roughly how much is needed for the trip??? i set my budget ready...:cheeky:

1 million dollars! *dr evil finger in mouth thing*

i guess it depends on how much activity you wanna do? i spent $700 last year for phuket.. setting aside $400 for fuel and accommodation should be enough.. will update and give more solid numbers at the next meetup! :thumb:

• Replies 24.2k

One of the best trip reports i have read. (and still reading)

Destination - ANGOLA

Why Angola? Because there are no roads, no infrastructure, a place where one is dependent on yourself, no one else. It is where life tastes so much sweeter, because it is not taken for granted. - metaljockey

Link >>> http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=269251

great stuff! :thumb: thanx for sharing brudder!

Got this from one of my club members who in turn got this message from the bike forum. Be wary everyone.

read this article from the bike forum, so post up here to share with all.

while queueing at the customs for our turn to stamp our passports to go

back S'pore,

2 malay guys wearing esso polo tees, probably from the

station where i filled my tank,

approached us and told us that we did not

pay for our petrol

(pls note i've already handed our passports to the

custom officer).

Of cos we told him we paid but the malay guy asked me

for receipt which i cant produce since i don't normally ask from the

counter.

Hearing that, the officer, while holding the passports, refused to let

us go unless we settle the payment.

even after telling them so many times that we paid, they don't let us go,

and asked 1 of us to follow hem back to check the cctv.

of cos we didn't agree and told the officer

to let all of us go back together to check,

he said yes, but have to leave the passports with him as he claimed that he had already stamped

one of our passports,

Rubbish! cos we didn't see him stamp anything.

In the end, my fren, who was rushing back to Singapore decided to just pay

them 'again'and end the problem.

the two guys looked happy as if the trip to look

for us at the custom paid off.

in the end, i paid them 62RM when i only

pumped 56.50RM worth of synergy F1 petrol.

After that, the 2 guys walked

to the officer's booth and shake hands w the officer and the senior,

happily. in front of us man.....

it appears that the staffs at the petrol stations will informed those people

waiting at the customs if

they noticed anyone leaving the station without the receipt.

So bros and sis, pls rem to collect your receipt when paying for

anything, yes anything there

2016-now GSA 1200 / Touran

2013-2015 Super 10 / Touran

2012-2013 GS1150 / Touran

2009-2012 Vara 1k / Stream 1.8

2008-2009 ST11 / Stream 1.8

2006-2008 Vara 125 / Sunny 1.5

2005-2006 Galant VRG 1.8

2002-2005 Elantra 1.5 (TD04)

1998-2002 Toyota starlet 1.0

Interesting article I read....

Fill up your car or truck in the morning when the temperature is still cool . Remember that all service stations have their storage tanks buried below ground; and the colder the ground, the denser the gasoline. When it gets warmer gasoline expands, so if you're filling up in the afternoon or in the evening, what should be a gallon is not exactly a gallon. In the petroleum business, the specific gravity and temperature of the fuel (gasoline, diesel, jet fuel, ethanol and other petroleum products) are significant. Every truckload that we load is temperature-compensated so that the indicated gallonage is actually the amount pumped. A one-degree rise in temperature is a big deal for businesses, but service stations don't have temperature compensation at their pumps.

If a tanker truck is filling the station's tank at the time you want to buy gas, do not fill up; most likely dirt and sludge in the tank is being stirred up when gas is being delivered, and you might be transferring that dirt from the bottom of their tank into your car's tank.

Fill up when your gas tank is half-full (or half-empty), because the more gas you have in your tank the less air there is and gasoline evaporates rapidly, especially when it's warm. (Gasoline storage tanks have an internal floating 'roof' membrane to act as a barrier between the gas and the atmosphere, thereby minimizing evaporation.)

If you look at the trigger you'll see that it has three delivery settings: slow, medium and high. When you're filling up do not squeeze the trigger of the nozzle to the high setting. You should be pumping at the slow setting, thereby minimizing vapors created while you are pumping. Hoses at the pump are corrugated; the corrugations act as a return path for vapor recovery from gas that already has been metered. If you are pumping at the high setting, the agitated gasoline contains more vapor, which is being sucked back into the underground tank, so you're getting less gas for your money.

2016-now GSA 1200 / Touran

2013-2015 Super 10 / Touran

2012-2013 GS1150 / Touran

2009-2012 Vara 1k / Stream 1.8

2008-2009 ST11 / Stream 1.8

2006-2008 Vara 125 / Sunny 1.5

2005-2006 Galant VRG 1.8

2002-2005 Elantra 1.5 (TD04)

1998-2002 Toyota starlet 1.0

Just to clarify since some of you asked me about it, the $220 is for each mainstand or crashbar. So if you're getting both, its a total of $440. Downpayment, for either 1, will br $66. For both, $132.

The price, as mentioned, could still be lowered depending on the shipping costs. If its lowered again, it will be deducted from the balance you have to pay when you collect your item from the shop.

Anyway, I'm going down to Biketech tmr, if any of you want to transfer the downpayment to me first, I can settle for you first tmr.

For transfer of money, please transfer to POSB Savings 194-31450-7. Do contact me once you transferred so I can check.

00. psyk [H&B / SW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstand / Arrow Exhaust] confirmed (H/P:93865095)

01. idun69 [sW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstand]

02. kerolz [sW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstan]

confirmed[/i] (H/P:94527643)

03. paradigm [sW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstand ]

04. JunyahRebel [sW Motech Mainstand & Crashbar] cnfmed, transfer end-of-oct. tel: 90833381

05. Rudinko [sW Motech Mainstand / Arrow Pipe]

06. sandman_ee [sW Motech Crashbar] confirmed 98455312 transferred:$66

07. RaZiD [sW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstand] confirmed, but can only transfer the cash end of this month.

08. Redir [sW Motech Crashbar / Arrow Pipe] TBC

Hi bro, you can add me to the list.

i am intrested in the mainstan & crashbar.

i should be able to do the transfer today, i'll msg you once dnoe.

Thanks for your effort :)

Just to clarify since some of you asked me about it, the $220 is for each mainstand or crashbar. So if you're getting both, its a total of $440. Downpayment, for either 1, will br $66. For both, $132.

The price, as mentioned, could still be lowered depending on the shipping costs. If its lowered again, it will be deducted from the balance you have to pay when you collect your item from the shop.

Anyway, I'm going down to Biketech tmr, if any of you want to transfer the downpayment to me first, I can settle for you first tmr.

For transfer of money, please transfer to POSB Savings 194-31450-7. Do contact me once you transferred so I can check.

00. psyk [H&B / SW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstand / Arrow Exhaust] confirmed (H/P:93865095)

01. idun69 [sW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstand]

02. kerolz [sW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstan]

confirmed[/i] (H/P:94527643)

03. paradigm [sW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstand ]

04. JunyahRebel [sW Motech Mainstand & Crashbar] cnfmed, transfer end-of-oct. tel: 90833381

05. Rudinko [sW Motech Mainstand / Arrow Pipe]

06. sandman_ee [sW Motech Crashbar] confirmed 98455312 transferred:$66

07. RaZiD [sW Motech Crashbar / SW Motech Mainstand] confirmed, but can only transfer the cash end of this month.

08. Redir [sW Motech Crashbar / Arrow Pipe] TBC

is there anyone still interested in the arrow pipe... short of one more person to get a better price...

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb161/rudinko/15-1.jpg
1 million dollars! *dr evil finger in mouth thing*

i guess it depends on how much activity you wanna do? i spent $700 last year for phuket.. setting aside $400 for fuel and accommodation should be enough.. will update and give more solid numbers at the next meetup! :thumb:

ok... should be not much actitvity for mi ba... quite budget... haha...:cheeky:

is there anyone still interested in the arrow pipe... short of one more person to get a better price...

if only i'd known about this 3 months ago... already mod-ed my pipe bro.... kerolz might be interested? :p

None but the brave deserve the fair

My SERIOUS Rides:

WR 200 : Dec 2000 til Dec 2010

Varadero 125 : Feb 2007 til Dec 2009

XR450R : Dec 2008 til Jun 2011

BMW R1200GSA : Nov 2010 til present

BMW G450X : Dec 2010 til present

hi guys.. i need to change my tyre and im in a dilema.. donno which one to choose.. metzeler lasertec or pirelli scorpion.. can u guys give me some pointers?? :giddy:

http://i847.photobucket.com/albums/ab31/mufarridun/395467_10151281899004118_1083329383_n_zps4299baea.jpg

You Will Bring Me Everywhere I Wanna Go :lovestruck:

thanx brudder.. really nice getting to know you and to learn of your jedi master-like knowledge on paints, sanding and all!
hey happy to share wat i have mate :thumb:

another piece of info i'd like to share...

went to JB yesterday, met a friend at a petrol station. This dude has very 'tight' connections with a bike shop in JB itself. And by 'tight' connections, i mean he sends a lot of bikes there for spraying, he's something like a walking billboard of sorts. He gave an unofficial quote to spray WHOLE (fairing, tank and sideboards) varadero XL 125 V :

RM $120

He was riding a CBR 400, which was just sprayed with his own design. He paid just RM$200 plus. I was VERY skeptical, but decided to take his number and arrange for him to bring me to the shop to get an OFFICIAL quote. He gave details such as "u design your own 'cutting', or if want to use stickers, u buy your own... tell them how to paste and they do for you. Or, they spray first, then u come and paste stickers yourself, then they lacquer finish it for you." Apparently this is done over 3 days.

saves the trouble of DIY-ing under my block huh?:p done very professionally, i must say... but, i'm still all set to help anyone do minor patch-ups :thumb: for the larger scale stuff, let me go to the shop and get the details iron-ed out.

AlanWong> i still waiting for your pics bro! u ask professional photographer to take is it? :faint: lol...

winim and everyone else who wants patching up to be done>> this coming weekend saturday and sunday (27th & 28th) i'll have the sprays and equipment ready! Project DIY time perhaps? let me know... :cool:

My SERIOUS Rides:

hi guys.. i need to change my tyre and im in a dilema.. donno which one to choose.. metzeler lasertec or pirelli scorpion.. can u guys give me some pointers?? :giddy:

dude! yr frend selling his bike, u exchange rear tire with him la. :p IF its still new... :cheeky:

then u jus have to buy one front tire only :faint:

dunlop arrowmax SUCKS!!!!

skidded yesterday! lucky wasnt going that fast.... managed to control n not fall.

yesh yesh, someone giv some info on tyres... mine also going going going gone soon...

thanks, idun69 for reminding! :thumb:

My SERIOUS Rides:

pirelli scorpion tyres sucks too u know. but wat to do, its the stock tyres. so have to bear with it till its really run out and then get it changed. i skidded a few times esp when its raining. so my advice is, u can change to any tyre but when it comes to raining day and the road is slippery pls dun ever think of speeding cos u might not know what will come out in front you to cause you to jam brake and skid. jus an advice.

well dis is juz my point of view... im using da pirelli scorpion.. so far so gd..

its served me well during da rain or shine... i tink da metzeler shud be ok oso... wad matters more is how da rider rides his bike.. if he rides aggressively, den different outcome.. but im a safe rider.. but i dun ride that slow thou... dats my 2 cents worth...

To ride, its a privilege. So treasure it.

dude! yr frend selling his bike, u exchange rear tire with him la. :p IF its still new... :cheeky:

then u jus have to buy one front tire only :faint:

dunlop arrowmax SUCKS!!!!

skidded yesterday! lucky wasnt going that fast.... managed to control n not fall.

yesh yesh, someone giv some info on tyres... mine also going going going gone soon...

thanks, idun69 for reminding! :thumb:

eh ur rite la dude!! haha.. but provided i wanna change to metzeler la.. i dont like to use diff set of tyres combination la..

http://i847.photobucket.com/albums/ab31/mufarridun/395467_10151281899004118_1083329383_n_zps4299baea.jpg

went to JB yesterday, met a friend at a petrol station. This dude has very 'tight' connections with a bike shop in JB itself. And by 'tight' connections, i mean he sends a lot of bikes there for spraying, he's something like a walking billboard of sorts. He gave an unofficial quote to spray WHOLE (fairing, tank and sideboards) varadero XL 125 V :

RM $120

He was riding a CBR 400, which was just sprayed with his own design. He paid just RM$200 plus. I was VERY skeptical, but decided to take his number and arrange for him to bring me to the shop to get an OFFICIAL quote. He gave details such as "u design your own 'cutting', or if want to use stickers, u buy your own... tell them how to paste and they do for you. Or, they spray first, then u come and paste stickers yourself, then they lacquer finish it for you." Apparently this is done over 3 days.

saves the trouble of DIY-ing under my block huh?:p done very professionally, i must say... but, i'm still all set to help anyone do minor patch-ups :thumb: for the larger scale stuff, let me go to the shop and get the details iron-ed out.

AlanWong> i still waiting for your pics bro! u ask professional photographer to take is it? :faint: lol...

winim and everyone else who wants patching up to be done>> this coming weekend saturday and sunday (27th & 28th) i'll have the sprays and equipment ready! Project DIY time perhaps? let me know... :cool:

if its really that cheap im interested bro!! dont wanna trouble u or myself to spray the bike la.. juz let the professional deal wit it...

RM $120

do count mi in man...

RM $120

yo... was kindly busy...:cheeky: Anyway can u give me the address of the spray shop at JB? is it at ah hua lane? Thanks...:cheeky:

August 2006 ~ April 2009 - Varadero XL125V2

April 2009 ~ June 2010 - Super 4 Spec 3 (c/w Yoshimura Exhaust Pipe)

July 2010 ~ April 2014 - B.M.W.

April 2014 ~ October 2015 - Kawasaki Ninja 400r

October 2015 ~ Current - BMW R1200GSA LC

yo... was kindly busy...:cheeky: Anyway can u give me the address of the spray shop at JB? is it at ah hua lane? Thanks...:cheeky:

ah hua? or do you mean ah kwa lane? the one with all the bike workshops with 'models' (bapoks) walking around? :faint:

i dun really know the address... soon as he brings me there, will get the address and price. should be by this coming week. i top up twice a week anyway...

My SERIOUS Rides:

Im using Metzeler Lasertec. I would say its really good road tyres. Grip is great. Would be changing mine soon too (if i have the time) . Would stick to Lasertec.

Four Wheels Move The Body

Two Wheels Move The Soul

Reines Fahrendes Vergnügen

Im using Metzeler Lasertec. I would say its really good road tyres. Grip is great. Would be changing mine soon too (if i have the time) . Would stick to Lasertec.

hi wai can tell me where u go to get the lasertec?? n how much did u spent to get it change?? n wats the size that u use front n rear.. sorry i ask so much question.. :p

ah hua? or do you mean ah kwa lane? the one with all the bike workshops with 'models' (bapoks) walking around? :faint:

i dun really know the address... soon as he brings me there, will get the address and price. should be by this coming week. i top up twice a week anyway...

should be ah hua lane as my friend told me the street name... this week will not be free. I only top up once a week on sat night at JB. so update me the address. see ya...

August 2006 ~ April 2009 - Varadero XL125V2

April 2009 ~ June 2010 - Super 4 Spec 3 (c/w Yoshimura Exhaust Pipe)

July 2010 ~ April 2014 - B.M.W.

April 2014 ~ October 2015 - Kawasaki Ninja 400r

October 2015 ~ Current - BMW R1200GSA LC

heyya bro, do u top up often on sat nites? maybe i can join u? Anione else topup on FRI or SAT nites? http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/smilies/icon-thumbsup.gif

i wud love to join oso for top up on fri or sat nite.. i usually go tue nite wit my fren.. but cannot tahan la next day werking.. :sian: but u guys go by second link or wdlands??