Steady lah WRX guru... :bow: :bow: Maybe u shuld post videos on correct technique on launching such 4WD ...

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

• Replies 172

Ehh i wouldn't trust the 5-speed in the wrx to survive too many 6k clutch dumps. The 6-speeder in the STIs are pretty damn tough though.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

Ehh i wouldn't trust the 5-speed in the wrx to survive too many 6k clutch dumps. The 6-speeder in the STIs are pretty damn tough though.

yea...probably wont last a few...

i owned a V5 for 3yrs...and changed 2 clutches set...hehe

4WD does bog down power transfer....therefore getting the rev and releasing the clutch pedal at the right moment is essential for a good launch....

interesting to know...have you driven a WRX before making such comments?....haha

Are you joking? Of course I've driven it before making such comments.

The timing can match a WRX? hahaa....the WRX driver must be a damn lousy driver hahaa...

Haha.. I guess you've yet to played in a track before. If you are unsure, a 1L suzuki swift in total stock condition can do 2min flat in PG with a good driver. I've met a WRX STI driver who did 2:39 and he was full of it... haha... oh well... depends on the driver too. A good driver on a WRX and the same driver on the Golf TSI can perform almost just as well. Try bringing the TSI to the track and you'll realise the merits of having the DSG.

is that so? haha.....once again it prove that the wrx driver is lousy....haha

probably do not know how to drive a 4wd and a manual car...(anyhow launching a 4wd requires some skill)

anyhow..both are good cars....depending on individual liking...comparing them is like comparing "chicken with duck" i am giving a neutral opinion on the cars...

I have driven both cars...I know what each car can do....:)

Alamak... there're people underneath the blanket who've driven more cars then we've probably heard of. I guess there is no need to bring up where have we've driven or what have we've driven in order to make statements like that. I work in the auto industry for the Germans, but I don't think I know too much to learn more. Isn't that right? :angel: But indeed you make some good points to comparing cars.

The WRX weak link is its gearbox. In a sprint, a stock WRX will not stand a chance with the stock DSG7 Golf which shift much quicker than the WRX manual gearbox.

See here on the

whose rex is stock anyway :angel:

My post was to give a more equitable comparison, stock to stock.

For modded cars, it's the sky the limit. You can put a cosworth engine with gt35 perring garrett kit, and scare the Porsche GT3 :angel:

If you count those lighted dice, and feathery thingy on the dash, then no rex is stock. :angel:

I guess you don't send your car to Motor Image, if you do, you will be surprised there are many stock WRX, and STi.

Those still in the warehouse or container at the port. :lol: Or those who have no $$ to modify.

err PG hor.. u dun need a powerful car to get 2 mins, Sepang is the place to see the difference. Is a bike track! :lol:

Nice bikie track! Actually nice track for all Singaporeans to patronise with all sorts of machines. Karting, cars, bikes, scooters, if you don't mind the heat and wastage, you can book the track for life run. More technical track as some tells me. Plenty of opportunities to overtake.

My post was to give a more equitable comparison, stock to stock. For modded cars, it's the sky the limit. You can put a cosworth engine with gt35 perring garrett kit, and scare the Porsche GT3 :angel: If you count those lighted dice, and feathery thingy on the dash, then no rex is stock. :angel: I guess you don't send your car to Motor Image, if you do, you will be surprised there are many stock WRX, and STi.

I don't really like sending my car to VSG too. The workshop staff althought apparently behaves better than my previous ride, I still feel queasy about going to corporate workshops. What's more when I cannot see what they do to my vehicle. Doing up passenger cars cannot work like a franchised restaurant. Mcdonald's, Han's, Ajisen. Soon you realise different branches serve different standards even though they operate under the same brand name. Running apassenger car workshop has to be like a unique personalised restaurant. Like Magma German Restaurant at Outram, Por Kee in Tiong Bahru, Harbis Indian Rojak in Ayer Rajah. The chef remains the same. The standard of the food and service fluctuates mildly. The touch of personalization is imminent and as much as possible catered to a tailored cut for the individual customer. Therefore I prefer to go to my familiar workshop where I can borrow their tools and equipments, choose my own style of maintainence, work with my familiar mechanic as though I am his colleague rather than a customer. Eventually, I pay for something made for me. And not a packaged service.

Nowadays there's no such things as good and bad cars. The only car that is good to the vehicle builder is the one that sells. If my junkyard tin can is able to tremendously out-sell your state of the art space craft car, then my junkyard tin can is a great car. We are all merely pawns of the entire automotive industry. On top of that we are not even sure if our cars are entirely made in the country of origin. WRX? I am not surprised to find some Taiwanese electronics, some Thai workshops fabricated components before assembly in Japan or Vietnam? Indonesia? or a combinition of everything? Golf? I can easily say that there are Italian or Austrian made parts or even Chinese made parts while being assembled in Germany? Or maybe Belgium more like it. Or maybe a combinition of both or more?

Just buy the car which appeals to ourselves most and we will not regret the buy. Remember that no car/bike in the world can appeal to everyone in the market. The one who can build their machines with the lowest costs, sell at the highest profits and appeal to the largest share of the market will win. The rest are losers. Even if they make great cars.

Those still in the warehouse or container at the port. :lol: Or those who have no $$ to modify.

Nice bikie track! Actually nice track for all Singaporeans to patronise with all sorts of machines. Karting, cars, bikes, scooters, if you don't mind the heat and wastage, you can book the track for life run. More technical track as some tells me. Plenty of opportunities to overtake.

I don't really like sending my car to VSG too. The workshop staff althought apparently behaves better than my previous ride, I still feel queasy about going to corporate workshops. What's more when I cannot see what they do to my vehicle. Doing up passenger cars cannot work like a franchised restaurant. Mcdonald's, Han's, Ajisen. Soon you realise different branches serve different standards even though they operate under the same brand name. Running apassenger car workshop has to be like a unique personalised restaurant. Like Magma German Restaurant at Outram, Por Kee in Tiong Bahru, Harbis Indian Rojak in Ayer Rajah. The chef remains the same. The standard of the food and service fluctuates mildly. The touch of personalization is imminent and as much as possible catered to a tailored cut for the individual customer. Therefore I prefer to go to my familiar workshop where I can borrow their tools and equipments, choose my own style of maintainence, work with my familiar mechanic as though I am his colleague rather than a customer. Eventually, I pay for something made for me. And not a packaged service.

Nowadays there's no such things as good and bad cars. The only car that is good to the vehicle builder is the one that sells. If my junkyard tin can is able to tremendously out-sell your state of the art space craft car, then my junkyard tin can is a great car. We are all merely pawns of the entire automotive industry. On top of that we are not even sure if our cars are entirely made in the country of origin. WRX? I am not surprised to find some Taiwanese electronics, some Thai workshops fabricated components before assembly in Japan or Vietnam? Indonesia? or a combinition of everything? Golf? I can easily say that there are Italian or Austrian made parts or even Chinese made parts while being assembled in Germany? Or maybe Belgium more like it. Or maybe a combinition of both or more?

Just buy the car which appeals to ourselves most and we will not regret the buy. Remember that no car/bike in the world can appeal to everyone in the market. The one who can build their machines with the lowest costs, sell at the highest profits and appeal to the largest share of the market will win. The rest are losers. Even if they make great cars.

umm...you talk like you are an expert? hehe.....worked in the industry for long?......where you got all this info?......

PG is a small track..good for beginners and it has alot of corners and lower speed track...but the track condition is a killer to your tyres.....

you tried Sepang before? :)

Edited by TGS
Are you joking? Of course I've driven it before making such comments.

Haha.. I guess you've yet to played in a track before. If you are unsure, a 1L suzuki swift in total stock condition can do 2min flat in PG with a good driver. I've met a WRX STI driver who did 2:39 and he was full of it... haha... oh well... depends on the driver too. A good driver on a WRX and the same driver on the Golf TSI can perform almost just as well. Try bringing the TSI to the track and you'll realise the merits of having the DSG.

