Suzuki Hayabusa

bongster6

Originally posted by FaT8usaChap@Sep 29 2004, 05:33 PM

This is my personal experience. Back to the days before I ride my 1st ZX11, I had a old Kawa Z550. Due to my lack of experience, I had to change my chain every approximately 6-8mths which is abt 10k - 15k. Despite the fact that I lube my chain every 4-5 days cos I ride 'her' every day. It came to my knowledge later that the substance in the 4T actually 'eats up' the o-ring. This, I hope have answer GuiNNeSS. Otherwise I also dun noe how to put it in words.:sweat:

Secondly, have you been to long rides recently? If not, this is what I have to say. My Busa have been using the stock chain and sprocekets from day 1. With careful maintenace and care, my chain lasted me up till 47k worth of mileage without any prob. And all this while, I had only adjusted my chain once. Recently, as you might have know, during my ride up to Khrabi(3 Natin Charity), I have to adjust my chain so frequently. By the time I came back to SG, it's been adjusted all the way to the max. What I am saying here is not adjusting your chain for a long time may not necessary mean that your chain is in mint cond. I think that we might not have drag it for a long time to really stretch it. And when you do after a long long time, you will see the great diff.

This is 1 big lesson have learnt. I was so worry that I can't make it back. It's just like tires..........:smile: Don't get me wrong. I am just sharing my experience. I fear to see what I have experience happening to friends. No ill intention.:cheer:

hi dude

nice to see ur reply and sharing with us.i believe most of us guys learn something. on the other hand,u lube ur chain using 4t oil??could it be u lube it too often and too much??that caused the "SUBSTANCE" to eat the rings??

from the scotoiler agent/website, their oil is 4t synthetic based.only with dye to make the oil more visible.i have no problems using 4t oil as a oil for my scottoiler for my past few bikes.

btw are u using scotoiler or standard chain lube?i know using the standard chain lube or chain wax is the best.but The benefits of a scotoiler are also advanatages to riders too.

maybe its time for me to get back the scotoiler oil to top up my scotoiler. :smile:

and i know tires are impt too!!

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

• Replies 56.7k

• Nok97

• NormalAspirated

• HYB80Y

• quizesilver

Originally posted by Sgbiker23@Sep 29 2004, 09:44 PM

hahahaha nvm its ok de...... :smile:

U everything also ok de la... :sian:

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f299/Hayasniper/Ranking/sc_cover.jpg

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f299/Hayasniper/Ranking/vip.gif

Know The Rules Before You Play The Game,

Beat It If You Can't Afford To Lose.

Originally posted by FaT8usaChap@Sep 29 2004, 05:33 PM

This is my personal experience. Back to the days before I ride my 1st ZX11, I had a old Kawa Z550. Due to my lack of experience, I had to change my chain every approximately 6-8mths which is abt 10k - 15k. Despite the fact that I lube my chain every 4-5 days cos I ride 'her' every day. It came to my knowledge later that the substance in the 4T actually 'eats up' the o-ring. This, I hope have answer GuiNNeSS. Otherwise I also dun noe how to put it in words.:sweat:

Secondly, have you been to long rides recently? If not, this is what I have to say. My Busa have been using the stock chain and sprocekets from day 1. With careful maintenace and care, my chain lasted me up till 47k worth of mileage without any prob. And all this while, I had only adjusted my chain once. Recently, as you might have know, during my ride up to Khrabi(3 Natin Charity), I have to adjust my chain so frequently. By the time I came back to SG, it's been adjusted all the way to the max. What I am saying here is not adjusting your chain for a long time may not necessary mean that your chain is in mint cond. I think that we might not have drag it for a long time to really stretch it. And when you do after a long long time, you will see the great diff.

This is 1 big lesson have learnt. I was so worry that I can't make it back. It's just like tires..........:smile: Don't get me wrong. I am just sharing my experience. I fear to see what I have experience happening to friends. No ill intention.:cheer:

You are right bro!:sweat:

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b383/keleveryan/TD20090816-3924.jpg

Originally posted by Kelvin67@Sep 30 2004, 02:34 AM

Bro let me know the next kopi meet up! I will try to drop by! You can call me anytime lah cheers!

sure.. but i guess the next meet up shld be somewhere after ur cameron trip.. :smile:

PS:PM me ur contact number :smile:

Originally posted by Kelvin67@Sep 30 2004, 02:29 AM

You are right bro!:sweat:

Hey.........nice to see you around. how's things man? Long time no ride with u liao. Nice were the days when you still have your busa. Just 1 thing..dun ask me to go Mersing ok..............hahaha..................:cheeky: :nono:

Signalling saves life!

You May Own One BUT I Ride One

It's not what you ride, it's how you ride

Originally posted by shoei@Sep 30 2004, 12:49 AM

hi dude

nice to see ur reply and sharing with us.i believe most of us guys learn something. on the other hand,u lube ur chain using 4t oil??could it be u lube it too often and too much??that caused the "SUBSTANCE" to eat the rings??

from the scotoiler agent/website, their oil is 4t synthetic based.only with dye to make the oil more visible.i have no problems using 4t oil as a oil for my scottoiler for my past few bikes.

btw are u using scotoiler or standard chain lube?i know using the standard chain lube or chain wax is the best.but The benefits of a scotoiler are also advanatages to riders too.

maybe its time for me to get back the scotoiler oil to top up my scotoiler. :smile:

and i know tires are impt too!!

To each his own preference. To me, the scotoiler doesn't lube every single link all at the same cycle and the oil spilt on the rims is just what I hate. I'm not so technical to give every detail. Just to share. Maybe i have been unlucky or been using lousy 4T for my chain.:mad: If 4T have been fine for you in your past few bikes, just carry on.

But Dude, why in that case would chain lube be invented if 4T is usable?:confused:

Signalling saves life!

Originally posted by FaT8usaChap@Sep 30 2004, 03:38 PM

Hey.........nice to see you around. how's things man? Long time no ride with u liao. Nice were the days when you still have your busa. Just 1 thing..dun ask me to go Mersing ok..............hahaha..................:cheeky: :nono:

or PG :D

Guest GuiNNeSS

OK.... i think it's time to clear some misconceptions here.....

[note: I have no 'scientific' evidence to back this up, it's just from experience and tests i have done.]

Some 'cleaners' are not suitable for the chain because they damage your o-rings (yeah everyone knows that ... so?). Well, I have actually tested some of the stuff that is easily available like petrol, diesel, degreaser. Next time u go change chain or if u know the mechanic, collect those from the links that are cut and u can try them out. Some substances will actually make the rings 'puff' up. Some degreasers / cleaners do this. Petrol just isn't good logically, making the rubber brittle. 4T is actually not detrimental to the rings. Unfortunately normal 4t doesn't have any adhesive qualities. That means the moment you throttle up, most of it goes straight off the chain. And that is why we have chain lube/wax watever.... which actually thickens after awhile.

Cannot lah must go mersing lah! Or else highway cannot follow you lah! hehehe!

Next SAT 9 oct a group of us will be riding up to cameron to spent a night there .Next day we will head down for GP race than back home.This time i will be leading them by the new road all the way up to cameron. Bro you should come with us men! I can tell you now.You will never find better roads elsewhere that can satisfy your ride. Trust me!

By the way Kless will be joining us also.Did he inform you?

Originally posted by FaT8usaChap@Sep 30 2004, 03:55 PM

To each his own preference. To me, the scotoiler doesn't lube every single link all at the same cycle and the oil spilt on the rims is just what I hate. I'm not so technical to give every detail. Just to share. Maybe i have been unlucky or been using lousy 4T for my chain.:mad: If 4T have been fine for you in your past few bikes, just carry on.

But Dude, why in that case would chain lube be invented if 4T is usable?:confused:

actually i agree with GuiNNeSS.4t is good but it flinks off too quickly...thats why i use a scotoiler that lubricants ur chain on the move..it drips oil proportionally with ur speed.in this way, the flinking of the oil is actually good because it dissolves dirt and particles and gets flink off together....ur chain is cleaner as a result. however if u dun use a scot oiler and lube ur chain with 4t, it would not be able to last as it gets thrown off very quickly(not even a km of ride).

i guess thats the reason why ur ex-chain was damaged so quickly. well i could be wrong...just my guess

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by Kelvin67@Sep 30 2004, 10:39 PM

Next SAT 9 oct a group of us will be riding up to cameron to spent a night there .Next day we will head down for GP race than back home.This time i will be leading them by the new road all the way up to cameron. Bro you should come with us men! I can tell you now.You will never find better roads elsewhere that can satisfy your ride. Trust me!

wahaha u guys taking the new route?? i would love to go too manz

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by shoei@Oct 1 2004, 01:11 AM

wahaha u guys taking the new route?? i would love to go too manz

Originally posted by Kelvin67@Sep 30 2004, 10:39 PM

wah lau.......damn gian man.........saliva all over. Due to my work constraints, difficult lah. Anyway, really hope to be able to go for such rides with you. Any jobs lobang or not?:confused: I know off topic but bro, do call me up.:giddy:

Signalling saves life!

Originally posted by shoei@Oct 1 2004, 01:09 AM

actually i agree with GuiNNeSS.4t is good but it flinks off too quickly...thats why i use a scotoiler that lubricants ur chain on the move..it drips oil proportionally with ur speed.in this way, the flinking of the oil is actually good because it dissolves dirt and particles and gets flink off together....ur chain is cleaner as a result. however if u dun use a scot oiler and lube ur chain with 4t, it would not be able to last as it gets thrown off very quickly(not even a km of ride).

i guess thats the reason why ur ex-chain was damaged so quickly. well i could be wrong...just my guess

I should think so.:thumb:

Signalling saves life!

Hi bros..

guess most of u have went m'sia for bike touring..

i wanted to ask... anyone been to Penang?

got any good recommended hotel which is u think is safe for parking ur bike and price is good...

tks

Its u control the machine.. never let ur machine control u.

http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/diablo/images/thumb/5/5b/Diablo3_diablo.gif/180px-Diablo3_diablo.gif

Originally posted by loranto@Oct 2 2004, 03:29 AM

Hi bros..

got any good recommended hotel which is u think is safe for parking ur bike and price is good...

tks

Cant help much on this bro... when we were there last time we were still at fren's place... I think most reputav\ble hotel along the george town shld be safe for bikes to park there as some of my frens who ridding HD had stay there before but of ci\ourse the price also :giddy:

Originally posted by loranto@Oct 2 2004, 03:29 AM

Hi bros..

tks

You can stay at batu Feringgi hotel name is Golden Sand Resort cost around RM$285 if not mistaken.They allow your bike to park outside the lobby. That side is like koh Samui bro! with pasa malam out side the hotel and many type of sea sport at the hotel beach and horse riding .Nice place for hoilday!

Originally posted by Hayabusa Sniper@Oct 3 2004, 01:46 AM

Cant help much on this bro... when we were there last time we were still at fren's place... I think most reputav\ble hotel along the george town shld be safe for bikes to park there as some of my frens who ridding HD had stay there before but of ci\ourse the price also :giddy:

wow how is things over there?

http://photos-792.friendster.com/e1/photos/29/79/6439792/1_237795204l.jpg

Guest GuiNNeSS
Originally posted by Hayabusa Sniper@Oct 3 2004, 01:46 AM

Thats because no one wants to steal an overpriced hunk of heavy rattling metal with wheels! :eek: :lol:

Originally posted by Sgbiker23@Oct 3 2004, 10:53 AM

wow how is things over there?

Thanks,things are fine over here but rain everyday.. :smile:

Originally posted by GuiNNeSS@Oct 3 2004, 09:55 PM

Thats because no one wants to steal an overpriced hunk of heavy rattling metal with wheels! :eek: :lol:

well no comments abt that as its indivisuals value concept... But there are always karanguni ard to pick up watever they sees too..... so precaution is better than sorry.. :eek: :lol: