very noobish but have a crapload of doubts.

1 : when buying 2nd hand (or 3rd) , what must i look out for?

2 : meaning of COI?

3 : how much is the admin fee and transfer fee?

4 : payment mode either full cash or $? X ?mths ,

installment payment have to go through "agency" or straight to owner?

( sowee!! v.v.v.v.v noob here )

5 : lets say bike left with 1 yrs of payment 200/mth , original owner paid

for the past 2 yrs , so it becomes paying the owner 4.8k then pay off for

the rest of the installement?

6 : soweeeeeeeeee very noob LOL

7 : tell me EVERYTHING i need to know bout buying rides thank you!!

• Replies 62

Ans :

1. before buying u need to view the bike and make sure it's in good condition before purchasing from a private seller. get from forum better as shop will normally Chopped head you..

3. Transfer fee for me is like $34 only at LTA. both buyer and seller need to be there. u can go to LTA website for more information.

4. it's better to pay full cash. ( normally seller would prefer full cash too )

if u intend to get a phantom , u should go to their thread.. phantom thread. they have better information for you.

* go to the relavent threads to get better idea. cause over here i'm saying in genaral.

Yo bro... Lim peh juz bought my 1st bike not long ago,, and was kena chopped like idiotic hell...

So buying a used bike better be real careful, ppl will tell u to get someone very familiar with bikes to go with u, but honestly I don really believe.. I also got a friend whose riding a Honda ST 1300 to go down with me.. Even he also can't really determine the condition of the bike.. Not dat he lousy, its juz dat the motor shop really do a very good job in covering.. So be real careful, u can bring a racer to go viewing with u,, but once deal, u cannot depend on a racer for after sales service..

Basically I can share my experience with u, I juz bought my bike, 2 year old bike.. But when I ride its macham 5 year old bike.. Previous owner donno like whack until wat,, my engine oil is "splashing" out 1 leh.. So maybe u can take note on the things I've done so far,,

1) Change handlebar (Cos handlebar was slightly crooked)

2) Change ream and disc (Cos alignment also slightly out)

3) Overhaul engine top part ; change 4th and 5th gear drivers and all gaskets and O-rings.. (Engine oil is splashing onto my left feet whilst riding)

4) Change mainstand and side stand.. (Both broke on the same day.. :( )

COI meaning Carry On Installment.. Dat means how much he is paying now per mth to the motorshop u juz carry on for him for the remaining mths or years..

Admin fee and transfer fee usually very cheap.. I think its a less than $80 affair.. My transfer fee should b $54 or $84 if I never remember wrongly...

If you are buying a bike from a direct owner,, definitely have to pay straight cash.. Unless its your good fren lor, then can tok tok abit,, pay in installment.. If buying from shop can get loan,, but interest rate rather high I believe..

5) Some owners may demand a cash of maybe 1k or 2k or few hundreds then ask u to COI... But imagine his bike is 200/mth left with 12 mths.. If you gotta fork out 4.8K to pay him and still COI for him another 1 year.. You think you wanna buy??? Y not buy a new bike instead... LOL.. Dat means he will earn until SIAO!!! Hahaha.. Bikes and cars the same de,, its a DEPRECIATIVE liability.. Once decide to sell definitely muz make a loss..

Don worry too much bro, take your time to find a ride of ur like slowly.. In the motor bike world there are really many crooks.. especially motorshops.. So b real careful,,, its good u post in forum,, then get advices... Read slowly and find out more before u decide to pay $$... Kena chop is ok,, but don kena slaughter like me... Super bo hua.. :( :( :(

We the SAFE Riders, Pledged to ride SAFELY and STAY ALIVE!!!

yo bro , ya hahaha my friend's SP kick start pedal flew out when he tried starting his bike , i laughed out . fuel leaking as well . sibei jia lat . ty ty learnt alot more HA . but if get from bike shop (2nd hand or so) , etc : 8k installment of 3 yrs.how much will u pay per month and how much is the whole sum?

Ow.so lets say the bike is 8k from shop , 3 years or full payment , so ROUGHLY how much must be spent initially? admin fee + transfer fee + coe + 1st mth payment? then subsequently from there every month pay the installment , correct?

Probably need to place a downpayment as well I think? Most places don't do full loans if I'm not wrong...

pls dun take crazy loans at all those shops! If u have cash, pay full cash with private seller or shop. If u dun have full cash, then buy a cheaper ride. If you cant even buy a cheaper ride or borrow money from someone to full cash a bike. DUN EVEN THINK OF RIDING! U still need to think of repairs, running costs and maintenance!

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

i totally agree with you...

don't just go for the lowest downpayment and low monthly installment... don't forget to calculate how much you will be paying by installment in total compared to paying full cash... sometimes the difference might shock you...

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

ok currently i get the picture already , for down payment + all the other rubbish insurance road tax yadda yadda i can afford up to 4k.not gonna disclose what bike i'm looking at before i get flamed =X and to one of the poster above , i understand where u're coming from but wether i'll be THINKING of riding or not as u said is really not in ur concern , sorry but the way u express is alil rude.ty for ur advice anyway.anyway i'm intending to keep 2b bike for long so i'm currently looking at bigger 2bs'.

4k can get you a pretty decent 2nd hand ride la... dont need installment

what bike? roadwin? vara? those are the biggest 2b bikes i can think of... not sure if you can get them+insurance+etc. for 4k though...

anyway i'm intending to keep 2b bike for long so i'm currently looking at bigger 2bs'.

lol last time i thought the same thing as you... will keep the bike forever... now i got my 2a and am preparing to maintain one 2a and my old 2b... there goes my good financial plan and my savings :slapforehead:

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

ok currently i get the picture already , for down payment + all the other rubbish insurance road tax yadda yadda i can afford up to 4k.not gonna disclose what bike i'm looking at before i get flamed =X and to one of the poster above , i understand where u're coming from but wether i'll be THINKING of riding or not as u said is really not in ur concern , sorry but the way u express is alil rude.ty for ur advice anyway.anyway i'm intending to keep 2b bike for long so i'm currently looking at bigger 2bs'.

Sorry for the way i put it. But way too many people i know are falling into this money trap for too long and i'm just frustrated why people dig themselves into this endless pit of misery. Please buy only what you can afford to use and upkeep. Thats the msg for today.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

its ok . initially dreaming bout aprilia cuz not intending to change to 2a or 2 . but then again , after listening to my manager bout is aprilia experience , balls shrunk.then thought of either cagiva planet or YZF R125. any idea bout their cost from shop? 2nd hand

My advise is to set aside $500-1k initially for repairs/parts replacement, thereafter, set aside ~$100/mth for repairs/maintenance and ~$100 running cost (petrol/parking). If you're getting fanciful sports bike, then please, set aside more.

Yoz Baku bro.. Hmmm if you intend to keep a 2B bike for long, I will suggest, irregardless of the size of the bike, to get a NEW one.. Considering the market now, its not really dat expensive to buy a NEW bike...

All 2nd hand bikes I can say more or less will give u bit of headache 1,, no matter how good it is,, those really reputable motorshops who can really give you a TIP TOP 100% good bike, the pricing also definitely TIP TOP.. So after doing a comparison, u only save perhaps 1-2K juz to get an old bike.. Perhaps can consider a 1st hand bike, problems wise, definitely u need not worry much.. 1st hand bike interest also 5% only as compared to used bikes, more expensive...

My advise is to set aside $500-1k initially for repairs/parts replacement, thereafter, set aside ~$100/mth for repairs/maintenance and ~$100 running cost (petrol/parking). If you're getting fanciful sports bike, then please, set aside more.

Then how much do i set aside for my YBR? 1 month plus i still havent go shop to change my EO. Haha.

ty bro , noted , but its really really ex LOL new bikes.

still anyone don't mind giving me a rough gauge of aprilia125/mito/planet/yzf 125? their 2nd hand pricing , a rough gauge will do heh.cuz i small size , class 2 only got R6 which if i ride it , i'll need to tip toe or look for curb at traffic light LOL pricing gentlemen! pricing yo!

the bikes you are targeting, honestly i dun think you can keep it for more than 2.5 to 3 years.. 1 year p plate, lets say 6 months to get 2a, 2a for a year (will be very good if you can resist the temptation to buy 2a bike), 6 months to get c2.. you would have changed by then..

will be good if you have the cash to buy brand new. but you will quite abit of $$ when you sell.. more than buying a used 1 and selling it again..

Yes I agree, even now I P plate, I can't resist the temptation of upgrading to bigger bikes when I get my 2A.. In fact my dream bike is the Yamaha Fazer 600...

At the same time, bikes like Aprilla won't be dat cheap either.. Buy already confirm need to change certain parts, from wat I noe Aprilla parts not very cheap also...

2nd hand pricing you can go to the Garage Sales-Used Bikes section to get some idea. Do a search for the bikes you like and then check out the prices.

Try to get stock bikes, not those with 1,001 modifications especially electrical modifications. Because sometimes the owners rewire until haywire. It will be very leceh to undo all the cross-wiring.

I didn't buy those popular 2B bikes (got a Gilera Runner) but I heard that old 2B bikes are usually in quite bad condition, because new 2B riders like to whack the bike. So you probably need to spend some money on repair. Also if you intend to upgrade, don't bother spending so much on the bike.

Upfront cost, maybe I can share with you my own buying experience:

Budget - $5,000 (cash)

(a) Machine - $3,500

(b) All other misc - $1,500

You can see that I actually broke down my full budget into machine + misc. You must set aside money for all these misc costs. You will incur these costs, so might as well be prepared to spend. Otherwise you will be broke.

Actual expenditure (so far)

(a) Machine - $3,000

(b) Transfer fee+insurance (Third Party) - $300+

© Engine oil change at HKL - less than $100

(d) Misc parts (OEM from Eversuccess) - $300+ (most important check your braking and clutch)

(e) HEL brakelines - $120

(f) Tyres at HKL - $285 (got a slash but usually recommended to change tyres once you take over the bike)

Mine is an S4, so parts are easy to get and relatively cheap. Choose a brand with cheap parts and that most mechanics know how to service.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

r125 cos around 10+k OTR, cativa mito cost 12 ~15k+otr.. It's a bit overkill for a class 2b bike cos i can full pay a super four with it.. But of cuz last time for me i'll say will not upgrade bike but after a long time of riding, you will feel that class 2b bikes are underpowered and will very much get tempted to upgrade.. This is even more so if you pass your 2a and class 2. :angel:

:o runner like very very common leh recently.. for those who like their bikes surely hard to resist.. spend on simple and useful mods that will keep you happy for a while.. before you know it you can take 2a already..

haha 12-15k for mito can get you a super4.. a super4's price can get you a fz6.. those who can really skip 2a then worth buying those ex 2b bikes.. my friend rode a rs125 and skipped c2a.. went straight for r1 after that..