[Q] can anyone direct me to a thread or ans my qn as to the maintainence schedule for a S4 and also a rough gauge of the cost involved? thinkin of getting one but afraid that i wont be able to maintain it....

thanx

-=ResiDue=-

-= Unsure of what to get=-

• Replies 7.7k

main culprit is overheating and can be caused by constricted coolant hoses.

this is y i hate 2nd hand bikes, dunno how the previous owner take care, unless someone tat i know still not so bad

i think it has something to do with faulty radiator piping.... thinking of gettng a old super 4 next time when 2A.

haiya, its hose, piping like water piping:cheeky:

buy same bike as mine, confirm no regrets, trust me:angel:

bro... any of u all suffer from this? most of the time when i start the bike when its cold.. the clutch inside in the engine.. i can hear them rattling.. its a worn out clutch housing right?

one more weird thing.. when the bike is cold.. and i pull in the clutch lever.. the rattling stops and a slight ringing sound takes over.. sounds abit like PGM dry clutch.. but not as loud.. this ringing sound goes away after the engines warms up...

i am thinking to do a overhaul on the clutch.. but dunno if its necessary.. considering to replace clutch friction plates, clutch housing, steel plates and probably clutch springs..

sparker how much u lost sellin your revo sia

lost a lot, can get a new spark135 fully paid, u guess:(

have you find out the rate bike shop sells?

any accessory, how many stock parts, condition...

consider all this...

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i261/operationfd/torture.jpg

1 2 3 4 5 TESTING TESTING .......HELP STOP ANIMAL TESTING..1 2 3 4 5....TESTING TESTING.. ONE LIFE GONE

any1 can tell mi wats the different sypmtoms for clutch plates and clutch housing?

mine have quite abit trumbling when clutch in at gear 1.

now shift gear when stationary is like impossible.

when i clutch in 1st gear and let the bike roll to a stop, sound can be heard near left foot, feeling of knocking too.

suspect the 1st 2 is to do with clutch but dunno is plate or housing.

any advice?

bros. recently experienced that when moving off in 1st gear, feels like engine is going to stall anytime. it got worst when there's pillion behind. a check with the bike shop saying that probably its with the carb. too dirty, need to wash. is it so?

Aug'06 - Jul'07 ; KRR 150

Jul'07 - Nov'07 ; Public Transport

Nov'07 - Jan'11 ; Spark 135

Feb'09 - May'11 ; Super Four VTEC II

May'11 - Mar'12 ; FZ1S'10

Jul'14 ; X-1R

Hello all,

Wonder has anyone encounter this problem...

I am riding a vtec 2 which has this stupid HISS that will prevent the bike from starting if the wrong key is inserted, what happen to mine was that sometime the HISS light will go off and i can start the bike without problem but sometimes it will not go off and the bike will not start...is this a typical problem on all S4 or is mine the odd one...i have ask the bike shop if the HISS can be bypass or disable but he said that its not possible.

Does anyone has a solution to this ?

Many thanks in advance.

i have ask the bike shop if the HISS can be bypass or disable but he said that its not possible.

Does anyone has a solution to this ?

the chip in ur key might be faulty. did u drop or knock against anything wif the key?

u got spare key to try? same problem also?

the chip in ur key might be faulty. did u drop or knock against anything wif the key?

u got spare key to try? same problem also?

Thanks for your reply bro, yes i did drop the key before but still works after that, the problem is intermittent sometime can sometime can't, damn angry at times when rushing for work and the damn problem surface...will try the spare key and see if problem can be solve...

Thanks again !

Dear Guru, I have discovered my bike when travelling quite a distance e.g 10km when stopping @ Traffic junction or even parking my bike w/o switching off the engine, I heard some 'tak' 'tak' sound coming somewhere from the engine area apart of the engine sound.

Kindly advise?

21st Jun 05 to 7th Sept 07 -- Phantom TA 200 (FY ****K)

8th Sept 07 to 27th Jul 08 -- CB400 VTEC 1 (FS ***Z) <-- Stolen in JB

5th Aug 08 to 15th May 10 --CB400 VTEC 2 (FV ****Z)

20th May 10 -- Honda Jazz (SJE ****C)

hi... any expert know how to fix HID and alarm... i ask ard shop but the price is ex...

Bikes

30 Nov 06 to 17 Dec 07 - Honda SP FT2676K

17 Dec 07 to 21 Oct 09 - Honda CB400s spec1 FU4977Z

21 Oct 09 to 26 Jun 10 - Yamaha Fazer FZ6 S2 FBD8658E

26 Jun 10 to 22 Nov 2011 - Yamaha FJR 1300ABS FZ3450G

29 Dec 10 to 26 Nov 2011 - Yamaha Fino FBC5429A

26 Nov 2011 to 08 Mar 2013 - Honda Silverwing FBB5520Z

08 Mar 2013 - Yamaha Tmax

Hi to all experience S4 bros...

My headlight sometimes does not seem to work... occasionally.. after off n on engine.. it works again.. ask HKL & Unique mech.. they say my electric starter spoil (The "button" we depress to start the bike).. need to replace.. cost abt 100 plus.. need a 3rd opinion here..

Any advise would be greatly appreaciated... Thanks in advance...

hi everyone.. i just brought a spec2 leh.. hmmm.. wan know ppl who ride s4 and make friend ard.. share and learn from each other.tips.. hmmm..

some questions tat i am not sure sia.. today 1st day riding sia

1st.. i use leo vinc pipe but sometime when i close throttle, there is a aeroplane sound from the endcan there.. blowing sound ba.. dunno how to explain..

2nd.. when i travel after 110 onwards my ride side footrest there like will vibrate quite serious leh comapre to my left side de..

3rd.. the brake for s4 is not very gd compare to when i use to ride kr leh.. but my bike now is hel brake line leh..

4th is is normal tat i can feel the engine near my leg there is hot sometimes?

hmm.. other i forget le.. lol.. now buy le many ????? ard my head.. noob here.. tks

any any1 advise or enlighten mi?

WTB 2b/2A Bikes

Was thinking if changing spark plugs make ur bike run hotter? Cos recently I juz change my spark plugs and I feel my bike run alot hotter den b4.. My gf also complain say her legs feel hotter.. Anyone can advise?

Max

SpecIII Rider

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/kk53/u0605382/SNC00042-1.jpg

http://www.speedtest.net/result/333285646.png

hi... any expert know how to fix HID and alarm... i ask ard shop but the price is ex...

Find clarkewan from CMO.. $100 HID dual-beam for s4.. Nice chap and good installation skills..

Max

SpecIII Rider

Hi to all experience S4 bros...

My headlight sometimes does not seem to work... occasionally.. after off n on engine.. it works again.. ask HKL & Unique mech.. they say my electric starter spoil (The "button" we depress to start the bike).. need to replace.. cost abt 100 plus.. need a 3rd opinion here..

Any advise would be greatly appreaciated... Thanks in advance...

Did you try playing ard with ur ignition switch when ur headlights doesn't on? Cos sometimes it happened to me too, headlight nv on so i juz slightly push the button again and the light will come on..

Max

SpecIII Rider

hi everyone.. i just brought a spec2 leh.. hmmm.. wan know ppl who ride s4 and make friend ard.. share and learn from each other.tips.. hmmm..

some questions tat i am not sure sia.. today 1st day riding sia

1st.. i use leo vinc pipe but sometime when i close throttle, there is a aeroplane sound from the endcan there.. blowing sound ba.. dunno how to explain..

2nd.. when i travel after 110 onwards my ride side footrest there like will vibrate quite serious leh comapre to my left side de..

3rd.. the brake for s4 is not very gd compare to when i use to ride kr leh.. but my bike now is hel brake line leh..

4th is is normal tat i can feel the engine near my leg there is hot sometimes?

hmm.. other i forget le.. lol.. now buy le many ????? ard my head.. noob here.. tks

any any1 advise or enlighten mi?

1) I dun use leo vince so I can't advise.. But aeroplane sound gd mah, i wan to make my yoshi sound like aeroplane oso cannot..

2) I tink it's normal to have vibration at foot pegs at high speed.. this problem was discussed b4 and it appears almost everyone has this prob..

3) Maybe it's time for u to flush the brake fluids and do some brake servicing since it's a old bike.. Or maybe brake pads finish or previous owner uses lousy brake pads..

4) It's normal to feel heat from the engine.. S4 is naked bike, not KR or SP got farring to "block" off the heat.. The heat is usually more noticable if travelling in hot day time.. As long as it's not hot until like burning ur legs, it's normal..

Max

SpecIII Rider

Find clarkewan from CMO.. $100 HID dual-beam for s4.. Nice chap and good installation skills..

I have a HID with me now... but just dun know how to fix it when i take out my head light, some wire i cant find on the bike.. it's a plug and play thingy so i need so guide..:cheeky:

Bikes

30 Nov 06 to 17 Dec 07 - Honda SP FT2676K

17 Dec 07 to 21 Oct 09 - Honda CB400s spec1 FU4977Z

21 Oct 09 to 26 Jun 10 - Yamaha Fazer FZ6 S2 FBD8658E

26 Jun 10 to 22 Nov 2011 - Yamaha FJR 1300ABS FZ3450G

29 Dec 10 to 26 Nov 2011 - Yamaha Fino FBC5429A

26 Nov 2011 to 08 Mar 2013 - Honda Silverwing FBB5520Z

08 Mar 2013 - Yamaha Tmax