How long are you unemployed?  

12 members have voted

1. 1. How long are you unemployed?

Are you recent graduate searching for job. Coming in and out for interviews?

Lets chat about it here. About the market and job area. you might get some tips here too. Tips about everything you need to ge your dream job.

welcome to post.

• Replies 33

Well IMHO the market is picking up especially the electronic industry.

Look at the no of walk in interviews by companies like STATS, UTAC, STMicro, Chartered Semiconductor, TECH, AFPD, etc.

Things would be better once the Chinese New Year is over. Cheer up guys.

Life short, play hard

You will be sorry when you see me.

Speed is not how fast you can go,

But how fast you can handle.

Ppl always think they\'re good but

It\'s others tat judge them not themselve.

jobless since oct,heng found 1 as a company despatch....dangerous but better than dun have job at all :sian:

Originally posted by daniujie@Jan 8 2004, 09:39 AM

i also looking for a job now, now I am a professional nua-er at home :cheeky:

HUmans are hard to please...

While working now, i envy you being nua-er @home...

But i believe when i'm nua-er @home... i will wanna work...

Prefer school days where i can have long holidays rather than 14 days leave only...

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b89/stefinix/bikes/10092006181.jpg
Originally posted by daniujie@Jan 8 2004, 09:39 AM

Me too!!! I also looking for a job now, now I am a professional nua-er in office :lol: :lol: :lol:

Access to the photos Vypower collection,

Visit...

Here

Everytime u pump V-Power,

Remember MarVyPower!!!

Altho me currently working, but am looking for a job also lor. Want a change. Current job sucks! My boss sucks! :mad:

http://www.javtalk.com/forums/uploads/100/av-23583.gif

go agency find lor...

some of the newspaper advertise ..and ask to write in ...is kinda fake ...geez...

they onli wanna to show the outside market that still got job available for this industry...but inside..actually not hiring anyone...some inside new info from a very well known company....

so the best still look for agency..

--==anything more than a handful is waste==--

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/89/36/3386398/2918831032400l.jpg

Originally posted by daniujie@Jan 8 2004, 08:39 AM

Which sector you belong to. Concentrate more than that sector.

Originally posted by seven7sin@Jan 8 2004, 10:29 AM

go agency find lor...

some of the newspaper advertise ..and ask to write in ...is kinda fake ...geez...

they onli wanna to show the outside market that still got job available for this industry...but inside..actually not hiring anyone...some inside new info from a very well known company....

so the best still look for agency..

You are wrong man. Now what they need is different compare to last time. They take time to choose the best person . Usually more than 1 interview sessions conducted to get the knowledge squeeze out of your brain. STATS done 4 steps of interview levels. :giddy:

Understand the fact that its not like before where u go in and get it. It you fight for it and sell yourselves to the market.

i regret leaving my highly paid job before before securing for one but not that much cause every steps there is lesson to learn.

Originally posted by mokamoka@Jan 8 2004, 10:57 AM

me finally started work in mid dec.. was a professional nua-er at home.. hehehe

well congrat. U ve won the battle of human , Which sector you belong to ?

Originally posted by Deathsythe@Jan 8 2004, 09:30 AM

Well IMHO the market is picking up especially the electronic industry.

Look at the no of walk in interviews by companies like STATS, UTAC, STMicro, Chartered Semiconductor, TECH, AFPD, etc.

Things would be better once the Chinese New Year is over. Cheer up guys.

Cos philips semiconductor is making more products and the fab is getting more

orders for the chips , and they are outsourced to other companies for testing etc.

can see my future in #$%^ liao .. hehe

Shetland:Throw this cigarette butt into your exhaust pipe how?

Marvy:dun worry lah...we all guai kia, no needa scared TP lah...so next outing muz exceed 30 bikes liao hor!!

*feel so fortunate* hmmm now schooling but oso hav part time job.. keke.. but everyone oso wish tat nua @ home oso got money take.. hmmm schooling is still e best.. cant wait to start sch when in working.. but wish tat sch nv ends so tat no need to go back to work.. but no money survive.. haIxXxx... :smile: :cheeky:

:lovestruck: L3mOnadE Life is SuCh~~ "Wang-Der-FuL" :lovestruck:

I think market is picking up so guys dun lose hope :cheer: I think maybe can lower your expectations a bit and in no time you will find a job :goodluck: Remember nothing is impossible :smile:

Originally posted by henRRy@Jan 8 2004, 02:16 PM

You are wrong man. Now what they need is different compare to last time. They take time to choose the best person . Usually more than 1 interview sessions conducted to get the knowledge squeeze out of your brain. STATS done 4 steps of interview levels. :giddy:

Understand the fact that its not like before where u go in and get it. It you fight for it and sell yourselves to the market.

i regret leaving my highly paid job before before securing for one but not that much cause every steps there is lesson to learn.

yeah lucky u remind me of that.....think of changing job.......tat day u saw me working under the hot sun like a bangla like that....nowadays everything also must bao..... :faint:

Originally posted by henRRy@Jan 8 2004, 02:16 PM

If U have the quality, the experiences and can contribute to the company.....

you dun have to fear leaving for another better job.

The market is getting better, try friends, and more networking, they provide excellent intros to good job offers

http://members.aol.com/_ht_a/klstan8321/lngwhtr2.gif
Originally posted by blk454@Jan 10 2004, 10:57 AM

If U have the quality, the experiences and can contribute to the company.....

you dun have to fear leaving for another better job.

The market is getting better, try friends, and more networking, they provide excellent intros to good job offers

Friends and network like you?/.. :sweat:

Originally posted by cheekozer600@Jan 10 2004, 10:39 AM

yeah lucky u remind me of that.....think of changing job.......tat day u saw me working under the hot sun like a bangla like that....nowadays everything also must bao..... :faint:

yeah. I got the hit. Starting end of the month ..Maybe can see u more often hehe. :smile: Why they do not want to employ me is that my asking salary... :sweat: . But u need to explain to why u asking for that amount and what u can do for your company. :cheeky:

Sigh... I hate this topic... Starting job hunting about late-mid-Oct. Not even a single interview... Luckily 2 weeks ago landed on a temp job else really eat-sit-mountain-empty liao...

Sometimes I really wonder if I made the right decision. If I was content and and not go for my studies... I could be doing pretty well with sufficient income to pamper my myself. And by now I would have good experience to "upgrade" my "career". Not like now as a graduate drawing only 2/3 of my previous diploma level pay and couldn't even get a single interview... Really miss the time when I had enough job offers to take my own pick...

What if I came back after my graduation and not go globetrottering for 3 months... Would I be in the same state now? Sigh...

I got lucky. My previous company's outsource contract was about to end after 1 yr of werking. My job future was uncertain. Decided to one time try apply. Go for one interview, tio one time. Now on the 2nd month of my new job.

today juz quit my job... keke.. so happy.. coz my company really sux.. e GM wans our branch to open till 10pm on new yr EVE.. siao rite? ple no family ar?? haiz.. den new year day 1 n 2 oso muz open!!! wat e HELL? i listen le damn du lanxx lor..den i noe dey sure force me to work on day 3.. so i faster abit.. quit my job n look for better jobs..although pay mite be abit lower, but nvm...i wan to go SAKAE sushi interview.. keke.. :hungry:

Originally posted by L3mOn@Jan 11 2004, 12:12 AM

today juz quit my job... keke.. so happy.. coz my company really sux.. e GM wans our branch to open till 10pm on new yr EVE.. siao rite? ple no family ar?? haiz.. den new year day 1 n 2 oso muz open!!! wat e HELL? i listen le damn du lanxx lor..den i noe dey sure force me to work on day 3.. so i faster abit.. quit my job n look for better jobs..although pay mite be abit lower, but nvm...i wan to go SAKAE sushi interview.. keke.. :hungry:

wow that bad still need to work on New Year :giddy: By the way wat you working as?

Originally posted by sporty@Jan 11 2004, 02:53 AM

wow that bad still need to work on New Year :giddy: By the way wat you working as?

FILA lor...retail sales.. haiz.. den now all my colleagues who got contract wan to go against it.. dey say "if GM come down n open shop wif me..i LL..i open wif her.." i mean e GM oso got family den at least u muz tink of how others think rite? cant be u wan to hint ur sales target den u make everyone come back to work den u urself enjoy family gathering.. NEW YR leh.. not hari raya or wat lor.. e pay is only $1610 lor.. dey make e pay tis amt coz in e law as long pay more than $1600 no need to pay OT..not as if e pay is $16,000 /mth lor.. haiz.. i listen le i really du lanx lor... den today my manager asked me y i dun wan to work i juz bluff him lotz of things.. die oso dun wan to go back FILA to work... lousy brand.. everything lousy.. quality oso lousy to e core... :mad: