[Trip Report] Northern Thailand - Touch n' Go on TDM : 30 Aug to 7 Sep 2010

6400 km, 8 days, Total 94 hours riding

2010-Aug-30 to 2010-09-07

Route taken: http://bit.ly/csuAGV

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day0.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs208.ash2/47100_1595400282598_1163693440_31722496_3510222_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs608.snc4/58788_1595405802736_1163693440_31722552_6973264_n.jpg

Trip was planned on early august with another 3 TDM riders but i had some issues with passport and not able to join them.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs209.ash2/47219_437680974040_631644040_4886239_3042370_n.jpg

That's Bobby and Jimmy.

so decided to go solo.. cant waste time to sit and envy other ride reports..

my TDM has been well prepared by Ah Chong (planet) changed chain and sprocket, engine oil, brake pads, fork service... and ready for action... but....

just 2 days before the trip... found out GPS charging cable is not working.. it’s original Garmin GPS charger and socket is losing contact ..

so... with help of good friend TakeHow..we installed additional 12V waterproof socket (which failed again later on the journey)

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs424.snc4/46726_1601921325620_1163693440_31736896_2422604_n.jpg

ok.. here we go...

• Replies 51

Day 1 - 20100830 - 00:00 to 16:00– Singapore to Surat Thani

1200km covered.. 16 hours on the road, a few micro sleep blackouts, surprised that i can ride with eyes closed..

Route - http://bit.ly/acFtfV

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day1.jpg

TDM’s mileage 63384, left home at 12:00 midnight, reached GP at 12:30... so deserted... TDM is the only bike on Monday morning.. nobody will go trip nor come out for pump.. only crazy unemployed me alone..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs318.snc4/41217_1595397802536_1163693440_31722472_5820151_n.jpg

Started the journey with Metallica.. wherever i may roam.. "roamer... wanderer... nomad... vagabond... "

i was heavy on throttle.. above 6k rpm at 160-170km cruising.. and short burst for 180 and above to test new front tyre's stability... so mighty TDM’s fuel efficiency dropped and had to top up every 200km or so..

so at 3:00am i had to stop at Ayer Keroh for pump... just for 212km... and TDM drank 16.3L............ gosh.. that's so Varadero man..

another stop at 200km away ok.. again we go but road is so empty.... and i still have lots of ground to cover.. to reach Surat Thani before evening..

had fun around twisties and tunnel and kula kangsar (just after tunnel) where HID become useful to brighten the whole road ahead for me to tackle the corners.

Fate or Luck works in some way for sure.. after one stop at Gunung Semango, after pumped.. i went to get RedBull.. and saw some apple pie at counter.. (must be left over from yesterday) and suddenly wanted to eat such miserable pie..

so i bought the pie and Nescafe, feasted at petrol kiosk door step.

after i left.. just a few hundred meters away.. there was freak accident.. truck carrying cement bags crashed into one car and all bags were thrown all over, even to opposite lane and one car crashed into bags as well..

dust has not settle yet and if i never eat the pie.. me and TDM could be among the cement bags too... whoooo..

after that... my riding speed really slowed down.. to PIE speed..

riding slow may sounds safe but it's really boring.. and i was around Geroge Town and it was about 8:00am and there are lots of malaysian cars and bikes going to work that time.. so.. i stopped at one road side.. catched the morning rays... peed at lamppost and hugged TDM’s tank and took a nap...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs311.ash2/59094_1595398722559_1163693440_31722478_4184066_n.jpg

the 12V socket which i fixed last minute was not charging well too.. WTF..

GPS has been auto off and on .. again and again.. until i fed up and unplug the charger.. so there we go.. left with whatever juice left in battery..

and more than once.. i felt eye lids are getting heavy.. so i stopped whenever i can.. and just sit on bike.. hugged tank and slept.. it works.. just for short while.. :D

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs631.snc4/59094_1595398762560_1163693440_31722479_4583403_n.jpg

last petrol stop before border, Thailand car with drums enjoying cheaper Malaysian petrol

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs311.ash2/59094_1595398802561_1163693440_31722480_7339977_n.jpg

finally.. crossed border at 10:00 am. run here for passport chop.. run there for vehicle pass... run somewhere for insurance...

passport chop 2RM, insurance 220baht for 9 days.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs435.snc4/47864_1595398842562_1163693440_31722481_8077783_n.jpg

what is ABCD booth at Thailand immigration ?

then tried to call Paul who is coming back from northern Thailand trip.. so can catch up when he is coming back... but not able to get him.. later found out his phone battery is flat..

so, proceed to Surat Thani 377km away from Sadao...

had chicken rice lunch at road side stall... 40baht... cheap and good.. ;-)

there are traffic lights... bicycles... road-vertically-crossing-kup-kia... jay walkers... so had to gentle on throttle .. 4k-5k range.. about 130-150km so fuel consumption is back to normal... ah.. that's my TDM..

buttttt.... there's one stupid incident again..

somewhere on the way.. about 300km has passed and fuel left 1bar (as per normal) i saw one road side kiosk (no name.. but with motorized pumps and all) so i stopped, and one guy came out.. i asked for 95 and he straight away took one norzel and squeezed the trigger, i shouted at him "WAITTTTTTTTTT" what is this ?? smells not right ???? and all thai labels.. and this guy tried to speak "yes" and "no".. even though he dont understand the question...

luckily.. one guy in car stopped by and told us... that is DIESEL............WTF...... lucky it was only 1 squeeze... so a few drops must be in..

called to friends in Singapore... best solution... take out tank... drain it...

i was dead tired to dismantle the bike to take out the tank.. well .. just a few drops.. wouldn’t harm the mighty YAMAHA TDM.. would it ?

afterall you are not fraGile Scuplture...

so i pumpled correct 95 ... and looked for bigger petrol kiosk for injection cleaner / booster / whatever they may have..

after that.. it rained.... yeah.. just made my day...

some stretch of the roads are closed for opposite direction (for road works) so they channel the traffic to my lane (WITHOUT ANY INDICATOR, SIGNBOARD, FLASHLIGHT, BANGALA with STOP-GO SIGN)

so i was thinking... this is 2 lane road.. why the car's tail light is white and reversing very fast... oh ****.. it's coming head on to me... better go closer to road shoulder..

This strech for 100+ km is where tiredness kick in.. a few times.. eyes closed... and lost focus.. and i stopped at road side every 20min to take a smoke and drink water... until i reach into Surat Thani.. at 4:00pm.

Oh, i hit a bird on the way... cruising around 100kmh and this kamikaze bird just flew ride in front of TDM, stopped my bike to check but no sign of feather, blood.. no crack, nothing..

Finding the hotel was easy. Thanks to Lun. “The ONE Hotel”, 550baht for decent clean room. can park the bike in front of lobby.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g297917-Surat_Thani-Hotels.html

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05392.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs311.ash2/59094_1595398882563_1163693440_31722482_1190928_n.jpg

after shower and wash today's shirt / underwear / socks... off to look for dinner....

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs631.snc4/59094_1595398922564_1163693440_31722483_5440280_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs311.ash2/59094_1595399042567_1163693440_31722485_2826387_n.jpg

found some yummy snacks and they are cheap... 5~10 baht.. went to look for Thailand map, in case GPS run out of juice.. lucky that i brought AC adapter so i can charge whenever i stop for the night.

Found large book store and bought Thailand map... only to found out later that it’s all in Thai language.. just so grate...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs631.snc4/59094_1595398962565_1163693440_31722484_6481989_n.jpg

some snaps around Surat Thani, and that’s end of day 1.

Edited by kmax

Day 2 - 20100831 - 0700 to 2100 - Surat Thani to Mae Sot

1100km covered. 14 hours on the road, iron butt ride

Breakfast at road side snack shop

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs311.ash2/59094_1595399122569_1163693440_31722487_5984799_n.jpg

today onwards... i pumped only at large petrol kiosk with clear signs..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs428.snc4/47100_1595400202596_1163693440_31722494_6913168_n.jpg

95 is doing just fine.. although abit lack of power

As usual... bird shot

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs408.snc4/47100_1595400242597_1163693440_31722495_7172158_n.jpg

some nice scenery along the route

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs415.snc4/47796_1595111355375_1163693440_31721697_4080032_n.jpg

and it rained... on and off

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs428.snc4/47100_1595400362600_1163693440_31722498_907768_n.jpg

Today’s ride is uneventful and pretty boring.. next time can consider taking train up to BKK.

Things start to get interesting when i reach BKK around 3:00pm. There are overhead expressways to pass over massive jam throughout BKK, and my GPS is showing exactly that route.

Except for the stupid fact that motorcycles are not allowed.

Upon reaching the entrance Toll gate, traffic police pulled me over, saying bikes are not suppose to go in, i told him GPS is showing this way.. so how ? you know TDM is not 125 cc and with side panniers, it’s half your car’s width..

Doesn’t matter.. he say no.. means no... ok fine.. i set GPS to avoid Toll roads.. happy ?

He said ok and off i go... and lasted for 2 traffic light.. bike over heated, and fan turn on.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs408.snc4/47100_1595400442602_1163693440_31722500_6215418_n.jpg

ok that’s it... reset GPS for original route.. and slip past one Toll gate.. and off i go on expressway... woohooo.. i saw 2 Highway patrol cops with Honda phantom 200cc.. sorry pals.. catch me if you can.

And i exited BKK at 4:00pm, what a big and messy city... after BKK, straight run on Highway 1 until route 105, exit to Tak.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs208.ash2/47100_1595400482603_1163693440_31722501_3494541_n.jpg

and starts from here, things get rough and heavy. Torrential rain... like never encountered before..so much water... so much wind... bike’s speedo, tacho and my GPS become illuminating objects, can’t read anything out of them, i couldn’t even see my hand if i raise it up in front of my face. Visibility is almost down to zero. Normal low beam and HID shows nothing but rain drops.. wanted to pull over to road shoulder but couldn’t see gutter or drain or whatever awaits me there.

These 30 minutes was the worst riding time of my life... until a saviour came.. one hilux truck was going at good pace 40~50 kmh in the rain... and i followed his tail lights.. 2 red dots in the dark.. until i reached Tak and Mae Sod junction.

By then rain has stopped and i could breathe better. It’s about 8:00pm already and still 70km to Mae Sod from road junction. What the heck.. just go... i prefer to cover more distance than be an alien in strange town, i don’t need cable TV, prefer to be on my bike.

This route is fairly good with nice corners

http://bit.ly/dwIIDi

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day2-ms.jpg

If it’s good weather in broad day light, it’ll be fun to scrap foot pegs. But here with light rain shower and i been in saddle for 12hours.. Nonetheless, corners refreshed me and TDM after long straight roads.

Reached Mae Sod at 900pm, go direct to First Hotel, recommended by Paul. 450 baht per night.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g317132-d455345-Reviews-First_Hotel-Mae_Sot_Tak_Province.html

Had hot shower and washed daily clothing, hang dry my riding gear, and looked for dinner. But most shops are closed.. had to eat prata from push cart for dinner.

I met a few fellow Myanmar people working there and asked whether it’s possible to cross the border.

There are small routes and boats to cross illegally, as bridge is closed down for vehicles, only foot traffic is allowed. TDM to be illegal in my motherland... nah, scrap the idea to bring it across, too costly for such risk. And there are many police gates over there.

Ok time for rest

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05445.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05444.jpg

Massive key chain for room

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05447.jpg

It’s YAMAHA

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05454.jpg

TDM’s condition at Mae Sot

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05448.jpg

Edited by kmax

Day 3 - 20100901 - 0900 to 2100 - Mae Sot to Pai (Wiang Tai Pai)

500km covered. 12 hours on the road - corners, corners, corners

route - http://bit.ly/cIPwP2

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day3.jpg

woke up late.. the whole body is tired by 2 days hard riding.. yet fun is going to start by today.. MHS corners.. here i come.

Paul warned me about this stretch as “hell road”, let’s see..

Pack up, check bike for missing screws, top up scott oiler, check engine oil, brake fluid etc.. and found out one of exhaust mounting screw is missing, crap.. stopped by local scooter shop and asked for screw... the guy over there pointed me to bucket full of screws and nuts and found correct size, no charge... kob kun krab (thank you) uncle.

So started today abit late and left hotel at 11:00am, went to Friendship bridge to take photo.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs622.snc4/58211_1595111795386_1163693440_31721698_3278795_n.jpg

i can see Myanmar side from under the bridge... so sad cant go back to mother land.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs606.snc4/58613_1595402042642_1163693440_31722514_7326663_n.jpg

this is TDM can ever reach nearest to Myanmar

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs306.ash2/58613_1595402082643_1163693440_31722515_6308648_n.jpg

i brought helmet camera (belongs to PlasticBlackSpecs) and tried a few different positions to mount on the bike.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs622.snc4/58211_1595111835387_1163693440_31721699_2524456_n.jpg

not a good choice of placement. Image is so shaky and not able to see clearly at all..

The road condition is good as far as 100km from Mae Sod.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs606.snc4/58613_1595402122644_1163693440_31722516_7379681_n.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/sc-2.jpg

Then “hell road” starts... corners with gravels, sudden drops, up hills, really testing the rider and the bike. The tough section is another 100km or so but it is physically and mentally tiring. Just slight tap the brake, front wheel skid, drop gear.. rear wheel slide... there is no way i can control the moving bike but just slowly follow the flow through turns and hair pin corners.

Sorry, no photo of the tough section, but i’ll try to extract out some image from shaky video.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/sc-3.jpg

One truck was blocking the lane.. must be skidded as rear section and trailer is down on road shoulder.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/sc-1.jpg

This is only good photo of this route where bike can park safely on horizontal ground as it is a bridge.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs606.snc4/58613_1595402162645_1163693440_31722517_6705344_n.jpg

Bad section is about 110km from Mae Sod to 200km, after that’s where the fun starts..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs302.ash2/58211_1595111875388_1163693440_31721700_871662_n.jpg

corner behind

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs635.snc4/59507_1595403682683_1163693440_31722527_6925241_n.jpg

corner infront

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs635.snc4/59507_1595403762685_1163693440_31722528_5586240_n.jpg

this could be called straight as you can see further than one corner.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs635.snc4/59507_1595403802686_1163693440_31722529_4036834_n.jpg

there are a few land slide sections (which are being cleared now) and cows, buffalos on the road

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs635.snc4/59507_1595404002691_1163693440_31722534_607646_n.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05546-1.jpg

some nice scenery along the route

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs602.snc4/58211_1595111915389_1163693440_31721701_3080365_n.jpg

did i say corners ?

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs302.ash2/58211_1595111875388_1163693440_31721700_871662_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs628.snc4/58788_1595405522729_1163693440_31722545_6050206_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs602.snc4/58211_1595111955390_1163693440_31721702_7543415_n.jpg

But i did not enjoy the corners to the max as i would in Genting Highland, Fraser Hill or Cameron Highland where we go with group and someone got your back when things got out of hand.

I had to constantly remind myself.

1. I am alone.

2. So far from home

3. No network on both Singapore (starhub) roaming and Thai (happy mobile) sim cards in some places.

TDM at Japanese 2nd world war memorial

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs635.snc4/59507_1595403962690_1163693440_31722533_1348674_n.jpg

reached Mae Hong Son around 5:00pm, so total time 5 hours for 300km section.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs602.snc4/58211_1595111995391_1163693440_31721703_2973439_n.jpg

Stopped by internet cafe to check mails and catch up with friends on facebook, had quick noodle, and tried to look for commerce building to get MHS Certificate. I couldn’t find it, Paul said it’s near post office so i tried to ask a few locals about post office and got answer only with blank looks. GPS neither shows any post office.

I thought of sleeping here tonight, but watching TV or walking around without speaking their language does not appeal to me. People say do not ride at night in Thailand. It’s not advisable but it’s doable. So i proceeded to Pai 200km away, GPS says 3 hour to reach.

Route : http://bit.ly/9xbQkw

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day3-mhs.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs635.snc4/59507_1595404042692_1163693440_31722535_3473292_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs302.ash2/58211_1595112035392_1163693440_31721704_3786885_n.jpg

it was pleasant ride at start, nice corners, beautiful scenery, full stomach, bike’s fuel’s full, let’s do this.

There are many nice places to take photo of scenery and i usually ride past the place, and U turn back to take photo. I did not want to jam brake and even if i gradually slow down, the nice scenery would be left behind. So, during one U-turn as you can guess, i dropped my bike. Silly me tried to U turn on slope and gravity wins over stupid rider.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs308.ash2/58788_1595405562730_1163693440_31722546_4062813_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs628.snc4/58788_1595405642732_1163693440_31722548_758353_n.jpg

you can see the elevation of slope.

Normally, i can pick up my own bike, on flat surface. But this time.. 20L full tank of petrol, plus luggage, plus the angel is against elevation. I couldn’t lift up at all. Tried all sort of technique from youtube and forums but still.. not able to lift more than 45’

Not long, just after i took photos, locals come to rescue. Thank you guys.

There’s no damage to the bike, just some scratches over caribou (pelican) cases and barkbuster handguards. They really did their job and proven the value for $$$.

OK, no more photo stops.. since it’s getting dark.. and again it starts to rain.. dark twisty roads plus heavy rain, just all i can ask for in northern Thailand. I really wanted to thank whoever built those roads and put up reflectors at turns and corners, coz that’s all i can see in front of me.

Even with HID, visor got fogged up due to slow speed, rain drops were heavy and blurring my vision.. just so great.

Slowly creeping my way up and again saviour came... another hilux truck, going at good pace to show me way through dark corners. Thank you guys.

Finally reached Pai around 9:00pm after 2 hour ride in cold rain. Checked immediately to nice hotel by road side, Brook View Hotel, 550 baht for aircond room. I do not need aircond but hot shower is available only in aircond rooms.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g303916-d546678-Reviews-Brook_View_Guest_house_and_Herbal_House-Pai.html

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05518.jpg

Naked lady is waiting for you..

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05515.jpg

after shower, walked around and found some noodle for my dinner.

Here’s the room

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs628.snc4/58788_1595405682733_1163693440_31722549_5173299_n.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05513.jpg

TDM condition at pai.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs628.snc4/58788_1595405762735_1163693440_31722551_1632561_n.jpg

Day 4 - 20100902 - 0900 to 2100 - Pai to Chaing Rai (via Mae Sai and Golden Triangle)

602km covered. 12 hours on the road - best ride of the trip, until detour to wrong hotel

route - http://bit.ly/986tyy

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day4.jpg

Started as usually at 9:00am, nice weather, really wonderful town.

