• Replies 50

Originally posted by wonder@February 09, 2007 02:33 am

i just sell my ktm 200 away now looking for a normal bike that is low fuel consumption and easy maintain

Seriously if u wanna consider all tat.... Wave125 is e best :thumb:

But if r asking between Daystar or Phantom better? i'll choose Phantom200 coz its HondA & many people trust HondA engines incl myself.

For DaystaR, hhmmm.... its abit difficult to find e parts n expensive to buy it fr agent CKA coz they dun carry aftermarket only original & its 150cc.... How did i know :confused: I'm NOT a proud owner of DaystaR & had few bad xperiences b4 :faint:

Well, we wish u hv more options in considering & :goodluck: in ur search

Disclaimer: Juz my 2cents worth & according to my riding xperience

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l510/OtaIrwan-EllyCinta_Iryandy/IMG_04771.jpg

"You live more in five minutes on a bike like this than some people live in a lifetime."

Burt Munro, The World's FASTEST INDIAN 1967

i will take phantom 150

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

2006-2007 CB400 PB1 FN18XXB

2007-2010 CITI ACE110 FZ38XXZ

http://hometown-art.aol.com/htp/clipart/entertainment_and_arts/Looney32Tunes/source/porky2.gif

both? hahaha..

i'd go with phantom rather than daystar. for the same reasons as most of those who have posted here.

:shades:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v369/princessafizah/bunny.jpg

ملاي وي٠رايدرس

becareful when you get a phantom , you tend to go modding mode lol and spend and spend and spend :p

A New Rider A New Bike A New Hope ~!

~~TA200 Phantom custom 4 ~ 2004 to 2006

A old Rider , A old Bike but still A New Hope~!

~~Dragstar 4TR custom 2006 to 2007

A forgotten Rider, An old legend, A returned Hope~!

~~VMax12 2007 to 2007

A returned Rider, Another legend, forever hope~!

~~Shadow400 2009 ...

Originally posted by wonder@February 09, 2007 02:33 am

i just sell my ktm 200 away now looking for a normal bike that is low fuel consumption and easy maintain

Tackling your question, I guess a Baja Pulsar may suit your needs better in view of fuel consumption. If you intention is to narrow down the selection of motorbike model between a Daelim Daystar and Honda Phantom, there are couple of past threads with numerous discussions which, you could perform a simple search on them.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Originally posted by UnIoNbIkEz@February 09, 2007 02:47 am

Seriously if u wanna consider all tat.... Wave125 is e best :thumb:

But if r asking between Daystar or Phantom better? i'll choose Phantom200 coz its HondA & many people trust HondA engines incl myself.

For DaystaR, hhmmm.... its abit difficult to find e parts n expensive to buy it fr agent CKA coz they dun carry aftermarket only original & its 150cc.... How did i know :confused: I'm NOT a proud owner of DaystaR & had few bad xperiences b4 :faint:

Well, we wish u hv more options in considering & :goodluck: in ur search

Disclaimer: Juz my 2cents worth & according to my riding xperience

Sorry. I can’t help it but, feel that I need to voice out some correction here. Daelim engine is a collaboration research with the Honda Japan engineers. Hope people can finally get this right as I have explained numerous times for years in this forum. Sigh*

In view of Honda Phantom’s engine, it was purely research and manufactured by Honda Thailand engineers. Hope I have not generated any dislike here as I have nothing against Honda since I am just a neutral party when coming to all this engine development.

Aftermarket parts...why would an agent be carrying aftermarket parts? If you are speculating about accessories, it would be more understandable. Otherwise, it is not a general practice for an agent to carry aftermarket parts and you don’t see Boon Siew housing that, do you?

In terms of pricing, you got to look deeper between parts coming from country of manufacturing process (e.g. Korea and Thailand) the quality and workmanship coming from is different apart.

I really share your disappointment of your bad experiences with the Daelim Daystar but, we can’t just pull down a particular model down into the drain based on a single or few feedbacks from the owners, do we? It could just bottle down to the facts that it’s just person luck to step into a pond of puddle. However, there are still people who are riding this model on the road and the numbers is growing still but, I am not going to promote it just because I used to ride one too. As a matter of the facts, my recommendation is otherwise stated in my previous post.

I would choose the Daystar for its better handling.

control > power

How often do you see a Daelim bike involved in accident?

