Filming my ride

I've been wanting to film my journeys, not for narcissistic reasons, but more in case anything unfortunate happens. Bullet cams are too expensive right now, and I don't want to attach the camera to the bike in case I forget to take it with me.

My solution - a Creative Vado HD attached to my riding jacket. $349 from Creative.

I chose HD instead of the normal Vado as I wanted to capture as much detail as possible (e.g. number plates). The videocam can record slighly over 2hours of footage in HD+ format. You can also record in HD and VGA formats.

This is how I attach it to my riding jacket:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3322/3482168988_365618a30a_m.jpg

Pouch is $2 from Daiso with a hole cut for the lens. I've tried placing it lower (if you look closely you can see glue marks below the jacket logo) but ended up filming my fuel tank instead. So I have to place it as high as I could. That was the highest I could go because I am wearing a flip-up.

The pouch is attached to the jacket with velcro to make it removable; however I don't remove the pouch so I could have sewn the pouch directly to the jacket. Yeah, I know it's ugly, but I don't really care :) I would change to a black pouch if I can find a cheap one though.

Here's a video sample:

Quality of video - excellent as I filmed in HD+, except the videocam pouch tends to flap about in high speed. So you will get jerky images, which makes it unsuitable for track purposes. However, it's good enough for my purposes.

Now, I need to figure out how to attach it to my raincoat...

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

• Replies 2.4k

Hi, thanks for sharing! Its a great idea! I'd be following up with your website so do keep updating! Though one thing, the only thing that bothers me is tailgaters, so I'd put a camera at the back of the bike as well.

I see you're all geared up when you ride, even putting some gloves on. What bike is that btw?

http://i41.tinypic.com/2vj99ua.jpg

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff288/jinpwnsyou/Whack_a_kitty.gif

cool stuff!

was thinking of a suction cup camera mount.. but urs does the trick too!

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111128075727/xanthe/nl/images/1/1f/Asian-Troll-Face.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r3/iewgnail/LW2.jpg

:thumb: i designed a transparent water-proof cameraphone mount for my flip up - place in front of nose.

only things my current cameraphone the camera cmi. changing soon!! :cheeky:

also coz place on helmet, when check blindspot will keep moving abt.

anyone knows where can buy dub camera (those black ones that we cant see the lens)? dub as in just a plastic model. den can mount on box and scare tailgaters! :lol::cheeky::smile:

Wow! I'm amazed by the quality of the video! How about night time? Will it work as well?

Hi, there's a video that I took at night in my Vimeo account. Do have a look. However I think that wasn't filmed in HD+ format.

:cheeky: anybody wanna get Creative HD Vado that Lutein used?

I got lobang wor! :cheeky::smile:

coz i now attachment here arh! :cheeky:

lutein, wasted, i could have saved u some vitamin M :cheeky:

:cheeky: anybody wanna get Creative HD Vado that Lutein used?

I got lobang wor! :cheeky::smile:

coz i now attachment here arh! :cheeky:

You can get how much? Cos I may want another one :)

$315 ba. $34 off! (or abt 10%). r u getting for HOV gang? coz ur video mention "We've been exploring options to film our rides".

I would love to get one myself but got other priorities at the moment. :smile:

:thumb: for the cool idea and :thumb: for the super clear video by (erhem, Creative!) :cheeky:

Keep updating....Waiting for the final piece

1993-Yamaha LC, TZR

1994-Licence Revoke

1995- Honda MBX, RXZ

1996- Vespa

1997- RXK, TZM

2002- Phantom 200

2008- Toyota Axio(Car)

2009- Toyota Axio(Car) & S4 Vtec 2

2010(current)- Fazer FZ1N & Toyota Axio(Car)

U said earlier it can last slightly over 2 hrs rite? So which means u can only record it for short period of time.

E.g if u were outside running some errands on ur bike of coz the whole day, how would u record the entire ride? (not tat i mean u gonna spend 8 hrs solid on ur bike lah)

Or is it the memory card too do play a part? Its a really helpful gadget i must say so tats y need more info before actually thinking of getting one hehee..

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

I'm recording the rides in case anything unfortunate (i.e. accidents) happens. If nothing does, I'll just delete the clip without saving. Also depends on what format you record it in. For HD+ it's about 2 hours; for HD it's about 4 hours.

I love the wide angle view! One thing about the Vado is the view angle isn't as wide as I wanted, so I had some trouble figuring out where to place this camera. GoPro is a good option for those who prefer to mount their cameras on the helmet.

For those who want to use their P&S digicams to film their rides, can consider this cheap method of mounting your cams onto the bike itself, if you have a suitable mounting point on your handlebar.

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/961122/diy_motorcycle_camera_mount/

freakin genius. nice!

Past Rides:

Bajaj Pulsar - Sep '07 to Mar '09

Spec 3 - Mar '09 to Dec '10

Kawasaki Z1000 - Dec '10 to ???

Forgot to highlight a very important point about attaching the videocam to your jacket. One disadvantage is that it's not suitable for people riding sportsbikes or bikes that require you to bend forward while riding. This method would be more suitable for standard riding positions. You need to experiment to see what works; however for those riding sports bike I'd advise you to consider a helmet cam or mount your camera onto the bike itself. BTW the Vado comes with a tripod mount too so you can use the cheap handlebar mount method posted earlier.

Oregon Scientific ATC2K Waterproof Helmet cam

Its attached to helmet secured!!! And its ur call on where u want it ro be...on top OR on the side Left or right side. There is a permanent mounting ( those Like bicycle clamp click on and off to mount and dismount in just seconds... but must drill a whole and srew ur helmet liow!!! Another choice is a rubber strap. One of my haBruuders in the VARA thread is using it. His nick is "FUJI" Go PM him. Also.. those Scram Kaki of mine oso have it on their helmet. not all lah.. but minority only.. cheap cheap and good good.

BTW...Someone selling it cheap at slackriders.. just click the link above.

here's the pic...

http://i383.photobucket.com/albums/oo276/supermotosg/SNC00544.jpg

Edited by joemac_kint

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l306/joemac_kint/misc%20pic/untitled123456.jpg

Where got LONG WAY DOWN? Its just around the corner what?!?!?! eeerrmm. JUST a very long corner i mean...