Im looking to get a new 2b bike. however, army is 1 year around the corner and im getting my license only in 1 month. this effectively means i only get 11 months of hard riding with the bike. was thinking of getting an r15 but need advice on the insurance, cost of otr now and the depreciation rate of the bike as i might sell the bike once enlistment. Can any brothers advice on the r15 and overall cost of the bike. also if any informed rider can give advice on which bike is more preferable to my situation as mentioned above. the r15 or rs125

• Replies 12.3k

Im looking to get a new 2b bike. however, army is 1 year around the corner and im getting my license only in 1 month. this effectively means i only get 11 months of hard riding with the bike. was thinking of getting an r15 but need advice on the insurance, cost of otr now and the depreciation rate of the bike as i might sell the bike once enlistment. Can any brothers advice on the r15 and overall cost of the bike. also if any informed rider can give advice on which bike is more preferable to my situation as mentioned above. the r15 or rs125

Getting in a month? U sound quite certain will pass. Well, good to have confidence. But i think u ask aft u pass is better. Prices would be more accurate, and relevant too. Anyway why bother to get a bike if u insist on selling, unless u got a lot of money to spare lah. Why cant u keep it? They keep u in a box for 2 yrs?

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

i check larrr =P i mean like . . . most accidents happen cause of checking blind spot . . . its like so uncertain. to check back u dont see front u see front u cant see back. end up hopefully is how lucky that there is nothing infront or beside/behind. and also not reckless. my friend recently just stop cause of red life got banged behind by a car who didnt brake in time. so uncertain. accidents will be accidents. so driving or riding also must be careful. =D

I dont understand ur logic. Can u pls explain abt what happened to ur mirrors? U dont use them?and when u chking ur blind spots, u speed up instead of maintaining a low speed to do so safely? Arent u taught that blind spot chking is a very fast process, and only takes a split sec, not a few secs? U shouldnt tk ur eyes off the road for more than one sec. U therefore use ur mirrors to assess the vehicles behind u first, before u glance to the side and a little to the back to make sure no vehicle is there only. No need to turn all the way to the back mah.

Ya i only understand that accidents are not within our control. As riders, we maximise road safety for ourselves and others by not practising inconsiderate road usage and riding defensively. No matter who bang who, u will still be the one injured, just diff lvls of injury thats all.

Sometimes cars' bumpers dont even have a scratch but the rider would have suffered a broken limb, open wound bleeding and quite an amt of pain. Not to mention a lighter wallet cos of medical care for themselves, and the bike.

Edited by whitefang

cdc say need look back/side. during during turning. or lane changing. thats what i was thought. personally have no worries in the circuit itself. cause of the speed in the circuit is limited to 30 kmph but outside its much faster. at the rate anyone is going. its still much dangerous to actually "look" back/side.

Its also dangerous if you don't look at all.. Just make sure you look ahead of your lane and anticipate the speed & 'behaviour' of the cars, before you look to the side & back. Don't just look at the car in front of you, try to anticipate 3 or 4 cars ahead. Try not to switch lane/check blindspot near a slip-road exit (on a highway) for example; cause confirm got some cuckoo cagers who like to do last minute lane switch in order to make that exit, thus causing a chain-reaction of braking of the cars behind the ass. Personally, I will check blindspot to confirm that there is really nothing there, not to check if there's anything there or not. Cause checking if there's anything there can be done via your side mirrors and especially from your awareness of the traffic behind you.

On another note, I just changed the tyres @ 23004 km. Changed to BT39 110/70 Rear & BT39 90/80 Front. Initially, it did feel akward as I felt the bike was pulling me down when cornering. Also, it seem unstable too @ higher speeds. I have yet to tried out max speed with the new tyres as still in running period, though I have a strong feeling the top speed is affected. Nonetheless, there were much grip on the wet roads as compared to the stock tyres.

I changed tyres @ Unique Motorsports by the way, $190 for a set. Very nice and pleasant mechanics, professional and neat. Oh and they also mentioned they're in the process of getting the LV pipe in for R15..sweeeeee laaa..:thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/fuzzywuz85/IronBee3.jpg

Dress Not For The Ride, But Dress For The Fall

Its also dangerous if you don't look at all.. Just make sure you look ahead of your lane and anticipate the speed & 'behaviour' of the cars, before you look to the side & back. Don't just look at the car in front of you, try to anticipate 3 or 4 cars ahead. Try not to switch lane/check blindspot near a slip-road exit (on a highway) for example; cause confirm got some cuckoo cagers who like to do last minute lane switch in order to make that exit, thus causing a chain-reaction of braking of the cars behind the ass. Personally, I will check blindspot to confirm that there is really nothing there, not to check if there's anything there or not. Cause checking if there's anything there can be done via your side mirrors and especially from your awareness of the traffic behind you.

On another note, I just changed the tyres @ 23004 km. Changed to BT39 110/70 Rear & BT39 90/80 Front. Initially, it did feel akward as I felt the bike was pulling me down when cornering. Also, it seem unstable too @ higher speeds. I have yet to tried out max speed with the new tyres as still in running period, though I have a strong feeling the top speed is affected. Nonetheless, there were much grip on the wet roads as compared to the stock tyres.

I changed tyres @ Unique Motorsports by the way, $190 for a set. Very nice and pleasant mechanics, professional and neat. Oh and they also mentioned they're in the process of getting the LV pipe in for R15..sweeeeee laaa..:thumb:

one of the best tyres ard. good on u, even though the reviews for our stock tyres havent been bad. in fact they were pretty good, and i have done a cornering out of lornie rd exit at 100+km/h, and scraping the side stand. all's good.

top speed will definitely be affected, without a doubt, as there is more surface contact with the ground now, due to the wider tyres.

hey guys, do u all know where can buy tank bag for a cheap price?

i only know auntie shop do but ex

speed at a turn of the wrist

http://i1228.photobucket.com/albums/ee456/ernsy/DSCF3701.jpg

just have to watch out for ur rear tyres bro, changed mine there and it was unbalanced until i keep on hear rubbing on my swing arm... just have to jst the number on the reading is the same. mine wasnt and wing yap helped me change

i no experience on riding on outside road yet. cause im still in learning process. but i will strongly take all you all experiences =D. do post your review of the bt39 tyres for r15 =D can share share =D. cheers all.

im using 120/80 for rear anyway, i think tts the max u can go. top speed 135 flat jst tried jst now will tyres jst pumped and running on ron95

Calling for Meetup this Sat night at ECP carl's junior 0900pm Anyone got any things to ask or any part that is installed on our bike that you wanted to see can come down to take a look, everyone are welcome!

1.Maxbg12

2.Mungentis

3.Dl_lfc

4.Tonylky

5.Chucky

6.Kiji

7.MetalheadZ75

8.Rempitburnout

9.Latino (Not comfrim)

Will move off once the list of rider reach and will move off @0930PM sharp.

Speed Is Nothing Without Control

Organizer for Team R-Series Outing

FaceBook FanPage

R125 Singapore / R15 Singapore

SingaporeBikeForum Group

Team R-Series

Calling for Meetup this Sat night at ECP carl's junior 0900pm Anyone got any things to ask or any part that is installed on our bike that you wanted to see can come down to take a look, everyone are welcome!

1.Maxbg12

2.Mungentis

3.Dl_lfc

4.Tonylky

5.Chucky

6.Kiji

7.MetalheadZ75

8.Rempitburnout

9.Latino

10.Viruz

11.Mas

12.Yoki

13.Ozone

Will move off once the list of rider reach and will move off @0930PM sharp.

Edited by Maxbg12

Speed Is Nothing Without Control

Organizer for Team R-Series Outing

FaceBook FanPage

R125 Singapore / R15 Singapore

SingaporeBikeForum Group

Team R-Series

By right should be slower, but left you should join our outing and see it for yourself some of R-series R125 is faster then R15. No offense but is true. :angel:
yeah you ar rite.... still must ask them not to go too fast cant catch up.... their r125 too fast liao... start to pick up speed ,, they olready gone... only can see their brake lights....hahas...

welcome to my world of darkness....... HUAT AR!!!!

I not going for the outing alr, **** happens. Ride the bike alr then cannot ride anymore, must wait. Sian..[/quote

wat talking you??? wat happen...

I not going for the outing alr, **** happens. Ride the bike alr then cannot ride anymore, must wait. Sian..[/quote

wat talking you??? wat happen...

Long story. Damn sian lar. Dunno how to here

VANNESA IS COMING

i now no bike =x how to join u all hahas! wait till i pass le get bike le. ill be more then happy to join u all for any sessions. while stock the r125 seems slower then a r15 . . . im just considering the extra money paid for a r125 justifies it or not =x the r15 tail really is ugly to me . . . unless i can find a shop that can change the tail of the r15 for me =x anyone knows any?

you prepaired a 600 to 800.. i bring you go changed r6 tail....

The bike condition is good, is the transfer of ownership cannot pass due to one stupid bike shop.

aiyo... then now how... ??? wait for it to aproved or find other shops lor..