The video's great' date=' thanks for the editing and pasting and whatever it is that you do to a video to go from "crap-I-Need-To-Cut-out" to this :)[/quote']

Oh I have nothing else to do... so stay tuned over the week for more little 'episodes' about our escaping the deadly rat race :D

Lutein's and your cameras are great! Very good first-person perspective. I don't really mind much the shaking, it adds to that "early 20th Century aviation" feel :D

I will make full use of the rest of the footage as well, worry not; in the meantime feel free to post up remixes, your own versions, etc, it's your content and creative talent I'm borrowing, after all :D (drawing lines on the road = art)

Watching our combined footage feels strangely educational - can note our driving (riding) lines and individual styles although it must be mentioned to the audience that ...

Disclaimer: Objects on small camera lenses always appear closer and faster moving than they really are, due to limited depth of field! Which is great for action-oriented filming, ironically.

Nabil tells me he has his own video in processing earlier this afternoon. I have a feeling he's going to let loose the tiger under his seat. LOL.

• Replies 2.4k

There is no audio censoring on youtube this year, possibly due to massive consumer complaints. So post away happily.

Just stay away from using Nightwish (which gets muted) but you can use remixes of the songs to get past the censor!

ok... understood! thanks.. :)

I'm happy the event turned out very well. Being able to do a little flash mob and run the event with absolutely zero communications speaks very highly of everyone. (I'm a fan of German efficiency and like to refrain from hanging out at kopitiams wasting the day away :D)

The use of a landed residential premises as a staging area is uncommon and we should thank Nabil's family for their hospitality.

It felt like a United Nations diplomacy event with delegates from France/Morocco, India (hosted by Nabil's personal Bollywood embassy), Australia and Portugal, or at least you could put it that way with a bit of imagination :3

The roads travelled in Formula One terms would be technical in nature - lots of close quarters, corners, and make good use of your HOV skills (or DIY versions thereof) looking out for stray pedestrians, sporting persons and... monkeys!

(I'm serious) Most of them made way to us when they heard my DIY VTEC exhaust note but one of the bigger ones decided to more or less faint near the central divider.

The 'rules of engagement' involved basic staggered formation but unlike typical convoys we allowed and even encouraged independent maneuvering and individual roles as bike capability and traffic conditions permitted.

Like the more fun of Japanese mecha animes (such as Macross) each of us had special skills and equipment such as:

1. "Carmen's Revenge" Phantom Type R is strangely capable of maintaining law and order on the road like some Wild West sherriff. Most of the other vehicles saw (or heard) us coming and gave way like, immediately, so no need to lanesplit to get somewhere. Fluffy big hair, fur grip and a rose on the nose are also very useful for distracting other road users... so we can overtake easily, ie safely (psychological warfare Ha ha ha)

2. O'Ren's Pulsar 200 DTS-i with its advanced engine management electronics can easily haul 2 persons plus some cargo without any speed penalty. She's also very stable and easy to handle.

3. Lutein's Ducati Monster has a dominant presence on the road with her aggressive riding posture and distinctive V-Twin powertrain making folks think twice before disturbing our right of way. (Not the biggest bike on the road, but definitely most awesome looking!)

4. Nabil's CB400 (DIY Type R) is actually configured as very smooth and stable road cruiser; his unique riding pattern ensures that the convoy's intentions are clearly communicated to other road users. Nabil also plays the role of the sweeper (in conventional convoying lingo) and is not restricted to 'flying formation' with the other 3 - his job as the rearmost camera operator generally works best with a semi-independent mindset which his natural initiative suits perfectly.

Without further ado, this is the cover video for all four riders; more videos will follow (and I remember that Bollywood music request :D)

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tQO6rWkYhM[/yt]

O'Ren as Master Sergeant of the team handing out convoy assignments was great too :D

It's a great pleasure for Nabil and I to share our self-devised "rally special stages". While some frown at the thought of actually, making use of those rural roads, I maintain that I don't need to send people to Pasir Gudang to familiarise ourselves with the bikes (Nabil and I are not track day people) and in doing so, become safer riders ourselves automatically.

ps. Somehow nabil managed to take some photos during the peaceful moments of our wee caturday evening rampage:

http://www.facebook.com/editalbum.php?&aid=31655&add=1&created=1#!/album.php?aid=31655&id=100001214633830

extremely nice videos.. But I dun have "friends" in my group who love videos.. they love cameras.. but not video.. :(

I need to find another easier way to mount my video so that can mount it daily.. :p

oh yea.. where you guys went sia? Some routes looks like JB to me.. lolx..

