Originally posted by SDR@Feb 28 2005, 09:51 PM

Dont a bit lah, more, more, more, then i treat all of u BKT lah. :cheeky:

Ok ok I try :smile:

Originally posted by koma@Feb 28 2005, 05:58 PM

orh ok thanks for the info. btw gs1200 that seat chua is using is a new 1 he bought or a repacking of the old seat. i like the looks n usefullens of that seat cause when takin corners will not slide back into the seat n easier for u 2 shift ur weight on the bike

Cant rememeber if its a new one though :cheeky:

But at least now I know what is the gd point abt it when taking corners :smile:

Originally posted by gregwhite@Feb 28 2005, 12:42 AM

Hello

I just got in here after reading as guest user. You guys seem very knowledgable about this BMW motorcycles. I was wondering if you guys can comment about this BMW motorcycle R1150GS Adv. There's talk about R1200GS, R1150GS,R1100GS and R100GS. How about make a comparison, I want to get this motorcycle but it seems very limited here.

BTW GS1200 and Cyclop nice ride you have there.

Hello Greg, welcome :smile:

Abt being knowledgeable, I guess I m the least technically knowledgeable. However, if u dont mind, i can share with u my experience n oso the info I learnt from Chua of M-Tech n various GS riders. With my limited knowledge n experience:

1. GS1100

The GS11 is the most value for $ GS cos the price is now pretty stable n the downside is oso limited.

Its is oso the most affordable Beemer for u to try out before u decide on something newer n/or higher value.

Best to buy those tat r from year 97' onwards as most problems had been ironed out.

Gear ratio suppose to be better and faster than GS1150 but frankly this is wat i was told cos only tried the GS11.5 short distance.

Like the Clutch cos its by cable so easily replaceable.

Top speed max out at 185km/h stock. Best cruising speed travelling constantly for 2 hrs is between 140 - 160km/h depending on luggage.

Common problem is the hall sensor (dont ask me to explain cos i only know if damaged, bike is dead as a horse). But problem can be minimised if replacements are done every 2 yrs (no guarantee though) Cost is $400 for the part. labour varies.

Another problem is the starter motor which acts up when approaching 5 yrs of age. Can replace with recon ones which cost abt $250 but no guarantee on lifespan. New one will cost u $700 excluding labour.

Major replacement needed would be the clutch plate if bike had clocked over 100,000km. However, this is subjective as it depends on rider style.

2. GS1150

6th gear overdrive better for fuel consumption and smoother ride.

Comes with hydraulic clutch and very nice instruments housing. Hazard light switch relocated to clutch side for easy access than on the speedo instrument panel.

Bigger windshield.

Anodised Fork Tubes look better in my opinion.

Nicer sounding exhaust.

Have approved aftermkt pipes.

Paint on Magnesium Valve Cover of earlier batches from 99 - 01 will start to pop up.

Same other problems as GS11.

Deemer headlights.

Recently bikes from 99 - 01 have been showing ABS problems. Always diagnosed as ABS unit failure and may cost $3000 to replace. However if lucky, resetting can cure the flashing.

Ok. Tats all I know:smile:

juz dropped my gs juz now for 1st time in jb, forgot to put side stand..doohh~~!!

lucliky still manage 2 pick it up as it was 3/4 on the way dwn, onli tins damaged were my crashbars which now hav the lower part of thw paint scrapped off(dun knoe wan 2 diy spray n cover it up myself or not) n my pride :p knn...sibeh long nber so kelong olredi leh :p at least now i knoe if anytin happen i can still pick it up by myself no probs~~juz 2 add on wat gs1200 said bout gs1100 n 1150. the 1100 is more torquey compared to the 1150 havin test riden bth machiones myself bfore.

juz finished reading micheal fong's A Tankful Of Time. though readin it for the 2nd time still enjoyed the book veri much makes u wan 2 juz do wat he did. tis was after reading ewan mcgregor's Long Way Round n next up would Ted Simon's A Jupiters Travel. Anyone who wants 2 borrow the 2 books juz feel free 2 ask me k ;)

Originally posted by thangmo@Feb 28 2005, 08:51 PM

Dear SDR,

I totally agree wif you.Each individual has their own opinions over the type of bikes that they ride and they have specific reasons as to why they own their beloved stallions.As matured riders,we should take people's comments with a pinch of salt and not fuel any unnecessary arguements.

The point is I don't see why we should hem and haw over trivial issues.

In fact,nobody called anybody stupid.Some people just commented that it is just crazy to be spending that kinda money over a bike.Anyway,it's just a casual remark.Why take it seriously?There are at least a few dozen people out there who spent hundreds of thousand of dollars on cars.Does that make them stupid?

I am not frustrated and never depressed.I am an easy going person and that's why I need to clear some misunderstandings.I myself have ridden the BMW and quite pleased with the performance although a little slow for an 1100.Everybody is entitled to voice their views,right?Dun tell me you gonna be pissed with me for saying the BMW is a little slow?Some facts just have to be accepted.

