Originally posted by mickccm@Feb 24 2006, 11:16 PM

hhmm... i guess it's up to u lor.. but i guess by then u wld probably be able to find another bike that u like liao.. maybe even more than R6... don u think so?

Join us for our next outing okie....

I wanna see you r6 2006.....

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 24 2006, 08:06 PM

kns! okok i let u know again. maybe next week. i go with u coz they did a new IS for me also.

CHris: u install liao any diff? im still monitoring my fuel consumption

Ehhh... Dunn is psychological anot... slightly better pull on the higher gears.

lower gears feel the same. idling no change.

as for fuel consumption i taking note.

Originally posted by Arcfire@Feb 24 2006, 06:32 PM

I suspect your fuelc0ck is worn..... either that or you are not sure which direction is which function.

PRI does stand for prime.

well then, never mind... as long as theres fuel into the carbs should be ok!!! :cheeky:

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

>>The tacho needle will rise and falls below the idle speed, engine choking slightly >>when I rev the throttle. This are signs my bike is tune too rich.

If I recall correctly, it's a sign that it's too lean. Ie, when you blip the throttle (open and close), RPM will go up and down however, it will go below ur idling RPM before idling at normal RPM again.

>>Next I move on to try 2 turns, 2.5 turn and 2.75 turns out, and eventually >>determine the best mixture setting for my bike is 2.75 turns out.

Now you're letting in more air hence leaning out the pilot circuitry of the carb system.

>>Now at the optimum setting, my bike start up easily cold or hot. I can feel the >>engine runs the same whether its day or night, hot or cold

Remember, when the engine is cold, it will require more petrol to start up cos of the higher % of oxygen. (Hence the choke to input more petrol)

When the engine is started runing/warmed up/hot, the higher temperature will require less petrol due to less oxygen requirement.

Anyway, happy jetting. :sweat:

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by stripes1976@Feb 24 2006, 07:48 PM

mixture screws 1 1/2 turns out

and idle set at 13-1400 rpm

if its stays reving high when throttle is blipped wind out 1/4 turn at a time on mixture screws. if it is still playing up by 2 turns out then it sonds like your idle corcuit is dirty! which means carbs off and stripping and cleaning!:goodluck:

mixture screw tried at 1.5 turns out, bike unable to idle unless holding the throttle wide open, too lean, fuel to air ratio is too low. Even adjusting throttle stop screw to the max din help.

Tested and proven idling is stable only at 2.5 turns out but too lean, engine is rough in the low and mid range.

Best result tested and tried is mixture screw setting 2.75 turns out, engine smooth out over the low, mid and top end. Engine sound is mellower and less vibes.

Btw I have stripped and clean the whole carb and did carb balancing too.

Different mixture screw setting depends on the size of the pilot jetl, you may be running a bigger pilot jet than mine.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

If I recall correctly, it's a sign that it's too lean. Ie, when you blip the throttle (open and close), RPM will go up and down however, it will go below ur idling RPM before idling at normal RPM again.

>> wrong, the reverse is true, because too much fuel is going into the engine that's why the engine is choking and the rev needle falls below the idle speed set. Too lean will cause the tacho needle to hang before falling back to the idle speed when bliping the throttle.

Now you're letting in more air hence leaning out the pilot circuitry of the carb system.

>>wrong again, turning the mixture screw setting on most suzuki carbs is allowing more air/fuel into the carb during idling. Your assumptions is only true for honda Super 4, which I have worked on the carbbefore which has a different carb design from suzuki. Fyi best air screw settings for honda Super 4 is coincidental at 2.75 turns out.

Remember, when the engine is cold, it will require more petrol to start up cos of the higher % of oxygen. (Hence the choke to input more petrol)

When the engine is started runing/warmed up/hot, the higher temperature will require less petrol due to less oxygen requirement.

>> That is only true for the perfectly tune carb, some bikes are tuned too rich which doesn;t require choke to start in the cold. Likewise if the bike is too rich, too much petrol will cause the bike difficult to start when its warmed up or running in hot temperature. I have the sypmtoms of too rich initially, the mixture screw setting is set above 2.75 turns out closing to 3 truns when I got the bike.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 25 2006, 10:47 AM

>> wrong, the reverse is true, because too much fuel is going into the engine that's why the engine is choking and the rev needle falls below the idle speed set. Too lean will cause the tacho needle to hang before falling back to the idle speed when bliping the throttle.

>>wrong again, turning the mixture screw setting on most suzuki carbs is allowing more air/fuel into the carb during idling. Your assumptions is only true for honda Super 4, which I have worked on the carbbefore which has a different carb design from suzuki. Fyi best air screw settings for honda Super 4 is coincidental at 2.75 turns out.

>> That is only true for the perfectly tune carb, some bikes are tuned too rich which doesn;t require choke to start in the cold. Likewise if the bike is too rich, too much petrol will cause the bike difficult to start when its warmed up or running in hot temperature. I have the sypmtoms of too rich initially, the mixture screw setting is set above 2.75 turns out closing to 3 truns when I got the bike.

