BMW Motorcycles

Drawmer

Originally posted by Wolfener@Sep 23 2004, 03:54 AM

Ok. I have been riding my BMW for about 3 months now. Here is my review:

Pro:

1) ABS - Good braking system.

2) Suspension - State of the art suspension give you good stabilty and comfort in long ride and cornering.

Con:

1) Electrical sensors problem - One of the most common problem of all BMW bike. cost $400/- to change. Life span according to mechcanic about 50K or 3 years.

2) Parts expansive unlike Japanese bike due to the rise in Euro dollars against Sing Dollars.

Hearsay proof to be wrong:

1) Bike moving to one side due to the boxer engine. Not truth, Travel at 200km/hr at NSE. The bike stable like a rock. Didn't even feel any virbration.

2) Maintance is expensive. Not truth. Below the break down:(price depend on shop, state price only estimation)

a) Engine oil - use mineral as recommand by BMW. pls do not use syn oil. $12/- x 4 bottles ($48). Change every 5000 km

b) Oil filter - about $25/- change after two two oil change

c) Spark Plug - $22/- x 2 Denso Iritium ($44).

So you see each servicing is only about $117/-

Hearsay proof to be correct:

1) BMW bike must be ride consantly otherwise the engine parts with spolit - Truth.

2) Bike might lead to right side when stationary - Truth. but the effect is very minor. you might not even feel it.

Some tips on BMW bike:

1) Never use a hose to wash your BMW bike otherwise the electrical sensor will spolit.

2) Try not to go back to PML to service your bike. You will cry. Some workshop that do service BMW bikes:

a) Stamford Motor at AMK autopoint

b) Bike connection at Sin Ming Autocare

c) Chan's located near Macpherson (Can't remember to shop name, sorry)

hmm... thnx a millions bro... guess sometimes... its oso abit of luck when gettin a new bike... but ur review is kinda a fact n useful... really sincerely appreciate it...

the bike always had a place in my heart... n i believe the performance is there too.. heard alot... seen alot... saw alot.... juz waitin 4 my day... :smile:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

hahhaha ayuluv my bro.... u very greedy ehh... how mani bikes u wan.... hahaha~

u got a Valkyrie Interstate... u also wan a R1200GS.... u den wan a GT200.. whenz ur Valkyrie Rune coming in???? hahhaa~~

Anyway.. ur dreamz make us bikers envious n proud... if buy... no time to ride them out.. u can call mi up u know..?? :cheeky:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by ashenZ@Oct 2 2004, 09:38 AM

hahhaha ayuluv my bro.... u very greedy ehh... how mani bikes u wan.... hahaha~

u got a Valkyrie Interstate... u also wan a R1200GS.... u den wan a GT200.. whenz ur Valkyrie Rune coming in???? hahhaa~~

Anyway.. ur dreamz make us bikers envious n proud... if buy... no time to ride them out.. u can call mi up u know..?? :cheeky:

eh.. no liddat wor... haha... its juz the bikes i like...

n luv as well.. its not impossible to own them.. juz nid some proper plannin... hehe... :cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by ayuluv@Oct 2 2004, 12:12 PM

eh.. no liddat wor... haha... its juz the bikes i like...

n luv as well.. its not impossible to own them.. juz nid some proper plannin... hehe... :cheeky:

AgreEd!~~! :thumb: proper planning and a good fren to help u warm up ur bikes when u cun ride all of them~ :D

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Oct 3 2004, 12:32 AM

AgreEd!~~! :thumb: proper planning and a good fren to help u warm up ur bikes when u cun ride all of them~ :D

haha.. yah yah.. wat GREAT ideas u haf no lehz?? keke...:cheeky:

ayuluv - No worries there is 7 days in a week so 1 day 1 bike and sun rest ......I know one old man in the late 50s who have 7 bikes..... dun know how he manage.

I think this is every bikers dream ........A scooter for city riding - A dual purpose bike for all the adventure - A crusier to pose - A Sports bike for the track n when the urge for speed - A scrambler for those trail rides - A luxury tourer for the comfort of the pillon -

The rest is up to u to choose........

Originally posted by elws@Oct 3 2004, 11:43 PM

ayuluv - No worries there is 7 days in a week so 1 day 1 bike and sun rest ......I know one old man in the late 50s who have 7 bikes..... dun know how he manage.

I think this is every bikers dream ........A scooter for city riding - A dual purpose bike for all the adventure - A crusier to pose - A Sports bike for the track n when the urge for speed - A scrambler for those trail rides - A luxury tourer for the comfort of the pillon -

The rest is up to u to choose........

hey.. bro.. thnx a millions... actually... i really liek to own alot bikes.. one of each type... it will be so shiok... somemore even when one is down for service... u still haf other dear to ride wif... its a morale booster... i am workin towards it too... keke... :lovestruck:

Hello GS1200 owners, anyone of you on board here?? Comments on first impression please. Books and magazine aside, nothing beats the honest opinion from the riders' heart. :thumb:

Cheers!!

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Hey Guys,

Chk out this write-up, excellent stuff. GS & KTM.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54750

http://carlotti.smugmug.com/photos/4651153-M.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Weird man, 160BHP naked bike, really wicked!!

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/jpeg/133/1488795.jpeg

The years thunder by.

hmm.. juz get to really hear the sound of the R1200GS.. idlin is quiet... but when trottle open.. woohooo... sounds really torquy... a gd bike to own.. too bad.. now no more stock.. nid to wait till next shipment arrive... hopefully ard dec 04 - jan 05

shortage ard the world wor.. :lovestruck:

Originally posted by cyclop@Oct 8 2004, 11:35 PM

Having owned a K1200RS and R1100R, you can't compare really compare them against any of the current crop of UJM( Universal Jap motorcycle ). Riding any of them will give a unique experience. I'd still take any of them for scratching, gives u miles of confidence attacking a corner, diveless braking + ABS.

One of the good things to take note is no matter how heavy the beemer is, its a peach to ride ( low CG ) effortless mainstand too.

Among the bad things, BMW has adheres strictly to preventive maintenance, some of the maintenance procedures is unheard of for jap bikes( change clutch must remove shaft and gearbox) and can set you back $$$$. I couldnt keep up with the rolling figures for the maintenance bills. :sian:

Originally posted by Ridox@Oct 16 2004, 11:08 AM

Having owned a K1200RS and R1100R, you can't compare really compare them against any of the current crop of UJM( Universal Jap motorcycle ). Riding any of them will give a unique experience. I'd still take any of them for scratching, gives u miles of confidence attacking a corner, diveless braking + ABS.

One of the good things to take note is no matter how heavy the beemer is, its a peach to ride ( low CG ) effortless mainstand too.

Among the bad things, BMW has adheres strictly to preventive maintenance, some of the maintenance procedures is unheard of for jap bikes( change clutch must remove shaft and gearbox) and can set you back $$$$. I couldnt keep up with the rolling figures for the maintenance bills. :sian:

hmmm.. i strongly agree dat continental bikes mantainence still okie.. but when break down or do full servicin.. gif u a headahce.. but den... they got the style u like.. hehe.. :lovestruck:

saw on ST classifieds yesterday... got a R1150RT 2004 model selling for $33.3K o.n.o

wonder "o.n.o" means wot..... wonder if juz machine price or 2nd hand bike....

Best Sports tourer reviews was said to be R1150RT.... for the rich....

and FJR1300 fo the budget tight.... but well if onli im born rich.....

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Oct 17 2004, 04:13 PM

saw on ST classifieds yesterday... got a R1150RT 2004 model selling for $33.3K o.n.o

wonder "o.n.o" means wot..... wonder if juz machine price or 2nd hand bike....

Best Sports tourer reviews was said to be R1150RT.... for the rich....

and FJR1300 fo the budget tight.... but well if onli im born rich.....

haha.. o.n.o. if i am not wrong.. means or nearest offer... :smile:

Originally posted by ayuluv@Oct 16 2004, 03:13 AM

hmm.. juz get to really hear the sound of the R1200GS.. idlin is quiet... but when trottle open.. woohooo... sounds really torquy... a gd bike to own.. too bad.. now no more stock.. nid to wait till next shipment arrive... hopefully ard dec 04 - jan 05

shortage ard the world wor.. :lovestruck:

Hey Ayuluv,

You managed to see one in action? Great man! Can't wait for the next shipment to arrive.

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by cyclop@Oct 19 2004, 05:46 PM

Hey Ayuluv,

You managed to see one in action? Great man! Can't wait for the next shipment to arrive.

yeah.. its a nice n pretty lady wor... waitin 4 me chance to own one.. is chio man.. haha... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by comics00@Apr 30 2004, 12:37 PM

not that cannot buy BMW lah but think it is over priced, here in Singapore.

check out the price in the region, eg. Aust, u will think twice abt buying anything from performance motor.

I would agree to a certain extent that BMW bikes in sg cost more than certain countries.... But in Thailand itself, a BMW bike cost more than in sg.

I rode a R1150GS b4, just sold it away to a female rider. I must say its 1 bike that I actually love and have so much fun with it. Taking a corner and scraping the crash bar is not wat a normal japanese enduro bike can do.... i guess.... Rode a AT b4, comparatively, though the GS cost higher to maintain but its still better to ride coz the handling is so much better....

Will be considering the R1150RT in the near future....Just my 2cents worth of input...

Originally posted by vincent tan@Oct 20 2004, 05:21 PM

I would agree to a certain extent that BMW bikes in sg cost more than certain countries.... But in Thailand itself, a BMW bike cost more than in sg.

I rode a R1150GS b4, just sold it away to a female rider. I must say its 1 bike that I actually love and have so much fun with it. Taking a corner and scraping the crash bar is not wat a normal japanese enduro bike can do.... i guess.... Rode a AT b4, comparatively, though the GS cost higher to maintain but its still better to ride coz the handling is so much better....

Will be considering the R1150RT in the near future....Just my 2cents worth of input...

agreen with u abt the AT. but come to think abt it, isn't AT a model too old to be compare with:giddy:

do we have any updated / comparable jap bikes in the market?

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by comics00@Oct 20 2004, 05:59 PM

agreen with u abt the AT. but come to think abt it, isn't AT a model too old to be compare with:giddy:

hw abt varadero??? hmm... but still .. i prefer the GS more... cos ... i like it.. hehe... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by comics00@Oct 20 2004, 05:59 PM

dun flame me...

but there are NO comparable jap bikes in the market :sweat:

there's jap bikes... and there's bmw

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

I'm a new rider. Just put down the d/payment for a 6 years old R1100RT after searching/contemplating/thinking/hesitating for 2 months.

After reading all the posts here, I must say it was a mixture of encouragement/discouragement. ha ha. But I saw it, I fell in love with it, and now I've bought it.

Have I tested it? Well, I rode it alone around a carpark when I went to meet the owner. The swaying from side to side when idle is true. After that, requested the owner to bring me along ( I went as pillion) and speed to 100 km/h along AYE just so I can have a feel of it. The owner was very obliging. The ride felt stable and the bike seems willing to go. Didn't sound like it's working very hard. (Why didn't I ride it myself? he he, new rider, scared cannot handle the bike that still belong to someone else at that time). After that, took the plunge, paid the dpayment.

If my loan is approved, I will be one proud owner. As to whether I will face positive or negative experience with it as I start to ride it regularly, I guess I'll never know until I own it. Different people will have different opinions. Different machines of the same model may even behave differently. So, wish me luck, and may I have many many happy and satisfying riding years!

Hope I can meet some new riding friends in here and join u guys in one of your trips. :-)

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

The RT is BMW's best selling touring bike, I'm sure you will have many happy miles on it! :thumb:

I'm eyeing the upcoming R1200RT, with the new 1200cc boxter twin. Should be an interesting new model. In fact, BMW is currently renewing its ageing line of engines, starting with the 650 single, giving it twin sparks. Then the boxter twin in the new GS, lighter and more powerful. Now theres the new inline4 K engine pumping out 160+hp. :D

Now why didn't they do this like 10 years ago? Look at their car's lineup, they can easily come up with an exciting motor that blows all japanese bikes away with performance numbers alone.

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 16 2004, 11:16 PM

Now why didn't they do this like 10 years ago? Look at their car's lineup, they can easily come up with an exciting motor that blows all japanese bikes away with performance numbers alone.

car is a very lucrative market as compared to the bike market. got to focus on ur cash cow. but ain't we all glad that they r finally looking beyond their car market.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

As a BMW rider, i must say that BMW is indeed a prestige brand producing cutting edge bike like the GS leaving the only a few corners in the world for exploring. The very down side and what i hate abt is that SGP PML sales department is their telephone system. Call after call leaving messages for that stupid guy RICK, he refuse to reply after and physical confrontation respond was that he never recieved any calls or messages. I had experience urgent need of spare parts and truly discouraged by their way of aftersales services. Its a sad case of good bikes meets shitty aftersales services.:bouncefire:

There are too many coincidences in life,

Sometimes even a pair of parallel lines meet.