Originally posted by stsoh@Jun 8 2005, 05:16 PM

just 4 general knowledge.

my bike manual says oil change interval frequency is 4,000 km n it has an oil filter.

btw, i rode daelim roadwin 125 (not wave or any cub kia).

phantom also got no oil filter n i do know some phantom owner change oil frequently@2000 km.

there is an statement among bikers n it goes like this:

"New oil is better than dirty oil which is not as worst as no oil"

So the 4000km stated in your manual is it for mineral, semi-sybthetic or fully synthetic engine oil? :confused:

• Replies 638

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Jun 9 2005, 09:37 PM

So the 4000km stated in your manual is it for mineral, semi-sybthetic or fully synthetic engine oil? :confused:

never state mineral or semi-syn.....but must meet API "SE" to "SH" grade.

manual also stated if use low grade oil, warranty will be void.

so use either semi-syn or full-syn should be alrite.

i also came across BMW don't recommend API "SJ" grade for their motorcycle.

reason is: this "SJ" grade does not contain enough wear protective additives, like zinc, calcium, phosphate, etc.... :cheeky:

http://faq.f650.com/FAQs/Photos/EnginePhotos/BMWBulletinOIL.jpg

Originally posted by ANR Impex@Jun 8 2005, 04:56 PM

Axxis is right on the mark, without filtration, it is very dangerous to run your oil for extended intervals and in practice will required much more frequent changing. The best oils will not help if tons of particles are in suspension.

'Smoothness' may be a rough estimate of oil quality, but in this case, the suspended particles will hardly impact the smoothness of the oil as the oil quality is still good. The particles on the other hand will be abrasive when forced into tight spaces like the journal bearings, streaking the babbit metal that coats the bearings.

Maxima engine oilys are superb..tested & proven :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Originally posted by tigerjoe23@Jun 19 2005, 04:56 PM

U tried it on your Wave-S is it? Is it the Extra15W50 one?

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Jun 19 2005, 06:00 PM

U tried it on your Wave-S is it? Is it the Extra15W50 one?

yep dude..currently using on my humble Wave-S..beri good & smooth highly recommended...:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

Originally posted by tigerjoe23@Jun 19 2005, 06:06 PM

yep dude..currently using on my humble Wave-S..beri good & smooth highly recommended...:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

I saw at ah koon the Maxima Extra15W50 dat day. I ask ah koon can use on my wave? He say cannot because Wave got auto clucth. Can cause clutch slip. Don know now whether he say true or bullshit one. :sian:

Originally posted by dreamtcs@Jun 1 2005, 11:32 AM

change the cheapest

$5 Red 4T FS

change every 1000km

Have tried the REDZ 4T 20W50 premium. Not bad. Very smooth but I get it expensive leh at AH KOON? Priced at $10 for 1 bottle of 1 litre of REDZ 4T.

Will try to survey the $5 REDZ dat u talk abt at planet next time. :smile:

Originally posted by tigerjoe23@Jun 19 2005, 04:56 PM

Glad you like it :smile: Thanks for the positive feedback!

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Jun 19 2005, 06:12 PM

I saw at ah koon the Maxima Extra15W50 dat day. I ask ah koon can use on my wave? He say cannot because Wave got auto clucth. Can cause clutch slip. Don know now whether he say true or bullshit one. :sian:

Haha, pls don't be too hard on the mechanic, it is a new product and his reputation is at risk if he recommends it for a machine which he has the slightest doubt might present a problem. Specs are specs, but some machines, especially cubs, may have characteristics that only a seasoned mechanic knows best, he's just erring on the safe side and not using you as a guinea pig for a product which he does not have ample experience on yet, that's a mark of a responsible mechanic.

I've personally told ah koon that maxima oils are indeed packed to the max with antiwear additives, and warned him not to add any more of those ZX-1 and what's not that he stocks or risk slippage. Perhaps this is the source of his concern. This is a real case, test user of mine complained my Extra 10W40 caused slippage. Only after extended questioning, he revealed he added some funny additive :giddy:

I'm glad tigerjoe has clarified that waves work great with Extra 15W50, sometimes I'm not able to say myself too without testing. The oil may meet JASO MA, but some bikes really aren't made to toe the limits of these specs. Hope this helps clarify somethings. Not defending Ah Koon, he made me lose a sale! Just like his responsible attitude.

Originally posted by tigerjoe23@Jun 19 2005, 06:06 PM

I would like to thanks tigerjoe for testing the Maxima Extra15W50. Will buy it after confirm dat the engine oil drain plug have no more leaking.

changing of Engine oil, try Castrol R2 or R4............

gd but a bit expensive...so far i know its about $18.5 per Lit .....thats wat i usE though............

