Originally posted by muser@May 29 2005, 03:32 PM

It's good to hear one of the founding AOC members like servo weigh in on the issues. Servo, bro, great suggestion: You want to settle, we settle on the track. We see you at PG.

Someone please translate that Malay phrase for me. Hanif?

I dont think I would stop and ask them to settle it on the track.

After hearing about them kicking people's bike while riding, personal safety is more impt.

Their Mum prob made them by the dozen, life is cheap to them.

If they try anything funny, I'll come back the next evening with the co. car and show them sparks can also be created other than grinding your main stand on the road.

:nono: :nono: :nono:

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by CMYRS@May 29 2005, 05:29 PM

Muser, I managed to find out that the HUD I was referring to is actually a Euro brand, made in Germany.

I'm looking forward to the details. US$1500 is 3 times the price of the Veypor system - I wonder if it's 3 times better. The Veypor already has every feature I could ask for, and can also be easily migrated to other bikes. However, if this Eurpean one is mounted on the inside of the helmet, like you suggested in previous posts, then it might be more durable since it would be protected by the helmet, unlike the Veypor unit, which sits outside the hemlet, just above the visor.

Originally posted by muser@May 29 2005, 05:40 PM

I'm looking forward to the details. US$1500 is 3 times the price of the Veypor system - I wonder if it's 3 times better. The Veypor already has every feature I could ask for, and can also be easily migrated to other bikes. However, if this Eurpean one is mounted on the inside of the helmet, like you suggested in previous posts, then it might be more durable since it would be protected by the helmet, unlike the Veypor unit, which sits outside the hemlet, just above the visor.

This one is entirely inside the helmet, so no TP stopping and asking,"What's THAT?"

Almost had an accident a couple of days ago on the CTE after glancing down at the speedo, looked up and the car infront slammed on his brakes, I braked but it was too late, had to swerve out of the lane into the next one w/o checking, my mirrors missing the stationary car by 1/2 a metre or so...........it was so close......

If I had the HUD.........

They go their own way.

Originally posted by servoprax+-->
QUOTE (servoprax)
"cakap tak guna, tembak tak kena"[/b]

i think it means, talk no use, place not affected..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

jus came back from the inpromptu DIY session..

hai.. stupid edwin and i went to lawrence place and thot the DIY session was today which in fact shud be next sunday...

anyway... it was a fruitful session.. i'm sure to go back for more.. and hopefully next time, i'll service my bike at the motorcycle lot...

hiak hiak

i think tis time of round, we were kinda hooked up with polishing...

weet you weet... our bikes are so smOoth~~

hahaa

we shud pool money to buy some uni-opal stuffs for our servicing session..

Originally posted by CMYRS@May 29 2005, 06:01 PM

This one is entirely inside the helmet, so no TP stopping and asking,"What's THAT?"

Almost had an accident a couple of days ago on the CTE after glancing down at the speedo, looked up and the car infront slammed on his brakes, I braked but it was too late, had to swerve out of the lane into the next one w/o checking, my mirrors missing the stationary car by 1/2 a metre or so...........it was so close......

If I had the HUD.........

jus do away the habit of looking at the speedo...

kaka

Originally posted by CMYRS+-->
QUOTE (CMYRS)
I dont think I would stop and ask them to settle it on the track.

After hearing about them kicking people's bike while riding, personal safety is more impt.[/b]

Stopping at the side of the road if harrassed by ruffians is not the best idea, but if somehow confronted group-to-group, suggesting a track race would be preferable to violence, and might appeal to a gang's/design's sense of "honour-in-combat". Of course, the other - perhaps wiser - option is to apologise profusely for existing, proclaim great fear of them, and beg to be allowed on your way, heheh. I wonder what I'd end up doing - I have a brain, but I've also been known to have a hell of a temper, and my tolerance for nonsense has been dimishing with the years.

Originally posted by CMYRS+-->
QUOTE (CMYRS)
This one is entirely inside the helmet, so no TP stopping and asking,"What's THAT?"[/b]

I'm glad you escaped unscathed! You make a good point, TP loves to pick on unusual stuff. I recently had a TP ask me if my RS pipe was modified, and when I said no, he said, "Aprilia stock pipe where got like that one." Then I politely pointed out that there was the word Aprilia etched into the surface of the pipe. Doesn't he know that not everyone drinks milo, though there's nothing wrong with that energy drink?

Originally posted by eyz

i think it means, talk no use, place not affected

Ooorrr, as in "Talk doesn't resolve our situation or prove anything." I wonder though if that would provoke a guy to say "Okay lah, I prove to you with my fist!"

Originally posted by eyz

hey ya got the hud thingy on ya helmet already uh?? how come ya never show it to ask??

You never see on his helmet yesterday meh, when you met Lawrence and I at his void deck?

Originally posted by eyz@May 29 2005, 06:19 PM

jus do away the habit of looking at the speedo...

kaka

And the nextime TP stops me and says,"Sir, you were doing 140km/h in a 50km/h zone." I'll tell him," Oh! But its not safe to look at the speedo while riding!" :bounce:

They go their own way.

"cakap tak guna, tembak tak kena"

translate in lay man terms is talk is cheap...

but talking to this guys is useless...

unless u are talking straight to their head..

they rather let their fists do the talking...

rather than talking with their mouths..

well these guys are trouble makers..

in the good old days, these gangs, to settle their diiferences,

they will hold a jackpot race...

but the m'sian authorities have been hard with them...

so guys..

just be careful...

if u ever kena challenge with them,

just take note of the designs on their helmet..

and if possible, tell the authorities..

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

Originally posted by _wacko_@May 29 2005, 08:08 PM

if u ever kena challenge with them,

just take note of the designs on their helmet..

and if possible, tell the authorities..

You seem to know a fair bit about this. Can share how else to recognise them besides the designs on their helmet? Is this why their gangs are called "designs"? Is it standard practice among designs to display their designs on their helmets?

Now if only I could mount a digital camera on my helmet...

Originally posted by muser@May 29 2005, 08:13 PM

You seem to know a fair bit about this. Can share how else to recognise them besides the designs on their helmet? Is this why their gangs are called "designs"? Is it standard practice among designs to display their designs on their helmets?

Now if only I could mount a digital camera on my helmet...

well...

i got a few frens here and there lah.

.:cheeky:

u describe the designs for me lah..

yes..

its a standard practise for them to display their designs on their helmets...

as it would show which designs and to mark their territory..

these are easily seen at the back of their helmets...

usually.. if a certain area is their territory, they would hang out at the most popular coffeeshop of that area displaying their helmets on the tables..

some of these designs are peaceful fellas...

these designs existed since our fathers time... in the early 1980s..

as u know, in those days, s'pore have a race track and those designs are meant to show their prowess in the sg circuit so other bikers will respect..

but nowadays.. they misconceptualise these designs and use it for other purposes for example marking their territories just to prove that their designs are bigger and better..

i dun want to name the designs and which territory are they holding as it might get me in trouble.. just describe me the designs, and i tell u wat design that is thru pm...

but guys..

its better just to stay out of harms way..

just ride as per normal.. dun care bout them..

if ever u were disturb.... just slow.. and let them pass u first..

never ever stop by the shoulder..

if at the traffic light, and they blow u...

just ignore them and look straight..

as for... if they were to blow me...(but if i'm riding my 250)

i would just look at them and look at their bike and look away..

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

Originally posted by _wacko_@May 29 2005, 10:30 PM

well...

i got a few frens here and there lah.

.:cheeky:

u describe the designs for me lah..

yes..

its a standard practise for them to display their designs on their helmets...

as it would show which designs and to mark their territory..

these are easily seen at the back of their helmets...

usually.. if a certain area is their territory, they would hang out at the most popular coffeeshop of that area displaying their helmets on the tables..

as u know, in those days, s'pore have a race track and those designs are meant to show their prowess in the sg circuit so other bikers will respect..

but nowadays.. they misconceptualise these designs and use it for other purposes for example marking their territories just to prove that their designs are bigger and better..

i dun want to name the designs and which territory are they holding as it might get me in trouble.. just describe me the designs, and i tell u wat design that is thru pm...

but guys..

its better just to stay out of harms way..

just ride as per normal.. dun care bout them..

if ever u were disturb.... just slow.. and let them pass u first..

never ever stop by the shoulder..

if at the traffic light, and they blow u...

just ignore them and look straight..

as for... if they were to blow me...(but if i'm riding my 250)

i would just look at them and look at their bike and look away..

okay those at BKE's are wearing red helmet with someform of falcon behind, to be honest there is no need to be afraid of them. i'm actaully more concerned/afraid of TP. ... you know la, Govt agencies F*****g efficient,if they want to hunt you down, only place you can run is overseas.

Always be prepared.

Originally posted by _wacko_+May 29 2005, 10:30 PM-->
QUOTE (_wacko_ @ May 29 2005, 10:30 PM)

but nowadays.. they misconceptualise these designs..

...just describe me the designs, and i tell u wat design that is thru pm...

...if they were to blow me...(but if i'm riding my 250)

i would just look at them and look at their bike and look away.. [/b]

Thanks for the background info. So many of these designs have respectable and worthy histories; very, very interesting. And a real shame that some of them have degenerated into bands of pathetic thugs. Strangely, it makes me feel that Singapore's let them down in a sense by not having a race track anymore... I can't really explain it, but I'm a bit upset, and not at them. Singapore's lost a lot over the years in the gahment's relentless drive towards productivity and GDP figures.

Thanks also for the offer to help us identify what designs we're dealing with.

I like your intended reaction towards these hooligans, heheh. In other words, "You want to race me with that bike? You must be joking. Don't waste my time." :thumb:

Originally posted by -fspider-@May 29 2005, 07:43 PM

eyez>> count me in for june 5th yes? would have jus completed my exams..

perfect timing for a batH... sHe is the epitome oF diRtY now maN..

ya can go join them...

i jus remember i got a wedding to attend..

guess i won't get to polish my bike..

muahaha...

someone selling his rs250 in classified.. 3k and it's a shell advance design... anyone knows the owner?? wonder how's the condition of the bike...

dunno whether after 5th of July, will the bike still be ard.. tat is provided i manage to pass moi TP

hey.. i am 19 yrs old..i like to own an rs250..but then i am skolling and working part time at the same time...heard tht maintenance is very very high..how true is tht..and do you think...am i able to support it..am i fit to own one...plezz help me..and is the 2nd bike...good or not...plezz tell me more abt this bike tnanks:help:

Originally posted by muser+May 29 2005, 11:09 PM-->
QUOTE (muser @ May 29 2005, 11:09 PM)

Originally posted by amonamarth@May 29 2005, 11:07 PM

okay those at BKE's are wearing red helmet with someform of falcon behind, to be honest there is no need to be afraid of them. i'm actaully more concerned/afraid of TP. ... you know la, Govt agencies F*****g efficient,if they want to hunt you down, only place you can run is overseas.

hmmm..

red helmets and falcon design...

most probably an idian designs....

pm me to know more..

Originally posted by shyam@May 30 2005, 12:35 AM

hey.. i am 19 yrs old..i like to own an rs250..but then i am skolling and working part time at the same time...heard tht maintenance is very very high..how true is tht..and do you think...am i able to support it..am i fit to own one...plezz help me..and is the 2nd bike...good or not...plezz tell me more abt this bike tnanks:help:

owning a 250 requires patience and dedication and a lil bit of luck..

heheh..

anyway..

anyone is fit to own an rs250..

its a question whether or not u can handle the power..

power is nothing without control..

with great power come great responsibilty..

(haven i heard that somewhere)

Eh brudders, how about we have our designs also? we put italian flag behind our helmets la...? hahaha...(all these talk about designs is getting me crazy)

Always be prepared.

hey dude, come on lah.. grow up man haha (no hard feelings) havin a design will definitely attract those troublemakers..

i have tis suggestions

mayb it's time for us to make some AOC stickers, italian stallion or wateva lah... anyone good is designing?

Originally posted by eyz@May 30 2005, 01:11 AM

hey dude, come on lah.. grow up man haha (no hard feelings) havin a design will definitely attract those troublemakers..

i have tis suggestions

mayb it's time for us to make some AOC stickers, italian stallion or wateva lah... anyone good is designing?

tat's a great idea...

but AOC.??

why not ARC..??

Aprilia Rider Club..??

well as printing oout the stickers..

JB cheaper..

i'm willing to offer myself to ride to jb and do the stikers..

Originally posted by _wacko_@May 30 2005, 01:18 AM

but AOC.??

why not ARC..??

Aprilia Rider Club..??

_wacko_, you're a genius! ARC/Arc/arc (just experimenting with capitalisation) is a lot cooler than AOC, cuz we can pronounce it! I second ARC! A designer, come on, somebody! I can't design to save my life. But I'd be happy to check the colours, convert from RGB to CMYK, blah blah blah, I'm good with a computer and am in the publishing business, I just can't draw to save my life. Waitaminute... I'm remembering that Lawrence said he can do stickers - Law, what do you say? But we still need a designer. Come come, don't shy hor...

First of all ill like to thank everyone who helped me and gave me advice :cheer:

and really a big Thank You to Edwin, he went with me to view to aprilla's

THANK YOU EDWIN ! :cry: TOUCHED

now the plan is to wait and start fishing, no point being a carrot head :cheeky:

tks! Guys and esp to EDWIN thank yew man !:thumb: Ups for everyone!

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c273/JieLiang3284/20082008_010.jpg

To some they are neither here nor there, Some how we are still some where. One day we will eventually get there - JL 060608.