SBF Silverwings Cafe 2008 - JDM/Euro 400/600

CCK

where did u go to do the PA2 + 4 point grounding & how much?

did it at equipment extreme at depot lane for $134 (distributor, look for elson) becoz open on sunday; jackye at tai hin also charging $134 (maybe its controlled pricing)

other dealers... http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=113321

was at autobacs (bt batok) and saw a set of voltage stabiliser + grounding kit going on promotion for about $76. tempted to use that but alas, dunno whether it can be used for bikes or not + lazy to DIY (they only do fitting for cars) :p

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

• Replies 6.4k

replies in green...

Hi guys, I'm currently riding Phantom TA200 and is intending to get a new SWing soon... I simply liked the space for this bike~

1) Any idea wat 400cc SWing models are currently commonly available in the market? :cheeky:

new bikes (corrected)... only euro FJS400 (other than parallel imports)

used bikes (corrected)... 400cc/600cc, euro & jap (think 600cc is JDM)

2) Roughly how much does it cost? Which are the shops that I can approach to get a good price? :cheeky:

new bikes (corrected) OTR... $12k+ to $13k+ depending on age, insurance type, loans/fees, etc

think cheapest deal is at bike pro (but gotta watch out for all the "addables", sometimes quite frustrating)

others i approached are looi's, mah

3) Are there any differences btw the past models and current model? :sian:

new bikes (corrected) ... still selling 2007 production, heard from boon siew salesman that 2007 & 2008 production same

used bikes (corrected) ... think euro & jdm got some minor physical & performance differences

4) Err... I'm like quite interested to join you all in the outing if any... Need any criteria? :p

criteria??? i also waiting for SWing gathering :angel:

but i'm going for the SBF Kukup Trip - 6 Apr 08 (Open To All Classes Of Bikes) (http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/misc/multipage.gif 1 2 3 ... Last Page) ... seems quite spectacular coz near 40 bikes going

Thanks for the attention... I'm like a total newbie for Scooters... :angel:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Time will tell when you monitor te fuel consumption.

Cos when I read the review, many claimed better consumption rate.

Where is the unit secured?

Very secured, ie any rattling sound when moving?

Any drilling or holes for the cabling?

fitted PA2 + 4 point grounding this afternoon. did feel the bike a little lighter n faster :clap:

hope it isn't post-spending self-justification syndrome ... we'll see :cheeky:

Why are people who ride motorcycles called bikers and people who ride bikes called cyclists?

nicely said..... where are the old birds? muahhahaha

old ones .... 400/600 JDMs... newer ones ie

oops... pardon me for the wrong choice of words... corrected :cheeky:

~

Trips:

replies in green...

I went to Looi's just now... Mr Lee quoted me a price higher than B.P... Then the interest is also 1% higher than B.P... Plus, B.P is willing to take my current bike at about 1.2K... But, Mr Lee throw in a helmet, raincoat and bike cover, plus $100 to install a box... Sounds tempting... But 1% higher interest plus $400 higher quote seemed to be the push factor...:sian:

So... I'm still thinking to give Mr Lee the business anot...o_O

Suggestions bros? :cheeky:

~It's Not About Winning, It's About Giving Your Best~

Oh ya, I'm also interested in the Kukup trip... But have something on... So I'll look forward to the next one once my SWing comes in April... =)

Till then, pls enjoy yourselves everyone!

I went to Looi's just now... Mr Lee quoted me a price higher than B.P... Then the interest is also 1% higher than B.P... Plus, B.P is willing to take my current bike at about 1.2K... But, Mr Lee throw in a helmet, raincoat and bike cover, plus $100 to install a box... Sounds tempting... But 1% higher interest plus $400 higher quote seemed to be the push factor...:sian:

actually its mainly up to 2 things... dollars and sense :cheeky:

dollars = go for the cheapest deal coz you don't have to see their face after buying the bike if you don't want to. installments can send by post, servicing go look for better mechanics :p

sense = see which fella you want to let earn your $$$, pay a bit more for the service and at least feel shiok spending the $$$ :angel:

but remember to find out all the relevant costs to arrive at the real price:

+ principal & interests (% x no. of years)

+ machine price

+ COE

+ registration

+ admin/agreement fees

+ IU (most shops include but BP charge separately)

+ GST

+ insurance

+ road tax (new bikes only 6 months)

+ penalties (e.g. early settlement, late payment, etc)

+ accessories (e.g. top box, electric horn, alarm, etc)

+ freebies (e.g. helmet, rain coat, bike cover, etc.)

+ any other costs

i went to ah lee because i was darn fed up with BP's sales attitude and the add this add that strategy :angry:

but have to say their price is still lowest, cheaper than ah lee by about $200 after adding everything up... unless there're more hidden costs:faint:

hope this is useful to help you decide :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Time will tell when you monitor te fuel consumption.

Cos when I read the review, many claimed better consumption rate.

Where is the unit secured?

Very secured, ie any rattling sound when moving?

Any drilling or holes for the cabling?

the unit is secured inside the left rear panel next to the battery (not visible or inside the underseat storage). elson was very nice, he didn't drill any holes but use the existing gaps available and i was happy with that... no rattling sound when moving :thumb: if you also going for kukup trip this sunday, can take a look :p

yup, time will tell and i'll be monitoring both shiok factor and FC closely. so far so good over the ~70km i covered today, felt smoother riding & acceleration... don't think got more torque but felt there's less vibrations when opening throttle to set off or speed up.

apart from the shiok factor, i'm hoping to breakeven in 46.5 weeks, assuming can achieve 2km/L inprovement in FC

avg mileage per week = 400km

current avg FC = 23km/L ... approx. 17.39L per week

targeted avg FC = 25km/L ... approx. 16.0L per week

savings per week = 1.39L x $2.086 = $2.89

breakeven no. of weeks = $134 / 2.89 = approx. 46.5 weeks

better still if can get 3km/L improvement... breakeven in 32 weeks

just hoping :cheeky:

~

Trips:

how much is e qoute? got try asking at AS phoon? i got mine there.. $12.6k

OTR with helmet, raincoat, box n cover too.. although e raincoat n helmet i dun like.. never used.. bought at jan 08 . interest is 5% ..

hey guys what are the tires available for SW?

pilot sport

hood

dunlop?

any good recommendation?

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

actually its mainly up to 2 things... dollars and sense :cheeky:

dollars = go for the cheapest deal coz you don't have to see their face after buying the bike if you don't want to. installments can send by post, servicing go look for better mechanics :p

sense = see which fella you want to let earn your $$$, pay a bit more for the service and at least feel shiok spending the $$$ :angel:

but remember to find out all the relevant costs to arrive at the real price:

+ principal & interests (% x no. of years)

+ machine price

+ COE

+ registration

+ admin/agreement fees

+ IU (most shops include but BP charge separately)

+ GST

+ insurance

+ road tax (new bikes only 6 months)

+ penalties (e.g. early settlement, late payment, etc)

+ accessories (e.g. top box, electric horn, alarm, etc)

+ freebies (e.g. helmet, rain coat, bike cover, etc.)

+ any other costs

i went to ah lee because i was darn fed up with BP's sales attitude and the add this add that strategy :angry:

but have to say their price is still lowest, cheaper than ah lee by about $200 after adding everything up... unless there're more hidden costs:faint:

hope this is useful to help you decide :cheeky:

Oh, I didn't know B.P got "add this add that" attitudes, what exactly do they add in some more?... I'll go and confirm it with the people there then... Btw, regarding "cheaper than ah lee by about $200 after adding everything up", do you mean excluding accessories or including? I'm actually going for cost efficient, so if can cheap and good the better...:cheeky:

I would like to know how much will each items roughly cost if I want to put hazard light, top box and alarm... :sian:

how much is e qoute? got try asking at AS phoon? i got mine there.. $12.6k

OTR with helmet, raincoat, box n cover too.. although e raincoat n helmet i dun like.. never used.. bought at jan 08 . interest is 5% ..

I was quoted $12800 due to my age for insurance (26yrs)...

He giving me helmet, cover and raincoat... The box need additional $100 to install... A "matt black" monokey box...

anyone winger encounter strange sound (grinning sound) while moving off?

Tink its common.... Mine also have.... From the transmission area.

the sound.. according to "botak" say its cos wear and tear. The dust and broken down particle stuck inside nowhere to go. Unless u can ALWAYS open up the cover and clean. If not ... jus ride it off. The sound will always be intermitten be it u like it or not. A generic trait of Swingers. Jus like S4 when the chain is dry.... U will know a S4 zoom by when u hear one.....

No worries man, i also encounter this problem... 3 months old only..

Its not a slip.... When a slip happens, u can really feel the jerk...

In this case u wun feel the jerk at all... Sound only. I believe its all the dust etc being trapped at the inner surface of the clutch bell resulting the clutch shoe not being able to get a good grip of the bell at the initial moving off.

that sound also came to my 2+ month old bluewing liow :weep:

~

Trips:

Oh, I didn't know B.P got "add this add that" attitudes, what exactly do they add in some more?... I'll go and confirm it with the people there then... Btw, regarding "cheaper than ah lee by about $200 after adding everything up", do you mean excluding accessories or including? I'm actually going for cost efficient, so if can cheap and good the better...:cheeky:

I would like to know how much will each items roughly cost if I want to put hazard light, top box and alarm... :sian:

see pages 52-54... for some prices n riders' views/opinions on BP

read them for info n knowledge... dun quote anyone hor. if shops read from the forum, so be it but not nice to pull other bikers down water 下水 :shades:

"apple to apple" standard applies... i.e. if shop A's price include free box/helmet, only make sense to compare bike prices when same box fitted and helmet value for another shop :cool:

top box... range from $50+ to >$300 depending on make/model. i fitted givi simply 45L matt/no brake light for $120, a hepco & becker could easily cost 3x more

hazard light... range from $5 to >$40 depending on type of switch used and how/where it is fitted. fitting switch into front panel or plastic covering handlebar looks best but will cost more coz need to drill/cut hole and run wires inside

alarm... range from $25 to >$300 depending on make/model and fitting cost. cheapest is disc lock alarm ($25 from LAB, ~$100+ for a xena), then 1-way 2-way alarms with various functions like shock sensor, remote start, immobiliser, perimeter sensor, tilt sensor, silent alert, siren/light alert, etc. but note that many mechs i spoke to all advise not to fix remote start saying that it may damage bike's CDI

~

Trips:

In short.....

Many reviews shows end customer prefer to deal with L rather than B...... so ... u do the math..... slight diff in price... in the long run.. $200 diff in overall cost will NOT make a big diff to ur installment......

but this $200 will make ur heart and mind happier....

trust me... been there done that...

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

$200 can buy KBC TK8 FF plus arai rain-gear woh :angel:

go geylang also can do many many things http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Others/others-171.GIF

~

Trips:

$200 can buy KBC TK8 FF plus arai rain-gear woh :angel:

go geylang also can do many many things http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Others/others-171.GIF

hahah

you and your financial aspect...

lol..

guys any nice tires to intro??

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

Wei.... scooby...... u really damn CALCULATIVE LOR...

Mai Geh Gao la.. muahahahhahaha

200...... buy a cheap handphone can.... Change a pair of tires.....

KBC helmet ah.. i give it a go......

Can get SIDI gortex boots though......

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

guys any nice tires to intro??

bigcow's post below answered your question...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=3778022&postcount=2472

~

Trips:

Wei.... scooby...... u really damn CALCULATIVE LOR...

Mai Geh Gao la.. muahahahhahaha

200...... buy a cheap handphone can.... Change a pair of tires.....

KBC helmet ah.. i give it a go......

Can get SIDI gortex boots though......

bo pian... bo lui lang is like dat one lah

everything going up except salary... furthermore govt say expect 6+% inflation, price of rice increasing faster than petrol :giddy:

~

Trips:

see pages 52-54... for some prices n riders' views/opinions on BP

read them for info n knowledge... dun quote anyone hor. if shops read from the forum, so be it but not nice to pull other bikers down water 下水 :shades:

"apple to apple" standard applies... i.e. if shop A's price include free box/helmet, only make sense to compare bike prices when same box fitted and helmet value for another shop :cool:

top box... range from $50+ to >$300 depending on make/model. i fitted givi simply 45L matt/no brake light for $120, a hepco & becker could easily cost 3x more

hazard light... range from $5 to >$40 depending on type of switch used and how/where it is fitted. fitting switch into front panel or plastic covering handlebar looks best but will cost more coz need to drill/cut hole and run wires inside

alarm... range from $25 to >$300 depending on make/model and fitting cost. cheapest is disc lock alarm ($25 from LAB, ~$100+ for a xena), then 1-way 2-way alarms with various functions like shock sensor, remote start, immobiliser, perimeter sensor, tilt sensor, silent alert, siren/light alert, etc. but note that many mechs i spoke to all advise not to fix remote start saying that it may damage bike's CDI

Wah... U sound so like my company's financial controller. Everytime reject my quotations saying its not Apple to Apple comparison. :giddy:

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400

hi there is one or two person using the feelfree tires right?

how is it??

You so fast want to change tyres?

I oso itching cos my rear tyre got one hole (patched liao).

So I'll wait & see the result of your research.

hi there is one or two person using the feelfree tires right?

how is it??

Why are people who ride motorcycles called bikers and people who ride bikes called cyclists?