View from hotel (for so-called Pai river)

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs308.ash2/58788_1595405722734_1163693440_31722550_6429465_n.jpg

some snaps along Pai

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs622.snc4/58211_1595112075393_1163693440_31721705_3469839_n.jpg

wont be surprised if Snow White and 7 dwarfs came out of this house... lol

coffee shop

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs608.snc4/58788_1595405842737_1163693440_31722553_5247444_n.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05530.jpg

Took many photos this morning.. so gained only short distance.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs154.ash2/41017_1595407322774_1163693440_31722562_7543246_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs154.ash2/41017_1595407362775_1163693440_31722563_3009757_n.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05494.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05493-1.jpg

Corners again...

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05542.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05544.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05545.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs403.snc4/46619_1602487259768_1163693440_31737935_1818108_n.jpg

one of 3 photos i managed to take for myself...

Bro, why didnt u bypass BKK crazy traffic?!

honestly, i didnt know bikes are not allowed on overhead expressways. and i was following shortest way as tried to cover 1100km on 2nd day.

anyway, managed to run away from trouble.. keke

honestly, i didnt know bikes are not allowed on overhead expressways. and i was following shortest way as tried to cover 1100km on 2nd day.

anyway, managed to run away from trouble.. keke

Haha. Lucky u. Tink Yem_Paul oso did dat trick. i bypass the traffic by following Kanchanipisek highway or donno wad name la.

dropped my bike (again) while stopping to take this photo.

It’s down slope and forgot to kick gear before stopping the engine.. bike rolled in front and side stand slipped.. before i managed to take any photo, local man stopped his scooter and helped me lift the bike up. Thank you dude..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs629.snc4/58951_1595112715409_1163693440_31721707_1065004_n.jpg

more photos of beautiful scenery

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs412.snc4/47553_1595409242822_1163693440_31722581_7189439_n.jpg

there are some scary hairpin corners with sudden down slope along the way. And most of the photos shows only nice places. In bad sections, i was focusing on keeping the bike straight and passing over, couldn’t think of taking photo there.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs154.ash2/41017_1595407402776_1163693440_31722564_6137144_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs214.ash2/47711_1602487419772_1163693440_31737936_57418_n.jpg

2nd snap of myself.

Stopped by road side cafe as it was near lunch time..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs314.snc4/41017_1595407482778_1163693440_31722566_6135940_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs294.snc4/41017_1595407522779_1163693440_31722567_5391496_n.jpg

this truck pulled over and coincidently, we share the same number plate.. 1438

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs412.snc4/47553_1595409162820_1163693440_31722579_3445272_n.jpg

so.. at this cafe... i had some choice for lunch..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs294.snc4/41017_1595407562780_1163693440_31722568_3561754_n.jpg

http://www.codeodor.com/images/homer_doh.png

took one and carried on the journey.

Almost had head on with hilux truck during this stretch.

As you can see i’ve descended from mountains and reached to plains.. near Chiang Mai.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05567.jpg

My side of road is clear, and GPS was asking me to U turn as i’ve missed one turn. I was checking any alternative route or ways to go around and this hilux truck, overtaking another vehicle from oncoming lane zoom passed me just inches away from my handle bar.

Freaking hell, he don’t see me or expected me to pull over? really shocked me the hell out of me..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs609.snc4/58951_1595112795411_1163693440_31721708_5272745_n.jpg

i’d say, route to Mae Sai is the best part of northern Thailand (for this trip)

Very beautiful scenery along the valley

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs212.ash2/47553_1595409482828_1163693440_31722587_6878123_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs412.snc4/47553_1595409402826_1163693440_31722585_6353829_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs212.ash2/47553_1595409362825_1163693440_31722584_2861751_n.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05584.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05580.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05576.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs158.ash2/41223_1595410602856_1163693440_31722593_1601429_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs298.snc4/41223_1595410642857_1163693440_31722594_6357095_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs318.snc4/41223_1595410562855_1163693440_31722592_3385638_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs629.snc4/58951_1595112955415_1163693440_31721712_8117961_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs629.snc4/58951_1595112995416_1163693440_31721713_5743684_n.jpg

Reaching Mae Sai Border around 4:00pm

2nd friendship bridge

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs158.ash2/41223_1595410682858_1163693440_31722595_8346784_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs309.ash2/58951_1595113035417_1163693440_31721714_621746_n.jpg

1st friendship bridge

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs158.ash2/41223_1595410722859_1163693440_31722596_413457_n.jpg

had late lunch there (after cup noodle in morning), and found internet cafe. Took some photos and proceeded to Golden Triangle view point.

The road to Golden Triangle is pretty bad. Paul had a fall over this stretch and broken his clutch lever.

For TDM, with semi-offroad tyres, i have confident they will hold their ground. And yes they did.

With half standing posture, i could speed through the section with ease. Luck was on my side as mud has harden too.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05609.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/DSC05607.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs158.ash2/41223_1595410842862_1163693440_31722599_7341114_n.jpg

Pirelli MT60 and Michellin Anakee2 stood their ground.. well done

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs607.snc4/58783_1595411922889_1163693440_31722602_2426753_n.jpg

Opium museum... but it was closed when i got there..

Later, i found out, low beam head light has gone burst as TDM was humping all over throughout rough section

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs607.snc4/58783_1595411882888_1163693440_31722601_1125889_n.jpg

anyway, we have made it to Golden Triangle.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs629.snc4/58951_1595113115419_1163693440_31721716_3956847_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs603.snc4/58371_1595411842887_1163693440_31722600_2563025_n.jpg

some more snaps

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs298.snc4/41248_1595411962890_1163693440_31722603_3020750_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs607.snc4/58783_1595412002891_1163693440_31722604_3811902_n.jpg

that side must be Laos

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs627.snc4/58783_1595412042892_1163693440_31722605_4852327_n.jpg

TDM at dusk

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs607.snc4/58783_1595412122894_1163693440_31722607_1161520_n.jpg

i found one hotel over agoda.com with pretty good price. And found the hotel (with same name) over GPS.. so i proceeded to the destination and only to found out it’s almost like a boarding house at road side.. WTF... no way i am going to park TDM at road side and stay over this boarding house. It’s near Chiangsaen and getting dark as well, and quite a distance away from Chiang Rai. But nvm, i am used to nigh riding anyway, let’s go to Chiang Rai.

And during while riding, i’ve found out HID is not enough for nigh riding. White beam cannot penetrate through mist and dust which was everywhere.. and all insects among the fields were flying towards me like kamikaze fighters.. i could see them smashing towards windscreen, headlight, handguards, and even towards helmet visor.

As usual... it rained... not so heavily as other days, just to make the roads slippery and fog up the visor. So again, cold, wet, tired rider reached Chiang Rai at 9:00pm. Checked GPS for nearest hotel and this time.. i was lucky to find a good one. New Millennium Hotel, 350baht per night.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs307.ash2/58783_1595412202896_1163693440_31722609_4854109_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs608.snc4/58787_1595412882913_1163693440_31722610_4863145_n.jpg

i could park the bike just in front of the room, nice.. sorry, couldnt find this hotel's detail over internet.

as usual, wash daily clothing, hot shower and had a good sleep.

Day 5 - 20100903 - 0900 to 2200 - Chiang Rai to Bangkok

800km covered. 13 hours on the road - boring day... survived BKK evening traffic for 3 hours through rain and flood

route - http://bit.ly/bXwgf7

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day5.jpg

Today’s pretty boring, return leg from destination. So, i was not really enthusiastic as going out to new destination. However, managed to catch speeding ticket at 125kmh,

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs608.snc4/58787_1595412962915_1163693440_31722612_3619244_n.jpg

200 baht fine. No under table, straight away issue summon, pay out 200 baht and receipt was given.

I took photo of road block and one cop came to help take photo of me.. with summon... haha

and Palmer is correct, it's near Lampang.. so next time.. becareful guys.

After that.. a few more road blocks but they ask me where i came from and where i am going, let me go off without any incident.

Near Mae Sam, i saw big Honda/YAMAHA shop along the road so stopped by to ask for low-beam H7 bulb. They don’t have, but one staff came to help, we go around some car accessory shops and asked around. Found Phillip H7 bulb, 300baht ~ about 14 S$, Ah boy selling about 8$ but hey.. it’s in northern Thailand. I tried to pay some pocket $$ to helpful staff but he didn’t take any. Thank you bro.

After that.. again boring ride on highway 1 with occasional smoke breaks..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs410.snc4/47279_1595413002916_1163693440_31722613_5658074_n.jpg

bugs...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs308.ash2/58787_1595413042917_1163693440_31722614_6790503_n.jpg

one stop at petrol kiosk

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs209.ash2/47218_1595113715434_1163693440_31721717_1779482_n.jpg

long, boring Highway 1.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak- snc4/hs609.snc4/58961_1595413082918_1163693440_31722615_223365_n.jpg

Reaching BKK soon, so tried to figure out ways not to use overhead bridge. Set GPS avoidance as no TOLL roads.. means stuck in traffic jam. And i planned to stopped in middle of BKK at my friend’s apartment...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs609.snc4/58961_1595413082918_1163693440_31722615_223365_n.jpg

Entered BKK about 6:00pm and it starts to rain... and soon follow by heavy rain and wind. Many cars pulled over to shoulder and stop there as visibility is so bad, cars switching lane, trucks, bus stopping and pushing around, road works and road blocks... riding experience is definitely not fun.

Rain has so much water and flood has hit the road, i put my feet down and water was over ankle level.

Once i tried to pass the traffic from left most lane (near pavement) and water level was over the foot pegs... nvm, TDM can cross rivers, just rev and go... the whole trip, i wished to cross flood and now my wishes are fulfilled, in middle of Bangkok.

Worse was some long trucks and buses doing U turn, literally blocking the lane and had to stop and wait them to pass, hopefully no other vehicle rear-end me while waiting.

Again crawl among slow moving, sometime dead solid jams. Thanks to GPS has detour function , took me to small back lanes to avoid such places.

Reached to my friend’s apartment in RAMA 3 at 9:30pm. TDM survived 3 hours in BKK evening traffic.

Hot shower and went out to eat late dinner around 11:00pm. That’s it for the day.

Day 6 - 20100904 - 1130 to 2200 - BKK to Krabi

764km covered. 13 hours on the road - rained and accidents (not me)

route - http://bit.ly/drlKnk

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day6.jpg

View from BKK apartment.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs312.ash2/59187_1599666149242_1163693440_31732021_1808782_n.jpg

today’s start is late as having breakfast and talking with my friend, BKK and Thailand, long lost friends and such.

Finally left his place at 1130am.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs606.snc4/58639_1599666629254_1163693440_31732022_1140216_n.jpg

yet TDM is stuck at parking lot among other scoots.

We had to push and pull for 15min to get it out of there..

Again, the ride is uneventful until evening about 6:00pm when it starts to rain.

sorry, no photo for the day as plain and boring ride.

I witnessed 3 accidents just fresh with overturned trucks and bits all over the road. Riding speed has been slowed down to 50~60kmh. Continuous drizzle makes the visor fog and road slippery again.

I was heading to Hat Yai to meet other 2 TDM and 1 FJR, but afraid i wont be able to make it tonight. By 8:00pm, i reached Surat Thani and Hat Yai is another 250km away. Decided to push more to Krabi 100km away, about 1 hour ride to sleep over.

Reached krabi at 10:00pm. Stopped by first motel on road side, Oasis Resort. 550baht per night for aircond room with hot shower. Deal.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs626.snc4/58639_1599666669255_1163693440_31732023_211709_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs606.snc4/58639_1599666749257_1163693440_31732024_3381785_n.jpg

Day 7 - 20100905 - 0900 to 1500 - Krabi to Hat Yai

280km covered. 4 hours on the road- just relax ride

route - http://bit.ly/bqyKRL

roamed around Krabi to take some photos

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs159.ash2/41283_1599667309271_1163693440_31732025_4776639_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs319.snc4/41283_1599667349272_1163693440_31732026_431618_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs299.snc4/41283_1599667389273_1163693440_31732027_3111244_n.jpg

went up to view point but nothing to see.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs299.snc4/41283_1599667429274_1163693440_31732028_5516875_n.jpg

i didn’t go over to Phang Nga bay, and left after breakfast.

I saw one sports bike passed by and thought of R6, we stopped at same petrol kiosk and found out it’s...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs615.snc4/59554_1599668389298_1163693440_31732037_5491730_n.jpg

one local group is going for Sunday ride.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs315.ash2/59554_1599668309296_1163693440_31732035_4669731_n.jpg

this is the group

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs615.snc4/59554_1599668349297_1163693440_31732036_7448884_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs635.snc4/59554_1599668429299_1163693440_31732038_1914362_n.jpg

one FJR is using special plate and i asked... the owner told me they bid for 1, 11, 111 number and if they cannot get, will wait for next bidding and during the time, just ride without plate..

S1000R does not have any plate neither, owner just bought it last week for freaking 1 million baht.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs599.snc4/57910_1599668989313_1163693440_31732040_7253761_n.jpg

It’s almost same price as Singapore but over there, to be able to afford such spending, he gotta be very rich man’s son (pretty young chap). They are friendly and could speak English so we chatted for some time. They were going to Trang and asked me to go along. It’s fine with me so we waited for almost an hour for those late comers (as similar to Singapore).

1 hour has passed and few has turned up but not all, so i decided to go ahead. Said good bye to Thai bikers and they ask me to come for 3NCR, wish i could make it.

Again i off the GPS and thought of straight road to Trang, which proved me wrong.

I happened to bypass Trang by mountain twisties and met another group of bikers along the mountain pass.

Like Jim Carrey said... “Ducaaaatiiiiiiii”

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs619.snc4/57910_1599669029314_1163693440_31732041_7972142_n.jpg

and K1200R

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs599.snc4/57910_1599669069315_1163693440_31732042_651200_n.jpg

they are friendly bikers and came to greet me when i stopped along them.

They are from http://www.stormclub.com/ and tried to take some photo of newly acquired MTS1200, which is still running in.

My Adventure (dirty) TDM with shiny Dukes.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs299.ash2/57910_1599669109316_1163693440_31732043_3080050_n.jpg

we talked about bikes and rides and such and they took photo of TDM as well, i joked about dirty bike but they replied “adventure bikes must be this way”... hell yes..

after awhile, we parted ways and i continued to Hat Yai. I could come back direct to Singapore but i was pretty tired and wanted some friends to talk. After some navigation on GPS, found their hotel, 380baht near B.P Grand Hotel (not BP brand itself)

after some talk and rest, we went out to big Buddha for some photoshoot.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs299.ash2/57910_1599669189318_1163693440_31732045_7716494_n.jpg

and now.. i can be part of the photo...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs635.snc4/59537_1602505100214_1163693440_31737944_517338_n.jpg

we left in a rush as rain was coming but still managed to get wet...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs612.snc4/59198_1599669949337_1163693440_31732046_7861004_n.jpg

then some massage and beer and thai food... this is most relax day of Thailand trip.

Day 8 - 20100906 - 1230 to 0200 - Hat Yai to Singapore

800km covered. 1330 hour on the road - had fun with other TDMs and FJR on NSHW

route - http://bit.ly/9cIDvT

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/2010_Thailand_Trip/day8.jpg

We woke up late by effect of drinking last night, and took sweet time to pack up and ate brakefast.

left hotel at noon and crossed border at 13:00. by then rain has started and everyone's put on rain coats / pants.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs624.snc4/58391_1602504940210_1163693440_31737943_4743618_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs315.ash2/59537_1602505140215_1163693440_31737945_5751715_n.jpg

one TDM has rear tyre puncture and found out near Serdang around 16:30. first we couldnt find the nail or hole.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs612.snc4/59198_1599670069340_1163693440_31732049_5714736_n.jpg

dont worry, FJR carried electric air pump..... we can pump and find the leak..

butt... FJR's 12v socket is not working, mine is not working and found out another TDM's 12v socket is not working too..

lucky that i brought foot pump

http://images.shopping.indiatimes.com/images/product/100168_footpump_pbilimage1.jpg

so we took turns to pump up to find the leak, tyre didnt deflate immediately so we decided to run to nearest petrol kiosk.

along the way, tyre become flat again before reaching anywhere so we had to exercise legs again.

This time round FJR rider managed to find tiny hole, leaking air slowly so we pushed in worm to patch it.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs602.snc4/58271_1600089519826_1163693440_31732982_7303124_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs605.snc4/58491_1600090119841_1163693440_31732983_2894472_n.jpg

after that.. quick run along NSHW with occassional blast to 180 on TDMs... ofcuz FJR has become king of the road and led the way.

and i be the last as semi offroad tyres are wobble on highspeed, straights are ok but bends are not stable.

we pump and go, stopped by for dinner at one RnR and finally reached JB at 12:00.

well.. trip is over, but i still feels like holiday mood and wants to ride again.

we stopped by JB bike wash

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs312.ash2/59198_1599670189343_1163693440_31732052_4029595_n.jpg

my trusty TDM ..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs632.snc4/59198_1599670149342_1163693440_31732051_2999455_n.jpg

after wash

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs633.snc4/59375_1599670909361_1163693440_31732054_2169855_n.jpg

Special Thanks to TonyXu, Tan Wai Loon, Gan Teck How, Encik Pat, Paul Foo for all your help.

and Thanks to all my friends for your information and encouragement, i could not complete this journey without you guys.

and Thanks to TDM for bringing me places, after thailand ride, next day i ride into Raffles place for job interview.. and just went for Genting, Bukit Tinggi corners yesterday. i havnt change Engine Oil nor done any service yet.

will i do the trip again ? hell yes, but i'll take more time to explore the area, not like this trip, just touch and go..

what bike would i want to bring ? TDM... for sure....

11/10 trip report lar bro! very detailed with pictures and definitely very informative.. will take some lessons from you for my trip this Dec.

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg

Must go with you. Please jio!

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Lol warren.

I scared my bike cannot take it, or rather I cannot take it my bike have to go through hell :D. Maybe have to get a set of "adventure" fairing.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...