• Replies 1.2k

Hi guys.. been riding the beast for abt 3 months now... enjoying the ride.. do u guys meet up for coffee or rides? Would be gd if there is.. would love to join in..

omg why so fast sell ?

11 April 2007 - 29 May 2007 Skipper 125

29 May 2007 - 26th July 2008 x9 Amalfi

16 July 2008 - 17 March 2009 RXK 135

7 November 2008 - 31st March 2010 Varadero 125

26 March 2010 - 19 Feb 2011 Transalp 400

8 September 2010 - 22 January 2011 Wave 125

26 February 2011 - 21 January 2012 FZ6S

11 February 2012 - Current FJR 1300

haha !!!! why not used to it ? it should be much much smoother than fjr

11 April 2007 - 29 May 2007 Skipper 125

29 May 2007 - 26th July 2008 x9 Amalfi

16 July 2008 - 17 March 2009 RXK 135

7 November 2008 - 31st March 2010 Varadero 125

26 March 2010 - 19 Feb 2011 Transalp 400

8 September 2010 - 22 January 2011 Wave 125

26 February 2011 - 21 January 2012 FZ6S

11 February 2012 - Current FJR 1300

Hi all, anyone have a similar problem to this guy?

Bleeding ABS On ST1300

I had the dealer do a complete bleed and replacement of the brake fluid. I’m still not happy with the performance of the rear brake. Using the rear brake alone, it is rather spongy with limited power and a fair amount of pedal movement. With the front brake engaged, the rear pedal feels firm. However, if you release the front brake, you can feel the pressure drop on the rear pedal. Something is amiss with the linked system. The bleed procedure is complicated. Front brakes remain excellent in terms of feel and power.

I had the exact problem after i bled my brakes too. So i went back.... long story short, after 4 attempts at 3 different mechs, my problem is now my front brakes, it's very spongy. Basically all the mechs said it was an issue with air bubbles inside. they seem to know the problem but can't fix it :/ basically, which mech is proven to bleed stx brakes?

Anyhow, on a different note, anyone tried to change to HEL stainless steel braided brake lines? i heard if you disable cbs or something like that it can be done...

Edited by jemmo

doh!

hi ,just sharing.my 08 st1300 after 80000km on the road,shaft broke & caught fire!anyway its still a good bike.

How in the world your shaft broke and caught fire?? What happen to the shaft oil.

Hi all, anyone have a similar problem to this guy?

Bleeding ABS On ST1300

I had the dealer do a complete bleed and replacement of the brake fluid. I’m still not happy with the performance of the rear brake. Using the rear brake alone, it is rather spongy with limited power and a fair amount of pedal movement. With the front brake engaged, the rear pedal feels firm. However, if you release the front brake, you can feel the pressure drop on the rear pedal. Something is amiss with the linked system. The bleed procedure is complicated. Front brakes remain excellent in terms of feel and power.

I had the exact problem after i bled my brakes too. So i went back.... long story short, after 4 attempts at 3 different mechs, my problem is now my front brakes, it's very spongy. Basically all the mechs said it was an issue with air bubbles inside. they seem to know the problem but can't fix it :/ basically, which mech is proven to bleed stx brakes?

Anyhow, on a different note, anyone tried to change to HEL stainless steel braided brake lines? i heard if you disable cbs or something like that it can be done...

Hi bro, i used to ride stx1300 2008 model previously, i did my bleeding for brakes n clutch at sporting motors by Meng Tong. Did not had the after effect u getting.

The Hel lines i did inquire also with HKL , and was quoted abt SGD1000.00++ to change all lines as there is abt 16 lines estimated, But no mention of disabling the LBS.

"Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one. It doesn't mean its wrong or right."

How in the world your shaft broke and caught fire?? What happen to the shaft oil.

shaft oil still plenty.its the most front of the shaft,where there is a pivot joint.the pivot nut came loose & the shaft started drilling inside out of the swing arm.friction causes heat,& eventually fire!KAPUT.

It is called the universal joint ( according to HKL mech) mine nearly broke in Chang Mai. Lucky the shop in Thailand can take out and redo another nut for me there. Thou it took them 2 days to get it done. But no fire or tow back from high north.

All in all I heard at least 3 ppl broke that part already. With urs the worst outcome.

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

It is called the universal joint ( according to HKL mech) mine nearly broke in Chang Mai. Lucky the shop in Thailand can take out and redo another nut for me there. Thou it took them 2 days to get it done. But no fire or tow back from high north.

All in all I heard at least 3 ppl broke that part already. With urs the worst outcome.

hi

what symptom was there before you knew the universal joint went kaput.?mine was travelling @ high speed @ NSHW & suddenly felt like going on those speed regulating strip.it just rattle to a full of STOPS!with smoke of cause.

hi

what symptom was there before you knew the universal joint went kaput.?mine was travelling @ high speed @ NSHW & suddenly felt like going on those speed regulating strip.it just rattle to a full of STOPS!with smoke of cause.

My work place got a down slope before the parking lot. So I usually off my engine and let it glide to the lots. So it started to have a 'clunk' 'clunk' sound when it free gear. Went to HKL to check took out the shaft but could not see any problem ( the universal joint is located way in front which need to use a special tool to remove from the sub frame) went to BS to check, turn the wheel a few times and say the sound is normal. Went up Thailand and while playing the mountain corners think I down shift too fast. Loud 'clunk' sound and from then the 'clunk' sound become permanent. Rode slowly to find a bike shop in Chang Mai. And saw a small bike shop. They can't do anything. But next to the shop got another old shop which do big bikes. (damn lucky sia) he turn the wheels and can tell me the fault at once. Just that he need to make the special tool to open the sub frame. And the best part. I did all this for around $100sgd. It's so cheap that I felt paisah when paying sia. So I gave them abit more.

Wow! Never expect fairly new bike would have such problem.

Mine got clunk sound too when acceleration, i suspect the shaft grease might have dry up. Mine is bike is only 08.

If for pivot nut came loose also quite un-usual as all nut must be tighten to specific torque accordingly to Honda.

Anyway i try to check mine before any long trip.

Thks

Terence STX :thumb: +65-9072-9070

hey bro you damn lucky to have met the thai guy.looks like the SGP counterpart is simply "boh chap" or lack of mech skills.look here ,you have to ride almost up north 3500km just for this thai guy to solve such critical problem & maybe saved some lives!

Wow! Never expect fairly new bike would have such problem.

Mine got clunk sound too when acceleration, i suspect the shaft grease might have dry up. Mine is bike is only 08.

If for pivot nut came loose also quite un-usual as all nut must be tighten to specific torque accordingly to Honda.

Anyway i try to check mine before any long trip.

Thks

There is NO way you can grease that joint. Unless u take it out (down sub frame). Think it's the constant playing of pick up the cause of it. :p

hey bro you damn lucky to have met the thai guy.looks like the SGP counterpart is simply "boh chap" or lack of mech skills.look here ,you have to ride almost up north 3500km just for this thai guy to solve such critical problem & maybe saved some lives!

Wanting to go back up there to just say hi to them and treat them ice cream (their fav).

So did you change the lines?

Thanks for the recommendation, think i'll pop by to have him take a look.

Will try to update the status once he takes a look at it!

doh!

Hi guys...recently my fri and i are organising a touring trip to hatyai on 27 /04/12 n we inviting bikers who r interested to join us on that day..currently we are still waiting for no.of ppl to cmf the trip with us.my fri current ride is bmw while mi is just fjr.those bikers interested to join us can send mi yr hp to my hp at 96828025 or thru my email at cloudasher@hotmail.com so that i can call u all personally to discuss more on the trip....hope to make this trip successful pls support all bros...:)

R1

Why now let us share the wonderful guys name, shop name and address,

If we happen to go there we can say hi to him,

If we need him, we know where to find him too.

Wanting to go back up there to just say hi to them and treat them ice cream (their fav).

(Daytona Bike week ) Biker Pilgrim

Past Ride

1977- BMX 安美达:.consider not?

hi ,just sharing.my 08 st1300 after 80000km on the road,shaft broke & caught fire!anyway its still a good bike.

Wah lau ! Why so like that ? Mine also STX 08. I hope this will not happen to me.