I strongly believe that all misunderstandings started from miscommunication between two parties.Messages conveyed thru a 3rd party might have been edited with the actual facts and added with something more interesting.We are human beings afterall.It is always wise to meet up and and solve the problem rather than posting in forums and sending nasty SMS and emails.

As for knowledge derived from books and magazines,I agree that that is the cheapest alternative to owning something to evaluate and at the same time enhances your knowledge.But that does not mean that once you read a book on medicine you can practice as a doctor right?No offence,but some people can talk as if the medicinal world starts from them.All I am asking is to be considerate about other bikers who are not riding BMW's when they are around.I can understand the excitement of getting a new toybut they will not understand what are telelever/paralever and will never be interested coz it's absent from their bikes.We are bikers afterall and who knows that one fine day we may need each other on the road.Whatever bikes,it's still has got two wheels.

I rest my case......Cheers brudder!

Hi Thangmo,

My comments are solely based on my personal experience & opinion and it is not specifically targeting at anyone or any particular group. Hope u understand. I am totally unaware what has happened in any group or any "coffee session" or any form of bias-ness between anybody or any issues/conflicts becos of "career" or "personal feud". My opinions are generally passed not based on any past situations that happened.... I hope u make this clear right?

I feel sad for what u have experienced between any group or any BMW rider or watsoever. When u mention something about this "career" thing and "personal matters". Frankly I also feel this is wrong as well. But I dun see any connection here.

My post was just an opinion. It's not based specifically on BMW riders. Just generally speaking.

For example, There are people as well who rides class 2 bikes who dun hang out with ppl riding class 2B bikes.... It's all boiled down to the same issue again.... Its very general.... Not all people are like that.... I personally dun cherry pick anyone who rides a particular brand or bike. I hang out with anyone! :giddy:

Jealous yes. There are people like that, there are people who ARE NOT like that like yourself or whichever group u are representing who is financially stable. I am not targeting at anyone or group. Then again! What I said was generally speaking. U make it seem that I'm talking about some group... i dun understand... what has spurred u to bring out ur justifications for my post after i mentioned the word "people jealous". May i asked, is that sentence targeting ur group? I didnt mention any person or group, did I??

Hehehe. Sorry... just wanna clarify my previous post. That post is not targeting at anyone. I'm ignorant about what has happened between u/ur group of friends with anyone here or in any forum. I'm confused. Pls note. Maybe we can have coffee to clarify? Meet me... u will know what kind of person I am...... :smile:

If any of my post has sounded or seem offensive to any person or grp. My apologies.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 1 2005, 02:07 AM

Hi Thangmo,

My comments are solely based on my personal experience & opinion and it is not specifically targeting at anyone or any particular group. Hope u understand. I am totally unaware what has happened in any group or any "coffee session" or any form of bias-ness between anybody or any issues/conflicts becos of "career" or "personal feud". My opinions are generally passed not based on any past situations that happened.... I hope u make this clear right?

I feel sad for what u have experienced between any group or any BMW rider or watsoever. When u mention something about this "career" thing and "personal matters". Frankly I also feel this is wrong as well. But I dun see any connection here.

My post was just an opinion. It's not based specifically on BMW riders. Just generally speaking.

For example, There are people as well who rides class 2 bikes who dun hang out with ppl riding class 2B bikes.... It's all boiled down to the same issue again.... Its very general.... Not all people are like that.... I personally dun cherry pick anyone who rides a particular brand or bike. I hang out with anyone! :giddy:

Jealous yes. There are people like that, there are people who ARE NOT like that like yourself or whichever group u are representing who is financially stable. I am not targeting at anyone or group. Then again! What I said was generally speaking. U make it seem that I'm talking about some group... i dun understand... what has spurred u to bring out ur justifications for my post after i mentioned the word "people jealous". May i asked, is that sentence targeting ur group? I didnt mention any person or group, did I??

Hehehe. Sorry... just wanna clarify my previous post. That post is not targeting at anyone. I'm ignorant about what has happened between u/ur group of friends with anyone here or in any forum. I'm confused. Pls note. Maybe we can have coffee to clarify? Meet me... u will know what kind of person I am...... :smile:

If any of my post has sounded or seem offensive to any person or grp. My apologies.

sAME here, i mix around with all kinds of bikers be they big or small as long 2 wheels we r all of the same family :cheer:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 1 2005, 02:26 AM

I am very disappointed that this thread has become a thread where simple comments and opinions has affected another person or group. There is something more to this.....that has caused this. But err... WHAT?? I'm clueless.....!!!!!!

My long absence from this forum before I started posting here again is caused by people's misconception and misinterpretation many months before. Now that I've started posted again. This happened.

I'm thoroughly disappointed. I realised now it's never good to post any opinion in any Singaporean Forum. This sucks.... this never happens in my foreign forum postings...

I'm stopping my postings....