Although the number of number of daelim bike is maybe only 10% of phantom, but i have never heard of any serious accident on a daelim bike before?

Anyone heard of any?

Maybe its more of an 'ah pek' bike so the riders are more careful.

learning to be a better rider.

Originally posted by dreamwalk@February 09, 2007 01:02 pm

I would choose the Daystar for its better handling.

control > power

How often do you see a Daelim bike involved in accident?

Although the number of number of daelim bike is maybe only 10% of phantom, but i have never heard of any serious accident on a daelim bike before?

Anyone heard of any?

Maybe its more of an 'ah pek' bike so the riders are more careful.

with all due respect, you sure do make a lot of assumptions....

Originally posted by kiamh@February 09, 2007 01:05 pm

with all due respect, you sure do make a lot of assumptions....

I have to agree with you there kiamh! Assuming and assumption is a no no. I would say, riders for this two motorbike models would have their fair share of accident rate. In any reason, it isn’t difficult to find out which one has the higher judging from the insurance premium.

he mean customise it .. to make it look more cool .. but to me all bike can customise to make it cool .. i seen my frend daelim daystar quite cool oso .. but hear from his that the fuel consumption is like 9km/liter which i tink is way too much ...

no offend to anyone hor ... :smile:

Originally posted by nights@February 09, 2007 12:23 pm

Sorry. I can’t help it but, feel that I need to voice out some correction here. Daelim engine is a collaboration research with the Honda Japan engineers. Hope people can finally get this right as I have explained numerous times for years in this forum. Sigh*

In view of Honda Phantom’s engine, it was purely research and manufactured by Honda Thailand engineers. Hope I have not generated any dislike here as I have nothing against Honda since I am just a neutral party when coming to all this engine development.

Aftermarket parts...why would an agent be carrying aftermarket parts? If you are speculating about accessories, it would be more understandable. Otherwise, it is not a general practice for an agent to carry aftermarket parts and you don’t see Boon Siew housing that, do you?

In terms of pricing, you got to look deeper between parts coming from country of manufacturing process (e.g. Korea and Thailand) the quality and workmanship coming from is different apart.

I really share your disappointment of your bad experiences with the Daelim Daystar but, we can’t just pull down a particular model down into the drain based on a single or few feedbacks from the owners, do we? It could just bottle down to the facts that it’s just person luck to step into a pond of puddle. However, there are still people who are riding this model on the road and the numbers is growing still but, I am not going to promote it just because I used to ride one too. As a matter of the facts, my recommendation is otherwise stated in my previous post.

:clapping: :shades: :clapping:

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l510/OtaIrwan-EllyCinta_Iryandy/IMG_04771.jpg

"You live more in five minutes on a bike like this than some people live in a lifetime."

Burt Munro, The World's FASTEST INDIAN 1967

aiya...get the one you prefer better right? There's no point if we how good phantom or daystar is and in the end you get the 1 we didn't recommend...I think it all depends on luck whether you have someone reliable to test and examine the bike, because its hard to know the internal engine condition of the bikes when buying them...

People saying phantom is good or daystar is good is just like apple sellers saying apples are better, or orange sellers saying oranges are better...so it boils down to which 1 you like...

Maybe you can widen your selection to more ranges and brands of bikes and not only these 2 types...cheers...

Life is a scam, what is important now might not be important in the future...

Originally posted by edition@February 09, 2007 06:38 pm

he mean customise it .. to make it look more cool .. but to me all bike can customise to make it cool .. i seen my frend daelim daystar quite cool oso .. but hear from his that the fuel consumption is like 9km/liter which i tink is way too much ...

no offend to anyone hor ... :smile:

No offend at all edition! In fact, 9KM/L sound like a serious problem with the motorbike to anyone who is a motorbike enthusiast! I used to own a Daystar like I said previously and it runs for 800+km on highway and 600+ in city for a full tank of 17.3L however, that just bottle down to my own riding habit and style thus, may varies with the different rider but, it should not be too much of a differences.

Originally posted by hmm_@February 09, 2007 07:59 pm

aiya...get the one you prefer better right? There's no point if we how good phantom or daystar is and in the end you get the 1 we didn't recommend...I think it all depends on luck whether you have someone reliable to test and examine the bike, because its hard to know the internal engine condition of the bikes when buying them...

People saying phantom is good or daystar is good is just like apple sellers saying apples are better, or orange sellers saying oranges are better...so it boils down to which 1 you like...

Maybe you can widen your selection to more ranges and brands of bikes and not only these 2 types...cheers...

That is right! Why bottle down to two bike models? Based on his requirements, I reckon Baja Pulsar maybe the best bike in terms of owner numbers, fuel consumption, parts availability, cheap affordable price on parts and maintenance, nice styling and nimbly. Beside, what is a normal bike when all motorbike that could run without problem is normal to us! Okay, no offend on the last statement! Ha ha… Just broader your search but, if you have already decided to chose between the two, you may do a simple search in the past threads for feedbacks on both bike and chances are, you may like the Honda Phantom better.

Cheers and good luck!

Originally posted by hmm_@February 09, 2007 07:59 pm

agree.....

test ride can be help u narrow down ur choice. :smile:

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

http://hometown-art.aol.com/htp/clipart/entertainment_and_arts/Looney32Tunes/source/porky2.gif

Originally posted by nights@February 09, 2007 11:42 pm

That is right! Why bottle down to two bike models? Based on his requirements, I reckon Baja Pulsar maybe the best bike in terms of owner numbers, fuel consumption, parts availability, cheap affordable price on parts and maintenance, nice styling and nimbly. Beside, what is a normal bike when all motorbike that could run without problem is normal to us! Okay, no offend on the last statement! Ha ha… Just broader your search but, if you have already decided to chose between the two, you may do a simple search in the past threads for feedbacks on both bike and chances are, you may like the Honda Phantom better.

Cheers and good luck!

baja top in FC. :thumb:

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

Originally posted by nights@February 09, 2007 11:42 pm

Cheers and good luck!

Wah...... nights, ur information very kilat & super wan. The way u detail the reasonning and the recommendation and the pros & cons on tis thread subject very pro. Sory,mi here not to angkat u but wat u said really make sense lel.

Logic and pratical !!!!

Cheers bro. Ride Safe Be Safe Always.:angel: :angel:

Originally posted by nights@February 09, 2007 04:20 pm

I have to agree with you there kiamh! Assuming and assumption is a no no. I would say, riders for this two motorbike models would have their fair share of accident rate. In any reason, it isn’t difficult to find out which one has the higher judging from the insurance premium.

hmm sorry nights but got to correct u here.. phantoms 'enjoy' higher insurance premiums compared to daelims not coz dey possibly haf higher accident rate.. bike premiums unlike cars r not quoted based on model, but more on make.. so its 'honda' having higher insurance premium compared to 'daelim'.. haha.. reason is simple, guess u guys understand.. :cheers:

Originally posted by shadowclassic97@February 10, 2007 12:06 am

Wah...... nights, ur information very kilat & super wan. The way u detail the reasonning and the recommendation and the pros & cons on tis thread subject very pro. Sory,mi here not to angkat u but wat u said really make sense lel.

Logic and pratical !!!!

Thank you for your compliment. Just trying to help putting “wonder” into the right direction of what he really wants. Sometimes, we are just too confused in getting what we really want. Hearsay and rumors could just well get over one’s head and overrule the correct decision to be made. Anyway, please pardon me for being a busybody touching into most of the threads in here ha ha…

Originally posted by maniahk@February 10, 2007 12:17 am

hmm sorry nights but got to correct u here.. phantoms 'enjoy' higher insurance premiums compared to daelims not coz dey possibly haf higher accident rate.. bike premiums unlike cars r not quoted based on model, but more on make.. so its 'honda' having higher insurance premium compared to 'daelim'.. haha.. reason is simple, guess u guys understand.. :cheers:

No worries brother. I shared those same thoughts as you as well initially until a shop told me otherwise. I believe 2_wheeler should be the best person to step in on these insurance premiums explanation since he is dealing in this line. Either way, I could be just wrong with the premium equal to accident rate. Thanks for pointing that out.

PS: Maybe I should pull out some statistic from the system ha ha…

Why not Baja Avenger (I think). It's also a cruiser. And since (I maybe wrong) you're looking for cruisers, and Baja Pulsa has pretty good FC. By theory of assumption (yes, assumption :p), the Baja Avenger should have pretty good FC too. But don't take my word for it. Though I must say, I've tried both Phantoms and Daystars and I like the feel and look of Daystars better than Phantoms. But that's just me.

w y x m m