To all the bros and sis out there, i wonder if anyone has encounter this very same situation as me. Here's the scenario:

Mr (A) bought a bike from me, we had a private agreement for the (A) to pay me the bike in 2-3 seperate installments, upon full payment, (A) is to get his own insurance and thus do the transfer of ownership at LTA. That's around 4 months ago and payment of the bike is completed. Since (A) has paid me full payment i'm starting to pressurize him to transfer the bike because he's still under subrider. Till today he can't be contacted and my insurance is ending at 2-3 months time. Which means if he's caught riding with expired insurance and my license will be revoked too.. What can i do in the meantime when he can't be contacted? Can I

:Renew my insurance for him to use - i think only a fool will do this..

:Not renew my insurance/call insurance company to contact him

:Or to deregister the bike since i have the logcard and documents and hope that whatever happens to him or the bike, its none of my business?

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated :cheer:

AMG Mercedes - The combination of Speed and Luxury

Feb 2004 ~ June 2004 - 1994 Cagiva Mito Mk2

Nov 2004 ~ April 2005 - 1995 Aprilia RS125 Extrema

Mar 2006 ~ Jan 2007 - 1993 Cagiva Mito Mk2

Mar 2005 ~ May 2008 - 1994 Cagiva Mito EVO

JuL 2007 ~ JuL 2008- 1993 Honda Civic EG8

Dec 2006 ~ JuL 2010- 1997 Aprilia RS250

JuL 2008 ~ ? - 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX

JuL 2010 ~ ? - 2005 Yamaha R6

• Replies 16

Hmm..from what I know. Legally the bike is still yours cos bike, log card, insurance all is your name. So you can be a *beep* and just take the bike back and act blur about any private agreement or payment. Provided you know where the bike is and have a key. But you're not one so I don't think it's a good option.

w y x m m

Originally posted by amgm125@January 03, 2007 12:23 am

To all the bros and sis out there, i wonder if anyone has encounter this very same situation as me. Here's the scenario:

Mr (A) bought a bike from me, we had a private agreement for the (A) to pay me the bike in 2-3 seperate installments, upon full payment, (A) is to get his own insurance and thus do the transfer of ownership at LTA. That's around 4 months ago and payment of the bike is completed. Since (A) has paid me full payment i'm starting to pressurize him to transfer the bike because he's still under subrider. Till today he can't be contacted and my insurance is ending at 2-3 months time. Which means if he's caught riding with expired insurance and my license will be revoked too.. What can i do in the meantime when he can't be contacted?

He has paid you for the bike in full, yet the bike is still in your name ? What a deal :cheer: :cheer:

Hahas, Yes he paid the bike in full but its still under my name. Well, he's been living off my insurance, which is abt to end in 2-3 months time. I am not goin to renew for his sake, and its like either hes avoiding me and totally cannot be contacted. I dun think he want to be caught riding with an expired insurance haha.

plasticblackspecs: Yes i have all the original documents and e original key.

Hahas, Yes he paid the bike in full but its still under my name. Well, he's been living off my insurance, which is abt to end in 2-3 months time. I am not goin to renew for his sake, and its like either hes avoiding me and totally cannot be contacted. I dun think he want to be caught riding with an expired insurance haha.

plasticblackspecs: Yes i have all the original documents and e original key.

don't worry too much amg bro, firstly he is riding he bike. So as u noe, if he kena summon for riding without a valid insurance, u are not affected. Secondly, if u wanna play his backside u can lodge a report about this.. But it'll be troublesome and unworthy of all the effort later on.

knock on his doors and give him a piece of your mind.. just a piece..

Keep the rubber side down'

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z163/skiddie67/signature-1.jpg

Aren't you tempted to just go take back your bike?

Officially on paper, its yours. :cheeky:

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

2007 - Daelim Daystar 125

2008/2009 - Piaggio X9 500

2017 - Triumph Speed Triple 1050

Legally, the bike is still yours. And if he gets caught riding YOUR bike without a valid insurance, you'll sadly be implicated as well. So best is to try to contact him, email, sms, call his phone, call his home, go his house stick paper or splash paint(juz kidding). Which ever way you can to get hold of him. Best is to grab hold of a family member of his and pass a message, get the person to sign reciept of the message.

Tell him that if he does not contact you by so n so date, den you'll make a police report. Cover your ass properly.... Don't lose your licence over a few k..... Not worth the trouble.

Originally posted by Xenophobia07@January 05, 2007 12:06 pm

Aren't you tempted to just go take back your bike?

Officially on paper, its yours. :cheeky:

Hey, xeno i think i saw u before, judging from your bike pic on ur siggy. I think i saw u once riding near paya lebar in army smart 4 hahas:smile:

Back to the topis, after countless times of calling,smsing and even msning the sub rider i can't seem to contact him..instead of kena pull down by him riding w/o insurance on my bike i will find ways to tow e bike or just to report to the police man..as stolen..but police will find it funny as a case of bike kena stolen by sub rider????? :giddy:

bro, i would suggest u look him up at his current address lah.

if he was out to con u he would not have made full payment leh.assuming he got the bike from u at the first payment that is.

for all u know he may be outstation,detention barrack, or worst in jail:giddy:

if u know where the bike is ,take it back for safe keeping,keep away from trouble

let him look for u instead and do the transfer proper :smile:

Well, that's why my main reason is not regarding the payment. He's in NS thus i understand that i am not able to contact him. But during the weekends his hp is on and he kept ignoring my sms,msn and calls. If he can't do the transfer now at least tell me or so la, i am irritated and angry because he just totally avoids me. Well, i am already being mr nice guy to let him continue use my insurance all the way instead on cancelling it and getting back some $.

But once what if he's still uncontactable when my insurance expires? No more mr nice guy le man.

Maybe he left his comp on and am in camp and out field? Give it awhile first and see how? Maybe drop him a friendly sms saying that insurance is expiring soon and you dun wanna renew your side and you need him to do the transfer cos if not he also cannot ride.

Anyway he already paid you for the bike, I doubt he'll wanna cheat you of that bit of money for transfer fee and insurance. If he really wanna bluff you he will say do all the transfer and say pay you installment then take the bike and run after maybe 1st or 2nd payment.

w y x m m

Well, since he has paid for the bike i understand he have no reason to cheat me. I am only worried he's still riding the bike when the insurance has expired, and that's when i might kena 1 big time!. At the meantime i would allow him to ride till nearing the expiring date and some more friendly sms. If by then still cannot be contacted i really lan lan no choice but to cancel insurance make police report bike stolen le.:giddy:

Note: Till today he's still can't be contacted. :giddy:

bro.. i have d same situatn.. i am so temptd to take back.. the guy owes me 400 plus but the ownership is under me.. i feel like taking it back and actblur.. hes been very rude to me. after we exchange bike.. however his bike has since been sold off and his bike is my bike.. wat shuld i do.. he is delaying the installment to me..by 2 weeks.. and cant contact him

Bro i understand your situation, Since i can't contact him, I send him some friendly sms first, stating things like if insurance finish i cancel ah or make report blah blah, in the end he contacted me and I've just transferred the bike ownership.

But as in your case, Send him come friendly sms first, since the bike is under your name, you should have all the original documents etc. If really LL no choice cannot contact ur buyer your bike is as good as lost. Give him some timeframe to respond first,after that you can either cancel ur insurance or make a report.:goodluck:

good to hear your problem solved bro, see friendly is the way to go

but to those who wants to do transfer this way