• Replies 6.6k

Yo bo mai lah,

Usually ppl change it when time to change timing belt. What i do is when change my timing belt, i ask them to change all the hoses together whether it still can be use or not.

As for the 2 hoses it easy to change just only troublesome, u need to take out carb in order to change it. If ur bike have regular usage the rubber will not degrade easily. "perform weekly inspection of the reservoir making sure it's level at 'High'(before morning start) all the time, any increase or decreament" quoted by Simon Soh

Originally posted by bo mai lah@Aug 29 2005, 07:39 PM

my bike is 5 yrs old. advisable to change? is it easy to change the hoses?

hi bo mai lah,

it's advisable to replace it irregardless of wether if u r changing it with any major replacement or not, time due u will need to, physically inspect it before replacement.

2 options of replacement can be done.

option 1: DIY

- u need a complete set of coolant hoses(3 thermostat housing hose, 1 left bottom hose & 1 reservoir tube.. total 4 + 1 = 5pcs) that will cost u approximately less than S$60.

- 2 x 500ml concentrated coolant(ethlyn glycol) & 3 btls of 1.5ltr distilled water.

- some GP grease.

remove some neccessary fairings except 'sai tou'.

- 2 hose r position under conceal of carburettor, u need to remove carburettor, 4 intake manifolds & a matt. these 2 hose r connected to rear thermostat housing.

- 1 hose is connected to front of thermostat housing, u need to remove right dash board to gain access to it.

- 1 hose is connected to bottom left of radiator to left engine, from there u can carefully loose twist it & slide it out carefully & replace it. apply some grease to make the job easier.

- 1 reservoir tube. make sure u cleanse the front nipple of thermost housing before u fix on a new tube.

before each joining each hose, make sure it's joints r well clean & hard stains removed, u can gently scratch it or use a smooth sand paper if u need to. try not to over tighten the clips or it will be busted out if too....

top it up with coolant, start engine, rev up to 2K rpm to blow up excessive bubble & then fill up the space before tightening filler cap.

allow it to heat up to operating temperature & inspect for leaks. initial fine leak is ok, make sure it's not tearsing or dripping.

** can be done within 2hrs. total cost = less than S$70, experience & knowledge gained = priceless..! :smile:

option 2: send to shop & wait to get billed.

certain shop offered to strip it all the way down to coolant pump housing for inspection, a paraniod move to replace an O ring that dont required if it's not removed, be noted.

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

there is a reason behind my smiles....

:smile: :smile: :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by hawkmaildotcom@Aug 23 2005, 12:34 AM

Hi all, I have a stock ST1100 windshield for sale. Used previously on my ST but changed to a higher windshield. Any price above $50 will be entertained. PM me to indicate your interest.

Hawkmail,

do you still have the windshields?

Thomas28

STOC#5870

FBB5423X

Originally posted by amen23@Aug 30 2005, 09:09 PM

Think no need take out fuel tank also can take out carb.

exactly.. :smile:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by cbkooky@Aug 30 2005, 05:53 PM

hope the pic helps....at least it should...:)

Cooling carbs

hi cbkooky,

it did clearly help, picture explain it all. :thumb:

US models has EVAP system beside the hoses under the carburettor compare to P.E. models. :smile:

Simon Soh

this thread die off just like dat??? guess not much STX riders in singapore leh... actually me tinking of getting either STX or VFR... quite a big dif huh... hmmm... but both bike also not much pple riding in singapore... dis wil make maintenance higher...

Originally posted by Xiaohei@Sep 11 2005, 09:52 PM

That not really true for 2 pipe will be higher maintenance. I already know a few STX rider may be you can join us for outing thing like that.There are many ST rider in singapore also.

but how come not much in dis forum n this thread just die off like dat...? actually just wana noe more abt STX... but dis thread is kinda disappointed...

Hey, same here bro!! I was thinking of getting either VFR or STX when i got my Class 2 soon. Read lots of reviews for VRF bikes at their thread but seems not much info to find bout STX in this thread. Come lah, put more input!!! :cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

I don't owned a ST13 yet. But I have evalutated the decision before and I would buy it later when I can. As one who is riding a sports bike now and thinking of moving to ST13, I think I can comment abit about the issue of sportiness VFR vs ST13.

- I know of friends who ride VFR.

In terms of quality, almost nothing can surpass the quality, refinement and details devoted to both Honda VFR and Honda ST13(ST11 as well).

These bikes are the signify everything you hear about Honda: Reliabilty, quality, attentio to details, etc.

These 2 bikes are indeed amongst handful of Honda flagship products in its entire large motorcycle product line.

- The VFR vs ST13 issue is a question of which part of the sporty vs comfort continuum/spectrum/range you choose to be on.

Simply said: VFR is more sporty than ST13.

-Eg: VFR can accelerate faster than ST. But ST can accelerate faster than a ferrari.

Do you need the VFR's acceleration then?

- You can throw the VFR into the corners with less effort and faster than ST.

But ST13 can keep up with almost all sportsbike rider on the public road/trunk road. Do you need the VFR's better handling?

But ST13 is more comfortable than VFR.

- On a ST13, you ride pretty much straight up. Don't need to bend over. On a VFR, you need to bend over, though less than full out sportsbike. Do you prefer a more comfortable upright posture or more aggressive half bend posture?

-Pillion is definitely more comfortable on ST13 than VFR. But on the VFR, the pillion is comfortable enough to go anywhere in Sg. Do you need to carry pillion often and for long distance?

The question is to the answer is really more about knowing your own individual preference.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Originally posted by endlessloop@Sep 12 2005, 09:50 AM

I don't owned a ST13 yet. But I have evalutated the decision before and I would buy it later when I can. As one who is riding a sports bike now and thinking of moving to ST13, I think I can comment abit about the issue of sportiness VFR vs ST13.

- I know of friends who ride VFR.

In terms of quality, almost nothing can surpass the quality, refinement and details devoted to both Honda VFR and Honda ST13(ST11 as well).

These bikes are the signify everything you hear about Honda: Reliabilty, quality, attentio to details, etc.

These 2 bikes are indeed amongst handful of Honda flagship products in its entire large motorcycle product line.

- The VFR vs ST13 issue is a question of which part of the sporty vs comfort continuum/spectrum/range you choose to be on.

Simply said: VFR is more sporty than ST13.

-Eg: VFR can accelerate faster than ST. But ST can accelerate faster than a ferrari.

Do you need the VFR's acceleration then?

- You can throw the VFR into the corners with less effort and faster than ST.

But ST13 can keep up with almost all sportsbike rider on the public road/trunk road. Do you need the VFR's better handling?

But ST13 is more comfortable than VFR.

- The wind protection on ST13 is probably second to a Goldwing in the whole motorcycle world. The VFR, if fitted a higher windshield, also allows you to cruise to KL at 200kmh. Do you need ST13's extra good wind protection?

-Pillion is definitely more comfortable on ST13 than VFR. But on the VFR, the pillion is comfortable enough to go anywhere in Sg. Do you need to carry pillion often and for long distance?

The question is to the answer is really more about knowing your own individual preference.

wow... very good n detailed analysis... but one thing abt dese 2 bikes is dat VFR, being smaller in CC, definitely cheaper in road tax n insurance n not to mention of its price... to get a 2nd hand STX, i tink can get one 1st hand VFR... furthermore now VFR got original peral white color... tink most prob wil b getting VFR... going for my class2 from next week onwards...

Got lah. i just got my ST then got see one at classified newpaper riden by doc milege 1800 only white somemore.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

One thing is true that its up to individual but frankly if u are really comparing these two bikes i think ur priorities need more rearrangment liao

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Hey guys... I'm new to STX1300. Just got one last week! Very smooth ride!

Got it for 29k+ at Mah Motors... Anyone rides STX1300 too? Want to meet up? I need to learn more about my bike.

I was thinking of getting FJR1300. I was recommended VFR800 too. I settled on STX1300 due to a few factors:

- Higher resale value (honda)

- Rumoured heat and valve problem in FJR

- Wanted a Shaft Driven bike for easier maintainence

- VFR800 not Shaft Driven

- Cool design

- Wanted side boxes for more storage

- Power on throttle

- Stay Alive to Ride Again-

- Ride Safe; Live Longer -

Hi xaviernites

Congrate to your new bike. So far there are more people riding the STX but you dun really get to see them on the road. I also just got my bike half year ago.

May be we can arrange to meet up with some of the STX riders so far i only know a few of them and yet to meet up with them.I only meet up with one of them.

Only thing about this bike is the accessories is not easy to get as some you need to order as you cannot really get it off shelf.

Xiaohei

http://www.club-pan.nl/pics/Foto/ST1300/PolitieCecile/Slides/2.jpg

Dun Pray Pray POLICE is watching behind you!

Leaving to America First Month in Arizona Second Month in Arizona

Originally posted by xaviernites@Sep 19 2005, 03:12 PM

Hey guys... I'm new to STX1300. Just got one last week! Very smooth ride!

Got it for 29k+ at Mah Motors... Anyone rides STX1300 too? Want to meet up? I need to learn more about my bike.

I was thinking of getting FJR1300. I was recommended VFR800 too. I settled on STX1300 due to a few factors:

- Higher resale value (honda)

- Rumoured heat and valve problem in FJR

- Wanted a Shaft Driven bike for easier maintainence

- VFR800 not Shaft Driven

- Cool design

- Wanted side boxes for more storage

- Power on throttle

wats e insurance n road tax for STX? i'm 25 next yr june... will be changing bike most prob ard june or july... cos stil taking class2 now... wana compare e price of road tax and insurance between STX n VFR n BlackBird... so hopefully can get some info here... wat company insured e 3 bikes? n how much? which party?

Originally posted by Wei_De@Sep 20 2005, 12:04 AM

wats e insurance n road tax for STX? i'm 25 next yr june... will be changing bike most prob ard june or july... cos stil taking class2 now... wana compare e price of road tax and insurance between STX n VFR n BlackBird... so hopefully can get some info here... wat company insured e 3 bikes? n how much? which party?

Hi Wei De,

Well... Road Tax is about 500 a yr. Ins is about $1020. Yours might be a bit higher for ins as you are younger than I am.

I also considered R1, R6 and Blackbird (orr jiao). fantastic bikes but I rather have the convenience of the boxes! Besides, I am looking at touring next yr.

VFR is not a bad choice but its chain drive if I am not mistaken. I wanted shaft drive for easier maintainence.

All the best for ya class 2!

Originally posted by Xiaohei@Sep 19 2005, 06:33 PM

Hi xaviernites

Congrate to your new bike. So far there are more people riding the STX but you dun really get to see them on the road. I also just got my bike half year ago.

May be we can arrange to meet up with some of the STX riders so far i only know a few of them and yet to meet up with them.I only meet up with one of them.

Only thing about this bike is the accessories is not easy to get as some you need to order as you cannot really get it off shelf.

Xiaohei

Xiao Hei,

I live in the East and my bike's silver named GRACE. I am interested in meet up sessions. count me in. Do PIM me thanks!