrist aniwae.

most important r the brakes. i m still looking around if there are steel braided lines for my baby.

need more help, can post somemore!

Hey, JPMontoya or anyone else....

I had my scoot serviced at Eurosunrise and it's running pretty good. Cranked down on what I assume is the equivalent to the suspension preload to get a firmer and better ride at speed.

I don't know about about steel-braided brake lines. I mean my duc has 'em, but for a scoot?

But what about tires? Mine still have tread life left, but are there more performance-oriented scooter tires available? I'm thinking something softer and less blocky might give better cornering/braking performance. Anyone experiment with this?

Anyone know of good shops for scooter tires? Advice on models and prices appreciated...

Originally posted by JayTee@Mar 22 2004, 01:41 PM

Hey, JPMontoya or anyone else....

I had my scoot serviced at Eurosunrise and it's running pretty good. Cranked down on what I assume is the equivalent to the suspension preload to get a firmer and better ride at speed.

I don't know about about steel-braided brake lines. I mean my duc has 'em, but for a scoot?

But what about tires? Mine still have tread life left, but are there more performance-oriented scooter tires available? I'm thinking something softer and less blocky might give better cornering/braking performance. Anyone experiment with this?

Anyone know of good shops for scooter tires? Advice on models and prices appreciated...

sorry to see your post so late..

i thot everyone else not interested in ET8s..

i dunno bout the steel lines...still checking out on them. will keep u guys informed..

and for the tyres i rather go for long life coz i wun be speeding n cornering on my lil lamb..

i dream of an ET8 outing 1 fine day...

btw today i saw a girl riding an ET8 squeezing traffic along rochor road same speed as me on my RVF...

cool..

Guest Rider T
Originally posted by JPMontoya@Mar 29 2004, 11:23 PM

i thot everyone else not interested in ET8s..

I interested in ET8 leh :cheer:

I ended up putting on new Pirelli SL-26s front and rear. These are a "sport touring" model. Big improvement in handling, but then, my old tires were really old and squared off. Haven't tested them in the wet yet.

About $140...

Originally posted by JayTee@Mar 30 2004, 08:48 AM

I ended up putting on new Pirelli SL-26s front and rear. These are a "sport touring" model. Big improvement in handling, but then, my old tires were really old and squared off. Haven't tested them in the wet yet.

About $140...

yeah dats the problem wif mine too...always squaring...

not very healthy for the tyres...but we cant corner always either..

i m thinking of emailing HEL or Goodridge but i cant afford the time recently. Anione wanna help out?

Guest Rider T
Originally posted by JPMontoya@Mar 30 2004, 02:38 PM

have u got one for yourself?

I don't have a license :sian:

Probably can only get my license earliest next january or this year december.

Maybe then u can help me find a good ET8 :smile:

Originally posted by Rider T@Mar 31 2004, 03:27 AM

I don't have a license :sian:

Probably can only get my license earliest next january or this year december.

Maybe then u can help me find a good ET8 :smile:

maybe den i m selling mine.

Guest Rider T
Originally posted by JPMontoya@Mar 31 2004, 02:37 PM

maybe den i m selling mine.

hehe okay , maybe will buy yours then. :cheer:

Guest jwsp69

Just got an ET8.....well quite happy with it so far. real cute..... but cute normally suffers from storage space as well compared to the X9 my previous bike..

But for gal...easier to move round lei...heehee:cheer:

juz curious.....

what is the speed that you guys ride on the expressway??? (on your et8)

Life is not measured by how many breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

Originally posted by wR_fang@Apr 11 2004, 09:14 PM

Which bike shop got sell ET8 ?

call me if you are looking for a new one :smile:

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

Originally posted by kristy@Apr 17 2004, 10:18 AM

juz curious.....

what is the speed that you guys ride on the expressway??? (on your et8)

75-80....

at most 90 when trying to overtake loh.

I'm finally going to get my ET8! It will be a 2nd-hand one, about 3-4 years old.

What kind of insurance should I get? Comprehensive, Third Party Fire & Theft, or Third Party?

Don't want to go for Comprehensive if it doesn't make sense, especially for a 3-4 year-old bike. Not sure if TPFT has much advantage over TP also.

What kind of insurance are the rest of you using?

Thanks in advance!

Originally posted by lws@Apr 19 2004, 11:32 AM

I'm finally going to get my ET8! It will be a 2nd-hand one, about 3-4 years old.

What kind of insurance should I get? Comprehensive, Third Party Fire & Theft, or Third Party?

Don't want to go for Comprehensive if it doesn't make sense, especially for a 3-4 year-old bike. Not sure if TPFT has much advantage over TP also.

What kind of insurance are the rest of you using?

Thanks in advance!

3rd party. i m tempted to go for a 1st party one, depend how much lah.

my 3rd party is around $110.

Hi, would like to find out about the ET8 key. Read online that there is a master key, from which spares can be made? My 2nd-hand ET8 only came with 1 key --- don't know whether that is master or not. Do you know what comes with a new ET8? How many keys do you have? How to get spares and how much would that be? Thanks.

Originally posted by lws@Apr 27 2004, 11:01 PM

Hi, would like to find out about the ET8 key. Read online that there is a master key, from which spares can be made? My 2nd-hand ET8 only came with 1 key --- don't know whether that is master or not. Do you know what comes with a new ET8? How many keys do you have? How to get spares and how much would that be? Thanks.

the other key should wif the bike shop ba...

master key should be wif piaggio..dun noe correct onot..... :sweat: :cheeky: