• Replies 71

Hello, my IU unit (old version) transparent part (cap) has turned yellowish and can't see value very well anymore. Is there anything I can do about it?

u can change it foc i heard?

yo bros, if ur iu still have warranty, what documents do u have to bring when u go down for the iu to be replaced?

No document is require.....Just ride ur bike w IU to any vicom....

just came back from vicom to check my IU as ytd nv display anything when i put in my cashcard

they checked and say just some wire loose and replace a spring in my IU fuse compartment

they also say my IU got water stain inside which is not covered under warr

any idea how do i go about settling this problem as i suspect is IU not installed properly in the first place

so not my fault but if spoil then vicom dun regconise the warr how sia...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

just came back from vicom to check my IU as ytd nv display anything when i put in my cashcard

they checked and say just some wire loose and replace a spring in my IU fuse compartment

they also say my IU got water stain inside which is not covered under warr

any idea how do i go about settling this problem as i suspect is IU not installed properly in the first place

so not my fault but if spoil then vicom dun regconise the warr how sia...

i guess u cant do anything about it. i had something similar as well. my iu was cracked. it was working well with the crack but somehow it just suddenly stopped working one day. then i went to get it checked and the person said cracked iu is not covered under warranty. argued that is not my fault, ppl try to pry it open, but to no avail. thus i have to suck thumb and change a new iu..

Selling Aprilia Front, Rear Brakes & Dellorto 34mm Carb !

Selling Aprilia Parts!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/304715-WTS-Aprilia-Front-amp-Rear-Brakes-Full-Set-amp-Dellorto-34mm-Carb!

PM me for more info! :cheeky:

i guess u cant do anything about it. i had something similar as well. my iu was cracked. it was working well with the crack but somehow it just suddenly stopped working one day. then i went to get it checked and the person said cracked iu is not covered under warranty. argued that is not my fault, ppl try to pry it open, but to no avail. thus i have to suck thumb and change a new iu..

from what you say seems that almost everything is not covered under the warr..

i mean it is not our fault that these type of things happen

so we have to cover the cost of changing even though its not our fault...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

i have a similar bad story, some hooligans fiddled with my bike and the next day i saw it lying on its side, with cosmetic damages and iu cover sheared off. So i fixed the bike and resprayed, and didnt think much about the iu cover damage, it was brand new under warranty, i thought i had it covered and replaced.

i even worried about moisture seeping in, so i purchased those faux leather covers, to prevent that from happening, subsequently i went down to vicom, and asked if i can get a cover replaced.

i was VERY polite and asked nicely if it was under warranty, but the worker there even had the cheek to be extremely rude and just shot me the sentence without even looking at me "Not covered, change new one (iu)". with a ugly tone of voice.

i didnt even pick up a fuss and went to sta, cos my impression was that vicom staff were more sticklers for the rules anyway.

i then went to STA, they were nice, i could see that they really wanted to help me change the dumb plastic cap, they hunted for spares to no avail, then they told me that "the new iu design does not allow for the plastic cover to be replaced " :(

but any person can see its an easy job to do. its just 2 stupid metal pins holding the cap in.

i was like "what?"

so i asked him is it ok to ride around without a iu plastic cover?

he replied embarrassedly that no, water seepage will definitely kill the IU, like i suspected.

so i asked if i could replace the entire IU if it had water damage, "no" he told me again.

talk about a rock and a hard place. so he was basically telling me that they did not cover the cap damage, and subsequent damage from water seeping in because they cant even design or think about providing such a simple and basic spare part, that i would have to fork out 160 dollars, which i had no fault in the first place.

i even offered to pay him the cost of the cover without it being covered by the warranty.

he then explained that because of LTA's new strict rules, all IU's under warranty traded in had to have all parts returned, so no old caps could be salvaged, and LTA does not provide extra caps for replacement.

also the cap damage in itself is considered a void in the warranty.

that was a few months ago, and today my new slim iu barely a year old has died on me (im not sure why.)

160$ gone just like that, so i have to pay another 160 to buy the machine that gives more cashcard money to the govt.

NAISE

so people with new iu's, dont be complacent and think its covered by warranty, treat that PRECIOUS transparent plastic cap with care, for all u know, a bit too much force or a wrong angle of tugging, and there goes 160 bucks!!!! because of a piece of arcylic

Edited by nuad
bad frickin grammar

"I don't trust any bike I can't see through" - jay leno

i have a similar bad story, some hooligans fiddled with my bike and the next day i saw it lying on its side, with cosmetic damages and iu cover sheared off. So i fixed the bike and resprayed, and didnt think much about the iu cover damage, it was brand new under warranty, i thought i had it covered and replaced.

i even worried about moisture seeping in, so i purchased those faux leather covers, to prevent that from happening, subsequently i went down to vicom, and asked if i can get a cover replaced.

i was VERY polite and asked nicely if it was under warranty, but the worker there even had the cheek to be extremely rude and just shot me the sentence without even looking at me "Not covered, change new one (iu)". with a ugly tone of voice.

i didnt even pick up a fuss and went to sta, cos my impression was that vicom staff were more sticklers for the rules anyway.

i then went to STA, they were nice, i could see that they really wanted to help me change the dumb plastic cap, they hunted for spares to no avail, then they told me that "the new iu design does not allow for the plastic cover to be replaced " :(

but any person can see its an easy job to do. its just 2 stupid metal pins holding the cap in.

i was like "what?"

so i asked him is it ok to ride around without a iu plastic cover?

he replied embarrassedly that no, water seepage will definitely kill the IU, like i suspected.

so i asked if i could replace the entire IU if it had water damage, "no" he told me again.

talk about a rock and a hard place. so he was basically telling me that they did not cover the cap damage, and subsequent damage from water seeping in because they cant even design or think about providing such a simple and basic spare part, that i would have to fork out 160 dollars, which i had no fault in the first place.

i even offered to pay him the cost of the cover without it being covered by the warranty.

he then explained that because of LTA's new strict rules, all IU's under warranty traded in had to have all parts returned, so no old caps could be salvaged, and LTA does not provide extra caps for replacement.

also the cap damage in itself is considered a void in the warranty.

that was a few months ago, and today my new slim iu barely a year old has died on me (im not sure why.)

160$ gone just like that, so i have to pay another 160 to buy the machine that gives more cashcard money to the govt.

NAISE

so people with new iu's, dont be complacent and think its covered by warranty, treat that PRECIOUS transparent plastic cap with care, for all u know, a bit too much force or a wrong angle of tugging, and there goes 160 bucks!!!! because of a piece of arcylic

thats the stupid rule

is the iu itself in the 1st place is faulty and cause water seepage

we have to pay for a totally new one when at the 1st place it is not our fault

do they think we purposely spoil the IUs and want to claim warr

then i wonder what is covered under the warr

but the new iu also covered under warr rite?

u go down to check out and see what they said?

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

thats the stupid rule

is the iu itself in the 1st place is faulty and cause water seepage

we have to pay for a totally new one when at the 1st place it is not our fault

do they think we purposely spoil the IUs and want to claim warr

then i wonder what is covered under the warr

but the new iu also covered under warr rite?

u go down to check out and see what they said?

yup, my is the new slim one, the cover is NOT covered. lol.

funny, im guessing the warranty is covering only faulty detecting iu's or non working iu's WITHOUT 1) water damage 2) external cracks or damage 3) cover of IU MUST still be there

i went down to 3 different centers, all gave the same answer.

oh woe is me :(

lan lan suck thumb.

also dont understand how that piece of unreliable plastic crap can cost 160 bucks

yup, my is the new slim one, the cover is NOT covered. lol.

funny, im guessing the warranty is covering only faulty detecting iu's or non working iu's WITHOUT 1) water damage 2) external cracks or damage 3) cover of IU MUST still be there

i went down to 3 different centers, all gave the same answer.

oh woe is me :(

lan lan suck thumb.

also dont understand how that piece of unreliable plastic crap can cost 160 bucks

the 1st 2 condition is like not fair to bikers lah

if ppl sabo your IU or originally got problem then water sip in how

ours not like cars one always covered one leh

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

the 1st 2 condition is like not fair to bikers lah

if ppl sabo your IU or originally got problem then water sip in how

ours not like cars one always covered one leh

oh well like chow yun fat said "WELCOME TO SINGAPORE!" lawls

wanna check ar. my iu is also spoilt. if wanna bring down to vicom to check izit chargeable? as in just check if its really spoilt or its just wiring loose. if wanna get 2nd hand from shop how to go about getting it fixed?

class 2B : 27 November 2007

class 2A : 21 April 2009

class 2 : 21 October 2010

class 3 : 21 August 2007

"Change is a decision u make and not a thought in your mind"

" there can only be transformation when you have change your thoughts"

wanna check ar. my iu is also spoilt. if wanna bring down to vicom to check izit chargeable? as in just check if its really spoilt or its just wiring loose. if wanna get 2nd hand from shop how to go about getting it fixed?

if you go down and say spoil they will check

then will be like my case

he pull/push the wiring/spray contact cleaner,change a spring

and charge me $5.35

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

if you go down and say spoil they will check

then will be like my case

he pull/push the wiring/spray contact cleaner,change a spring

and charge me $5.35

wheather work or not also charge ar?

Mine IU i recently just found out tat not workin also . sian i suspect is wash bike kanna one , any idea how ?

I changed iu many many times, many many money give government.. Now riding without iu..

Iu unit is the most advance technology singapore has ever invented for a vehicle, it adds 10-15bhp to your wallet when you travel in town.. Comes with large lcd display for better viewing of its counting down turbo cash timer.. Timer can be adjusted through its racing cashcard via advance axs machine at your convenience 24hrs, any machine.. Damaged for the iu unit turbo timer, 160 with installation at any vicom racing cash developement center.. Racing cashcard sold seperately.. 160 for a piece of ugly junk to mount on my bike..

my two babes..

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/malex_sky/signature.jpg

hot babes...

wheather work or not also charge ar?

not sure

if after they adjust nt working i think they will ask u to change IU liao

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Mine IU i recently just found out tat not workin also . sian i suspect is wash bike kanna one , any idea how ?

maybe you check the wiring 1st

cos if a bit loose then u adjust will save u the $5.35 for them to do it

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Iu unit is the most advance technology singapore has ever invented for a vehicle, it adds 10-15bhp to your wallet when you travel in town.. Comes with large lcd display for better viewing of its counting down turbo cash timer.. Timer can be adjusted through its racing cashcard via advance axs machine at your convenience 24hrs, any machine.. Damaged for the iu unit turbo timer, 160 with installation at any vicom racing cash developement center.. Racing cashcard sold seperately.. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx..

I feel proud of my government....

can some1 tell me what is the procedure like? if i wanna get a second hand one, how to install? how to register with lta?

If I gt a 2nd hand iu, without the previous scrap bike list but the bike already scrap. How do I install the iu. Cox mine totally can't work.

Go visit vicom, they will do for u n paid small amount of fees..

can some1 tell me what is the procedure like? if i wanna get a second hand one, how to install? how to register with lta?

U need the IU and the scrap slip..

Install(DIY or vicom) & register can only be done in vicom....

can i ask where can i find second hand iu?

No long ago, someone listed all d 2nd hand IU shop in this forums.