BMW Motorcycles

Drawmer

Hi, where do u get your riding BMW riding gear? Are they evailable at any places other than PML?

Or do u have any recommendations for helmets, jackets, trousers, gloves, etc.?

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

U wun need original BMW touring gears to go with BMW bikes.

They are far too X compare to top brands like dainese spike alpinestar....

But i know of a shop who carry gears of similar design and colour scheme just like the original BMW gears but at a much lower price.

M-Technics is the place.

I forgotten the brand!

There are too many coincidences in life,

Sometimes even a pair of parallel lines meet.

Sorry, but do u have the address for this M-Technics? Can I have it, pls?

I tried searching thru Google and Yahoo, can't find them.

The only entry I can find thru yellowpages.com.sg is this:

M Technic Resources

1 Rochor Canal Rd #05-55 Sim Lim Sq

Tel : 6338 8860

Sim Lim Sq, doesn't seem like a motorcycle gear shop to me.

Thanks to Neo for the encouragement! At first, I was apprehensive whether shd I get the RT becoz it will be the first bike I've ever owned. I thought maybe I shd start small. haha. But what the hell, heck it. ha ha

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

:clap: :clap:

Hope u have fun with ya RT... but would R1150RT be nicer?? will be test riding it tis Sat... will tell u guyz the feedback!~! :smile:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

I'm sure R1150Rt will be nicer. But as a new rider, wouldn't want to have too much heartache if I drop the bike and damage it. Or being vandalised.

Where are you test-riding it? PML? They allow test-ride?

yep.. test ride is allowed... btw... is ur RT a parallel.. or frm Performance??

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

UU found it!!!

That shop mainly deal with enduros and dirt bikes.

It also carries the brand "wunderlich" which mainly covers BMW aftermarket acc...

A shop with lots of goodies!

There are too many coincidences in life,

Sometimes even a pair of parallel lines meet.

Originally posted by tOngEh@Nov 19 2004, 11:52 PM

UU found it!!!

That shop mainly deal with enduros and dirt bikes.

It also carries the brand "wunderlich" which mainly covers BMW aftermarket acc...

A shop with lots of goodies!

where excalty is dat place??? east side??? address sounds abit ulu :cheeky:

do they sell jackets.. gloves.. apparrels n such??

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 16 2004, 11:16 PM

The RT is BMW's best selling touring bike, I'm sure you will have many happy miles on it! :thumb:

I'm eyeing the upcoming R1200RT, with the new 1200cc boxter twin. Should be an interesting new model. In fact, BMW is currently renewing its ageing line of engines, starting with the 650 single, giving it twin sparks. Then the boxter twin in the new GS, lighter and more powerful. Now theres the new inline4 K engine pumping out 160+hp. :D

Now why didn't they do this like 10 years ago? Look at their car's lineup, they can easily come up with an exciting motor that blows all japanese bikes away with performance numbers alone.

hmmm.. true enuff... juz saw a blue R1150RT today while gg to work... he stop beside me... n i say ..."ur bike is coolz.." he smile to me too... haha... he say... urs luk nice also.. but the weather spoild our luks... haha...

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by ayuluv@Nov 20 2004, 06:46 AM

hmmm.. true enuff... juz saw a blue R1150RT today while gg to work... he stop beside me... n i say ..."ur bike is coolz.." he smile to me too... haha... he say... urs luk nice also.. but the weather spoild our luks... haha...

agreEd~! :sian: stoopid weather cramp our style...

But ur interstate really lukz like those BMW curisers or like the Harley Electra Glide... hehhehe~!

but the RT is really one mean touring and commuting machine... cun wait to go down try later... but machiam still raining... :weep: been raining since last nite 11pm till now.....

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

I'll be the 4th owner already. I didn't ask. Why? Does it matter?

But the last owner have been servicing the bike at PML. Changed the parts also at PML.

Originally posted by ashenZ@Nov 19 2004, 05:35 PM

If there's anything u can tell me, hope u can let me know.

Coz I haven't sign the hire/purchase agreement yet.

Just put downpayment only. So, can still back out, don't mind forgoing the dpayment.

I've also done a simple spreadsheet on simple purchase cost calculation.

Feel free to have a look. Any feedback/comments are welcomed..