You are correct. Forgot that it's the fuel mixture screw on the GSX400. More turn = more fuel mixture, not an air screw. Also correct on the dipping and resting for rich and also for the slow to fall to the idling rpm for lean. Haven't been doing this for a long time. :sweat:

You might wanna check the butterfly plates to see that when it's at rest, it's not too big an opening. I had to make the gap smaller to allow the fuel mixture screws set at 1.5 turns out and play around with the idling screw to allow the bike to start from cold/w choke and warm/wo choke.

Happy tuning! :sweat:

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by ktkt@Feb 25 2006, 11:27 AM

You are correct. Forgot that it's the fuel mixture screw on the GSX400. More turn = more fuel mixture, not an air screw. Also correct on the dipping and resting for rich and also for the slow to fall to the idling rpm for lean. Haven't been doing this for a long time. :sweat:

You might wanna check the butterfly plates to see that when it's at rest, it's not too big an opening. I had to make the gap smaller to allow the fuel mixture screws set at 1.5 turns out and play around with the idling screw to allow the bike to start from cold/w choke and warm/wo choke.

Happy tuning! :sweat:

The butterfly valve opening is depending on the throttle stop screw, if you trun the throttle stop screw in more, the butterfly valve will open more, and you will have a higher idling speed.

What model of gsxr you rding, I believe your pilot jet size maybe different from mine?? Also we are running on different set up, I'm using stock air filter and perhaps a straight through pipe modified by previous owner.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by mickccm@Feb 24 2006, 11:05 PM

i bought for 21k.. OTR... u also getting??

wat color? :lovestruck:

Originally posted by witchblade@Feb 25 2006, 04:52 PM

i def be going to the dam tonight but ain't sure wat time yet?

cool.. i might be going with some frens. haf to wait for them to confirm.. till now all still sleeping :faint:

***Yishun Dam Outing***

Time: 11pm ++

When reached, call ice @ 93864864

going:

1. Shawn

2. sp_rider_06

3. ice

4. peter

5. paiseh

6. witchblade

Originally posted by paiseh@Feb 25 2006, 02:54 PM

tonight yishun dam?

:thumb: :clap:

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by TnT@Feb 25 2006, 01:52 AM

Join us for our next outing okie....

I wanna see you r6 2006.....

hey... actually still waiting for the bike... have to wait till the week after next week i think.. hahaha sianzzz.. coz i heard that LTA closed for these few days then cannot register the bike, so no choice have to wait till the day come lor... i have always wanted to join u guys for outings, but then always can't make it... i hope next time can...

paiseh: i bought the black one.. i think is called raven issit?? hahaha... hopefully hthe bike will treat mi gd... bought it at new southern.. now still trying to find out wat accessories there are.. so far, have been promised a helmet, bike cover, raincoat, single seater and changing of the number plate to without mudguard one.. hopefully still can find out other things to ask for.. hahaha.. a bit the greedy hor...

Whats the diff ah?? Btw those RP, RR model.. Got some more models right?? Thinkin of getting an RVF at first, but too expensive so getting a gsx is better just to taste a 400cc bike

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Siggy/CrossOver.jpg

|| YAMAHA || HONDA || YAMAHA || YAMAHA ||

Yamaha runs in the blood

Originally posted by CrossOver@Feb 25 2006, 08:20 PM

Whats the diff ah?? Btw those RP, RR model.. Got some more models right?? Thinkin of getting an RVF at first, but too expensive so getting a gsx is better just to taste a 400cc bike

good choice.

http://img395.imageshack.us/img395/8848/4006wz.jpg

GSX 400 (Pic is RR model), click to find out more

Riders, how much will a new KNN Air Filter for \G4/ set us back with?

I wanna sell off mine with the recharger kit along with it.

Any ideas how much should i sell off?

Or shall I just throw away cos nobody's gonna buy it?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

***Yishun Dam Outing***

Time: 11pm ++

When reached, call ice @ 93864864

going:

1. Shawn

2. sp_rider_06

3. ice

4. peter

5. paiseh

6. witchblade

7.Raymond

8.palmer

9.vodavoda

10.Calvin S4 1300 (pending)

Aim is Tame mito 500cc 2 stroke! What seems impossible is always possible (((o(*゚▽゚*)o)))

Originally posted by Naz@Feb 25 2006, 09:28 PM

Riders, how much will a new KNN Air Filter for \G4/ set us back with?

I wanna sell off mine with the recharger kit along with it.

Any ideas how much should i sell off?

Or shall I just throw away cos nobody's gonna buy it?

u mean K&N cleaning kit? If left half bottle sell at a good price, for sure pple will buy from u. K&N air filter is abt $120. Bo hua la, get 2nd hand can liao.

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

No, I have the filter on my bike bro.

But I wanna go stock. How much could i sell it off for? :confused:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL