The GSXR 600,750 & 1000 Hangout. Where All GSXR Riders Chill And Gather!!

To those riding 09 R1s, please have a good once over when changing tires or when doing any work related to the fork.

My right inner fork tube cracked, and there's also another case in the States - you can view that through this link: http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=267166

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/crackfork01.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/crackfork02.jpg

Thats already two cases too many - so be safe and have a look and make sure everything is in order. Hopefully these are just isolated cases.

http://www.fb666y.com/images/web/fb666y_signature.jpg

Ride Reports, Pictures & Plenty More at www.fb666y.com

• Replies 82.9k

• milan

• TyrÃl

• lo-on

• MC28

To those riding 09 R1s, please have a good once over when changing tires or when doing any work related to the fork.

My right inner fork tube cracked, and there's also another case in the States - you can view that through this link: http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=267166

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/crackfork01.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/crackfork02.jpg

Thats already two cases too many - so be safe and have a look and make sure everything is in order. Hopefully these are just isolated cases.

wah how come like that? what is the cause or could be the cause of the cracks?

What say u :angel:

thks bro, haf a gd dae

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs379.ash2/65701_176002369095418_100000569694348_526694_4927685_n.jpg

Think you are the fastest? Think again.

by the way, the thousand-year-old demon who lives in the west has contacted me as his project for his R1 is ready ......

for those who knows him and understand what i mean ... he's calling for a meetup :angel:

wah how come like that? what is the cause or could be the cause of the cracks?

Unfortunately, trying to figure that out would be highly speculative. Without proper metallurgy tests (whose cost would be prohibitive) it may never be known. However, having said that, the theories bandied around on the R1 forum would suggest metal cavitation, improper casting.

ya i read through the forum also and agreeded that its not the mechanic's fault.

but whatever the reason, its really a big issue for the rider's safety!! :giddy:

Agent and PI bikes are the same. All come from the same "factory".

The only difference is the coverage provided by the sellers, or types of sellers. So its not right to say that PI ones are of inferior quality to agents'.

yes both bikes come from the same manufacturer.

but here in singapore, its a hard know fact that any issues due to manufacturers will only be covered by agent in singapore FOC while PI bikes have no coverage unless the owner themselves are willing to pay.

1 good example will be the TPS issues which Hong Leong did a recall FOC for all agent bikes and done up FOC. but PI bikes have no coverage at all.

Edited by Aie

nb laugh at me..u better dun speed so much le in sg...dun forget e who oso gone liao..

R1 09 la...alamak...

who also gone liao??? u mean dead or kantong?

ya i read through the forum also and agreeded that its not the mechanic's fault.

but whatever the reason, its really a big issue for the rider's safety!! :giddy:

The forces generated through regular riding - through bumps and potholes, braking and such are immense at the point - and it would be laughable to think that tightening the two pinch bolts would break them.

I would dread to think the metal is so weak as to crack under minor stress.

The forces generated through regular riding - through bumps and potholes, braking and such are immense at the point - and it would be laughable to think that tightening the two pinch bolts would break them.

yup 15lbs torque is too little to crack or break any metal at all :lol: :lol: :lol:

i personally would guess that its the issue with the kind of materials used.

u using your new 09 for touring as well?

how does it compare to the 04?

u using your new 09 for touring as well?

how does it compare to the 04?

Well, since 2008, I havent done any major trip on the R1. I have a Super 4 as well which I use for regular day to day riding, and the 04 was relegated to weekend and track riding. I even ran the 04 in the second round of MSS with help from the Looi's Motor guys and it was brilliant, however it had a severe overheating problem. It was running 120 degrees celsius during both races, and I had to back off to allow it to cool.

Thats why I went for the 09 R1, and to be honest it kills the 04 in every respect. By the time I traded the 04 for the 09, it had clock about 130,000km. That's a lot of memories.

With the Super 4 its been limited the amount of time I have had on the 09. Two weeks after I got the 09, and after running it, I rode the 09 in the 3rd round of MSS.

The front is a bit too high, causes the rear to come around on hard braking - she was sliding all the way into Turn 1 at Sepang. I have had to change my riding style somewhat and I will probably spend the next few months getting used to her, but like I said, it puts the 04 R1 in the shade.

..Thats why I went for the 09 R1, and to be honest it kills the 04 in every respect...but like I said, it puts the 04 R1 in the shade.

It seems Yamaha has created a significantly improved R1 this time round. :thumb:

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x23/Tyrael7/Bike/sig.jpg

for smog plates can check with bro blueblood for feedback. he's using it on his bike. Not sure about the significant changes tho. u can get those easily off ebay.

http://i700.photobucket.com/albums/ww4/mambowake/mvagusta.jpg

The force that is acting on the part while riding is different form the ones that is created when the pinch bolt is being tightened. Did the mech tighten the pinch both according to the 1-2-1 sequence?

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5999/sbfsignature.jpg

smog plate...aka block plate...lol..no need lah...you can DIY....with out even buying anything...easy to do/mod...kekekeke....

some1 looking for velocity stacks....kekeke...pm me...current got 1 set for k6/k7 600 750.

nb laugh at me..u better dun speed so much le in sg...dun forget e who oso gone liao..

R1 09 la...alamak...

who who who..gone...

kena means kena...but kena what...lol

speeding or excess speed limits dangerous wor.....

no need bolas to open throttle...close eye and whack can oready...

open eye see TP or if you bery bery lucky LTA...:angel:

i also looking for very long liao...

http://i681.photobucket.com/albums/vv179/KickStart03/IMG_0297.jpg?t=1242980525

It's all about the 'K'

hei guys...

anyone used bazzaz on their bikes?

thinking of installing it but still looking ard for user reviews..

heard its easier to use than PC.

hmmm...

BAZZAZ..GD....

INTERCEPTOR ...BETTER ( abit hard to get ) but has almost everything you want or need. :thumb:

KEKEKEKE....

Rich le you..

Where gt rich. U anyhow oni sia. If i'm loaded would have change Rims oredi, dun nid 2 Spray:cheeky:

NSR 150 SP [FR5682H]: 7/7/04 - 15/11/05

GSX R400 RR [FL5988H]: 28/10/05 - 6/8/08

X1 Supreme [FBB4408Y]: 7/4/07 - 21/3/08

GSX R1000 K3 [FW9829A]: 27/9/07 - 20/2/08

GSX R1000 K7 [FBB??Z]: MIA o_O

GSX R1000 K8 [FBC????M]: 22/2/08 - 21/6/2013

125ZR [FBC 3720X]: 6/8/08 – 19/3/11

FJR 1300 ABS [FBC 3723M]: 21/6/2013

Sparks T135 [FBB 8146B]: 24/4/2015