n@kann0 Have you tried BMWMCS flea market? There's one selling for $21.5K.

Yaps! went to view, and lost out on the deal by 1-hour.... :sian:

haha.. well, simply just not FATED

know of any other deals in the market?? heard that you're riding the 1200RT ?

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Yaps! went to view, and lost out on the deal by 1-hour.... :sian:

haha.. well, simply just not FATED

know of any other deals in the market?? heard that you're riding the 1200RT ?

Don't worry bro, there's always another 1150RT for you. I thot I saw one in Yahoo auctions... checked again not there anymore ... IMO 1150 RT is the most gorgeous looking of all the RT series ... good luck in your search ... :goodluck:

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg

Greetings Beemerinos!! I'm planning on getting the new F800GS or the R1200GS soon. Since it will be my first time ever to own a BMW ride, what are the things I should look out for in maintenance especially for boxer engine? Is it true that every 10,000km requires a clutch plate replacement for the Beemer rides? Heard it from a few not-so-reliable people... hee hee heee...

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

tats not true.... haha if we require a clutch change every 10000km, all beemer riders will be very very poor people... cos clutch change cost abt 1.5k

no worries... the clutch will last u easily 80,000 to 100000km cheers..

just my 2 cents.. im also a beemer newbie :p

My rides since 1994:Nsr Hornet 125/Yamaha LC125/RD125/Suzuki RG125 Light Sprinter/CBR400 Hurricane/Suzuki GSXR 750/Honda XR250/KAWA ZXR750/Yamaha R1 03/Gilera Runner Fxr/ Suzuki GSXR1000 K6/Harley Sportster 1200S/Yamaha 04R1/BMW R1100r/Suzuki SRAD GSXR750/KTM 640SM/Harley VRod VSRCAW/HOnda Fireblade 929/R6'04/St1100V/DRZ400Sm_K8/Current-Aprilia RSV Tuono 1000R

Aaaah, that's refreshing to hear. Hmmm, so the maintenance wise is similar to other types of rides? Any workshops besides PML provide original BMW parts?

Don't worry bro, there's always another 1150RT for you. I thot I saw one in Yahoo auctions... checked again not there anymore ... IMO 1150 RT is the most gorgeous looking of all the RT series ... good luck in your search ... :goodluck:

ya man, i've looked everywhere high & low... o_O

hmm, still believe in FATE... :sian:

btw, the guy that bought my R1100S might be appearing here soon... i'm sooo envious of him that he's gotten such a nice bike.... :faint:

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Is this guy a beemer owner? :faint:

Hahaha!! Hence, the not-so-reliable people :cheeky: . These are a buncha people who heard from other people's friends who themselves heard from friend's friend's great-grandparents :lol:.

wah ha ha.. talk abt corrupted info.. :p

My rides since 1994:Nsr Hornet 125/Yamaha LC125/RD125/Suzuki RG125 Light Sprinter/CBR400 Hurricane/Suzuki GSXR 750/Honda XR250/KAWA ZXR750/Yamaha R1 03/Gilera Runner Fxr/ Suzuki GSXR1000 K6/Harley Sportster 1200S/Yamaha 04R1/BMW R1100r/Suzuki SRAD GSXR750/KTM 640SM/Harley VRod VSRCAW/HOnda Fireblade 929/R6'04/St1100V/DRZ400Sm_K8/Current-Aprilia RSV Tuono 1000R

Happy Cny Guys!!! Huat Ah!!!!!!

Happy Chinese New Year to all !!!! Ride safe in the year of Rat and beyond.. :thumb:

Freedom... man's best friend

Thank you my friend, and also to coolcat, for your help. This is very informative. :thumb:

By the way, your forum nickname is a bit outdated for you now? May you have as much fun with your new ride as I do with mine!

:cheeky: outdated yes, but i'll keep it for sedimental reasons. dont think I can change nick now. glad you like the reddy :thumb:

Freedom... man's best friend

By the way, your forum nickname is a bit outdated for you now? May you have as much fun with your new ride as I do with mine!

Wow, you've gotten the *Hint*... :thumb:

Ya loh, time to change the nick.....o_O

so nice that both of you've got "new" bikes to go with the CNY....

Maxxer, where are u???? :cheeky:

Wishing everyone here a PROSPEROUS CHINESE NEW YEAR!! :cool:

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

so nice that both of you've got "new" bikes to go with the CNY....

Maxxer, where are u???? :cheeky:

Wishing everyone here a PROSPEROUS CHINESE NEW YEAR!! :cool:

Waiting for you to get your "new" RT to make 3 of us!

He who hesitates is lost!

Hey fellow Beemers, anyone knows of any used 1150RT for sale, do let me know, on the look-out for one. Cheers!

Havin' ridden 1100's upwards...go for the the newer 1200's...the RT's are wonderful ride all day comfy long haul cruisers..the GS tho is something else bro :rolleyes: ...if I only had one bike in e garage...dat would be it!

http://img274.imageshack.us/img274/335/steedside028uf.th.jpg

Do what u want when ur ALONE...ride hard...take chances...die young n' leave a good looking corpse...

the GS tho is something else bro :rolleyes: ...if I only had one bike in e garage...dat would be it!

Hmm... i thought you currently already have IT in your garage?? met the previous owner 2 days back....

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Hmm... i thought you currently already have IT in your garage?? met the previous owner 2 days back....

Yup...and lovin' every sec of it...nearly got the RT until the oppurtunity presented itself...you will luv the GS given ur riding style...the '08 GS has traction control(ASC) and electronic suspension (ESA) tho 4kg heavier

R1200GS Presskit... http://www.motorcycles.bmw.com.au/common_content/motorcycles/assorted_content/R_1200_GS_presskit.pdf

2008 R1200GS

http://www.sjbmw.com/bike.asp?VehicleID=97

http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/9403/2008bmwr1200gsleftsidewe6.jpg

http://img274.imageshack.us/img274/335/steedside028uf.th.jpg

Do what u want when ur ALONE...ride hard...take chances...die young n' leave a good looking corpse...

Aaaah, that's refreshing to hear. Hmmm, so the maintenance wise is similar to other types of rides? Any workshops besides PML provide original BMW parts?

I think most of not all shops will order the Beemer parts from PML, save for stuff like filters, plugs etc. Get the parts yourself from PML; it's no fuss and well documented. BMW may be famed for it's reliability but that does not mean maintenance free.

Frankly I think my runner is more reliable than any BMW i own. :cheeky:

Happy New Year, guys.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

I think most of not all shops will order the Beemer parts from PML, save for stuff like filters, plugs etc. Get the parts yourself from PML; it's no fuss and well documented. BMW may be famed for it's reliability but that does not mean maintenance free.

Frankly I think my runner is more reliable than any BMW i own. :cheeky:

Happy New Year, guys.

Cat

Thanx for the info, man!! PML has to be a reliable agent if not I believe BMW would not have chosen them to be the official distributor in SG. Btw, are there any workshops in the east which are handy with Beemer rides? Hahaha... that goes without saying, man, but BMW is a class of it's own. Haha, not fair to compare your Runner with a Beemer in terms of maintenance :angel: . I agree that a Runner is ideal for daily commution as compared to BMW thus the lower maintenance :cheeky: . Still, the feeling must be majestic to be on a Beemer.

As with all mechanical devices, proper use is just as important as proper care. My ol GS12, the 2nd batch in Singapore is now with its 3rd owner and has covered many rough miles while being ridden hard. And I am glad to know that its still running with teutonic efficiency cause I still get to see the ol girl at every kopi session http://s3.amazonaws.com/advrider/naughty.gif

Cheers Guys, enjoy the ride.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

... Btw, are there any workshops in the east which are handy with Beemer rides?

I'll recommend Alan of Perfection Motors, at Blk 1044 Eunos Ave 1. Good mechanic.

There is also M-Technic at Paya Ubi.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

tats not true.... haha if we require a clutch change every 10000km, all beemer riders will be very very poor people... cos clutch change cost abt 1.5k

no worries... the clutch will last u easily 80,000 to 100000km cheers..

just my 2 cents.. im also a beemer newbie :p

S$1.5k for clutch plate change, wow, that's very expensive.

That's the price for half a Honda Wave. What about other makes? Is clutch plate replacement necessary for the same type of bike (Sports Tourer), like FJR, VFR, STX and etc... at 80k to 100k km?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Greetings Beemerinos!! I'm planning on getting the new F800GS or the R1200GS soon. Since it will be my first time ever to own a BMW ride, what are the things I should look out for in maintenance especially for boxer engine? Is it true that every 10,000km requires a clutch plate replacement for the Beemer rides? Heard it from a few not-so-reliable people... hee hee heee...

I don't know about the current models, but I rode a R1100R for 6 years. The clutch plate replacement for the R1100 series is well documented in several R1100 websites. If you do a lot of half-clutch riding, and I mean a lot, then it may last for about 20k. When I ride my R last time, I used to just move off and quickly change to second gear. I also "pre-pressure" the gear before I pull in the clutch. This would lengthen clutch plate life and ensure a smooth shift without false neutrals. Just some quirkiness that most would get used to after a while. I think the transmission for the current models had improved though.

$1.5 to $2k for the clutch plate replacement is mainly for labour. The plate is quite cheap. And you would be adviced to change the oil seal too since you had paid so much to dismantle the engine.

BTW, when I sold my bike at more than 60k km of mileage, there was zero engine or transmission problems. BMW engines are very reliable. But there are problems here and there with electronics, and these kicks in about 4th year of my ownership of the bike. The recent revamp on the wiring in BMW bikes would, hopefully, have addressed these issues.

I think if you are opting for the F800GS, then you would not need to worry as the transmission will not be the "dry" type.

1992: Suzuki GN125

1995: Suzuki Intruder 400

2000: BMW R1100R

2006: Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low

2008: BMW F800ST

2011: BMW R1200R Classic (still riding)

2015: Harley Davidson Low Rider