Just to get some details i've been reading thru the 7 pages of infor on this but still just want some light on certain aspects of going forth with the necessary change in carreer.

Well Currently i'm a Logistics Manager for a petrochemical sole distributer not that the pay is not enticing and this is a painful move if i were to change my work path. but as much as exclaimed, working in this line is more of a passionate thing and the intangible benefits are the one that we look forth...

Just a bit of background, Being in the petrochemical line for the past 8 yrs, Safety is a frenzy where i'm from and my xprience in Safety spans 6 yrs but i'm not a registered SO as it was only a secondary role for me while i was a logistics Executive. And inclusive of the ISO auditing 1401 and 9000 i've only got the oil/petrochemical Safety Sup course frame done.

and the big question is, With all this, i guess certification is still important in this area, Hoping to start with a Nebosh Certification (given by KBA starting 26 Oct)to start off in the begining,.

Don't want to be jumping into the sea without know strength of the tides...but are the jobs availability still pervelanti ain't looking to earn big bucks in here but lookin for job satisfaction.

Any pointers??

http://images.cryptic.multiply.com/image/3/photos/3/600x600/15.JPGMy Rides :

Black XJ-6 Diversion *Elisa* ( Jan 12' - Current )

Galaxy Blue FJR1300A ABS *Dorothy* ( Jul 07' - Dec 2011 )

Black Super 4 V Tech II *Jessica* ( Apr 05' - Jul 07' )

Yz designed DTWR 200 *Jennifer* ( Feb 04' - Dec 2009 )

Subaru Justy / White WR2 *REVOKED* (Feb 98' till Mar 00')

• Replies 2.3k

Hello guys am searching for SS job any one got lobang?

I have only BCSS,Manhole supervisor,Oil/Petrochemical Safety Supervisor, Manholes Safety Assessor.

Experience in Marine Constructions/ Building & Civil Structure.

Last employer was Penta Ocean ;)

Hello bro,

Can list out when you took the courses?

Also why you left Penta Ocean?

Sek Kid

Can bro. Your email?

Sex Kid

Hi, Mr kid,

Mind if I ask for a copy of your Professional Review too?

Cos I have completed the WSHO Course from Singapore Poly about 2 years back, but haven't write up on the Professional Review to submit to MOM for registering myself as a RSO.

E-mail : [email protected]

Thanks very much for your help. :)

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

Just to get some details i've been reading thru the 7 pages of infor on this but still just want some light on certain aspects of going forth with the necessary change in carreer.

Well Currently i'm a Logistics Manager for a petrochemical sole distributer not that the pay is not enticing and this is a painful move if i were to change my work path. but as much as exclaimed, working in this line is more of a passionate thing and the intangible benefits are the one that we look forth...

Just a bit of background, Being in the petrochemical line for the past 8 yrs, Safety is a frenzy where i'm from and my xprience in Safety spans 6 yrs but i'm not a registered SO as it was only a secondary role for me while i was a logistics Executive. And inclusive of the ISO auditing 1401 and 9000 i've only got the oil/petrochemical Safety Sup course frame done.

and the big question is, With all this, i guess certification is still important in this area, Hoping to start with a Nebosh Certification (given by KBA starting 26 Oct)to start off in the begining,.

Don't want to be jumping into the sea without know strength of the tides...but are the jobs availability still pervelanti ain't looking to earn big bucks in here but lookin for job satisfaction.

Any pointers??

Hello bro,

Safety job is still alot in market. Point is the pay lah. Some people expect high pay cos they hear from friend say can get high pay.

I have ppl take BCSS and OPSS in one month then call me say want to do SS job. And pay they want $3K. KNN, got so easy one meh? Ask last time what their experience, even got some work as forklift operator before.

Not look down on other job, but forklift operator pay only about $!.2K to $1.5K. Take one week BCSS and one week OPSS straight away can get $3K pay meh? Like that don't need to go university leh. KNN fresh grads some only get starting pay at $2.2K leh.

Anyway, for safety job, I think the main one is everyone safety eventually want to be WSHO. Companies in SG also will look for Safety Officer registered with MOM. To be registered, MOM requirement is SDWSH (I think degree also have). But I think Nebosh cannot get registered leh. So what course you want to take, you must think carefully.

Even local company send Safety Officer overseas look for MOM registered one.

Sex Kid

Hi, Mr kid,

Mind if I ask for a copy of your Professional Review too?

Cos I have completed the WSHO Course from Singapore Poly about 2 years back, but haven't write up on the Professional Review to submit to MOM for registering myself as a RSO.

E-mail : [email protected]

Thanks very much for your help. :)

Bro, send already. If not good, please don't laugh hor.

Sex Kid

Bro, send already. If not good, please don't laugh hor.

Sex Kid

Please... Why would I laugh??

I don't even know how to write.

That is why I haven't registered myself with MOM to be a registered WSHO yet.

Thanks very much for your help and selfless act to share.

cc : Bro Cryptic,

Nice chatting with you earlier on after lunch.

Sorry if I looked like "trying to fight for a corner of this pie" with you.

I was thinking that since I already graduated from SP with that WSHO certificate. It may be better to register myself with MOM than to let the cert go to waste.

I think it will be better if you attend the "more recognised" courses from SP or NP.

Cheers. :)

cc : Bro Cryptic,

Nice chatting with you earlier on after lunch.

Sorry if I looked like "trying to fight for a corner of this pie" with you.

I was thinking that since I already graduated from SP with that WSHO certificate. It may be better to register myself with MOM than to let the cert go to waste.

I think it will be better if you attend the "more recognised" courses from SP or NP.

Cheers. :)

Hi Bro,

I agree with you. I know ppl take Nebosh, but still work only as SS. Cannot even do SC cos no coordinator course.

I think the Nebosh course quite expensive leh, but end up like not worth unless you going to work overseas or offshore work or something like that.

Sex Kid

hey bro SEXKID..my coy looking for WSHOs...tot u might b interested...they r paying $4.8k for newly-minted WSHO....

Hello bro,

Called the number last thursday, spoke to the boss, sent my CV the same day, went for interview the next day, Company submit my CV to client yesterday, today I got the job. Pay is higher but cannot disclosed :cool:

Welly, you're the man! I'm gonna buy you a good meal. We'll be meeting up soon.:thumb:

Sex Kid

Hello bro,

Safety job is still alot in market. Point is the pay lah. Some people expect high pay cos they hear from friend say can get high pay.

I have ppl take BCSS and OPSS in one month then call me say want to do SS job. And pay they want $3K. KNN, got so easy one meh? Ask last time what their experience, even got some work as forklift operator before.

Not look down on other job, but forklift operator pay only about $!.2K to $1.5K. Take one week BCSS and one week OPSS straight away can get $3K pay meh? Like that don't need to go university leh. KNN fresh grads some only get starting pay at $2.2K leh.

Anyway, for safety job, I think the main one is everyone safety eventually want to be WSHO. Companies in SG also will look for Safety Officer registered with MOM. To be registered, MOM requirement is SDWSH (I think degree also have). But I think Nebosh cannot get registered leh. So what course you want to take, you must think carefully.

Sex Kid

Hi Bro Sex Kid,

I have got the SDWSH since Feb from SP. Intending to write in to MOM for registration.

Was hoping that you can help by emailing me your professional review as an sample. I have already pm you my email address.

Thanks alot and wishing u all the best in your new capacity as RSO.

Hi anyone, Wanted a Job as Safety officer ? My company looking for 1 currently.. PM me...

Does your company accepts someone with some little experiences who has the WSHO certificate from SP but has not registered with MOM as a RSO yet??

lolz... :cheeky:

Edited by seahmh

Hello bro,

Called the number last thursday, spoke to the boss, sent my CV the same day, went for interview the next day, Company submit my CV to client yesterday, today I got the job. Pay is higher but cannot disclosed :cool:

Welly, you're the man! I'm gonna buy you a good meal. We'll be meeting up soon.:thumb:

Sex Kid

Congrats bro...welcome aboard! To all those aspiring safety personnel, dun give up on yr dreams. Keep on going n do what u do best. If u have the opportunity to further yr studies or take up courses,go ahead n dun waste precious time. It's now or never. Dun hesistate..btw, just wana share a piece of gd news...MY APPLICATION AS WSHO HAS JUST BEEN APPROVED!!!! im fortunate the application took me less than 2 mths..but im v nervous of the journey ahead of me.**relax** *takes a deep breath*...

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

Does your company accepts someone with some little experiences who has the WSHO certificatefrom SP but has not registered with MOM as a RSO yet??

bro, go n register ASAP!!! dun waste that precious Spec Dip..it aint easy getting into that course..

Hi Bro Sex Kid,

I have got the SDWSH since Feb from SP. Intending to write in to MOM for registration.

Was hoping that you can help by emailing me your professional review as an sample. I have already pm you my email address.

Thanks alot and wishing u all the best in your new capacity as RSO.

Hi Bro,

Already email to you. Hope it is useful.

Anyway, if you have trouble preparing can let me know. I try to help but no guarantee that I write sure good.

Sex Kid

Does your company accepts someone with some little experiences who has the WSHO certificatefrom SP but has not registered with MOM as a RSO yet??

Bro, little experience in safety or little experience as a WSHO? Anyway, go and register. I'm sure no problem in getting registered as a WSHO.

Sex Kid

Congrats bro...welcome aboard! To all those aspiring safety personnel, dun give up on yr dreams. Keep on going n do what u do best. If u have the opportunity to further yr studies or take up courses,go ahead n dun waste precious time. It's now or never. Dun hesistate..btw, just wana share a piece of gd news...MY APPLICATION AS WSHO HAS JUST BEEN APPROVED!!!! im fortunate the application took me less than 2 mths..but im v nervous of the journey ahead of me.**relax** *takes a deep breath*...

Hi Bro, congrats.

Don't be afraid lah bro. How difficult can it be? Anyway, we're collegues now so if you need any help, let me know. Oops! I forgot, I'm also new, LOL!

Sex Kid

Hello Fellow bros,

Anyway, I put into attachment a draft of the professional review in doc file so that you can use as reference.

Like I said, I don't know if it is good enough, but I think it follows the MOM guidelines lah.

I also put the MOM guidelines on what to write in the professional review in pdf format.

If you want me to help check for you your review, you can email me at [email protected].

Like I say, may not be the best but I'm only trying to help fellow bros here.

Sex Kid

Professional Review of Sex Kid.doc

Guide to Preparation of Professional Review of Working Experience for Application to Register as.pdf

Edited by Sex Kid
Bro, little experience in safety or little experience as a WSHO? Anyway, go and register. I'm sure no problem in getting registered as a WSHO.

Sex Kid

Hi, Sex kid,

For me, it is little experiences as a REGISTERED WSHO.

NO experiences at all, in the shipyard and construction industries. These are the two industries which I feel that requires the most number of RSO with experiences.

I am still in and have been in the Biotech line, so only have some experiences in this field.

So I guess it will be difficult or almost impossible for me to branch into the shipyard or the construction industry.

What I am thinking is hopefully be able to move on further in the safety line in my Biotech industry. :)

Meng Hwee

Hi, Sex kid,

For me, it is little experiences as a REGISTERED WSHO.

NO experiences at all, in the shipyard and construction industries. These are the two industries which I feel that requires the most number of RSO with experiences.

I am still in and have been in the Biotech line, so only have some experiences in this field.

So I guess it will be difficult or almost impossible for me to branch into the shipyard or the construction industry.

What I am thinking is hopefully be able to move on further in the safety line in my Biotech industry. :)

Meng Hwee

Hello bro,

Every industry in general is the same in principle, as far as safety is concern. When you are in a particular industry, if there's anything you are not familiar, just read up or take whatever courses.

Prior to being in Safety 3 years ago, I am in a totally different line. So what? I'm never a technician, engineer, or whatever. So what? I've never done MRT before but when my company tasked me to handle the dismantling of the tunnel boring machine, I do it. No problem. When my company tasked me to do maintenance project in oil/petrochemical industry, I do it. No problem. When my company task me to do equipment move-in and installation works in waffer fab, I do it. No problem.

I'm sure you can also do it if you are put there, bro. If you can go thru the SDWSH, you are qualified to be a WSHO.

Just do it, bro.

Sex Kid

Edited by Sex Kid
Hello bro,

Sex Kid

Thanks sex kid, as i said, the money or remmunition is secondary for me currently it's the job enviroment and the passions that fuels the aspirations to change in this area of work.

And pertaining to Nebosh if its not as recognised, so i'll just gather the proper education from the singapore/Nee ann poly ones eh? cos perviously as my degree was not catered to Engineering i wasn't able to be accepted in this course in 2003.

i guess it's much more open now, and there are different stages.

Thanks for the information again.

Just do it, bro.

Sex Kid

Sounds very NIKE....hahahaha i guess it's really relavant...

Thanks sex kid, as i said, the money or remmunition is secondary for me currently it's the job enviroment and the passions that fuels the aspirations to change in this area of work.

And pertaining to Nebosh if its not as recognised, so i'll just gather the proper education from the singapore/Nee ann poly ones eh? cos perviously as my degree was not catered to Engineering i wasn't able to be accepted in this course in 2003.

Regarding NEBOSH, it's recognised if u work with ExxonMobil in Jurong Island. A pal of mine, a Safety Supervisor with 3 years exp is bringing home $5k after CPF...take the cert in NEBOSH if u wana go further.it'll do u gd in countries like Bahrain,Saudi Arabia etc..dun dismiss it just yet

Hi Bro,

Don't get me wrong. I not say Nebosh no good. Of course if a company compare 2 person both got everything the same but one got extra Nebosh, surely he stand better chance. Also, if you want to work overseas, (not from Singapore send overseas), then Nebosh got advantage cos the other country maybe never heard of SDWSH.

But in Singapore, or Singapore company send overseas, if they ask for WSHO, then you need SDWSH to be able to register for WSHO by MOM.

Also during my SDWSH course, got at least quarter or more, maybe half got no engineering diploma or degree. Also never work in this line. Some in sales, some in others, but still able to get into SDWSH course.

Same, when they apply. Just write letter of employment and CV. KNN, I don't think got check leh. Got one, he never submit so the poly call him and by phone he say got experience. Then go into course.

In course, during discussion, KNN, don't even know what PPE stand for (By the way, you know?). But anyway, in the end, also pass. Take assignment, change into own words, change here and change there, also can. Things don't know, just ask. Sure class will help out one lah.

Sex Kid

Regarding NEBOSH, it's recognised if u work with ExxonMobil in Jurong Island. A pal of mine, a Safety Supervisor with 3 years exp is bringing home $5k after CPF...take the cert in NEBOSH if u wana go further.it'll do u gd in countries like Bahrain,Saudi Arabia etc..dun dismiss it just yet

Bro, many people work safety always inflat their pay. That's why ogt ppl take BCSS only, call me say want to do safety supervisor.

I have done many project in ExxonMobil. In Pioneer Road, in PAC, in SCP and also in SPT, all in jurong island. I know many people safety there. Even before become WSHO, many already ask me join them in EM. Most of the people I know is WSHO. Do you know in EM, Safety Coordinators must have WSHO or diploma/degree in Engineering and also take either SOCT (last time) or SDWSH?

If Safety Supervisor take home $5K, that means coordinator take home $6K and Officer take home $8K? No way lah bro. Believe me.

Their OT also got limit. Cannot work more than 12 hrs aday, one week or one month have limit according to MOM one.

Sex Kid

Edited by Sex Kid