Thanks Kalyan for doing up the clip, and Nabil for hosting! My camera died from overheating after 1:05 hrs; that's the limitation I didn't know until this trip!

I had one shot of Nabil shooting off after "sweeping" for too long :D Think he was too sian hanging around behind us all the time hahaha...

oh yea.. i wanted to know after 1.05hrs.. is the video saved? Cause my HP died due to no space.. and no video is saved.. :(

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

oh yea.. i wanted to know after 1.05hrs.. is the video saved? Cause my HP died due to no space.. and no video is saved.. :(

Yes, the video was saved. So I had 1:05 hrs of footage.

As for the route, we went towards LCK/Neo Tiew via Old Upper Thomson Road (GP race track) and back via S Buona Vista Road. These are the more fun parts of the ride.

Edited by lutein
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg
Yes, the video was saved. So I had 1:05 hrs of footage.

As for the route, we went towards LCK/Neo Tiew via Old Upper Thomson Road (GP race track) and back via S Buona Vista Road. These are the more fun parts of the ride.

nice nice.. will try that route when free.. but not during this season.. 1 month later.. :)

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Lutein's and your cameras are great! Very good first-person perspective. I don't really mind much the shaking, it adds to that "early 20th Century aviation" feel :D

There isn't really much shaking except when I shifted my riding position. The video was actually more stable than usual due to the *koff koff* relatively low speed. Normally, above 100kmh, the camera would be whipped around.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

Still frustrated are we ? :D :D :D

Yesterday I went to Yishun/Pungoll area (never been there in my life), and found some pretty damn cool road, super empty, super large, with no working traffic lights (a bit like that road where you guys said planes land if there's an emergency?).

I thought it would be a great spot for you to unleash your Ducati from time to time, guaranteed no cams... :shades:

it was around Selatar North/West link over there.

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

Hey sorry guys I realized the video I made has sone bits which can see your bike plate numbers, will need redo when free (:

Nice video there Kenny, as always!!

Thanks for making the trip a fruitful one guys

Still frustrated are we ? :D :D :D

Yesterday I went to Yishun/Pungoll area (never been there in my life), and found some pretty damn cool road, super empty, super large, with no working traffic lights (a bit like that road where you guys said planes land if there's an emergency?).

I thought it would be a great spot for you to unleash your Ducati from time to time, guaranteed no cams... :shades:

Yes O Ren, punggol is vast and the roads are awesome and very fun to ride. Great spots for photography of sunsets and sunrise too, with very low traffic!

I love riding there, recently me and Kenny found new roads at anchorvale to release your trottle grip, to clear Carbon or just have some fun with your bikes power!

There are many beautiful roads at seletar too, mini inner roads, one of which I remember bringing Kenny in our first few rides with the big yellow phantom guy! ( Kenny would know who I am talking about) haha!

Punggol jetty has fabulous inner roads too which give a great sense of traquility when riding. I had rode on some mud tracks before there on my cbr150! Sadly my super4 ain't that good at such off roads anymore :(

Don't forget the infamous Airport autocross. Not exactly a good spot to clear Nabil's ever present carbon deposits, but very "technical", once again in F1 terms.

However, watch out for random construction works and crazy taxis.

I'll leave it up to Nabil to organise any future rides if any. I don't go out at all these days except for organised road rampages (within legal speed limits :D). Otherwise I sleep and attend to my many pillows :p

"Airport Madness" Version 1 and 2. Videos taken 3 months apart. No taxis were harmed in the making of these videos.

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6sJTm_mGtUo[/yt]

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YV4IE0VF-A[/yt]

Hey sorry guys I realized the video I made has sone bits which can see your bike plate numbers, will need redo when free (:

Nice video there Kenny, as always!!

