• Replies 1.7k

Hi all

Recently just sent my bike for service at planet for both my EO and signal light but after service my signal lights cant blink anymore instead they just stay on. Any 1 encounter this problem be4? if yes is there any DIY fix for it?

I'm fine with weekdays night too! Any Mon, Tue or Thurs night is good: )

opened up the screw B on the right side and the petrol flowed out a little.

Nothing much, all quite clear.

sorry. made plans already. however i can try and make time on weekday nights la. just let me know in advance. best is those interested come up wif a date n time. or if really keen just contact me personally also can.

sorry for the late reply! overwhelmed by sch/work recently.. if u guys are still mtg up probably just cfm a date and ill try 2 swing by..

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Aww, that's fast. Just changed 3days ago :/

it happened to me twice few mths back.. something wrong with my charging system.. replace the rectifier problem solved.. hopefully u dun hv same issue!

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Yup possible. If ur rectifier problem, can cause excess current and blow ur bulb. Because phantom dun hv individual fuses for the various components.

agreed. the way my mech found out was that the rectifier wasnt charging the batt when he revved the engine (voltmeter used) by then my batt and a new HIR bulb was killed =C better to carry a spare bulb just in case! =D

Ahh, sigh, how much for rectifier replace?

forgot liao for myself not too sure cos my was 2nd hnd and i lump it in with my other major repairs..

the other thread say is 75sgd 1st hand 25sgd 2nd hand..

I'm new to bike. Looking to get a phantom second hand from forum. Found a few used phantom that looks good on the pictures.

I am going to meet a seller tomorrow. His bike looks good as everything is shiny despite being nine year old. I know looks can be deceiving. But what do i look out for for the bike? I don't want any issues with the bike.. New here, don't really like to go and do repairs all by myself and i don't really understand much technical terms here..

Appreciate if someone could help a newbie out. I don't have any friends who ride.

I'm new to bike. Looking to get a phantom second hand from forum. Found a few used phantom that looks good on the pictures.

I am going to meet a seller tomorrow. His bike looks good as everything is shiny despite being nine year old. I know looks can be deceiving. But what do i look out for for the bike? I don't want any issues with the bike.. New here, don't really like to go and do repairs all by myself and i don't really understand much technical terms here..

Appreciate if someone could help a newbie out. I don't have any friends who ride.

not too sure if this link is too heavy but it is helpful:

http://www.clarity.net/adam/buying-bike.html

in summary:

1. check for obvious and not so obvious damages that bike is dropped before;

2. check all controls: clutch; brakes front rear;

3. check all lighting: brake lights brake pads etc

4. check suspension. front and rear should bounce back smooth when jerk the bike.

5. bike should be easy to start. note: seller might hv started engine before u came to hide some issues like weak battery or poor starting etc. ask him not to start till u come if possible (might be more than one buyer viewing before u)

6. test the horn with head lights on immediately after starting bike. if the bike ridden regularly and is charged or no batt/charging issues it should not flicker.

7. ta200 very well known to have piston rings worn out, which can be expensive to repair (almost 400sgd). after starting the engine, ask if u can rev hard. must not have grey smoke.

8. ask history of bike servicing for e.g. engine oil; spark plug; wheels;battery; drive chain and sprocket

9. ask seller any known problems? any accidents? drop before? seller may or may not be honest on this.

10. also ask how many owners before this. nowadays dun hv hardcopy log book.

its still best to get someone who rides to go with you, as a lot of things not obvious to a beginner.

also: dont get pressurised into making a purchase! (even if u need a vehicle asap for work, dun make a mistake and buy a drum of worms)

u might want to note that seller may not let u test ride.

forgot one thing: check cam chain tensioner also. when u rev and let go u should not hear a clacking sound.

Hi, just got my ta200. When i was riding, there's a scraping sound coming out from the back tyre. Wondering whether if its the chain or disc or the wheel itself. I would like to go to a bike shop and fix it but also afraid that I would got 'chopped' at the same time. So would like to check whether anyone here had this issue before. THANKS!

i had only that scrapping sound when my rear brake was dragging. maybe caliper not aligned properly or other reasons.

think the easiest way on your own is to check the rear wheel up and spin by hand.

otherwise still better to go bike shop and let them inspect or find someone to help u see?

alot of ppl recommend going ah chong at planet.

go to planet or if youre anal about it, jack it up and check. bearings, chain a stuck caliper.

Thanks guy! Ill go probably on Tuesday and check it out. Anyway Ive pushed my bike to listen to the noise. It's definitely coming from the chain. Also, when i start to move off, there will be a metal vibrating noise too..

hey! I went to Unique @ tohguan earlier today for a check. turns out that my chain has spoiled. I was wondering if it would be cheaper if i get it done in JB ?

Erm... It's spoiled and u want to risk riding into JB to get it fixed? Bro... Not worth the risk leh... Chain +sprocket front and back is about 104 at dr Chong place... Unique also prob almost e same price? If can DIY then go to LAB and just get the chain?