For the tool to remove the oil filter, you can try Mah Pte Ltd (Jeffrey). It is the shop opposite Sim Lim Tower. I nearly bought it, but never did.

As for the oil filter, what I read is, OEM filters of a particular brand, like Yamaha for example, are all the same internally. They come from the same manufacturer. The difference is at the diameter of the filter can/container. You can buy other brands of oil filters, but make sure it is the correct cross-reference numbers.

The filters might look similar (Honda or Yamaha or Suzuki) from the outside, but inside, they are different. The Yamaha bypass system is different from the Honda's ones. So, don't gamble.........get the OEM filters for your bike.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

-------------------> So Little Time

-----------------------------> It's A Vmax Thing.

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Originally posted by cougar@Apr 26 2005, 09:12 PM

Guys, about the oil filter price, mine was a lot cheaper at $15 from Auto Machinery, its the same filter used by Vmax, XJR400, XJ900. Auto Machinery is off Kitchener Road, right turn after ParkView Hotel if you go via Serangoon road. Keep the previous filter box and go over the counter and show the staff, they will come back with one very fast.

Hi Cougar,

Can only hear from you wants in a blue moon....! Hardly able to meet for a cup of coffee or meet ups.!

Ya..! maybe you know them better or what! kaki lang..haa... bro!

So guys, you people now know- where to get your Engine oil filter...get your filter and go over to your Wkshp, SK or DIY...can save few hard earn money!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

ThE SpIrIt StIlL LiVeS On "Diversion XJ9s"

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by Custom@Apr 26 2005, 02:19 PM

One's man meat is another man posion. Juz that I feel that Motul Competition 300V is not my cup of tea. There is a similar product Motul Sport 300V(10W40) maybe suitable for my usage.

Hi Custom,

We are not supporting any particular brands and we are not paid by them either- You must understand that ESSO using mineral base(synthetic additive).

Other brands like mobil1, motul etc -using synthetic base.

Mineral base oil is good but (breaks down faster) if compared to synthetic base oils(breaks down slower and last longer).

You must understand the characteristic of how the engine oil works- It has few task inside the engine:- 1) need to keep things lubricate under high/low pressure. 2) need to transfer/remove heat away from the heads. 3) need to be working under carbon deposits(oils' main killer-break down/deteriorate). 4) remove foriegn particles away. 5) need to maintain its viscosity under high/low temperature 6) most oil contains detergent as additive (for cleansing).

Engine oil flow to the head valve and other parts- is a matter of seconds only as long as you don't rev up the engine while it is cold... The wear n tear take a serious toll on the engine, revving the egine when it is still cold!!!.

Fuel injection bikes (is auto choke!-wear n tear higher) when compared to carburettors (how you control the rev). It is very important to warm up the bike before each journey.

I've seen car drivers once start the car and drive off -No warm up...! In no time you can see white smoke... from the exhaust.!

This FYI only. You can use the oil of your choice...as long as when it is time to change -change it!!

Why I recommend Motul because they collabrate with Yamaha.

(As diversion is a air cool bike- Mr.Lee also recommends to use higher watts too).

Silverghost... o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 27 2005, 01:16 AM

This FYI only. You can use the oil of your choice...as long as when it is time to change -change it!!

Why I recommend Motul because they collabrate with Yamaha.

(As diversion is a air cool bike- Mr.Lee also recommends to use higher watts too).

Silverghost... o_O

SilverGhost,

If only I can get my hands on a single grade oil like the STP SAE50. Many years ago I was using this oil for some of my bikes, which I rode quite hard (you know my style).

Personally, I prefer single grade oils which can take more punishing before breaking down.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

Originally posted by OMD@Apr 27 2005, 05:45 AM

SilverGhost,

If only I can get my hands on a single grade oil like the STP SAE50. Many years ago I was using this oil for some of my bikes, which I rode quite hard (you know my style).

Personally, I prefer single grade oils which can take more punishing before breaking down.

From,

OMD

Visit http://www.redlineoil.com

They have synthetic oil for ur kind of application.

Very unique and their oil is mean for drag race...ur style of riding... :cheeky:

Also they r the only mfger which make oil for all type of vehicle.

Try the WT series under racing oil cat.

For your application, try not to fill to the max. In between the min and max will be best for u coz during draging, high pressure will build up. If u topup to max, your engine will feel very heavry. Min will coz insuffic. oil going to ur engine.

I think I adv too much.

Hi SG,

I'll be try others as well.

Juz brought 5W50... hehe... Also very special multigrade EO.

Juz one to test test water and c how.

Will be changing it when the oil reach singapore.

Read some of oil mfg website and still think 10W40 suit my style of riding...(slow and steady with occ. drag)

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 26 2005, 11:42 PM

Hi Cougar,

Can only hear from you wants in a blue moon....! Hardly able to meet for a cup of coffee or meet ups.!

Ya..! maybe you know them better or what! kaki lang..haa... bro!

So guys, you people now know- where to get your Engine oil filter...get your filter and go over to your Wkshp, SK or DIY...can save few hard earn money!

Silverghost...o_O

Oh SG, i wrk as an accountant, so this period of the year, really very bz. Too tired after work to go anywhere. I do bump into Palary once a while on his majesty, cos we both live in Pasir Ris. Anyway, my divvy is like a commercial vehicle, only ride in s'pore, hardly go M'sia!!!! I like riding bikes, but dun hv the touring itch leh.

To add on, Auto Machinery exact location is at Verdun Road off Kitchener Road. They accept cash over the counter. So bring cash, dun use Nets hor. Wait they think you not mechanic from motordiam, charge you $20 again!!!!

Originally posted by cougar@Apr 27 2005, 09:59 PM

I like riding bikes, but dun hv the touring itch leh. To add on, Auto Machinery exact location is at Verdun Road off Kitchener Road. They accept cash over the counter. So bring cash, dun use Nets hor. Wait they think you not mechanic from motordiam, charge you $20 again!!!!

Hi Cougar,

Whether you like to tour or not it is another matter- but once in a while just drop in for a cup of tea...! We are not forcing people to tour it is their own will. Just like to get to know more exchange some ideas, maybe you know something that we don't know about our bikes or vice versa.!

And thanks for the adviced - how to get the filter lesser.(tactical approach with cash) he,he,hee...!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Guys.guys,guys....!It seems that most of the Divvy owners don't stick to one brand of engine oil.Why are you guys easily conned by other brand or recommendation...?! Just for your info when I rode Honda bikes,I'll use Castrol Syntron(semi synthetic).Never tried others.For Yamaha bikes I've been using Motul since.Never tried other brand for oil filter.I totaly agree 100% what OMD said.Honda and Yamaha have different oil psi.Stick to original product.You can get Yamaha original oil filter at $14-$15 at Auto Machinery.You can get at HL, the price is at $22.Motoworld are selling a lot of aftermarket oil filter.But I'm not interested.It cost the the same as the original but made in Thailand...$17/-.So guys be warned that the gasket might not last if you keep on changing engine oil.:nono:

Originally posted by haroze@Apr 28 2005, 08:25 PM

Motoworld are selling a lot of aftermarket oil filter.But I'm not interested.It cost the the same as the original but made in Thailand...$17/-.

Hi Haroze,

I have come across few after market brands e.g to name one KnN they say have better flow another words have bigger hole then the OEM filter. So you people know that bigger hole means more particles/chips goes in without filteration..:giddy: free flow...he,he,hee...!!

Thats the reason why sticking to OEM filters can save you from- alot of problems!

As what I say stick to your favorite oil but change it when it is time to change--> another thing do not add in unneccessary additives to the oil (unless they gurantee that anything happens they can replace it without any inconvenience to you).But so far no such gurantee's Yet!!!

If the workshop recommends any additive to add in after replacing the engine oil, ask them why the engine oil is-no good or what????

I know there are few workshop out there, does that- ask you people to add in the additive!!!

If anything happens -can they be responsible for it...! :confused:

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Hi Custom,

How did you managed to fix up those wirings, you cannot run it as normal you must run it from the back of the handle without going over/around the head/york.

Kevin,

Have you do up- your right signals and not forgetting the low fuel warning light :confused:

Casper4xxx,

So how was your new brake hoses was it better grip/bite then before, did you only change the front only or rear too..?

OMD,

Are you still interested in getting a torch light? Remember we were talking about it- led type or xenon ones...I found a shop dealing with this type of torch lights with rugged built and use... $$$

Silverghost... o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Hey everyone,

While cruising at ard 60mph 4.1krpm, mu pillions remarked about a 'strong buzzing vibe' coming from the pillion left footpegs, mine has not particluar difference(usual a soft humming vibe).

True enuf when i placed my leg on the rear left pillion peg, i felt it as well. The thing is it only happens on the top gear at that particluar speed. Any faster or slower n the vibe will die down back to the usual.

I suspected some form of resonance due to the peculiar natural frequency induced by the accessories but even if i were to ride it stock, it is still there.

Not that it is particularly an issue bec i usually ride below or above that but was just curious. HOw about u bunch, similar comments from the back??

SilverGhost,

I am interested in the torch, but please don't tell me the shop is located opposite the former NCO Club along Beach Road. I know the people in the shop and they sell Surefire Torchlights. I love the torch, but they cost too much. Fill me in on the place you have in mind.

Jleo,

I have a similar buzz, also at certain RPM only. I am not too sure about the pillion footpegs, but I can certainly hear and feel it around the rear section, near the brakelights and in the front cowlings. I take it to be the critical speed of the engine (all rotating equipment have it) that is causing the resonance/vibrations. Now you know why I ride at high RPMs :-)

The Rest,

I am afraid the 8th of May ride have to be shelved. It did not occur to me, not until yesterday, that it is Mother's Day. Will set another date for the day ride.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 28 2005, 11:27 PM

Hi Custom,

How did you managed to fix up those wirings, you cannot run it as normal you must run it from the back of the handle without going over/around the head/york.

Hi SG

Juz only relocate my throttle cable to the right.

less stress on the cable.

Next will be the elect. cable.

Change engine oil can cause gasket give way? :confused:

Then I better not change anymore... ride till it's 10th yrs... :smile:

OMD,

fly aeroplane now.... :sian:

I make me fireup then pour me with a pail of cold water... :sian:

Thought I just bring this forward again and again as our thread runs reeeally fast!

Jan - Genting (8th) Completed satisfaction-(trip short story pg 79-80)

Feb - CNY month-Rest

Mar - Fraser Hill(19th-20th).. Completed satisfaction-(trip story pg 96)

Apr - Pengerang Day Trip...Completed satisfaction - (trip story pg 103)

May- Thailand Vesak day trip(4-5days).. Destination confirmation pending paxs interested

Jun -??

Jul - Penang (7-10)

Aug -Cameron Highlands (TBC)

Sep - FIM, Sepang(dates-23,24,25th) 2 dys stayover.Confirmed

Oct -??

Nov -??

Dec -??

Anybody who wants to organise any short trip, pls feel free to post it up.

We can change the dates for any trip that you guys might want to bring forward.

Swift

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

Ah Nick,

Can i check with you whether you have gotten the measurements for the spacers for me? Christmas is coming very soon.

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

I will be going in tonite thru 2nd link at about 10pm to put petrol. Interested parties can give me a buzz?

Swift

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

Originally posted by jleo@Apr 29 2005, 12:08 AM

While cruising at ard 60mph 4.1krpm, mu pillions remarked about a 'strong buzzing vibe' coming from the pillion left footpegs, True enuf when i placed my leg on the rear left pillion peg, i felt it as well. The thing is it only happens on the top gear at that particluar speed. Any faster or slower n the vibe will die down back to the usual. comments from the back??

Hi Jleo,

You Temporaily MIA or what!! - I think this viberation is normal at certain rev/speed - So call resonance is always there it comes and goes off at certain speed and revs as long it dosen't bother you very much thats okay- the reason why Yam buggers add a rubber pad on the foot rests is to reduce the effects (don't let it drive you to bed or bathroom) he,he,heee!!...

Most bikes have this but how they minus out the vibes is the maufacturers work- on the bike and then technology.

Any sort of revolution or parts moving in a circle have this resonance even fighter jets engine have this..!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by OMD@Apr 29 2005, 05:51 AM

I am interested in the torch, but please don't tell me the shop is located opposite the former NCO Club along Beach Road. I know the people in the shop and they sell Surefire Torchlights. I love the torch, but they cost too much.

Hi OMD,

YEP! thats the shop (sheares) I went in and check with the sales bugger Johnny- The price is reasonable in $ing currency- if compare to buy through internet is very Ex...same amount but in US currency.

There are many models but I'm interested with 2 models only~ the E2-d defender $106/- which should be coming in mid May(top seller). The other model is the L1 lumamax about $150+ with 3leds and xenon bulb which they have stocks.

I notice that Nassir is carrying one of the surefires torch light. Never ask much details about it.. next kopi session ask him!

If you are interested one day we go down...Any how me going to get either one model.(I know about the battery consumption and some other details about it) it will be a handy...

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 28 2005, 11:27 PM

Casper4xxx,

So how was your new brake hoses was it better grip/bite then before, did you only change the front only or rear too..?

The brake hoses are superb! :thumb:

Everyone here should change it, real value for $$ to make up for our divvy's slightly inefficient brakes!

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 29 2005, 11:29 PM

Hi OMD,

YEP! thats the shop (sheares) I went in and check with the sales bugger Johnny- The price is reasonable in $ing currency- if compare to buy through internet is very Ex...same amount but in US currency.

There are many models but I'm interested with 2 models only~ the E2-d defender $106/- which should be coming in mid May(top seller). The other model is the L1 lumamax about $150+ with 3leds and xenon bulb which they have stocks.

I notice that Nassir is carrying one of the surefires torch light. Never ask much details about it.. next kopi session ask him!

If you are interested one day we go down...Any how me going to get either one model.(I know about the battery consumption and some other details about it) it will be a handy...

Silverghost...o_O

SilverGhost,

Wow.........Nasir carrying Surefire light!!!! I envy him man. I wanted the lights so much, but very hard to justify the price. FYI, the folks in CSI are using the Surefire lights too. They are also standard issue equipment for the US Marines, Seals and other elite forces.

Anyway, if you are going down, we go together. Sometimes, go together to buy, not so "painful" to pay that kind of money. I was eyeing the Aviator model, nice size with enough lumens. Just remember that they use the CR123A batteries, which are quite costly, but Sheares sells them in bulk, so we can share the cost for the batteries. The L1 Lumamax that you want can last 4 hours of continous use at high output and 90 hours if on low output.

Keep me posted as to when you want to buy them, one of the chap in the shop is a riding buddy of mine, so can get good deal.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

For those who had change their handle bar to night hawk;

Any1 wan to sell their balancer to me?

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Apr 29 2005, 10:57 PM

Hi Jleo,

You Temporaily MIA or what!!

Hey SG,

No la not MIA, but these times rather tied up wif work n stuff esp after being put on 2 week's (can b extended to 4) shift routine. So far i'm not used to it so after a 14-15hr usual workday, i'm deadbeat. Boy i cant describe the agony of waking up on the 4th/5th consecutive shift day but i guess its a matter of getting used to...

Dun worry, i still actively keep up wif the happenings n boy does this move fast...

Anyway jus wondering, anyone free to go in to 2nd link 4 makan 300405 @ 1945hrs?? Lemme noe ya.

Cheers!!

Suddenly so quite... :confused:

Everyone go tour? :cheeky:

Hello!!!!! Anyone home????

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

Hi Bro........

I'm home...! Just came back fr Batam.Had my first lobster seafood lunch with family.The weather was very hot but then late afternoon it rain like cats and dog.My son was giggling all the way in the coach as he saw how the locals modified the underbone bikes......out of this world! Really not like Singapore bikes.Here they know how to mix and match the accessories.:thumb: Just imagine you give them any S4 or a Bandit or any kind of naked....I wonder what will happen..... o_O :giddy:Yup miss my motogp 'live' in Shanghai.Had to wait till 3am just to catch the repeat telecast.I wonder if Singapore registered bike can go to Batam....?

Guys.....

2 weeks time will be another long weekend.Any plan yet...?:bouncefire: