Well, this is just a short review on the Nexus 300 seeing that so many bros here are interested in this bike but have many questions unanswered. Won't be touching on the maintenance part as I have only rode it for 100km. Was told by the mechanic that the maintenance is just like the Runner 200. We'll see. Total bike price almost 9k. Bought from Yew Heng.

Pros

Handling.

Handling is superb. Very unlike the Runner ST200. This baby can corner very well. Road holding is superb for a maxi scooter. Very stable at high speeds. The suspension holds up very well on uneven road. Slight bump here and there, but smooth ride most of the way.

Engine

Pick up is very very fast. Low to mid is excellent. One thing about the bike's engine is that it has a very smooth delivery. Before you know it, you are hitting 100km/h sub consciously. It is also very quiet. Pedestrians may not hear you, so have to be more alert. Although this being a 278cc maxi scooter, however I find the pickup rivals 400cc scoots.

Styling

This thing is a looker. I love it on first sight but YMMV. Head turner for sure, till I am quite paiseh. I've seen the images online, and watched videos of it on youtube. But the actual bike is a sight to behold. It looks much bigger and stylish in real life. The front fairing and windshield looks like a sports bike from the front. Overall, pretty modern and handsome looking. The meter looks awesome. 2 analog, 1 digital. There is even a useful "mode" trigger button on the right handlebar that switches different mode display on the digital meter. Very useful for quick info reading at red lights.

Underseat Storage

2 words. Very generous... as compared to the ST200. I can fit 1 full face and a 3/4 open face helmet in the storage compartment. On top of that, I can still fit in the manual booklet, toolkit, bike cover. There's also a night light that activates when you open the storage compartment. Beside the night light, there is a cigarette lighter socket that you can use to charge your handphone, ipods etc.

Build

This bike feels solid and robust. While riding, you can feel that it's built with quality. Everything feels like it should. You don't get the feeling of loose screws and loose parts. Pretty enjoyable really. It's not too heavy, but not as light as the ST200. Maneuvering the bike while stationary still requires a little effort, but the weight only makes it feel more exquisite and not cheap.

Seating/Riding posture

One word. Comfortable! I really dig the seat cushion. Bum does not feel sore after a long ride. But the width of the seat is pretty wide. I am 1.83m tall and still tip toeing on both legs. It is ok if I balance on one leg. This is a pro for me, but could be a con for shorter riders. It feels taller than the Runner but I really like the added height. Like riding a dirtbike. Shorter riders may wish to lower the suspension.

Size

The width of the bike is pretty wide. Hard to lane split. Have to be careful during traffic jams. But I really love the overall feel. If you rode an ATV before, you will know what I mean. Feels like a mini ATV with a windshield attached. Not as awesome as a Fuoco, but similar.

Cons

Speed

Yes, this bike has excellent pick up, but no top end. You can feel that the engine is being stressed at speeds reaching 140km/h. (Granted that's the highest that I've rode) Torque is negligible. I could not feel the rush at all, just very very smooth delivery. Although you could attribute that to me being spoilt by my R1 so results may be skewed. Speed demons can look elsewhere.

Meter

Yes, it looks fancy, but also hard to read while moving. The position is too low and far on normal riding posture. I had a hard time reading my speed and mileage while riding. Piaggio has to rethink this one. Maybe make it bigger, or position it higher.

Underseat Storage

My main complain since the Runner 200 days. Heat. You can dapao one Cha Siew Bao from Tuas and it will still remain hot when you reach Changi. Store your helmet in the compartment, go for a drink and come back in an hour. Your helmet will get heatstroke. Highly suggest you cool your helmet for a while after storage before you ride. The compartment heat only goes away after a few hours. No worries if you park your bike for long hours. Speaking of heat..

Engine

Thing runs hot. You can forget about opening the vents in Sunny Singapore. I was sweating even though I was only wearing t-shirt and berms and this was during the night. Could be attributed to the recent weather, but could also be a break-in issue and may go away after some time. Plan to flush the coolant and replace with engine ice. It's cooling when moving, but feels warm while stationary.

Petrol cap

Same problem with the runner. Water can seep in if parked under the rain. Yew Heng was good enough to "sponsor" me with a custom acrylic cap from Piaggio though. Thumbs up to their service!

Yup, that's about it. Overall I give it a 4 out of 5 stars. Minus 1 star for the heat. Other than that, its an excellent urban commuter. Very relaxing and a definite upgrade to the Runner. Post here if you have any questions and I will try my best to answer. :)

Shoutout to bro Brembo. He was the one who recommended me to get the 300 instead of the 500. Have to strongly agree with him. The 500 is too powerful for my liking. Handling is also very stressful. 300 just nice for urban commute.

Edited by Running_Man
  • Replies 417

thank for your detail review on this sexy monster.

Is the fuel gauge accurate?

thank for your detail review on this sexy monster.

Is the fuel gauge accurate?

It's the same as the runner's. So far I have only used up 1 bar. I suspect the gauge will drop more rapidly as the tank is nearing empty (just like runner 200). So accuracy depends.

Hmmm this review made me wants to trade in my st runner with nexus!!!

Yamaha SparkZ 110 (2004 to 2008)

Yamaha X1-R 135 (June 2008 to Feb 2009)

Gilera ST Runner 200 (Feb 2009 to I dun knw...:confused:)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=123504&d=1252221095

Cinta takkan datang, kalau tak dicari ... Cinta takkan dapat, kalau tak memberi ...

so... the price?

hand itchy alread...hmmm.....

Yamaha SparkZ 110 (2004 to 2008)

Yamaha X1-R 135 (June 2008 to Feb 2009)

Gilera ST Runner 200 (Feb 2009 to I dun knw...:confused:)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=123504&d=1252221095

Cinta takkan datang, kalau tak dicari ... Cinta takkan dapat, kalau tak memberi ...

hi can check about how often the maintenance for Nexus 300 is done? And what is needed? Change oil,spark plug?...what is gear oil? And can recommend any shops for the maintenance? Also is the accessories same as Runner?

1000, 2000, 5000, 10,000.

Thereafter every 10,000.

Kallang a lot of shops that does maintenance for scooters. Accessories for Runner should fit the Nexus.

As I said, I am not sure about the maintenance as I have yet to do any servicing!

bro so when your first servicing? gotta run in the bike or not? can keep me up to date your first servicing what you did and the cost can would appreciate it....myself getting a nexus also at end of june...anything particular tips if can mention would be most helpful...

i've tried riding the nexus 300 before.. the pick off speed from stop is impressive, feel the throttle very response, u twist a little bit, the bike is like can't wait to go.. haha.. the onli thing that i don't like is the height, it's rather high for me (i'm 170cm).. i have to tip toe all the way,haha.. but everything else is cool about the bike..

My Rides

Yamaha Nouvo MX - Sep 2006

Honda CB400 Spec II - Nov 2007

Yamaha Nouvo Elegance - Oct 2008

Suzuki GSXR 600 K6 - June 2009

Gilera Fuoco 500 - Dec 2009

Honda CB1000R - July 2011

Harley Davidson Sportster Forty Eight - Dec 2012 (Current)

bro so when your first servicing? gotta run in the bike or not? can keep me up to date your first servicing what you did and the cost can would appreciate it....myself getting a nexus also at end of june...anything particular tips if can mention would be most helpful...

Dunno when bro. Weekend bike. New bike of course must run in. Hard or soft up to you. Service normal lor. Change engine oil, oil filter, gear oil. 10k change belt. Tips? Ride safe.

i've tried riding the nexus 300 before.. the pick off speed from stop is impressive, feel the throttle very response, u twist a little bit, the bike is like can't wait to go.. haha.. the onli thing that i don't like is the height, it's rather high for me (i'm 170cm).. i have to tip toe all the way,haha.. but everything else is cool about the bike..

Yes bro. Haha. Height could be an issue. Is your Fuoco as high?

Can anyone recommend which shop giving gd price for a new Nexus 300ie and how much is it now? :) How much can my 05 vxr with leo vince pipe trade in for?

How is the windscreen? Does it offer good wind/rain protection?

IS the riding posture similar to the Nexus 500?

hi bro can check you got fix alarm on your bike? checking is spy 2 way alarm any good? how much does 2 way alarms at shops in kallang selling anyone bought 2 way alarm before fix onto their bikes know the pricing like?

How is the windscreen? Does it offer good wind/rain protection?

IS the riding posture similar to the Nexus 500?

Windscreen a bit short for me, but probably cos I am kinda tall. But the other day while riding in a drizzle, I am perfectly dry. Not so for my gf! HAHAHA

The design is exactly the same as the new Nexus 500, so the posture should be the same.

Can anyone recommend which shop giving gd price for a new Nexus 300ie and how much is it now? :) How much can my 05 vxr with leo vince pipe trade in for?

You can msg Yew Heng. (S1 motoring).

They do trade in as well.

BTW just to clarify, I do not work for them. I also don't get any commission for any bikes sold! LOL