Been effectively useful on my Wave R

Accident Reported @ 17/12/05 9.15pm AMK ave 10

Storage List..........VACum PAcked....

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

2004-???? Honda Wave R 125

Originally posted by sky_80@Jun 20 2005, 09:45 AM

gd but a bit expensive...so far i know its about $18.5 per Lit .....thats wat i usE though............

u can oso try rockoil which is ard $18...quite gd..:cheer:

http://www.freewebtown.com/idioticlown/library/image/Pic_0011a.JPG

Lamer by Day Poser by Night

EX-Wives

r ppl whom u cant have....

Current Wife

is in ur heart nt on screen...

All is not lost..at least i did it b4.Have you? Life is not abt regrets, its abt how you live it 2 the fullest everyday..Bt its doesnt matters anymore cos i have been fooled by e deceptions of LIFE..

Originally posted by IdiotiClown@Jun 20 2005, 09:55 AM

I USe it too...previously............gd enough...............

use it too for a start................

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

Hello Bro. R2 is for two stroke bikes leh? Dat one 2T leh? CANNOT use on Wave. Wave can use only Castrol R4 which is 4T for the engine.

Originally posted by IdiotiClown@Jun 20 2005, 09:55 AM

Hi Jes where u buy the rockoil engine oil? The Synthesis 4 is it?

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Jun 20 2005, 10:17 AM

Hi Jes where u buy the rockoil engine oil? The Synthesis 4 is it?

hmmm gd question..i oso dunno wat synthesis 4 or wat..jus noe fully syn..haha..gt it frm 1st motor ubi..:cheer:

http://www.freewebtown.com/idioticlown/library/image/Pic_0011a.JPG

Lamer by Day Poser by Night

EX-Wives

r ppl whom u cant have....

Current Wife

is in ur heart nt on screen...

All is not lost..at least i did it b4.Have you? Life is not abt regrets, its abt how you live it 2 the fullest everyday..Bt its doesnt matters anymore cos i have been fooled by e deceptions of LIFE..

:smile: ok i think will try out castrol R4 on my first oil change! Hmmm ... if 1 litre means about 1 bottle enuff to change already rite?

Originally posted by multiexposure@Jun 22 2005, 10:40 AM

:smile: ok i think will try out castrol R4 on my first oil change! Hmmm ... if 1 litre means about 1 bottle enuff to change already rite?

1 bottle is enough liaO lah..........

Sorry for the Mistake......R2 is for 2 stroke bikes.......( still thinking of My TZr)

New Bikes Join us for the Outing lah.....be it run in or Full Throttle.... Fun!! :lovestruck:

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

Originally posted by sky_80@Jun 23 2005, 09:35 AM

1 bottle is enough liaO lah..........

Sorry for the Mistake......R2 is for 2 stroke bikes.......( still thinking of My TZr)

New Bikes Join us for the Outing lah.....be it run in or Full Throttle.... Fun!! :lovestruck:

Wah ... few days ago forced to change EO. becoz front tyre went flat while riding ... so unlucky. :giddy: Went HKL changed the tube (it was leaking!) and EO for 20 dollars ... used a castrol mineral (think it's 4T go!) becoz the mech recommend anothe change at 2k ... after that he says can go for castrol R4 ...

ANyway, a little off topic liao eh. better get back on track .. :cheeky: I checked out with my bike shop says the Givi rack must wait another 1 mth or so before it reaches here! says the mould not out yet ... :sian:

so new wav3rs got to wait a little bit more for the rack lah ...:weep:

my bike finally able to hit 80km/h with a little struggle. :smile:

Juz change to MAXIMA Extra 15W50. Maxima werks. Very smooth. :thumb:

i am using superflo 15w50 from johor

used this oil for about 600km already, quite smooth,

especially during kickstarting surprisingly there is minimal resistance from the kickstart lever

<u>Women drivers:</u>

Earth's dumbest category of drivers

any time, any car, any place,

worldwide.

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Jul 12 2005, 02:15 AM

Juz change to MAXIMA Extra 15W50. Maxima werks. Very smooth. :thumb:

Thanks for trying out Maxima products. So how did you solve your sump plug leak?

Originally posted by ANR Impex@Jul 12 2005, 10:30 PM

Thanks for trying out Maxima products. So how did you solve your sump plug leak?

Ya the johor guy put the white teflon tape to the nut. It binds in to the nut already. Cannot take out and it's not leaking. Dat's why after dat i dare to change to Maxima Extra 15W50. Got it from the previous MO promo dat u have dat day.