Did u have lots of explore & fun on your new bike???????

How can there be a "click" sound from the engine? how can there be a nut loose & dangling around the engine?

while i have encountered this before, whereby managed to trace it to the windscreen where one of the plastic screw used to secure the windscreen has broken into 2, the other broken half was in the hole. this is due to the plastic screw has been over-tighten. May be u like to check the screw & nuts on the fairing.

u may buy the skidmarx screen from biketech 21 ( recommended by Bolia ) located along dunlop street for $140. but probably need to wait for 2 months before u receive which happened to me. if u could afford i would suggest by mail order through the internet from overseas site, may be will receive withine 2 weeks & of course need to pay a bit more. an impatience person like me i do not mine. cos had encountered a bad salesperson at biketech. pls U must indicate "SUPER-FLIP SCREEN", 62cm high & the colour of the screen for the divvy, must be very specific on the invoice.

U may wish to check-out the message posted at msn. with regards to screen, cos everybody has their preference.

if u have more coins in your piggy bank u may wish to consider schurgersdesign.com

Thanks Kevin,

Budget is tight so every cent counts now esp for these few months. WIll go over Biketech21 to order as i dont like the wind blasting on my face, noisy n cant talk to my pillion. The windscreen should quiet things down n make the ride more enjoyable.

Anyway loosened up to the bike already n yes i'm enjoying it. Put almost 250 miles the 1st day i collected it...... :D :D Compared to my previous Vulcan, this is far more powerful n smoother. Still having problems adjusting to its weight as i need considerable effort to put it on main stand, however once on the move its easy to handle.

Also though i'm 1.78m & 75kg, i find this bike pretty high n have trouble reversing while on it. Must come down push(also requires effort). Perhaps its better to lower the rear suspensions slightly. Also did anyone tighten the fromt n rear suspension? Find the stock settings alittle 'soft'.

One thing i noticed, the engine seems better with normal petrol(95/98) as compared to V-power. Engine sounds alot nicer though its slightly less smooth. Is this view common among the riders?? :confused:

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Is it normal to hear the 'click click' sound from the engine? Is it something loose within or wat? Also that sound getting real loud esp at ard 3k-3.5k or idling when i can really hear it clearly.

Also was thinking of getting a taller windscreen, somthing similar to Kevin's.... Any place to recommand? Price?

Where got click click sound??? Better check on the engine oil you have been using.

You become successful the moment you start moving toward a worthwhile goal.

Where got click click sound??? Better check on the engine oil you have been using.

The clicking sound is similar to my previous Vulcan's, it is caused by Kawa's inherently noisy valve lifters during operation.... But i do not know of such a symptom with the Yamaha or the Divvy. Perhaps the clicking sound is due to the valves operation similarly?? Fri when we meet up can get u guys to help verify.

Anyway changed the engine oil the day i got it, Esso green bottle(mineral oil).... On close inspection there was water in the oil... Lucky didnt wait till 500miles then change...

The clicking sound is similar to my previous Vulcan's, it is caused by Kawa's inherently noisy valve lifters during operation.... But i do not know of such a symptom with the Yamaha or the Divvy. Perhaps the clicking sound is due to the valves operation similarly?? Fri when we meet up can get u guys to help verify.

Anyway changed the engine oil the day i got it, Esso green bottle(mineral oil).... On close inspection there was water in the oil... Lucky didnt wait till 500miles then change...

Nice to hear you got your Divvy.

Personnal experiance, mineral oil engine very noisy.... , idling speed about 1050rpm.

When I change to snyc oil at Yam Workshop, idling speed drop to 950rpm. Engine more smooth, less noise.(w/o adjust anything)

When cold, engine abit noisy... but once warm up... ok.....

When I get my Divvy, front abit soft. Go over hump my crash bar touch front def. Heart pain :cry:

I only adjust e front. Back still ok for me. I'm 1.75m 95kg... may be my weight so feel the tight ok...hehehe

For back adjust, go back to Yam to adjust better.

Shit now I started to miss my Divvy.......

Avg fuel consumption 200miles for 18liters.... appox 17.8miles/liter.

3-3.5K rpm is the reasonat freq(something like that) for Divvy. The next stage is at about 8.5K rpm.

Yes, you are right.. Vpower is the same at Super98... Tried already milage same... but never try Super95 cause S98 engine abit noisy then Vpower. No guts to try S95,,,,,,,, :sweat:

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Nice to hear you got your Divvy.

Personnal experiance, mineral oil engine very noisy.... , idling speed about 1050rpm.

When I change to snyc oil at Yam Workshop, idling speed drop to 950rpm. Engine more smooth, less noise.(w/o adjust anything)

When cold, engine abit noisy... but once warm up... ok.....

When I get my Divvy, front abit soft. Go over hump my crash bar touch front def. Heart pain :cry:

I only adjust e front. Back still ok for me. I'm 1.75m 95kg... may be my weight so feel the tight ok...hehehe

3-3.5K rpm is the reasonat freq(something like that) for Divvy. The next stage is at about 8.5K rpm.

Yes, you are right.. Vpower is the same at Super98... Tried already milage same... but never try Super95 cause S98 engine abit noisy then Vpower. No guts to try S95,,,,,,,, :sweat:

Hi Custom,

Mine also gives similar figures, Idling at 1050rpm n exhausts loud man.... Vpower ard 17.9km/L n so does shell 98. So i guess no point put so good one la. Will try 95 one day to feel the diff, anyway the min RON is 91 so 95 or even 92 shouldnt be a prob(trying 2 be a cheapo.... :D :p :lol: :lol: )

8.5k rpm, wow, havent tried that yet..... prob 200+km/h by then. U must be missing ur Divvy cos ur're still overseas rite?? Anyway come back safe n hope to see u soon...

Hi Custom,

Mine also gives similar figures, Idling at 1050rpm n exhausts loud man.... Vpower ard 17.9km/L n so does shell 98. So i guess no point put so good one la. Will try 95 one day to feel the diff, anyway the min RON is 91 so 95 or even 92 shouldnt be a prob(trying 2 be a cheapo.... :D :p :lol: :lol: )

8.5k rpm, wow, havent tried that yet..... prob 200+km/h by then. U must be missing ur Divvy cos ur're still overseas rite?? Anyway come back safe n hope to see u soon...

Ya loh... In China looking for SARS :giddy:

Take note that the manual also state that if engine noisy, need to upgarde to better RON....

Post your finding on e RON.

Will be back sometime Sep........ looking forward to c your Divvy also....

HAHA U 1.78 and still consider it high...

Then I laggi jia luk liao..

Probably u have to click your rear seat softer abit.

Also check your front light, when i got the bike, it was pointing too high;

Thsu while I was travelling on Malaysian rode, almost cannot see man...

Also though i'm 1.78m & 75kg, i find this bike pretty high n have trouble reversing while on it. Must come down push(also requires effort). Perhaps its better to lower the rear suspensions slightly. Also did anyone tighten the fromt n rear suspension? Find the stock settings alittle 'soft'.

Also though i'm 1.78m & 75kg, i find this bike pretty high n have trouble reversing while on it. Must come down push(also requires effort).

U can try moving closer to the tank when u need to get a better footing. Has worked for me.

Shaj

Yaaaaaaaaaa Maaaaaaaaaa Haaaaaaaaaa

Hi Custom,

Tried 92 already....! Engine knocking very loughly, maybe i didn't adjust to higher idle rpm. Let me know if got the same problem.

HAHA U 1.78 and still consider it high...

Then I laggi jia luk liao..

Probably u have to click your rear seat softer abit.

Also check your front light, when i got the bike, it was pointing too high;

Thsu while I was travelling on Malaysian rode, almost cannot see man...

So far I have only adjusted the fwd but not the back.

Ya loh... In China looking for SARS :giddy:

Take note that the manual also state that if engine noisy, need to upgarde to better RON....

Post your finding on e RON.

Will be back sometime Sep........ looking forward to c your Divvy also....

Don't worry friend. If these gathering is sucessful than we can arrange one again when you're back in sept . swee bo???

Guys, this time the "click click click" sounds front the engine is getting louder n louder, coming from the left hand side of it(right hand side is ok)... When i rev it can hear it even more clearly.... It only clears after ard 3.7k rpm..... Wa lau, only a few days n engine sounding funny....

Went to my regular shop n he said that it was somethin about the timing chain tensioner being loose or something else which i dont now how to describe but can understand is far worse. Advised me to Hong Leong workshop to get it checked as it is still under warranty... Hopefully they can find out whatever prob there is.... Sigh... Is their service prompt n effective? If not i go back Looi's.... :cry:

Am i the only guy with this problem?

Think Go to HL to checkup is better, the guys there may be more familiar with the Diversion; the last time I was there, saw quite a few TPs bike (those kanna accident) , they are also serviced by them. So they should have gain quite an experience.

Guys, this time the "click click click" sounds front the engine is getting louder n louder, coming from the left hand side of it(right hand side is ok)... When i rev it can hear it even more clearly.... It only clears after ard 3.7k rpm..... Wa lau, only a few days n engine sounding funny....

Went to my regular shop n he said that it was somethin about the timing chain tensioner being loose or something else which i dont now how to describe but can understand is far worse. Advised me to Hong Leong workshop to get it checked as it is still under warranty... Hopefully they can find out whatever prob there is.... Sigh... Is their service prompt n effective? If not i go back Looi's.... :cry:

Don't worry friend. If these gathering is sucessful than we can arrange one again when you're back in sept . swee bo???

:goodluck: :bow: :bow: :bow: :clapping: :clapping:

Last time I finish run-in (625miles) put in sync oil plus use only S98 petrol solve this problem. Ask them to put in 4 liter, not 3 liter(include change oil filter).

Came back from Hong Leong n the Malay Mechanic(chubby looking one) was very polite n professional.

Said that the "clicking" sound is inherent in many Divvys during run in(but how come no one seems to hear it other than me???) n remarked that its always on the left side of the engine. Sound is caused by an incorrect value clearance(too high) n hence producing the "click" sound.

He offered to readjust the clearance but adviced me to run in more 1st(currently at 320miles) n give more mileage for the valves will sit in correctly. He's afraid that after readjusting, the clearance becomes too tight once runned in --> loss of power. He also reassured that if this problem persists another 1000miles later, then it would be better adjusting it, covered under the warranty of cos...

Not too bad a service i must say.... Luckily i got it from HL, cant imagine if its a parellel import model, if anything happen must pay 4 this n that... Heart break esp for a new bike.....

Came back from Hong Leong n the Malay Mechanic(chubby looking one) was very polite n professional.

Said that the "clicking" sound is inherent in many Divvys during run in(but how come no one seems to hear it other than me???) n remarked that its always on the left side of the engine. Sound is caused by an incorrect value clearance(too high) n hence producing the "click" sound.

He offered to readjust the clearance but adviced me to run in more 1st(currently at 320miles) n give more mileage for the valves will sit in correctly. He's afraid that after readjusting, the clearance becomes too tight once runned in --> loss of power. He also reassured that if this problem persists another 1000miles later, then it would be better adjusting it, covered under the warranty of cos...

Not too bad a service i must say.... Luckily i got it from HL, cant imagine if its a parellel import model, if anything happen must pay 4 this n that... Heart break esp for a new bike.....

Think I saw you at ubi area today, I was in a bus ard 1230pm The wide panniers caught my eye...looked bigger than the normal ones.. silver divvie right? wearing white T shirt :)

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Think I saw you at ubi area today, I was in a bus ard 1230pm The wide panniers caught my eye...looked bigger than the normal ones.. silver divvie right? wearing white T shirt :)

Yep that was me coming back from from HL workshop....wa liddat also kenna spot.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cos you have the biggest Divvy bump in S'pore lah!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Anyway, that is one of the reason I buy Yam.....

Their service is gooooood

I'll still goto them even no more warrenty. At least my baby is always safe in their hand.

Cos you have the biggest Divvy bump in S'pore lah!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Anyway, that is one of the reason I buy Yam.....

Their service is gooooood

I'll still goto them even no more warrenty. At least my baby is always safe in their hand.

:lol: :lol: ...dont think so la....cos the Looi's said a few other owners also installed he bigger boxes....

Anyway installed the Skidmarx 62cm screen....Shiok.... But there's a problem as the mirrors hit the screen on the handlebar extreme left n right.... Shift the mirrors skightly in n now cannot see raods effectively... For those guys who installed it, how did u overcome this? Install another mirror?? :confused:

For me, I am also 1.75m, but 65kg. Initially i also feel suspension softy, so i manually adjusted the front down 1 line carefully turning exactly the same on both sides of forks and eyeball to double make sure the line is exactly the same as both sides. Then rear suspension, Yamaha rear shock adjusting tool lousy, cannot grip properly and turn it, end up i used my ex-RVF honda rear shock adjusting tool, perfect fit and good grip, one solid turn and it clicks into the next slot. That means i hv harden my suspension by 1 click front and back after onli 3weeks of ride. Never regreted the setting after tat, i also ask the Malay chubby mech to chk my suspension to make sure its alrite, he also eyeball wat, and said ok.

Note, jleo becos ur bike is still new, u need to ride longer to really make sure tat height is not wat u want than u adjust, cos after sometime, the suspension will lower a little bit, may end up u no need to adjust. But if u pillion often, than rear shld click hard setting cos over humps can prevent back tyre contact with bike subframe. Front suspension is either change to thicker fork oil or click 1 level down.

Ron95, i've been using it ever since, no problem wan, Cos Divvy is a dinosaur era bike, no need super duper new this new that. I met and another Divvy owner who told me he changed to iridium plugs!!! I told him Divvy engine is not R1 or Fazer leh, put iridium is kinda exaggerated leh. (what is iridium plugs? what does it do? Why so expensive?)

BTW using RON95, my mileage also 240miles travelling at 80-100kph. 220miles if travelling below 80kph or city traffic.

For me, I am also 1.75m, but 65kg. Initially i also feel suspension softy, so i manually adjusted the front down 1 line carefully turning exactly the same on both sides of forks and eyeball to double make sure the line is exactly the same as both sides. Then rear suspension, Yamaha rear shock adjusting tool lousy, cannot grip properly and turn it, end up i used my ex-RVF honda rear shock adjusting tool, perfect fit and good grip, one solid turn and it clicks into the next slot. That means i hv harden my suspension by 1 click front and back after onli 3weeks of ride. Never regreted the setting after tat, i also ask the Malay chubby mech to chk my suspension to make sure its alrite, he also eyeball wat, and said ok.

Note, jleo becos ur bike is still new, u need to ride longer to really make sure tat height is not wat u want than u adjust, cos after sometime, the suspension will lower a little bit, may end up u no need to adjust. But if u pillion often, than rear shld click hard setting cos over humps can prevent back tyre contact with bike subframe. Front suspension is either change to thicker fork oil or click 1 level down.

Thanks for the word of advice, Anyway when i went to Looi's to get my papers, i saw another Divvy on ready for collection, FW7734 i think.... Deep blue jus like urs....

Btw, can anyone confirm the fri meet up timing?

Thanks for the word of advice, Anyway when i went to Looi's to get my papers, i saw another Divvy on ready for collection, FW7734 i think.... Deep blue jus like urs....

Btw, can anyone confirm the fri meet up timing?

Nooo, mine's metallic green, just like Triumph's green. hehehe

I believe Shaji's is deep blue.

Palary said 8.30pm, i say 7.30 - 9.30pm :p

Shaji Is Black lor, I think kevin's also black.

Nooo, mine's metallic green, just like Triumph's green. hehehe

I believe Shaji's is deep blue.

Palary said 8.30pm, i say 7.30 - 9.30pm :p