Hi Ah Nick,

My super flip skidmarx, 1yrs to be exact, have those tiny hair-line cracks covered almost 80% of the screen, it only can be seen under the street/sun light and at certain angles only. I worry this might make the windscreen weak.

So think about it. :confused:

I don't know about other buggers skidmarx windscreen condition..!

I very seldom or avoid parking my bike under strong sun...most of the time it is shaded~ back home mscp and at work place under shelter.

Maybe can be due to the material quality or I put stress on the screen during all those rides!!! either way if this is the case -I would not recommend it to anyone!

for safety wise!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

ThE SpIrIt StIlL LiVeS On "Diversion XJ9s"

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Just want to find out, where is your servicing/repair/maintenance done for your Divvy?

Please add to the list. Mechanic's name are in the brackets. Thanx.(OMD)

01) OMD - K&T @ Ubi (Clifford)

02) Silverghost- Looi's (azis) & Everbright (ah wah/ah boon)

03)

04)

05)

06)

07)

08)

09)

Guys help- OMD- he is doing a bike workshop & mechanic survey! he,he,heee...!!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 11 2005, 10:52 PM

Hi Ah Nick,

I have a better idea..! let the pillion take over your bike- you become the pillion, you hide behind the rider instead. :cheeky: .he,he,heee...!!

BTW which windscreen did you order...???

When talking about comfort, it's the pillion who have the best sit...! (tourers)

So how did you did any barter trading(bike seat) with sun!

Silverghost... o_O

..... i disagree... I perfer the rider seat~~ hauha .... WHen I am a pillion, I feel veri scare ....

I order THE 62cm Skidmarx Flip up.....

arr.. not yet leh.. have not seen his real person yet... waiting lor .~

Define Danger

More time on road = More Danger

Less time on road = Less Danger

Slower Speed = More Time On Road

Faster Speed = Less Time on Road

Thus

Less Time on Road = Less Danger = Faster Speed~~

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 11 2005, 11:20 PM

Hi Ah Nick,

My super flip skidmarx, 1yrs to be exact, have those tiny hair-line cracks covered almost 80% of the screen, it only can be seen under the street/sun light and at certain angles only. I worry this might make the windscreen weak.

So think about it. :confused:

I very seldom or avoid parking my bike under strong sun...most of the time it is shaded~ back home mscp and at work place under shelter.

Maybe can be due to the material quality or I put stress on the screen during all those rides!!! either way if this is the case -I would not recommend it to anyone!

for safety wise!

Silverghost...o_O

hmmm.... any comment from the rest... hmm... for the comfort, I really prefer the tallest one. The stock one is ... not helping at all, my height is 1.85cm and I really hope to get a tall and strong one...

can it be weathering that cost the problem or plain weak material???

Define Danger

Thus

After much thous... I decided to put this down...

http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg/singapor...level=6?364,353

I went to this bike shop to fix up a bracket for my rear box. I mention alot of times to them that I dun wan the orginal things no to be Mod. They promise that the bike will be orginal with the rear bracket.

After 2 hrs, they did fix a bracket and rear base plate. BUT!!!! The alightment of both the box is out, the left box is slight tilt more then the right, FurTHER MORE!!! THEY SAW/CUT my Divvy ROD shorter to fix up the box than to provide one... As I was in a hurry...I have to leave and have to wait for one more week... REalising the box is out , i return to the shop again on the next week ( last Saturday ).

The boss realise that both the side box is unequal and promise to adjust for mi, thus ask his worker to do it... after so much adjustment, the box is still out....

Super fed up... super sian..... now...

Reason for this upset is

1) One side box is support my 2 yamaha thick rod with equal lenght. but now , that it SAWED/CUTTED and in unequal length... this means that bike will wobble at high speed, ( that y I can onli try up to 200 and whole bike wobble like .. siao )

2) I cannot remove bracket as the rod is shorten

3) My bracket is connected to my base plate by an extension that cause my rear box to be more unsecure....

Define Danger

Thus

Just want to find out, where is your servicing/repair/maintenance done for your Divvy?

03) Swift - Everbright (Ah Boon)

04)

05)

06)

07)

08)

09)

Swift aka Jasper

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

Ah Nick,

I am very surprised that after getting to know the guys here, you did not got any advice or pointers from them about top box mountings/brackets installation. I believe most, if not all, did their top box bracket installation at Seng Kwang. The personnel at the shop have a lot of experience with the Divvy, so, no problems were encountered.

As for the shop you mentioned, there are a few shops in the vicinity, but I have had a bad experience with one of the shops there some time ago. It was also pertaining to the installation of top box bracket for my earlier bike. They insisted that some mods must be done to the original chassis mounting in order to have the brackets installed. Eventually, I went to another shop and they did the bracket without any mods to my original parts. My opinion is, they want to do the mods because they want to do a quick job, a short cut. That, to me, is unacceptable. Many bikers fall for that excuse, simply because they were unaware or ignorant, and that is why such shops flourish. Why should we have to accept shoddy workmanship or unauthorised modifications to our bikes, just so that these ppl can have an easier job?

The point here is, if at any point of time we feel uncomfortable about the job that is going to be done............rule of the thumb is..........abort the plan. Go and seek alternatives, coz at the end of the day, we are, after all, paying for it.

Finally, as for your case, maybe something can be done to rectify the problems your are having. I am confident that you can make it ok again, only question is........at what price?

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

-------------------> So Little Time

-----------------------------> It's A Vmax Thing.

Originally posted by Ah Nick@Apr 12 2005, 12:36 AM

After much thous... I decided to put this down...

http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg/singapor...level=6?364,353

I went to this bike shop to fix up a bracket for my rear box. I mention alot of times to them that I dun wan the orginal things no to be Mod. They promise that the bike will be orginal with the rear bracket.

After 2 hrs, they did fix a bracket and rear base plate. BUT!!!! The alightment of both the box is out, the left box is slight tilt more then the right, FurTHER MORE!!! THEY SAW/CUT my Divvy ROD shorter to fix up the box than to provide one... As I was in a hurry...I have to leave and have to wait for one more week... REalising the box is out , i return to the shop again on the next week ( last Saturday ).

The boss realise that both the side box is unequal and promise to adjust for mi, thus ask his worker to do it... after so much adjustment, the box is still out....

Super fed up... super sian..... now...

Reason for this upset is

1) One side box is support my 2 yamaha thick rod with equal lenght. but now , that it SAWED/CUTTED and in unequal length... this means that bike will wobble at high speed, ( that y I can onli try up to 200 and whole bike wobble like .. siao )

3) My bracket is connected to my base plate by an extension that cause my rear box to be more unsecure....

What brand of bracket do they use? Home made bracket like Seng Kwang? The name of this bike shop? How much do they charge u? Care to share more details. Insist them for discount for all d inconvenience caused to u. U must b firm with them, no compromise on d alignment for d box, & d side or rear boxes must b able to take d weight when is fully loaded, each box 5 to 8 kg. Unless u want to take a look at mine.

I fitted my bracket at 219 Motor Shop along Lavender Street, i wonder is it d same shop. They used GIVI bracket & base plate for my rear box, with no mod to d side box & chassis.

03) Kevin - Mah Motor Agencies @ 361 Jalan Besar & mostly DIY myself

04)

05)

06)

07)

08)

09)

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 11 2005, 11:20 PM

Hi Ah Nick,

So think about it:confused:

for safety wise!

Silverghost...o_O

SG

did u apply any chemical eg. anti-water, wax etc. on your screen after bike washed? Which part of your screen u found d hair-lines cracks, d edge or near to d screw?

Mine still in perfect condition after 3 1/2 years. After bike washed i will leave it to dry by itself nor do i use any cloth to wipe it. Cos, many years ago i used anti-water chemical applied on my former bike's screen & after sometimes i found crack & d whole screen became tarnished.

Ah Nick

U r taller then most average riders, d Skidmarx screen will not eliminate wind blast totally from u, even though i am 1.73m, i still feel d breeze, it only reduce d wind blast by 40% ( just my owe opinion ). However, it is definitely much better then d OEM or MRA screen. Another advantage is when i try to speak to my wife behind i dont have to shout or raise my voice like before, she also agreed that she can hear me better & clearer. & during drizzling rain my chest area will not get wet from d water splash from d rear of a car.

04) Oxygen - no particular place at the moment.

05)

06)

07)

08)

09)

You become successful the moment you start moving toward a worthwhile goal.

Hi Nick...

Why don't you ask yamaha agent if they have the rod???

Pengerang Day Ride

Date : 16th Apr 05

Time : 0700hrs

Meeting point : Woodlands Ave 1 Esso (Going by 1st Link).

Buggers going. :bouncefire:

01) OMD-Boss

02) Custom

03) Silverghost

04) Jleo/BiBi

05) Mr/Mrs Casper4xxx +

06) Mr/Mrs Oxygen

07) Hack-Clear-Carbon-son (stx13)

08) Euro (50/50 chance)

09) BP

10) Mr/Mrs Sunny

11) Mr/Mrs Kevin

12) Casper4xxx-friend n Partner S4)

Guys...4 more days to go :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Originally posted by Oxygen@Apr 12 2005, 11:10 AM

Hi Nick...

Why don't you ask yamaha agent if they have the rod???

i've asked Hong Leong about the rod thing. They do not sell the rods alone. They sell the whole set, two side panniers + brackets + rods.

The previous owner for my bike change the original rod to some spacers thingy and now my two side panniers are slightly tilted outwards. :sian:

I have been looking around since for the rods for the brackets. If anyone has any info, pls advice.

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

Please add to the list. Mechanic's name are in the brackets. Thanx.

02) Silverghost- Looi's (Aziz) & Everbright (Ah Wah/Ah Boon)

04) Kevin - Mah Motor Agencies @ 361 Jalan Besar & mostly DIY myself

05) Oxygen - No particular place at the moment.

06)

07)

08)

09)

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

-------------------> So Little Time

-----------------------------> It's A Vmax Thing.

Originally posted by kevin@Apr 12 2005, 10:31 AM

SG

did u apply any chemical eg. anti-water, wax etc. on your screen after bike washed? Which part of your screen u found d hair-lines cracks, d edge or near to d screw?

Hi Kevin,

I do apply polish to the screen after every wash thats(once a month), I did this to all my other bikes too..e.g-on my earlier 3yrs st11,S4,gxr4,tzrr's - I did not or even came across this problem at all.

I used to see this condition on an old bikes which never taken care of..screens blured, cracklines and tiny air pockets...

Thats the reason why? those who using the Skidmarx, I need your feed back.

Small hairline cracks + tiny air pockets, covers almost top 80% of the screen more to the left and center sides but the lower near those screws not that much.!

If it is cause by polishing (as you mention) it should effect the whole screen ..am I "right"!!

I see how long... I can use it, maybe. One of this day I go down to Chap lee to order the givi screen for $160, chances might get by next month.

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Reason for this upset is

Hi Ah Nick,

It is best that we can meet so we know exactly what is your problem is all about-

1st- you say that, they cut you side pannier mounting brakets' bolt is it or what..? the side panniers bracket bold uses (heavy duty) spacers its only a hollow pipe where the bolt runs thru it to the chassis mounting bracket.

The way you (the shop) installed your top pannier is by making use of the side panniers' rod- to support it am I right!

I would not agree to this method...! as most of your weight is supported on the side panniers mounting rod. If both side panniers are loaded/weight down and plus an added extra load-weight from the top box on the mounting rod!!! do you understand what me talking about...!

There are few buggers who did this method- if they are not going to load up with heavy stuff in it, is fine.(you should know better about your type of load/usages). This only look simple and nice.

When we use the SK bracket they utilize the pillions' grab bars, which do not effect the side panniers (max load) at all. The OEM top box brackets also comes in the same design/mounting method.

2nd- What kind of givi base plates are you using is it, the aluminium type(broad base sits solid) or the nylon base smaller (uses 2 thin flimsy extended plates-)to mount..?

If there is any uneven load distribution to your side panniers e.g 1 side heavier then the other side, it may hamper you ride and your bikes CG, worse hit during cornerings.

It's always best to give an equal weight distribution to both panniers. try not to go beyond recommended load to the top box too..!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by Swift@Apr 12 2005, 11:47 AM

previous owner for my bike change the original rod to some spacers thingy and now my two side panniers are slightly tilted outwards. :sian:

Hi Swift,

The side panniers comes with 4 spacers and 4 bolts -2 longer spacers & bolts and 2 shorter spacers & bolts- I don't think the 1st owner change it. It must be the workshop- mount it wrongly it is either the small spacers/bolts to be at the front or vice versa...

If you have the time try to dismantle an redo again, try to change the spacers and bolts positions...:confused:

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 13 2005, 12:51 AM

Hi Swift,

The side panniers comes with 4 spacers and 4 bolts -2 longer spacers & bolts and 2 shorter spacers & bolts- I don't think the 1st owner change it. It must be the workshop- mount it wrongly it is either the small spacers/bolts to be at the front or vice versa...

If you have the time try to dismantle an redo again, try to change the spacers and bolts positions...:confused:

Silverghost...o_O

Hi SG,

When i went to the frasier hill trip, i notice that all of the divys except mine had similar long heavy duty spacers wherelse mine is very much different (mini aluminium spacers placed together). I suspected that the previous owner could have either had the same encounter as Ah Nick or he must have dropped the bike and changed the spacers. :cry:

Anyway, when are we meeting up again for kopi session b4 your trip up to pegaran? I can show it to u. :thumb:

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

Originally posted by Swift@Apr 13 2005, 07:29 AM

Hi SG,

When i went to the frasier hill trip, i notice that all of the divys except mine had similar long heavy duty spacers wherelse mine is very much different (mini aluminium spacers placed together). I suspected that the previous owner could have either had the same encounter as Ah Nick or he must have dropped the bike and changed the spacers. :cry:

Anyway, when are we meeting up again for kopi session b4 your trip up to pegaran? I can show it to u. :thumb:

hi nick...

maybe can try some of the hardware shop. May not have the same type of rod but at least similar dimension also can lor.

Originally posted by Swift@Apr 13 2005, 07:29 AM

Hi Swift,

I thought that you are interested to get another set of side panniers the bigger type(like Jleo's)..If you have that intension you might as well get it~ it comes with complete set brackets, and for the current panniers you can sell...!

Or if you are thinking it is just a waste of money, you can get the machine shop to do it for you all the 4 spacers, as I said earlier bolts can get from hardware shop that deals with bolt & nuts...!

We can meet up one of the day. Dismantle the bracket and see- what we can do about it.

Silverghost... o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Hi Kevin,

After a good look/inspection at the windscreen the tiny hairline cracks and the tiny air locks follows the flow of moulding patern of the screen, this can only happen during the process.(maybe they use inject type of moulding instead- whereas now the latest technology using vaccum type of moulding to eliminate this tiny air locks)

If you look closely/carefully -you can see there are soft ripples/flow on the whole screen the direction where the mould is been injected or poured...

So how change your money already now Xchange Rate S$100 = M228R

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 13 2005, 02:08 PM

Hi Kevin,

After a good look/inspection at the windscreen the tiny hairline cracks and the tiny air locks follows the flow of moulding patern of the screen, this can only happen during the process.(maybe they use inject type of moulding instead- whereas now the latest technology using vaccum type of moulding to eliminate this tiny air locks)

If you look closely/carefully -you can see there are soft ripples/flow on the whole screen the direction where the mould is been injected or poured...

So how change your money already now Xchange Rate S$100 = M228R

Silverghost...o_O

SG...

When to take a look at mine and find nothing ... only some small scratches.

Yo SG,

Some thoughts.. from me.

Your screen could either be injection or, extruded type. (Forming and cutting comes after extrusion) Those air-traps shouldnt appear from nowhere.

So i'm guessing only.. Many screens have a additional film coated on top, Could it be this film that is starting to give way?

If not, you must be clearing alot of carbon recently... :D :D

I also agree that the rods on the pannier brackets shouldn't be modified. The screws may not be able to take all the load at the rear and frequency at high speeds.

STOC#2963.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/733128425_940c3cc0c5_m.jpghttp://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3539/2228/320/P1020266.jpg

Pengerang Day Ride

Date : 16th Apr 05

Time : 0700hrs

Meeting point : Woodlands Ave 1 Esso (Going by 1st Link).

Buggers going.

01) OMD-Boss

02) Custom

03) Silverghost

04) Jleo/BiBi

05) Mr/Mrs Casper4xxx +

06) Mr/Mrs Oxygen

07) Hack-Clear-Carbon-son (stx13)

08) BP

09) Mr/Mrs Sunny

10) Mr/Mrs Kevin

11) Casper4xxx-friend n Partner S4)

Sorry guys, leaving town at 2300hrs. Buy some lobster koropok for me! :slurp:

STOC#2963.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/733128425_940c3cc0c5_m.jpghttp://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3539/2228/320/P1020266.jpg