Originally posted by SDR@Feb 17 2005, 12:10 PM

If you are still hanging between GS and FJR, think CYCLOP is the best guy to answer you.  I want to ask him the same question if I hv the chance to meet up with him.

Hey SDR, I've been missing out on a lot of meetings, bad timing for me I guess, My shift pattern always seems to get in the way...... http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/baldy.gif

As to why I gave up on the FJR for a GS, heres' a quick breakdown:

1) My badly abused knees: The weight difference is very noticable to me, especially when pushing it around. Thought I could handle the FJR's bulk when I tried before buying it but turns out not to be the case after livin with it. The 1200 weight is managable, the 1150 is not, so I only got into GS when the 1200 came about.

2) Riding style: The GS proximate a sportsbike handling better than a FJR. To me, the FJR becomes quite a handful when the course gets a little technical, I can't throw it around without a concious effort. The GS flows with you, effortless. On Highways and fast sweepers, the FJR excels, but thats not where the fun is to me. I enjoy the ride more when I don't have to think about the bike and what I need to do on the bike to make it round the next corner.

3) FJR makes around 140 horses to GS 90+ but due to torque tuning and gearing, the GS drives better in traffic. I can overtake easier on a GS than on a FJR, the GS is more compose and the FJR is more manic, but someothers like it that way, but not me, guess I have mellowed with age.

4) Do you likes your family's jewel being fried? http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/Annie.gif

5) The 1200 is more road bias with a little off road capability, thats where I spent most of my time on the bike on. But its good to know that when the road gets a little rough, the GS can still makes it. The FJR is purely tarmac. So SDR my friend, it won't be a white elephant, its whats its meant to be, 90% road, 10% dirt.

6) The GS looks good dirty....( my lame excuse for not washing the bike regularly, kekekeke http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/biggrinbounce2.gif )

7) I want a bike that is worth hanging on to. The GS I hope will grow old with me, I know I will not hold onto the FJR for long, good bike it may be, but no X factor here...hard to explain this one http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/patch.gif you guys know what I mean right...... As a matter of fact, BMs grows on you with age, I'm still waiting to see SDR's bike, but from what I heard, its a beauty. Met this Malay uncle on an old Norten once at a traffic junction, makes me wanna junk me sportsbike there and then and get once of those...... how to explain, ummm http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/headscratch.gif

8) But the most important thing is that you need to live with the bike for a while before you can really tell if it suits your style. Its an expensive way to find things out but unless you have a long term loaner, I guess most of us will just keep changing bikes till we find the right one. I took a very expensive bet with the GS, it being my first BM, but so far, the smile have not left my face. As a matter of fact, I think I'm getting cramps on me cheeks http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol8.gif

There's more, but better over kopi...... http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/beer.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by pinglong@Feb 17 2005, 03:04 PM

And what abt Cyclop, GS1200 & Koma? U guys, how?

Koma, haven't seen your GS yet leh.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/bncry.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/sad.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/triste.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/mecry.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/dizave.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/Disappointed.gif

Its not FAIR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Actually, we haven't got the opportunity to chomp down on a good meal of BKT yet.

Our first attempt.....failed. LOL. This is our 2nd try.

Just want to have a steady and gentle ride on our bikes into JB, have a nice breakfast, and then back to SG.

Maybe other non-Beemers like urself who's been following this BMW topic closely would like to join us too? I'm sure nobody objects as long as the group is not too big, no one tries to be hero/daredevil with their bikes tries to come along. We're all very matured and mellowed ppl in here, right SDR? :thumb:

SDR's wife is coming along. You can bring your partner too.

So far there's only 4 bikes.

1) PL

2) SDR & WIFE

3) RT

4) GSGabes

Add to the list if u r interested so we know who to wait for.

And what abt Cyclop, GS1200 & Koma? U guys, how?

Koma, haven't seen your GS yet leh.

Sori Guys,

I might not be able to make it this Sun .. my uncle was warded and is in ICU now...:weep:

Originally posted by cyclop@Feb 17 2005, 04:33 PM

http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/bncry.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/sad.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/triste.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/mecry.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/dizave.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/Disappointed.gif

Its not FAIR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

eh? what not fair?? don't get to go? hahaha. nvm lah. BKT won't run away one.

next time then. u always work on weekends?

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by RT@Feb 17 2005, 05:11 PM

I might not be able to make it this Sun .. my uncle was warded and is in ICU now...:weep:

It's ok. we understand the importance of family. You handle what needs to be taken care of 1st lah.

Ok guys, updated list

1) PL

2) SDR & WIFE

3) GSGabes

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by SDR@Feb 17 2005, 05:20 PM

item 4) tt serious? heard about it, seem like Yamaha love to goreng them, eversince the TZR2503MA, FZR1000RR and now FJR? noti yamaha :cheeky:

That's very short-sighted of them. They shd take good care of them for us instead. So we can have more offsprings who enjoy their bikes. hahaha

Originally posted by SDR+Feb 17 2005, 12:15 PM-->
QUOTE (SDR @ Feb 17 2005, 12:15 PM)
RT & Cyclop,

Casio Protrek with Global Positioning System (GPS)

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/classified/...id=15&id=596093

Still keen on GPS? owner selling @ $350, guess half the price for new, only provide very techincal data. Saw it before, not suitable for me, i still prefer cute cartoon map on colour LCD. :cheeky: [/b]

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by pinglong@Feb 17 2005, 05:18 PM

eh? what not fair?? don't get to go? hahaha. nvm lah. BKT won't run away one.

next time then. u always work on weekends?

nope, on rotation, but so far coincided with all the trips

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 17 2005, 05:20 PM

you mentioned tt you wish to "Grow old with the bike" r you serious, I have this tot eversince I got this bike, dare not say it out as friends around me never want to hold on to their machines for more than 3yrs, usually they let go after 1.5yrs.

Thats right. The first few years of ownership is the most testing, especially with Jap bikes, always a newer, faster, better model next year, and the next year, and the next year.....

I am hoping that once I can get thru this testing period and when me GS can be considered a classic, like your Mystic, then I won't wanna let it go...... Strange people we are http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/ricky.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 17 2005, 09:22 PM

is this the top range of Garmin? looks very technical & complicated to me.

Not the top range, more of mid level. The StreetPilot 26xx series are the higher end model. like this one for example , the 2650

http://www.garmin.com/products/sp2650/gallery/pt-SP265001Large.jpg

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by cyclop@Feb 17 2005, 11:47 PM

Not the top range, more of mid level. The StreetPilot 26xx series are the higher end model. like this one for example , the 2650

http://www.garmin.com/products/sp2650/gallery/pt-SP265001Large.jpg

Wat price ? do they have a distributor here or have to buy through the net?

Originally posted by RT@Feb 18 2005, 12:03 AM

Wat price ? do they have a distributor here or have to buy through the net?

Garmin quote USD1399.98 for the 2650, but should be able to get it cheaper. Like the 276C that I am looking at, Garmin quotes USD746.65 (http://www.garmin.com), but Touratech-USA quotes USD649 (http://www.touratech-usa.com). I think we might be able to find more discount if we scout around somemore, but as all buying from the web goes, there's a certain amount of risk involved. I was told that Garmin is also available at Sim Lim, have yet to check that place out. Some time back, I remember seeing GPS units on the shelfs of a sport shop at the basement of Lucky Plaza, not sure if that one's still around.

This is the authorised dealer for recreational Garmin in Singapore as quoted on Garmin's website:

O'Connor's Singapore Pte Ltd

O'Connor House

98 Pasir Panjang Rd

Singapore 118516

Phone: 65 6473 7944

Fax: 65 6472 4508

E-mail: [email protected] [email protected]

The years thunder by.

Hey guys, thks for the invite but cant make it for the BKT session.

Well, as for the GS being in demand... I tink its partly due to the price drop tat happened after the GS1200 came out. Also, I m aware tat quite a few of them r starting to surface some ABS unit problems but tat can only be very serious if u need to change the whole unit which cost abt $3k, otherwise, M-Tech resets it for free (if Chua's free) while PML charges u $38. Otherwise, there is a procedure for resetting in the net and its quite simple.

