Hi fellow forumers and bros. I recently got a bike few months back. I am still learning and in the process of knowing and gaining more knowledge about my bike. Few terms that i hear in the forum and mechanics for a few time but only today i got the time to go forum and ask lol.

What is the following term mean (Help me write it's function and it's main purpose) :

Head gaskets, gasket

Gear shaft

Blocks

Piston, piston rings, piston bearing

Rectifier

Clutch plate

Brake piston

Carburettor

And finally the bike i am riding is honda NSR SP. Still learning how to "jaga" her and understand her needs hahaha. For now these are the few terms that i could think of, everytime i hear people say but i still donno what it is. =(

Selling overhauled, accessorized and done up SP with 2019 COE. Nice bright green carrera paintwork.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/323394-B-(REPOST)-S-gt-Overhauled-Fully-accessorized-Doneup-NSR-SP150-COE-2019-2.6K-B?p=7103772#post7103772

• Replies 13

Gasket

Gear Shaft

Engine Block

Piston

Piston Ring

Rectifier

Clutch

Brake piston

Carb

(click for info)

I also know a few great sites to drown yourself for years in automotive knowledge

www.Carbibles.com is an entertaining and informative read, and also teaches you how to avoid scams such as oil additives, magical fuel saving products (that don't work), etc.

It's impressive that you care about the things that you sit on; automatically, mechanical knowledge makes you a better and safer rider because you'll instinctively know what's going on inside the engine. Speed is after all, nothing, if you can't appreciate the hard work that goes into making a lightweight, high powered motorcycle like your SP :D

gd work man !

(btw.where r e smily face,so i can choose n click them)

icic

ya,go e 'Go Advance' tab

ty

Hi guys, thanks for the advices and knowlegeable info. However i read up some of em, still don't understand uh. For eg, got 1 time my bike breakdown, i ask mech wads da prob, he show me my gearshaft lol. It spins without tramissioning the gears, hence it's already broken. This one, i can understand, got make sense LOL. Den he say need change gasket all, i dun understand y need change gasket. ahhh! He also nv tell me y nid change gasket.

Selling overhauled, accessorized and done up SP with 2019 COE. Nice bright green carrera paintwork.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/323394-B-(REPOST)-S-gt-Overhauled-Fully-accessorized-Doneup-NSR-SP150-COE-2019-2.6K-B?p=7103772#post7103772

Gaskets -

They are like the funny white tape you use when you repair a leaking tap. Tap without gasket, rubber sea/washer will leak because the metal to metal contact is not sufficient to be watertight. There will be seepage.

So to keep the interior of your engine from leaking out a gasket is placed between parts to seal the pressure in. The gasket will be crushed under pressure between the two metal pieces (like, 2 halves of the crankcase, or the block -> exhaust header) ensuring a pressure seal and high performance.

Running without exhaust gasket means the engine won't be very efficient at all, and running with a failed engine gasket can lead to a lot of problems the most obvious of which is the oil slick everytime you park lol. There are various reasons why gasket fail but don't feel bad about it. Without modular pieces and gaskets, engine failure is expressed with loud explosions, fires and flying pieces of metal :D

It's a point of pressure release and usually won't fail in normal operation unless there's overheating, overpressure (too much oil inside), old age, etc.

Gearshaft - very bad issue - usually never happens and when it does, omgwtfbbq $500+ repair. Usually we never touch the gearbox unless for hardcore modifications (or you hate the stock gear ratios) or dearly want to save the bike. Usually the gearshaft and things around it are the most durable...

Hi guys, thanks for the advices and knowlegeable info. However i read up some of em, still don't understand uh. For eg, got 1 time my bike breakdown, i ask mech wads da prob, he show me my gearshaft lol. It spins without tramissioning the gears, hence it's already broken. This one, i can understand, got make sense LOL. Den he say need change gasket all, i dun understand y need change gasket. ahhh! He also nv tell me y nid change gasket.

Okay, gasket is like the "sealant" the wedges in between two components. From my experience, there are 2 kinds of gasket.

Solid gaskets, which can be rubber, silicone etc. They are in a pre-cut size and shape to fit certain parts like around your piston.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasket

Liquid gaskets, are applied in liquid form and will harden after a while. They fill up the gaps between 2 components, lets say your crankcase. The left and the ride side, for example. Think of it like the washer of a bolt and nut, but in liquid form.

This is the way i understand gaskets ah. I think of it as like sealant or filler. Like for me, my carb the "pipe" from the engine to the carb is joined by 2 bolts. The problem is that, sometimes, they do not fit perfectly so they need some sort of a filler to fill the mating surfaces. So i went to buy those liquid silicone gasket from a hardware store and just reapply the gasket. On the tube it say can use for engine so i just use lor! So far, 1 year plus, got no side effects. Works perfectly.

EDIT: Lol Kitten you beat me to it sia.

Gasket

Gear Shaft

Engine Block

Piston

Piston Ring

Rectifier

Clutch

Brake piston

Carb

(click for info)

I also know a few great sites to drown yourself for years in automotive knowledge

www.Carbibles.com is an entertaining and informative read, and also teaches you how to avoid scams such as oil additives, magical fuel saving products (that don't work), etc.

The power of Wikipedia and Google!

Btw, are u guys, (kitten and CrazyDJ) online 24/7?

Up at 4am to give advice??? hahaha

But good ah, at least newbies here like myself have peace of mind knowing that there is knowledgeable 'Tech Support' at any time of the day (or night) to ask for help. :thumb::thumb::thumb:

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3699/ref1.jpg