Alamak... there're people underneath the blanket who've driven more cars then we've probably heard of. I guess there is no need to bring up where have we've driven or what have we've driven in order to make statements like that. I work in the auto industry for the Germans, but I don't think I know too much to learn more. Isn't that right? :angel: But indeed you make some good points to comparing cars.

driving it as in owning one and testing it to the limits?......anyway...its quite normal for performance cars to do 2mins or so on PG.....the benchmark is 1.50mins for cars..so what kind of timing did u do?...:) i am not so good driver..last time i did only about 1.55-2mins on my REX....sad!!!....maybe stock standard REX mah...haha 2.39?....a grandmother driving?hehe yeah..I probably enjoy the DSG with GOLF GTi....

yea...sure..of course there are alot of other people whom has more experience and tested alot of cars before....you seem like one...how many cars you have driven or own?..:)

yea..of course......everyone has something to learn..even as an expert....oh..you work in auto industry..:) that make u an expert..:)

German some more...:) good technology...:)

Hey TGS, I don't like to put things to heart, but you seemed to be initiating provocation even though we've not met. haha... but talk can be cheap. I've seen how people talk about their personal track timings in the forum countless times. Some true and some can be really overblown. So I cannot comment on that. While there're members here who know me in person can vouch, I think there is no need for anyone to elaborate to you. It is fine to be skeptical. That's what the forum is for. We all have disagreements with other members here. But the disagreements cease as disagreements. We will still meet up for drinks and meals, disturb each other for fun. But there is no need to use sacarsm for malicious intent to get message across. for I believe that if one requires the use of insults or violence to get message across, then he has very questionable integrity to begin with. Much speaks about the content he presents. I will not respond to your posts if you insist on the same stance. Good luck.

yea..i do agree with u.. sacarsm?....ummm...but i was merely just answering to your points...since you guess i have not tracked before...etc...being defensive?..haha

anyhow....as they said..."if you feel guilty ..you are guilty"..haha ones only speak from experience and not from hearing or reading somewhere or somone..just noting that one should be careful what he gospel...especially the "experience or info" is not from oneself...:)

anyway..good luck in your technical gospel......:)

My post was to give a more equitable comparison, stock to stock.

For modded cars, it's the sky the limit. You can put a cosworth engine with gt35 perring garrett kit, and scare the Porsche GT3 :angel:

If you count those lighted dice, and feathery thingy on the dash, then no rex is stock. :angel:

I guess you don't send your car to Motor Image, if you do, you will be surprised there are many stock WRX, and STi.

hehe nv send there, normally nothing good if coming back from there but end up more stuff to fix :cheeky: and i used to work very near them in leng kee so......... you know i know :lol:

Saw my other post about going to agents? :p It's not to express that our agents are like that, but to highlight such issues can happen.

The STI is a great car, but you need a good workshop to manage it. After paying about 100K+ for the machine yet being unable to watch what they do to your car?!:faint:

Yep, i usually go to BMS.

Unfortunately my radiator exploded yesterday, since I was near MI, i had no choice and limped all the way there. :(

Me.. Me~~~!!

U r good..:thumb:

We the safe riders, pledge to be alert at all times,considerate to other road users and follow all traffic rules so as to make riding a safer and more enjoyable experience.

We pledge to ride safely and stay alive.

Yep, i usually go to BMS.

Unfortunately my radiator exploded yesterday, since I was near MI, i had no choice and limped all the way there. :(

wah ur radiator put coolant or petrol man :lol: , i also go BMS.. might see u there 1 day :angel:

Saw my other post about going to agents? :p It's not to express that our agents are like that, but to highlight such issues can happen.

The STI is a great car, but you need a good workshop to manage it. After paying about 100K+ for the machine yet being unable to watch what they do to your car?!:faint:

ya i saw... think is still metal bowl concept that makes them lousier ba

:lol: mai quarrel, go down track to talk ;]

haha.. I am not prepared to turn this into another ego fighting saga. It's so bloody childish.

So are you able to go with me for this coming one? I asked an ex-colleague to go. The one I spoke to you about before. Don't mention names here, he does not like it.

ooooo... open track or normal? i might be interested

Just a normal one. Join if you are interested. I have not set a date yet. Will keep you informed via SMS. Maybe try this new tyre up and then get another set in Jan with a new suspensions set-up I designed for my own car. I'm still checking with my colleagues in D-Land. Don't ask me about yours. Your OE shock absorber is an USD monotube. Considered as a very performance oriented design already. Normally only race suspensions use that design. Very precise feel. Only the STI line of WRX has it as OE. Anyway the two chassis are so bloody different. But not really comfort oriented. Does your CO complain? Or You two already have steel butts and spine.