As to whether this is a reliable RTW bike, I guess its really up to the individual who s willing to accept the possible problems tat comes with it. If u r as technically inclined like Chua of M-Tech, I suppose the GS pose no problems for RTW maybe ???

As Jap bikes with rectifiers and CDIs failures, the Beemers have their hall sensors and starter motors to worry abt. So u c, its really up to the individual who can live with the inherent issues with each brand of bikes. Jus like the S4. I took my first trip to Thai on a Ver S, while on the way to Hatyai, my rectifier fried. Then at Trang, my battery fried. Then on my way back from KL, my COIL fried and I was push starting it all the way back. But still, i would say the S4 has done a damn good job of bringing me and my wife, 2 fully loaded side panniers and fully loaded top box to n fro Thai safely travelling an ave speed of 150 - 170 km/h. I know some will say I have stressed the bike but I was told by many tat they had done 170 to 180 continously to Thai !!! Nevertheless, I m still full of praise for the S4.

Funny.... while I was reading the posts, I had this funny tot tat pple who buy GS r actually very ' ngiau' pple :lol: Hey dont start firing me ok, like i said, it jus a funny tot :lol:

Know y i say tat ??? It bcos the GS is one bike tat do everything... corners like a sportsbike, travel in comfort, carries lots of luggage, comes with lots of accessories for u to personalise, takes humps n bumps easily, goes off road, have excellent brakes n lastly, attracts attention :puke:

Perhaps... this is oso one of the reason it rose in demand ???

Hey Cyclops, I m unsure abt the ad as I havent seen it but if he is willing to give everything, it is a good deal :thumb:

Hey SDR, if I can further afford, I WILL SURE try n get your BIKE

:thumb: Buay tahan... damn chio n so well maintained :thumb:

Abt the success of the other Adv bikes tat do RTW tours, i always have this bugging thought y the GS ??? The only answers I have is perhaps the comfort, the large tank, the shaft drive and most imptly is the tubeless spoke rims tat can take really bad roads.

Wat u guys think ?

Maybe other non-Beemers like urself who's been following this BMW topic closely would like to join us too? I'm sure nobody objects as long as the group is not too big, no one tries to be hero/daredevil with their bikes tries to come along. We're all very matured and mellowed ppl in here, right SDR? :thumb:

Thanks for the invite, but I'm overseas right now...no BKT here but got BKT spice in my kitchen :cheeky: (can make my own hahaha), lots of steak, fish&chips & Mac here though :sian: Will catch up with you guys when I'm back.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

yo guys my comp is up again~~~!! yeah~~!! :cheer: yah who here can burn dvd 1 i dun mind passin 2 him then we share buy some blank dvd then burn a few sets for the rest of u guys. pinglong y u so anxious 2 c my gs?? ;) anyway sdr c it last week then saw gs1200 bike all my saliva drop liao~~~ :p anyway sun i try 2 make it cause sat i nite shift till sun mornin 8am if go eat then go back i dun mind at all. yah agree with gs1200 the gs can do everytin u throw at it i beginnin 2 love it more n more liao but still miss my beloved vfr~~~ its 1 of the few jap bikes with charcter, maybe take out the side fairings, give it a 21inch front wheel n install some crash bars can go off road liao :p

yah the garmin gps can find in sim lim square or tower i forgot liao but the shop is at basement level. they sellin another brand there 2 saw it bout 2 yrs back. but for asia countries i find no point buyin cause maps r not up 2 date

Originally posted by koma@Feb 18 2005, 03:33 AM

anyway sun i try 2 make it cause sat i nite shift till sun mornin 8am if go eat then go back i dun mind at all.

I dun think we have other plans. Just the four of us.

U work until 8am on Sunday. Come for breakfast. After that I escort you guys back to GP. then go home and sleep. absolute blisssss :sleep: LOL

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 18 2005, 01:57 PM

ya, just for bkt, think PL, don't hv to escort us back lah, so troublesome, if we lost, we will give u a call, arent u going KL to visit ur darling?

I'm just using it as another excuse to ride Bertha. haha. No worries lah. I ride alone most of the time, feels great to ride in a group instead. I'll just ride with you guys till GP lah b4 turning back.

She needs to work this weekend lah. So, I have my 'mistress' to accompany me. :cheeky:

Just want to have a steady and gentle ride on our bikes into JB, have a nice breakfast, and then back to SG.

So far there's only 4 bikes.

1) PL

2) SDR & WIFE

3) GSGabes

Add to the list if u r interested so we know who to wait for.

Can a non-beemer come along???... I just need a ride desperately... Breakfast sounds gd!!!

Come lah come lah. Think the others have no objections. We may ride beemers, but we also like to check out other bikes, S4, VFR, TDM - look at the postings in here. Just that, no matter what, most of us eventually goes back to Beemers. haha

Latest list for Sunday BKT 0900H GP Esso

1) PL

2) SDR n wife

3) GSGabes

4) Koma (assume u r coming along since we don't have other plans after bf)

5) mokamoka (confirmed?)

Eh, what abt the Futura? Available in SG already? I like the shape of it. Never seen one for real b4 though. Nobody seems to have mentioned it b4.

Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

SDR,

GS GS GS GS GS GS GS GS GS...................:cheer: :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by PL@Feb 18 2005, 02:50 PM

Come lah come lah. Think the others have no objections. We may ride beemers, but we also like to check out other bikes, S4, VFR, TDM - look at the postings in here. Just that, no matter what, most of us eventually goes back to Beemers. haha

Latest list for Sunday BKT 0900H GP Esso

1) PL

2) SDR n wife

3) GSGabes

4) Koma (assume u r coming along since we don't have other plans after bf)

5) mokamoka (confirmed?)

Eh, what abt the Futura? Available in SG already? I like the shape of it. Never seen one for real b4 though. Nobody seems to have mentioned it b4.

Aprilia RST 1000 Futura

yo fazers group will be at GP Pentronas at 8am, will drop by to say hi if time allows...

maybe can even go eat breakfast together!!!

gabes, seem like u enjoying ur new ride!!!

mi still poor jobless boy, dunno when can upgrade

ah..fazers....i took my class 2 lessons and test with it.

Dropped it and hurt my knee at the crank course during one of the lessons.

And did I tell u guys I failed my 1st test? It was very funny. It was an immediate failure.

I was waiting for my turn...TP waved his file at me. First T-junction, look right, look left, look right again, check back all clear...trying to move off....engine stalled. &^%$!$$! I swear I saw the TP shakes his head with a smug on his face.

It was a bloody Fazer 600 #12. hahaha..i know it's my fault lah for being unskilled. But more fun and easier to blame the bike mah. :cheeky:

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 18 2005, 11:37 AM

GS1200, think it is easier to change your GS1200’s plugs then the S4, right?

GS1200, once again, many thanks for your compliment, IT'S A LOT OF HARDWORK LEH, none of my friend agrees to what I am doing, spending lots of time polishing, washing and cleaning, they think bike should serve them more than they serve the bike. When their machines are dirty, they replace it, brand new again.

Hey SDR, no prob man :smile: I always believe that when u c something nice, dont hesitate to praise it. Afterall what have u got to lose:smile: Not only will u feel good abt it, u will oso make the owner feels proud abt their work :smile: Many times, such gestures are the start of friendships :smile:

As for the plugs, its is definitely easy as they r all located on the cylinders :smile:

Well, as for frens agreeing to wat we do, IMHO, ignore them. These pple would never understand till they r hit one day by their own comments. It jus happened to me when I bought my GS12. Over in my previous grp forum, someone pass a sarcastic judgement saying tat I m senile and a sucker for paying tat kind of $ for a bike. Wats worst is tat this A**Hole had received help from me when he first got his GS and had no $ to pay for parts for his bike trip. I bought 1k of parts n lend it to him!!! Talk abt UNGRATEFULNESS .

Ok, enough griping :cheeky: Y dont we jus enjoy wat we r doing and appreciate and respect each others' views and interest :smile:

Originally posted by katana777@Feb 18 2005, 05:20 PM

yo fazers group will be at GP Pentronas at 8am, will drop by to say hi if time allows...

maybe can even go eat breakfast together!!!

gabes, seem like u enjoying ur new ride!!!

mi still poor jobless boy, dunno when can upgrade

Where u guys heading?? :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel: