Anyone wanna meet up for kopi tonite? Jalan kayu or anywhere?

Peter 97615890

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by TnT@Feb 22 2006, 07:44 PM

Anyone wanna meet up for kopi tonite? Jalan kayu or anywhere?

Peter 97615890

long time no meet up for kopi liao....

haiz....san le......:cry:

http://sp1.yt-thm-a02.yimg.com/image/25/f10/350922777

there a few ppl from east side riders meeting at 11pm @ 85 market.

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

Originally posted by smokingjoe@Feb 22 2006, 08:08 PM

THANKS ALOT MR JOE . . .

i bz until forget that this year feb do not have 29th . . . . .

tomorrow u will find ur bike being balance on 2 breaks , dun blame me . . . .

:smile: peace . . . . . . . . .

sorry i mean pieces . . . . .

Originally posted by sp rider 06@Feb 22 2006, 06:24 PM

oh we were there today den saw your bike.....:smile:

i see, i am super frustrated man. yesterday coolant leak. today carb leak petrol. OMG. super du lan. just now after reaching hall i smell petrol then i realise my petrol leaking. i put to reserve it started to flowing, put to on it start dripping. at off nothing leak.

anyone knows wat happened? i already know where it's leaking from le but it seemed like a stopper dropped out or a pipe got disconnected. but problem is i can't find anything that may have dropped out. :cry: :cry:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Feb 23 2006, 01:22 AM

i see, i am super frustrated man. yesterday coolant leak. today carb leak petrol. OMG. super du lan. just now after reaching hall i smell petrol then i realise my petrol leaking. i put to reserve it started to flowing, put to on it start dripping. at off nothing leak.

anyone knows wat happened? i already know where it's leaking from le but it seemed like a stopper dropped out or a pipe got disconnected. but problem is i can't find anything that may have dropped out. :cry: :cry:

i think ur carb float went out of place or its time for u to change new floats. That time i also got this problem. Went to K&T to readjust $10. Problem solved.

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Originally posted by Shawn--@Feb 23 2006, 01:51 AM

i think ur carb float went out of place or its time for u to change new floats. That time i also got this problem. Went to K&T to readjust $10. Problem solved.

wat's a carb float and where is K & T? i had enough of planet for a while. so for now i can't ride my bike le right?

anyway, any idea scrap bike can get back more money or trade in to bikeshop can get more money?

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Feb 23 2006, 01:53 AM

wat's a carb float and where is K & T? i had enough of planet for a while. so for now i can't ride my bike le right?

anyway, any idea scrap bike can get back more money or trade in to bikeshop can get more money?

think definitely trade in get more money...

getting frustrated over the bike? no worries mate!!! you are not alone!!! i got one G4 a few months back.. also like yours alot of problems... but iron them out one by one... should be running smooth after all these are over... ENDURE!!!! at least they are all cheap problems... imagine engine block crack lah... dunno why one piston jam lah... ... :cry:

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Originally posted by retro@Feb 23 2006, 02:34 AM

think definitely trade in get more money...

getting frustrated over the bike? no worries mate!!! you are not alone!!! i got one G4 a few months back.. also like yours alot of problems... but iron them out one by one... should be running smooth after all these are over... ENDURE!!!! at least they are all cheap problems... imagine engine block crack lah... dunno why one piston jam lah... ... :cry:

well i spend 100++ le and till now still haven fix up the IU yet. IU gonna cost 80 plus at least for a 2nd hand one. how to feel for a piston jam? :confused: :confused: a bit sian mah

Originally posted by smokingjoe@Feb 22 2006, 08:08 PM

nvm! we can meet for kopi ourselves nearby....hor hor hor... hehehehe :smile:

http://rds.yahoo.com/S=96062883/K=bikestunts/v=2/SID=w/l=IVS/SIG=13jp55pvs/*-http%3A//us.movies1.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/photo/movie_pix/dreamworks_skg/biker_boyz/bikestunts.jpg

...LeT tHe WeAk SaY, i Am StRoNg. .

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Feb 23 2006, 03:18 AM

well i spend 100++ le and till now still haven fix up the IU yet. IU gonna cost 80 plus at least for a 2nd hand one. how to feel for a piston jam? :confused: :confused: a bit sian mah

piston jam you will know one lah... anyway very hard for 4stroke with 4 cylinders to jam lah... huh??? no IU??? what kinda bike is this??? import ah?

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

aiyo brother, give up so easily? Seems like ur ex owner nv really take care of his bike. K&T is also in da same lane as planet.

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Feb 23 2006, 01:53 AM

piston not so easy jam i guess........must always check your engine oil level.......wah juz get your g4 leh ......how can give up???

anyway ther is bound to be wear n tear for this bike.....maybe u can go n do your servicing and tuning since u juz got the bike........:smile:

my bike also no erp unit............:sweat:

when one door of happiness closes,another opens but often we took so long to look at the closed door that we dont see the one which has been opened for us

Originally posted by Naz@Feb 22 2006, 06:14 PM

oh fark..

I just discovered, my fuse box hor, the top cover missing liao. Only two fuses there, the other two are connected straight to the wires.

Then i checked the base of the fuse got write 20. Does that mean all of them are 20amp fuse? Isn't that like too much?

OMG!! OMG!!! I'm gonna die on the road!!! *paranoid disorder*

*Slaps you on the head to calm you down*

Relax bro.... tink your fuse box is pretty mesed up... tink you better go get a new/2nd hand one fixed onto your bike... seems like the previous owner din bother to fix his fusebox.......

Dun worry, small problem nia.

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Feb 23 2006, 01:22 AM

Relax Relax....Breathe in breathe out..... Breathe in breathe out......

You in hall? if you are can let me take a look for you.

For me, leaking carbs is a common problem... sometimes its juz dirt in your carbs that gets the float needle stuck. Some caressing by ah chong solves the problem. haha

Btw, there is no off switch for the bike... oni ON, Reserve and Pri.

piston jam? ehhh... you will know it when your bike suddenly seizes and stops moving, tyres lock and you fly faster than your bike is moving n land abt 5-10m from where your bike is. Tat is if you dun clutch in when the bike seizes.

Seldom happens....unless you've been riding without engine oil.......

So no worries ah.....

Originally posted by ktkt@Feb 22 2006, 08:59 AM

U're supposed to use the choke to start the bike when it's close, close it after a few seconds and use the idle screw beneath the carb to play around with the idling speed or use the throttle gently.

Once the bike is warmed up, it should start up fine without any problem.

Anyway, clutch plates worn out?

For a properly tune up bike, normally will require choke to start up when cold. While start up when bike is already warms up, choke is not required. Also watching the tacho needle rev and reading the spark plug color will tell if the bike is running rich or lean

I'm trying to play with the mixture screw setting to achieve the best mixture.

Before adjustment, my bike will start up easily cold but need to crank 2-3 times when warm up. Also there is a heavy petrol smell at the end can indicatiing imcomplete combustion. The tacho needle will rise and falls below the idle speed, engine choking slightly when I rev the throttle. This are signs my bike is tune too rich.

I read from the gsxr400, standard G4 mixture screw setting is 1.5 turns out and I follow that, but the bike was unable to idle unless I open and hold the throttle. I adjust the idling screw all the way in still it wont idle, because it simply too lean.

Next I move on to try 2 turns, 2.5 turn and 2.75 turns out, and eventually determine the best mixture setting for my bike is 2.75 turns out.

My clutch plate are not worn out., infact they shift like silk. But when I play with the mixture setting, somehow when the engine is not tune to the optimum, the gear shifting also deterioate.

Now at the optimum setting, my bike start up easily cold or hot. I can feel the engine runs the same whether its day or night, hot or cold. (some have mention night runs better). Gear shifting back to normal, finding neutral is also easy, and lesser vibration.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by Shawn--@Feb 23 2006, 01:51 AM

Turst me the float won't went out of place one, you will be convince if you take out and install the floats yourself. Infact on the G4 carb, there is a screw to secure the float in place, I also first time see.

The petrol leaking from the carb is due to dirt stuck at the needle valve, just need to open up the float bowl dismantle the whole float and clean out will do. $10 labour charge is cheap though cause need to take out the whole carb, and to do that alot of work involve.

Also the float on the G4 no need to change because the needle valve can be dismantle from the float assembly unlike the B4 which is one whole unit. Unless the float on the G4 is punture but then its not possible also because its made of very hard platic unless the mech sabotage.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 22 2006, 10:18 PM

For a properly tune up bike, normally will require choke to start up when cold. While start up when bike is already warms up, choke is not required. Also watching the tacho needle rev and reading the spark plug color will tell if the bike is running rich or lean

I'm trying to play with the mixture screw setting to achieve the best mixture.

