lol..i wearing the normal version of it everyday in camp

looking for low cut shoe but cant find any good brand

saw Timberland GT SCRAMBLE Low on US site few hr back..got discount at $50 range

now i check on it kena removed liao.

now only amazon.jp selling it at $200 without shipping:cry:

try motoworld komine gortex low cut...

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1220/large.jpg

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1220/sub_large_1625.jpg

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/detail.php?pid=1220

think is $200 before discount...

Edited by alvinyansg
wrong price

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

• Replies 304

was at beach road yesterday and asked the shop owner if the magnum spider and magnum stealth series boots are waterproof...

he told me both waterproof...

after that i was at funan and went to black tactical...

checked with them and was told the magnum spider boots are water resistant and not waterproof...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

can share beach road which store? might be heading down to view. : )

i never go take notice of the store number or name...

its diagonal to the shop that sells deuter bag packs...

just next to the staircase...

anyway if you planning to get the magnum spider

safra mt faber emart selling $170 for the sidezip version...

the shop at beach road is selling $189(before bargain)

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

try motoworld komine gortex low cut...

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1220/large.jpg

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1220/sub_large_1625.jpg

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/detail.php?pid=1220

think is $200 before discount...

nice..but i dun think it is suitable for a everyday shoe

and i think the design is colour abit plain..black only

18-05-11 - 07-11-11 CBR150

15-11-11 - 21-04-12 TZM150

20-11-12 -------110cc Pit Bike

04-05-13 - 18-04-15 WR400

25-04-15 ------------- XR400

Personally I think it looks good. Simple and practical. Might go down and check it out sometime soon.

From the looks of it,not suitable for office wear

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg
I don't think it should be a problem. The goretex lining is on the inside, so it's not directly affected by the polish. In fact, a good wax polish will help protect the leather and make it more waterproof - I would recommend it. Not sure if it's equally helpful on non-leather materials.

Actually, whilst the goretex lining is on the inside, kiwi should not affect waterproofing. However, and this is a big however, for goretex to work it needs to breath. IE, keep the water out, but also to get the water vapor and moisture from your foot on inside to breathe through the membrane and out of the boot. Now if u coat that shoe with kiwi, it will affect the breathability. And when it doesn't breathe well, the moisture stays trapped, and you will feel wet and clammy inside.

2nd factor concerning goretex. Whilst goretex is s'posed to be 100% for life, the leather on the shell of the boot itself isn't. It will given enough time in the rain be soaked with water. Now when this happens you will start to feel like the goretex is leaking but it's actually not. To prevent this, you'll need to ensure that the boot is maintained by cleaning of dirt and muck. And 2nd, it's also best to add a layer of water repellant coating. The trick is to use Goretex friendly repellants. The one i know is Nikwax. There are others out there but i know of Nikwax. THis is why it isn't recommended to use kiwi. Coz it whilst it repels water, it also 'clogs' the pores and affects the goretex lining's ability to vent moisture out.

been experiencing alot of rain riding with my Forma Fly Evo... so far so good.. keep my feet nice n warm during downpours n night riding.. at the same time, in daytime, not COOLING, but not too warm as well... still tolerable.. good grippy sole.. and not that uncomfortable to walk around in... worth the $180 so far...

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

i never go take notice of the store number or name...

its diagonal to the shop that sells deuter bag packs...

just next to the staircase...

anyway if you planning to get the magnum spider

safra mt faber emart selling $170 for the sidezip version...

the shop at beach road is selling $189(before bargain)

Thanks. : )

I've been using Timberland waterproof range of shoes for years nw n IMO they are very gd even in the heaviest dwnpour n are normal daily shoes as well.however being normal shoes they do get worn especially near the toes side where u change gears. Currently I'm using the Timberland Pro boots range,mine with composite toe. So far i rate them excellent apart frm being waterproof they also provide extra safety. However the Pro range is not available in Sg,I bought them frm Amazon n they provide shipping to Spore at US$18 per pair.got mine below SG$200 plus shipping and they r super comfy due to the Powerfit system(feels like wearing sports shoe hehe). Hope tis helps...:angel:

I went Amazon shipping at least $45US...Can kindly provide the link? Thks

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Actually, whilst the goretex lining is on the inside, kiwi should not affect waterproofing. However, and this is a big however, for goretex to work it needs to breath. IE, keep the water out, but also to get the water vapor and moisture from your foot on inside to breathe through the membrane and out of the boot. Now if u coat that shoe with kiwi, it will affect the breathability. And when it doesn't breathe well, the moisture stays trapped, and you will feel wet and clammy inside.

2nd factor concerning goretex. Whilst goretex is s'posed to be 100% for life, the leather on the shell of the boot itself isn't. It will given enough time in the rain be soaked with water. Now when this happens you will start to feel like the goretex is leaking but it's actually not. To prevent this, you'll need to ensure that the boot is maintained by cleaning of dirt and muck. And 2nd, it's also best to add a layer of water repellant coating. The trick is to use Goretex friendly repellants. The one i know is Nikwax. There are others out there but i know of Nikwax. THis is why it isn't recommended to use kiwi. Coz it whilst it repels water, it also 'clogs' the pores and affects the goretex lining's ability to vent moisture out.

What much is this Nikwax? Thks

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

About 12-14 bucks a bottle. It also comes with 'technical' washing product for your boots. Coz u gotta keep it clean first (with the Nikwax wash), then you apply the Nikwax water repellant product on. It helps to 'bead' away the water, which prevents water from soaking through the leather of the boots. And this way the goretex layer will be able to 'breathe' away the moisture inside.

Nikwax is sold at this adventure shop in chinatown point. 1st or 2nd floor

I am on oxtar explorer 100% water proof... never fail me during raining / stroming days.

Hi bro, I agree Oxtar is very lasting and confortable but the brand longer exist.

1991 - 1992 = Yamaha RD125LC YPVS

1992 - 1993 = Suzuki GSXR 400 K

1993 - 1994 = Yamaha Vmax1200

1994 - 1995 = Honda Magna 750

1997 - 2002 = Honda ST11 Pan European

2002 - 2010 = BMW R1150GS

2010 - ------ = BMW R1200GS

"Safety is the Best Policy","Courtesy is our way of life"

Hi Crankcase did you mention you got this pair from Regina? How much they cost you?

I did have a look at the Ridge model while I was at Regina yesterday.... not sure if the style suited me that much. Seemed a bit on the 'heavy' side (in terms of looks, not actual weight), more like a work boot than the slimmer riding boots:

http://images.motorcycle-superstore.com/ProductImages/300/2009_Alpinestars_Ridge_Waterproof_Boot_Black.jpg

Still can consider I think. Of course, Regina quoted me a much higher price, but I'm getting used to that treatment from most of the shops o_O

My current boots are size 46 - can you do something with the moulded sole? PM me to discuss details. Thanks!

Many years back, I bought a pair of BMW gore-tex boots for about $350 at BMW showroom at Tanjong Rhu and it last me for 3 years without a single leak. I then sold it to my friend when i give up riding. Best boots i had, heavy rain no problem at all.

I had my Oxtar for I think about 6 years, never leak at all until the sole came off.

wow nice boots, is it cooling?

available in different colors :angel:

http://www.ym-industries.com/pvc-boot.jpg

About 12-14 bucks a bottle. It also comes with 'technical' washing product for your boots. Coz u gotta keep it clean first (with the Nikwax wash), then you apply the Nikwax water repellant product on. It helps to 'bead' away the water, which prevents water from soaking through the leather of the boots. And this way the goretex layer will be able to 'breathe' away the moisture inside.

Nikwax is sold at this adventure shop in chinatown point. 1st or 2nd floor

Thks for the info..Cos rainy season coming decide to buy a timberland gore tex hiking boots.

Have used TCX X5 Plus Gortex every weekday for the past 2 months, glad to say that it is holding up well, still looks new. Hope it could lasted me for 2 years at the very least.

Oops, i have been applying Kiwi to my boots every 2 weeks to protect the condition of the leather, so should i remove it? Can it be removed anyway? LOL

This is unlike my previous Sigma which lasted only 6 months, before started to fall apart, with water ingress following suit...

Hi Crankcase did you mention you got this pair from Regina? How much they cost you?

No, I ended up buying TCX X-Five as well, and I really like them. Comfy enough, the quality feels good and they're totally waterproof. $250 at Chiap Lee

Thought I'd posted this earlier in the thread somewhere..... maybe I forgot

If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough. - Mario Andretti

Sigh a bit sad today while riding long in the rain in the evening from tuas to jurong. Had high hopes on my TCX Jupiter 2 to withstand the rain, but when reach home, socks were wet...sad sad sad..just got it 2 weeks ago....anybody any inputs??

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

have been wearing my saf gortex boots for some time...

heavy rain,medium rain,light rain feet still super dry...

but the sole is a bit slippery esp in the mscp flooring...

thinking of getting the magnum spider and use the nikwax waterproof spray on it...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

have been wearing my saf gortex boots for some time...

heavy rain,medium rain,light rain feet still super dry...

but the sole is a bit slippery esp in the mscp flooring...

thinking of getting the magnum spider and use the nikwax waterproof spray on it...

my saf boots nt waterproof at all..after 15min ride in rain reach home can pour tons of water out

18-05-11 - 07-11-11 CBR150

15-11-11 - 21-04-12 TZM150

20-11-12 -------110cc Pit Bike

04-05-13 - 18-04-15 WR400

25-04-15 ------------- XR400

my saf boots nt waterproof at all..after 15min ride in rain reach home can pour tons of water out

how old is your boots?

both leather and gortex boots are waterproof...

but you need to take care of it to keep it that way...

the only part water will seep in is from the top...

so if your rain pants edge is higher than that part then water will seep in...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE