When you buy a qualifying Windows Vista Capable PC between October 26, 2006 and March 15, 2007, you may be eligible for an Express Upgrade to Windows Vista.

Anyone managed to get the upgrade yet?

The upgrade site for toshiba still not up yet... :sian:

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getr...essupgrade.mspx

• Replies 82

Hey is the software officially launch in Singapore I'm still using the beta on my PC, alot of programme are still not compatible with the OS. :giddy:

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/719/my1sthondamatchez0.jpg

I'm curious to know whether anybody here have survived Vista...

(...and it's drawbacks)

For me, I'm trying to bear with it... :D It's quite an improvement to XP despite having so many incompatibilities.

heard vista is very resource taxing.izzit true?

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

2006-2007 CB400 PB1 FN18XXB

2007-2010 CITI ACE110 FZ38XXZ

http://hometown-art.aol.com/htp/clipart/entertainment_and_arts/Looney32Tunes/source/porky2.gif

Vista not just take up your harddisk space they are taxing on your processor as well, thats why U need a high end PC to run Vista (its graphic intense).

I'm abit worry whether should I buy a full version of the Vista or the Upgrade Pack as I don't want to go thru the trouble to do patch work for my external hardware such as graphic card & sound card. :giddy:

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/719/my1sthondamatchez0.jpg
Originally posted by CivicR@March 12, 2007 07:30 pm

Vista not just take up your harddisk space they are taxing on your processor as well, thats why U need a high end PC to run Vista (its graphic intense).

I'm abit worry whether should I buy a full version of the Vista or the Upgrade Pack as I don't want to go thru the trouble to do patch work for my external hardware such as graphic card & sound card. :giddy:

Actually, the "graphics intensive" part of Vista is handled by a high-end or supported graphics card. If you don't have such a graphics card, it shuts itself off and you're stuck with the default plain theme.

But I have to agree with the amount of hard disk space it eats up. 8+ GB, siao...

Go for your notebook manufacturer's upgrade pack if possible. Simplifies everything. Elsewise, use their website's Support section to grab whatever Vista drivers you need for your machine.

decided not to get the "free" express upgrade.

$100+ handling fee for an upgrade to vista home basic. what a turn off.. stick to my XP pro better.

guess i will only use vista aft i got my job bah.which is 1yr later(hopefully)

got $ to buy good good pc

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

http://hometown-art.aol.com/htp/clipart/entertainment_and_arts/Looney32Tunes/source/porky2.gif

Heard from IBM's lenovo's sales team say we can pay 23USD (handling fee) to microsoft to upgrade our new XP pro to vista business.

Wat exactly is Vista's main drawback? Izzit memory consuming? Several incompatibilities?

I thinking whether to make my future laptop Vista OS or just plain XP pro will do ..

Originally posted by -sOnG-@March 14, 2007 03:33 pm

Heard from IBM's lenovo's sales team say we can pay 23USD (handling fee) to microsoft to upgrade our new XP pro to vista business.

Wat exactly is Vista's main drawback? Izzit memory consuming? Several incompatibilities?

I thinking whether to make my future laptop Vista OS or just plain XP pro will do ..

lenovo oso not all model can get the upgrade to vista....

but still its very cheap la... u get the vista upg FPP oso need 300+

2004 : TA200

2005 : NSR150 , x1

2007 : PGM IV

2008 : Fino

Originally posted by janlexxx@March 14, 2007 05:44 pm

lenovo oso not all model can get the upgrade to vista....

but still its very cheap la... u get the vista upg FPP oso need 300+

thnx for the inputs ..

guess that meanwhile i wait awhile n research more b4 deciding on upgrade to vista ..

The prospect of several prgrams incompatibility is scaring me ..

Honestly, why get Vista when XP works perfectly? You need to have minimum 1GB ram to use the Aero interface and your ram usage on bootup is huge.

After using it in the beta phase for a couple of months, I cannot find any compelling reason to upgrade. At that time I did have some programs that couldn't work including Zonealarm.. not sure whether they've fixed it.

Just call me Eno.

8 Sep 2004 - ??? : Honda Phantom TA200

4 Oct 2005 - Feb 2006 : Honda FireBlade CBR400RR

Drivers and bikers look at the world from different angles. Don't believe? Just compare them in a corner...

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you. - Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear)

wat actually makes vista better than XP?as in how much improvement?

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

orh din noe tat.guess i m still very ignorant of OS.heh

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

Originally posted by Me_No_Money@March 15, 2007 09:44 am

wat actually makes vista better than XP?as in how much improvement?

Vista's more of eye-candy (see-thru opacity, nice design), extra programs (eg. Movie Maker HD, Photo Gallery), and some thoughtful tools of convenience added onto it (Windows Search, for eg.) .

IMO, the company is simply gearing people to try the next-best-operating-system that looks like the classy Apple's Mac OS X. But they're forgetting that a lot of people have lousy systems, crappy graphic cards/old on-board Intel graphic chips, and insufficient RAM.

I tried installing Vista on my 2 year old Acer notebook...the whole darn display got cut off at the bottom :giddy:

then no point getting vista.

getting vista = powerful pc = $$$$$

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

Dudes.. remember the chaos everyone went into when winME was launched? Pui Chao Nuar right?? Less than a couple of years on the market, the support died off and we soon heard no news of it. (Nvm, most of us knew it was a flop) Then came WinXP. the rest might have tot.. NahBei... that cbzz $gaytes better wash his arse clean b4 throwing another 'high human dependency' OS into the market. What we got?? As far as concern, I did not really encounter much of the setbacks except for a few hardware drivers compatibility issues in the beginning. But thankfully, most of the programs worked fine on xp which used to run on win98 / NT. Affected device drivers were readily for download across manufacturer's websites in no time after the launch, and with the availability of sp1 and 2, much of the problems were being rectified. But look what happen now?? Windows Vista?? KNNBCCB!! I swear to God... dun let me f*cking see that cb Gaytes anywhere in spore. Lim Peh sure Tng Kor hor yi kua lan jiao smile. Spent $$ bought original licensed copy(packaging swee swee one with DVD some more). Go home happily install on my PC (p4 3.2HT 1 gb Ram 320gb HDD 256mb geforce fx5200mb VGA) OK, i know my pc not some high end, but sure beats the minimal specs req for a vista home premium. Installation procedure damn idiot proof no doubt abt it. When the whole damn thing start.....

1) Nabei... WinTV card model too old liao.. buey sai eng... knnzz then window media centre wu kana bo... small problem.... bway yao kin.. go buy one new one with vista support. Got it worked.. happy.

2) CBZZ... Bought new SEw850i handphone. KNNZ.. PC suite bway sai installed. Everytime with error. Got to alter the installer files with Orca.. finally works. Can get phone to load in all the req drivers and system can sync.. but nbzzz....

3) Vista no longer have outlook express as default email handler. It now incorporates Windows Mail as its default and the directory structure is totally diff from the conventional outlook express. So most of the hand held devices which used to sync using outlook express no longer can use on vista liao. (Though MS Outlook can be the alternative)

4) Then the most furious thing came..... I really spelt out all those vulgar words which i can thought of when i realised all those original programs which i've bought couldn't be run on vista. Adobe Acrobat Pro 7 cannot be run... pua teh kor!! Nero 7 also can't be run. What the f8ck?? These aren't old junk programs. i can't imagine what the f8ck more i will curse on that si ang moh if i were to test further on it.

I'm now a happy WinXP reverted user. To all those eager to try out vista, i shall advise you guys to hold on to your pockets for the time being. Rather spend the money go zhng your cars or bikes.

we stop halfway to get further...

Guess what? I had to suffer a little as well. Had the original setbacks that you've listed as well... old graphics card, slow or abandoned Vista support for my P4HT drivers, program incompatibilities and workarounds trying to get them to work...

I'll just wait to see the developments around this next-gen operating system. Whether it's the Windows team or major computer manufacturers like Dell, I have a bad feeling that they might be sending out hints to consumers to trash their systems that they're using and to buy new ones just to support Windows Vista.

$$$...

hello guys i have received the shipment already. i pay about $38 only using my debit card. Its Windows Vista Home Premium Express Upgrade. Now all i have to do is to buy an anti virus software that is compatible with vista cos i dont have the installer for my McAfee cos its a bundle that came with my PC. And oh i wanna buy a external hard disk to transfer all my data and do a clean install. But for the time being lots of my programme will not work for vista that i have to wait!

https://www.facebook.com/farispitbrakesII

Rare Helmets? Arai Ram3 Shoei J Force 2 -> www.farispitbrakes.wordpress.com

generally i feel the vista home premium i have installed eats up alot of memory on boot up... with a few services disabled, its using memory a little shy of 650mb... crazy ****...

anyone checked their memory usage care to update me?

I'm on Vista Biz edition, with fancy Aero shut-off and am seeing about half of my 1 gig memory being used up.

And Vista? I'd say Apple's Mac OS X is still as convenient and prettier than Vista by leaps and bounds.