Originally posted by kambing@February 13, 2007 11:44 am

the blade you saw was also promised to be sprayed the same green colour as my r1..

but u noe how my story goes..

If that's the case, it would be a couples' bike...

anywae the current paintwork looks nice too

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

Originally posted by PUNK@February 13, 2007 02:03 pm

theres nutunk wrong wif high mount... my cbr too used to be high mount :cheeky: cheerss :cheer: :cheer:

Will it pass the inspection?

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

Originally posted by darren_soh86@February 13, 2007 08:15 am

hi i already changed the radiator cap liao.. but it seems like the problem is still ard!!! argh!!

wen the temp gauge hits between 1/2 and 3/4.. before the fan kicks in.. and at this point i off the engine.. coolant vents out from the coolant overflow reservoir from the rubber hose near the right foot rest.. i juz replaced the radiator cap yesterday..

prior to replacement of the cap.. wenever the fan kicks in or at a temp near there.. the bike will juz overflow coolant onto the ground wen i m on the road.. i m damn scared the coolant will kena my legs and it affects my concentration wen i ride..

i alreadi flushed the system twice and top it off liao...

i realli dunno wat is wrong already..

brother change to the honda Original Cap.. costs about $25. I had the same problem even after changing the coolant. The coolant will take longer time to reach boiling point of the coolant at a higher pressure of 14-17psi. With a bad seal on the cap the coolant will never be able to reach this pressure and will flow out of the reservoir.

The petrol kiosk cap's are no good. They are cheaper but start leaking out pretty fast. Check for any leaks on your Radiator too..

As long as the generic one has the correct pressure rating then it will be fine, there is not really anything to a radiator cap, its just a spring and a bit of rubber. I believe the correct pressure rating should be 1.1 but I will check in my manual tonight and confirm for you if you like.

If you have replaced the cap and the problem is still there (and the cap has the right pressure rating) then there is something else causing your problem.

Have a look at your radiator and see if it is full of dirt between the fins. often just cleaning the standard radiator will make a big difference to airflow.

Just switching on the fan earlier is not a solution, it's just hiding the severity of the real problem. Better to find the cause and fix it, and THEN add a fan switch as well so you can turn it on early when you know you are going to be stuck in traffic for a while.

Originally posted by honam24@February 14, 2007 01:28 am

Will it pass the inspection?

yup... i pass without any probs :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://i138.photobucket.com/albums/q255/punkchenko/1_540916461l1.jpg

yun leong ngo cheh yat sam pat kei fung chung ngoi chi yau

yau wui pat yau yat tin wui tit tow

Originally posted by PUNK@February 14, 2007 06:43 pm

u sold off ur high mount wit ur bike bro?

any chance of FM123**

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

CBR Brembo type semifloatin discs 300 NETT per set..cheaper then std!For road and race as in Performance Bikes.I import these discs and they are not used ones..PM to order ready stock..

post-39-1171470177.jpg

NSR250F3,NSR250MC21SP,NSR250MC28SP,ZXR400R,CBR400 NC29,ZXR750RK,M,GG250

Originally posted by PUNK@February 14, 2007 06:43 pm

oh, ok tat's solve my curiosity.

thanks a lot..

Originally posted by kambing@February 14, 2007 06:45 pm

u sold off ur high mount wit ur bike bro?

any chance of FM123**

yup sold wif the bike.... fm bt not 123 :cheeky: :cheeky:

Originally posted by honam24@February 15, 2007 12:29 am

oh, ok tat's solve my curiosity.

thanks a lot..

hahahahaha... ur welcum :cheeky: :cheeky: .... currently takin care of my fren cbr too... he haven pass bt go n buy... so nw parked @ my hm n sumtime ridden by me too :cheeky:

Originally posted by PUNK@February 15, 2007 11:46 am

hahahahaha... ur welcum :cheeky: :cheeky: .... currently takin care of my fren cbr too... he haven pass bt go n buy... so nw parked @ my hm n sumtime ridden by me too :cheeky:

wow... so good can swap bike anytime. Anyway hope he can pass....

:goodluck: to him

Originally posted by darren_soh86@February 13, 2007 08:15 am

hi i already changed the radiator cap liao.. but it seems like the problem is still ard!!! argh!!

wen the temp gauge hits between 1/2 and 3/4.. before the fan kicks in.. and at this point i off the engine.. coolant vents out from the coolant overflow reservoir from the rubber hose near the right foot rest.. i juz replaced the radiator cap yesterday..

prior to replacement of the cap.. wenever the fan kicks in or at a temp near there.. the bike will juz overflow coolant onto the ground wen i m on the road.. i m damn scared the coolant will kena my legs and it affects my concentration wen i ride..

i alreadi flushed the system twice and top it off liao...

i realli dunno wat is wrong already..

i think.....

your thermostat spoil/fan sensor spoil.

it's no longer as responsive to the temperature change as before. so fan does not kick in early. as a result... ur bike is actually overheating more often than normal.

once cbr400 reaches about 90-100 degree celsius. the coolant will start to boil and that is what u're experiencing when the coolant flows out from near the footrest.

of course, i might be wrong. though it might be the case as that is exactly what happens when ur bike overheat to that temperature range for cbr400.

bigger bikes operate at a much higher temperature. fan kicks in only at 100 degrees. but for cbr400... fan should kick in at about 75-80 degrees.

hmmm...

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

Originally posted by alpha82@February 17, 2007 07:02 pm

i think.....

your thermostat spoil/fan sensor spoil.

it's no longer as responsive to the temperature change as before. so fan does not kick in early. as a result... ur bike is actually overheating more often than normal.

once cbr400 reaches about 90-100 degree celsius. the coolant will start to boil and that is what u're experiencing when the coolant flows out from near the footrest.

of course, i might be wrong. though it might be the case as that is exactly what happens when ur bike overheat to that temperature range for cbr400.

bigger bikes operate at a much higher temperature. fan kicks in only at 100 degrees. but for cbr400... fan should kick in at about 75-80 degrees.

hmmm...

According to the CBR400 manual the fan is supposed to cut in at 99 degrees. Coolant does NOT boil at 100 degrees either so you are completely wrong on those 2 points, similarly larger capacity bikes do NOT run in a higher temp range.

You are right about one thing though, the thermostat could well be stuck closed. If it is then the bike will definately overheat quicker.

If the coolant is boiling and the cooling system is properly pressurised and filled with coolant and not water then it is hitting around 120+ degrees to make this happen.

Originally posted by Zer0@February 17, 2007 10:21 pm

According to the CBR400 manual the fan is supposed to cut in at 99 degrees. Coolant does NOT boil at 100 degrees either so you are completely wrong on those 2 points, similarly larger capacity bikes do NOT run in a higher temp range.

You are right about one thing though, the thermostat could well be stuck closed. If it is then the bike will definately overheat quicker.

If the coolant is boiling and the cooling system is properly pressurised and filled with coolant and not water then it is hitting around 120+ degrees to make this happen.

ha~ perhaps i shouldn't used the word "boil"

anyway, i didn't read the manual. everything i mentioned is by experiencing myself and at the mech shop. reading the softcopy of the manual gives me the headache.~ :cheeky:

my mech used the "laser gun thermometer" to point at the headers and we revved my cbr and let it heat up. my fan came in at abt 80-85 degrees.

at this point, the coolant reservoir sttarts to turn empty as they are drawn in by the radiator.

upon reaching 100 degrees, smoke starts to came out from the coolant vent near the footrest.

and yes, i guess when i mean "boil" i suppose it refers to the water component of the coolant. afterall, most coolant are premixed with water.

but i do feel that bigger bikes tend to run at a higher temperature. why? cos my R6 fan kicks in only at 100 degrees celsius. and the auto-choke closes at 60 degrees celsius. meaning the bike is sufficeintly warmed up and ready to go at 60 degrees (by yamaha's standard)

i do not know abt other bikes. but this is what i've experieced with my cbr back then, and my R6 now.

just my thoughts.~ :sweat:

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

happy new yr everyone ! :D

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c273/JieLiang3284/20082008_010.jpg

To some they are neither here nor there, Some how we are still some where. One day we will eventually get there - JL 060608.

Originally posted by alpha82@February 17, 2007 10:56 pm

anyway, i didn't read the manual. everything i mentioned is by experiencing myself and at the mech shop. reading the softcopy of the manual gives me the headache.~ :cheeky:

my mech used the "laser gun thermometer" to point at the headers and we revved my cbr and let it heat up. my fan came in at abt 80-85 degrees.

at this point, the coolant reservoir sttarts to turn empty as they are drawn in by the radiator.

upon reaching 100 degrees, smoke starts to came out from the coolant vent near the footrest.

and yes, i guess when i mean "boil" i suppose it refers to the water component of the coolant. afterall, most coolant are premixed with water.

but i do feel that bigger bikes tend to run at a higher temperature. why? cos my R6 fan kicks in only at 100 degrees celsius. and the auto-choke closes at 60 degrees celsius. meaning the bike is sufficeintly warmed up and ready to go at 60 degrees (by yamaha's standard)

i do not know abt other bikes. but this is what i've experieced with my cbr back then, and my R6 now.

The temperature of the headers is not the same in any way as the temperature of the coolant or of the engine so you are measuring the temperature at the wrong point.

Hook up a digital temp gauge and sender to your bike and you will see that the fan comes on at 99 degrees.

You mix concentrated coolant in with de-mineralised water. The point of this is the additives in the coolant when mixed with water will increase the boiling point of the mixture as well as adding anti-corrosive elements. You cannot "boil the water part" only this is not how it works.

If you have smoke coming out of your coolant overflow then something is not right. If you have water boiling in the coolant bottle and overflowing then something is not right.

The water level dropping in the coolant bottle is from when the thermostat opens and it sucks more water into the system. When the thermostat closes the temp in the system will increase again and coolant will get pushed back out to the overflow bottle.

And again larger capacity bikes do NOT run hotter than smaller capacity bikes.

Anyway for the guy with the overheating problem definately try replacing your thermostat, could well be the problem.

Originally posted by alpha82@February 17, 2007 10:56 pm

Yamaha bikes tend to be hotter..

cos the choke close at later temp compare to other brand and it build up heat faster not higher..

Originally posted by hafiz84@February 18, 2007 07:12 pm

anybody selling Cbr400 accs or front saitao..?

accdent..

looking 4 it badly..

plus metal piece connecting bubble n mirrors..?

any one

dude.me need e exact same parts as you man.

sian.

wanna try e scarpyard together ?

How much did you paid for ur high mount?

eh bros.. i found the solution to my problem too.. me and my mech discovered a small chip in the region on the radiator that the cap is supposed to sit on.. due to the small chip.. pressure is unable to build up in the system and as a result coolant is pushed out into the coolant reservoir via the small chip..

he mended the small chip for me using epoxy and so far it is working so good..