Thanks for making the trip a fruitful one guys

bro.. wat software you using to "edit" away the number plate while riding? o.O

I use Windows Movie Maker.

I just would cut the scene of the video which shows the bike plate number, that's all (: quite easy also.

theres the new hd recorder out.

its the flip mino thingy. wonder has anyone tried to use it to record rides?

Passed some nice inner roads today on the way home from work (:

Could comment on my bike pictures (: haha

nice ! :thumb:

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

nice ! :thumb:

(:

next time come and join me riding in inner roads into housing estates and all, I will help you take some lovely pictures of your beautiful pulsar

Without further ado -

Industry-standard template for letting Nabil out of the house to clear carbon:

Caturday Evening Rampage

Date: Caturday, 21 August 2010

Time: In the evening of course, don't want to get sunburnt or something.

Meeting Location: Riders' Cafe, Eng Neo Ave

Plan:

Watch some real horses (if they still exist) while plotting to conquer Singapore's central main streets on iron horses.

Parade your horse in high street fashion down Chinatown, Shenton Way, etc. Last week we did cornering, this week it's surviving typically insane Asian urban traffic!

Longer ranging fun stuff, such as Nabil's Airport Autocross, and Mustafa Centre raid (eat cheese pillows, shop till you drop) can be arranged.

Alternatively we can also do a day version but erm, I sleep in the day so I don't know where to go during non-vampire hours :D

Attendance:

1. 'pandora's kitten'

2. 'bollywood action hero'

Hey,

I'm on a long WE holiday that WE so not sure if I can make it yet, will let you know.

It's ramadan so as every fasting person should, I shall say that any activity planned before the sun is down will receive very little energy from me :D

Nabil, I definitely want to do a photo tour with the bike ! Want to take my SLR on a trip, and do SG landmarks: Shadow (it's the bike's name) with the Merlion, Shadow in Chinatown, Shadow meets Mustafa, Shadow at the Esplanade etc.. :)

double post

Edited by O'Ren

Ah you have my adoration there - I don't fast but I'm pro Muslim since some years back. Now that explains why we have special access to nabil's house :3

Time to amend the above plan, I won't mind to tag along and pull security for the photoshoot.

Or I'll kill nabil for leaving me alone and bored at home or something. LOL.

I alr do have some nice landmarks to grab pictures in mind already, and I have this wanting to intercept sunrise in the east.

It would be best to meet at mustafa and we'll hit ecp to the east coast for our first stop.

photoshoot outing

date: 15th aug 2010

time: 6.45am @ mustafa centre near the money changer

going:

nabil15

Edited by nabil15

Hey there, hope your Ramadhan is going out beautifully.

Yeah sure thing, we could go for those night photoshoot sessions or just before sunrise too, too catch some lovely horizon plus the landmarks in (:

That would definitely give a delightful backdrop to our bike (super 4, pandoras kitten and shadow) (:

If you're up for Sunday morning say 645am, let me know we could go for an hour's ride till 730 or smth and then retire after capturing some pictures and feeling the serene morning breeze and fresh air (:

Hey there, hope your Ramadhan is going out beautifully.

Yeah sure thing, we could go for those night photoshoot sessions or just before sunrise too, too catch some lovely horizon plus the landmarks in (:

That would definitely give a delightful backdrop to our bike (super 4, pandoras kitten and shadow) (:

If you're up for Sunday morning say 645am, let me know we could go for an hour's ride till 730 or smth and then retire after capturing some pictures and feeling the serene morning breeze and fresh air (:

Not sure if I'm part of the team or not but drop me an SMS if the timing is confirmed. I'll break out the "Sunrise Interception" mission plan.

For this timing, weather recon is -very- important.

One of the Phantom Knights pulled me along for such an attempt, didn't monitor the weather, cancelled at 5.30am cos they probably didn't know how lovely it was to film a time lapse cloudy sunrise scene.

Problem is, I was already there. Which kind of awakens my naturally vengeful spirit.

Thankfully, I -do- do my homework :p