Before adjustment, my bike will start up easily cold but need to crank 2-3 times when warm up. Also there is a heavy petrol smell at the end can indicatiing imcomplete combustion. The tacho needle will rise and falls below the idle speed, engine choking slightly when I rev the throttle. This are signs my bike is tune too rich.

I read from the gsxr400, standard G4 mixture screw setting is 1.5 turns out and I follow that, but the bike was unable to idle unless I open and hold the throttle. I adjust the idling screw all the way in still it wont idle, because it simply too lean.

Next I move on to try 2 turns, 2.5 turn and 2.75 turns out, and eventually determine the best mixture setting for my bike is 2.75 turns out.

My clutch plate are not worn out., infact they shift like silk. But when I play with the mixture setting, somehow when the engine is not tune to the optimum, the gear shifting also deterioate.

Now at the optimum setting, my bike start up easily cold or hot. I can feel the engine runs the same whether its day or night, hot or cold. (some have mention night runs better). Gear shifting back to normal, finding neutral is also easy, and lesser vibration.

you are correct to quote me on that mate as it was me that wrote it!

but i think you have your screws mixed up!

there are 4 seperate mixture screws one on each carb body and one idle speed screw in the middle!

If you require pictures email me you have my mail address or get me on msn mate!:thumb:

http://ntlftp.webhop.org/Join_Us_smilies.gif

GSXR400 Aftermarket parts

Our Gixer which art in heaven

Hallowed be thy ride

Thy wheelies come.

These will be done on earth, as is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread.

And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.

And lead us not into temptation

but deliver us from honda, kawasaki and yamaha

For Gixer is the kingdom

and the power

and the glory

for ever.

Amen

Originally posted by retro@Feb 23 2006, 04:09 AM

piston jam you will know one lah... anyway very hard for 4stroke with 4 cylinders to jam lah... huh??? no IU??? what kinda bike is this??? import ah?

no ah, not import. the IU was spoil so the previous owner took it out le. at least he got pass me the IU bracket. now looking for a 2nd hand one lor. been avoiding town. :sian: :sian:

Originally posted by Arcfire@Feb 23 2006, 06:13 AM

Relax Relax....Breathe in breathe out..... Breathe in breathe out......

You in hall? if you are can let me take a look for you.

For me, leaking carbs is a common problem... sometimes its juz dirt in your carbs that gets the float needle stuck. Some caressing by ah chong solves the problem. haha

Btw, there is no off switch for the bike... oni ON, Reserve and Pri.

my bike has been to planet 3 times in 1 wk plus liao leh, how come planet ppl never do the check for me leh? :confused: :confused:

anyway, please drop me a sms at 93699738. i'll be back in hall around 11 plus i guess. i need to go out for a while. thanks a lot.

when i check again last night, the fuel is not leaking anymore even when i turn to reserve. really wondering what's the problem. :smile:

maybe you can try K&T. Clifford does a good job of tuning and troubleshooting the bike and so far.. I've had mostly good times on the G4! :)

and perhaps it's time to do some major service for the bike.. not just replacing the wear and tear parts.. :)

"You float like a feather.. In a beautiful world.."

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Feb 23 2006, 08:28 AM

no ah, not import. the IU was spoil so the previous owner took it out le. at least he got pass me the IU bracket. now looking for a 2nd hand one lor. been avoiding town. :sian: :sian:

If you're in west, go to Alex village. Ban Hock Hin or something. They do everything for $70 for a second handed IU.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Originally posted by Arcfire@Feb 23 2006, 06:09 AM

*Slaps you on the head to calm you down*

Relax bro.... tink your fuse box is pretty mesed up... tink you better go get a new/2nd hand one fixed onto your bike... seems like the previous owner din bother to fix his fusebox.......

Dun worry, small problem nia.

painnnnnn.. :weep: *rubs forehead*

This fusebox, can source from scrapyards or any place got sell one? :confused:

:btw: you guys install aftermarket horns? :confused:

Many thanks! :bounce:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Originally posted by stardust@Feb 23 2006, 09:12 AM

maybe you can try K&T. Clifford does a good job of tuning and troubleshooting the bike and so far.. I've had mostly good times on the G4! :)

and perhaps it's time to do some major service for the bike.. not just replacing the wear and tear parts.. :)

after his tuning, u ride da g4 very song right? But 1 thing is like he dont like to service g4. Did he tell u that? haha, maybe u diff case coz u'r a ger. He said g4 is hard to service. (but i though rvf was even harder?lol)