Hi.. i dun realli know about the cost of BMW bikes.. but heard if its parallel... PML will not service it.. or give any gurantee or anything like dat... Dats wot i heard... since prev owner did all servicing at PML... u can check the records of the bike.. se if there are any major probz or accidents???

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Okie guyz... here's the review of the R1150RT as compared to ST11 riding style:

Bike Comfortability : RT is definitely more comfortable den ST for both rider and pillion.... very layback seating position like a Cruiser... With windscreen full up... wind to minimum, can bring p my visor.. no wind slapping on face at all... i can be talking to my pillion at normal tone for long conversations.. as compared to ST.. wind is hitting my eyes..i have to shout to talk to my pillion n she might not hear mi clearly.. and it got RADIO... was blasting it all the way... feels good lukz better~! :thumb:

Handling/Manuverability : OMG~!~! Handling of a RT is god-sent..... when u corner a RT... its smooth n glides through.. like it got sensors to automatic corner itself... no vibrations.. even tru uneven roads... As compared to ST11.. u have to push the bike down to take corners.. RT u hv to counter it back from turning but.. its juz mental as u negotiate bends with fluid-like swiftness.... when going tru humps n rickety/uneven roads.. u dun feel the jerks n bumps in ur butts or handle bar... super smooth... and the front really doesnt dives at all!@ rebounding n shock damping is simply amazing... Handling is too smooth to describe.... :lovestruck:

Brakes : One of the best i ever tested... usualli for Asian bikes... rear brakes for slow braking... Front brakes for hard... RT is vice versa... u literalli onli need to nudge the front brakes to get super good brakings... and never use ur rear brakes... rear is onli used when u r traveling at high speed coz the braking power it generates is enormous.. i juz lightly tap the rear brake at around 90-100kmph.. the brakes jams hard... super short braking dist.. n my pillion flew right into me... POWER... got for High speed E-braking... or else... lightly tap the front gets u tru all situation... :clap: :clap:

Now to the CONS......

When 1st start the RT.. although engine noise level is very low... humming/hissing..... the vibrations on the handle is significant.more den a ST11 which has loud noise but less vibrations... cun get use to it at 1st.... will get numb probably if u go long dist touring??? :confused:

Riding position to layback for my liking... elbows straighten all the way.. it doesnt have the slightly forward lean like ST or FJR.... machiam small size Goldwing or Cruiser bike... Feels weird to me.. itz siting position defnitely catergorise it in the "Tourer" section and not "Sports Tourer" section...

Power wise.. only 95bhp... less den a ST11.... when merging into an expressway.... hard to push it into the merging traffic unless rev to high rpm... which still seems under power to me... as compared to an ST11... feels slow to me in 1st-5th gear.. 6th gear is good.... vibration strong....

had to get used to their handle bar gadgets as itz not the same as asian bikes...

was disappointed in the luggage spacing... ST11 seems to have taller, wider n longer panniers... For RT when trying to put in a Zeus flip up.... its seems to fill up fully in height and width... with juz a little spacing left in length.. helmet top part kena scratch by the locking as height juz nice.. If put samae helmet in ST11... height n width still got space.. wun scratch helmet.. lengthwise still can stuff a rain coat and bike cover.. n a small bag of barang if squeez to full max... RT's panniers system is really a let down...

One last thing.... RT is overly comfortable... my pillion actualli wanna doze off while seating behind for dat short while of test riding.... RT is overly smooth... actually rather boring... took out the FUN, Adrenaline, Excitment... Wild feeling of biking... and replace it with... comfort.. safe.. n contend??? dunoe if u guyz understand wot im saying.... heheh :sweat:

IF u are buying the BMW bike... 2 best thing u r buying it along is itz super duper powerful n safe braking... u know the dist u r braking at... the brakes gives u feedback.... AND the Telelever/Paralever Suspension system.... super good damping n rebounding... everything kena absorb.. zero nosediving...

RT supposedly selling for SGD$37K+....Din get to try out the Rockster.... but itz supposed to cost $29K....

Hope itz informative enough for you guyz..

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by SDR@Nov 21 2004, 04:50 PM

I am a BMW owner R100R, pre-95, keeping my bike for 6 yrs liao, 2nd owner. 1st owner owns it for 3yrs.

if you are the 4th owner, suggest not to buy. People will keep it if it is good. Try getting a R100GSPD, no 1 will sell you this bike (only 1 real GSPD in spore) & price of this bike subject to bidder, est should be 20k or higher.

Further @ $13000, don't u think it is too cheap to be true. Something must be very wrong with the bike.

For your information, 2nd hand may hv a lot hidden problems, i changed almost everything except engines, wheels, handlebar, oil tanks and all minor things.

My repair cost for 7yrs, total up more than 10k, believe it? Major cost is Changing of gearbox & minor replacement - $4.5k.

Think twice, suggest u get a brand new bike RT and make sure they give u 3yrs warranty.

6 years old. mileage around 80K km. @13K is really too cheap to be true?

Price of a new one is abt 37K. After 6 years, the average depreciation is abt 20K / 6 = 3K plus per year. I thought that looks fair and reasonable.

Originally posted by pinglong@Nov 22 2004, 11:09 AM

6 years old. mileage around 80K km. @13K is really too cheap to be true?

Price of a new one is abt 37K. After 6 years, the average depreciation is abt 20K / 6 = 3K plus per year. I thought that looks fair and reasonable.

Sorry, Depreciation (37-13)/6 = 24/ 6 = 4K per year.

I test rode it around the carpark.

I asked the owner to let me ride pillon with him on AYE, sped all the way to 100km/h. He obliged.

Checked that he services the bike at PML at every 10K (abt).

Overall, I felt good abt the bike. Or is there something else that I couldn't possibly catch just by doing the above? Anything else I can do?

The only thing abt the bike is the undercarriage, somewhere near the exhaust, it's very...black. That's all. But I was told it's normal for bike this age due to heat and dirt over the years.

pinglong - Just my 2 cents worth.

It is all actually on ur luck when u r buying 2nd hand. Some buy with no problems n some buy ard, not even reaching hm the bike breakdown n burnt a hole in the pocket.

The resale value of BMW have drop drastically. 3 yrs back, a 5 yrs old GS cost $17k not neg. Now a 2 to 3 yrs old R1150GS, u can easily get it at $20k neg. With new models coming, the price of R1100 series will definetly go down. I m not surprise if anybody get a gd deal in the second hand market now. A 6 yrs old GS u can easily get it below $10k. So i m not surprise u got ur RT at $13k.

Bascially, dun worry too much abt the bike too much else u will nvr enjoy riding the bike. Since the previous owner had brought the bike to performance to service u should not have much worries. Whatever repair done by performance is warranty for 1 yr including parts. But make sure when u take the bike, have a photo copy of the log card n go down to performance to update ur personal particulars for them to keep track provided if u intend to let them service ur bike. Bear in mind their labour charges KILLS!!!

BMW stands for bring more worries or it can help u bring more womens.

So enjoy the bike! :cheer:

Bring More Women :clap: :clap:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Not too sure abt the Bring More Women part lah. haha.

I think most of them prefers car to bike.

Anyway, that's not the reason I get a bike.

As long as it doesn't Bring More Worries, I'm happy enough.

Well, thank you all for your comments!

Loan has been approved. Doing all the transfer, insurance, etc. now.

Going to take over the bike end of this week. So excited!

Now...time to shop around for riding gear....hahahahahaa

:bounce: :thumb: :smile:

juz rem... u r buying a machine with superb brakes system... and wonderous suspension system.. :thumb: :thumb:

Enjoy ya riDe~!

Live the RIDE.... RydE the LIFE!~~!~! :bouncefire:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Nov 24 2004, 08:37 PM

juz rem... u r buying a machine with superb brakes system... and wonderous suspension system.. :thumb: :thumb:

Enjoy ya riDe~!

Live the RIDE.... RydE the LIFE!~~!~! :bouncefire:

Haha..thanks! I certainly will enjoy the ride! I believe in the bike, despite its age, I believe i will have not much worries with it. Yes, I have faith in all the previous owners. It's such a beauty, they must've taken good care of it. And now, it's my turn.... hahaha

Hey, u must be a veteran rider. Mind if I join you and your friends in one of your riding trips next time? I would like to get to know more riding friends :bouncefire:

yeah!! Live the Ride! Ride the Life! Well said!

hahhaha.. i not veteran.... i young man onli~~! dun mind the crowd... juz join... keep a lookout in trip n thrills loh~ lotsa friendly people around......

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N