SDR, Pinglong, Koma, RT, whoever I missed out... here. We keep in touch on email. U guys got my email and no.

Cheers!! SDR remember our ride ya!

Have fun posting!

sure will call u out when u there r outings gabes ;)

alas i hav found the dream outlook of my bike olredi

tis is the overall paintwork but with white n red colour scheme

n tis whole new front end n paris dakar look with the side fairings

top it up with touratech zega 41L panniers on both sides n boy we got a beauty ;)

Originally posted by PL+Feb 28 2005, 05:05 PM-->
QUOTE (PL @ Feb 28 2005, 05:05 PM)
Hey, everyone is entitled to their own opinion on which bike is better.

It's ok if you don't agree with us, just don't be sarcastic towards us just because u don't agree with us. [/b]

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 28 2005, 12:49 PM

This is the colour I hate most......

Alamak, counter productive.....http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/mully.gif Next!!!!

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by koma@Mar 1 2005, 03:09 AM

n tis whole new front end n paris dakar look with the side fairings

I dig this one koma.....excellent choice man http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/clap.gif

Any other pixs that show the complete side profile??

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 28 2005, 09:27 PM

Was watching e video & glad to know tt Randy.M is e Ambassador for Boxer cup, known he was hired to promote S but didnt know they made him as e Amb. From e video, he only rides a small distance, hope to see him race. He is my idol, he wasn't wearing his usual design helmet, he wore that design for 10yrs or more.

I remember that he's a demon in the rain..... there was this GP race, wet track, he got a high side into a right corner, threw him off the bike but be managed to hang onto the handle bars with his body dragging on the left of the bike, bike went off track, onto the grass. he managed to keep it upright, jump back on and finished second or third....... first time I see me dad cheered during a bike race http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol8.gif

The years thunder by.

Guest GS1200

Hey guys, sorry for attracting this unhappiness and disturbance :sweat: Whilst I thought some pple once insisted they had the freedom of speech and would like to share their experience be it good or bad, I understand now that such sharing sessions is unhealthy and attracts unwanted attention.

I think we should just move on and stop fuelling any more debates or justifications cos it will never end until the someone has the final piece. Trust me, I know.

Hey Cyclops, r u considering the mesh grill headlight protectors ?

Hey Koma, I think u have got the master piece :smile: So when can we c it :cheeky: Tink by now u r totally immune to POISONING huh :giddy:

Hey Mystic, call me the next time u come Changi for lunch man :smile:

Originally posted by cyclop@Mar 1 2005, 10:40 AM

Hey brothers, let it go man, it ain't worth it........

We bikers (and I mean all two wheelers, regardless of brand)are already the minority, this internal squabbling will serve us no good....... carry on with such animorsity, EVERYBODY LOOSE....

GSGabes, we're just getting started man........ sigh......

Its a simple thing, 2 wheels, 1 frame, 1 engine and 1 gas tank to get us from here to there, with a little joy in between, and this gotta happen, why?

This is a forum where we share our joy, not fight our wars. If there's something to be done with among individuals, take it outside...... settle it like a man

Ride safe brothers!

Yeah I second that :thumb:

Originally posted by GS1200@Mar 1 2005, 11:05 AM

Hey Cyclops, r u considering the mesh grill headlight protectors ?

Mesh look fierce, but hard to clean. Think I'll go for the one that you're using :thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Mar 1 2005, 11:41 AM

Kelvin Schwantz, wow, forever number plate 34. Super rider as well, BMW really knows how to get riders to promote their S.

Guess thats where all the high markups goes too

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Mar 1 2005, 12:25 PM

http://forums.pelicanparts.com/uploads4/upper+view1106262835.jpg

http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/cooltu.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/cooltu.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/drif.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/drif.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/drif.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Mar 1 2005, 12:31 PM

Sorry, Cyclop, I don't quite agree, price of S is only pricy in Spore, the S in UK less is than 7k, Fazer 1k cost more than 8k. Wonder in UK, the BMW riders think Yamaha riders are proud owners. Hahahaha :cheeky:

Uh huh...... maybe it went into another XXCENSOREDXX then hehehehe http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/mulie.gif

Sorry guys, gotta do some self censorship, being politically insensitive I've been.....http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/bnige.gif

The years thunder by.

Sorry guys,

Irresponsible posting on my part. Decide i should delete it.

I take back my words.... :sorry:

Cyclops, yesh... we have just started....:goodluck:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 1 2005, 12:48 PM

Cyclops, yesh... we have just started....:goodluck:

Hey Bro, GOOD to have you back http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/biggrinbounce2.gif

Now for some big time emoticon abuse.....hehehehe

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by koma@Mar 1 2005, 03:10 AM

top it up with touratech zega 41L panniers on both sides n boy we got a beauty ;)

Yes?!!!!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/friday.gif

http://www.touratech.de/shop/media/01-052-0016-0_I_01.JPG

and Yes!!:

waterproof

The years thunder by.