Female, 22 yo intending to get a bike as main transport. Advice?

hahaha...next time i got query, i will say i am 22 yr old sexy chick, not 41 yr old fatty, sure can get tons of help, got "gor gor", "father figure", etc.....lol you guys can take jokes right? sorry, cannot help it!:p

1) i am surprised how come no other lady riders come & give sisterly advice?

imho, i think a female perspective is more "relevant". i believe these ladies can relate better how they cope. it is pointless for us guys to say ladies better not ride, this will sound sexist. experienced lady riders can give a better advice on how ladies can ride. :)

LOL. Just look the amount of VIEWS, and REPLIES due to the TS being a 22 years old "LADY" . And she never replied ever since.

Internet. The power of gender.

Adventure.

• Replies 74

Riding is 100% safe if NOBODY makes mistakes. Save the environment, bikes occupy less space, burns lesser fuel. No point owning a lousy asian car where you can substitute it for a high end asian bike or average western bike :) Don't bother about ferrying passengers and extra cargo, they are a hassle anyway. LOL. Alone is better, best if you ride alone....

Ride safely bros....

5 Oct 2005 - Jun 2007(SP) FS6059X

18 Jun 2007 - 26 Nov 2007 -> CBR400, L model problematic FJ532*S

26 Nov 2007 - 12 Nov 2011 -> TA200, FV2X2G

12 Nov 2011 - 12 Nov 2012 -> SYM GTS200, FZ99*0D

29 Nov 2012 - 13 July 2015 -> KIA Rio HB 1.4M, SFY*

13 Jul 2015 - 28 Apr 2018 -> Kia Cerato V2 SKT*

28 Apr 2018 till current -> Hyundai Elentra S_trim SLZ*

LOL. Just look the amount of VIEWS, and REPLIES due to the TS being a 22 years old "LADY" . And she never replied ever since.

Hahaha.... Bro, agreed Lei!!!! Lol

Hi everyone! I have actually been readimg every post since the day i started this topic. It is indeed interesting to see SOOOOOO MANY REPLIES!

I realised that i didnt include something very important when i described my situation... I am the only child and my parents are already over 60. So if i really start riding, i feel like im gambling my parents' future just for the sake of my convenience.

So yes. I will stick on with the mundane life of squeezing in the train everyday. Maybe next time, when i do not have to account for anyone, i will take up biking, get my favourite bike and go on road trips to thailand! :cool:

Till then.....................

Hi everyone! I have actually been readimg every post since the day i started this topic. It is indeed interesting to see SOOOOOO MANY REPLIES!

I realised that i didnt include something very important when i described my situation... I am the only child and my parents are already over 60. So if i really start riding, i feel like im gambling my parents' future just for the sake of my convenience.

So yes. I will stick on with the mundane life of squeezing in the train everyday. Maybe next time, when i do not have to account for anyone, i will take up biking, get my favourite bike and go on road trips to thailand! :cool:

Till then.....................

If want go Thailand, try to find a group of people u can trust your life with... And go with them, in case something really happens... Because I know that **** can happen at any time and at anywhere... Experienced it myself quite a few times already...

TS has finally decided. Close thread and move on.

Aprilia Extrema 125

CBR 400 RN

Gas Gas EC250R

DUCATI MONSTER 900

VARADERO XLV1000

HAYABUSA 1300R

everybody falls some time; it is how fast you get up

TS has finally decided. Close thread and move on.

Yeah! Finally mentioned CLOSE!!!

just ride safe and dont rush. lane splitting is a risk, getting on the road is a risk. It's just how much risk you are willing to put on yourself. You may have years of riding experience and lane split without accidents, but all it takes is that one time you misjudged a situation or someone else is not being careful, and byebye.

i tend to ride my bike as if i'm a car... i hog the middle of the lane. I only lane split at traffic lights and when cars have come to a stop. lolol chicken **** rider here.. not garang like the rest.. but i feel safer.

Good luck! I hope you will change your mind one day...

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Got only 1 thing to say, and this applies to anyone who has doubts about taking up riding.

- If, on your first few lessons, you don't feel comfortable or good about riding, or you suddenly you realize you're scared.... give it up. Walk away.

Nobody wants to add another potential statistic to the toll...

Got only 1 thing to say, and this applies to anyone who has doubts about taking up riding.

- If, on your first few lessons, you don't feel comfortable or good about riding, or you suddenly you realize you're scared.... give it up. Walk away.

Nobody wants to add another potential statistic to the toll...

I agree with this. When i was taking my Class 2, i was like, "This crap is overpowered. Open throttle a bit and feel like wanna wheelie liao. Its like the bike keep wanting to go fast. My slow speed control sucks. I will never need this kinda power on Singapore roads." Seriously, i think 2A is more than enough on SG roads la.

recommend a brand new 2 stroker (aprilia rs125 or ktm200) for your first bike. u'll be hooked after that. Fun X 2 but risk X 2 too haha.

miss those days on a tip top rxz and new sp 150.

Hi, back to the origin of the topic which is cost & safety. Not about which bike to buy or ride.

Cost is of course much lower than a car.

Given that one is going to ride a 2B commuter bike, the running cost is very low compared to a car or a much larger capacity bike. Let's not talk about parts and stuff here. In general terms.

No one is going to modify a commuter bike when the only purpose is to get from A to B.

Safety.

It's a fact that motorcycling has a much higher inherent risk than driving, as 'proven' (for the lack of a better word) by the road accidents statistics from the Traffic Police.

When you are dead, you are dead. No point arguing who is right or wrong, or that the driving skills and attitudes nowadays are crap.

What everyone can do is to ride safely and don the right gear.

Just saw yesterday (sunday) 1230 pm near bukit timah expressway at the exit, a motorcyclist on the road. Went home and saw the news and it was a 21 yrs old . Oh god, not even half my age. I hope my two boys will not take up riding

I'm not going to say whether TS should ride or not. It's up to her. But here are some of the facts:

Regarding crash alr not pretty:

If you commit to wearing full face all the time, your face will be fine. But if you wear full face, you can't wear makeup!

Your face will be covered with black road dust everyday. Dunno how good this is for the skin, I suspect not very good.

Even if you wear jeans, your legs will probably have scars. I dont know how to avoid this, wear armor pants perhaps (but I dont know anyone who does this daily).

Hand will have scar if you don't wear gloves. The scar can be quite big and permanent.

Elbow probably have scar also even if you wear long sleeve blouse.

If you like your feet, you will probably want to wear riding boots or shoes that wont fly off in a crash at least. As the lower half of the body is usually most seriously injured from my experience. That means no more pretty ballerina flats, slippers and heels. And hard to dress up when you need to go for formal outing. Probably have to leave the bike at home.

Even if you usually wear all safety gear, you can crash anytime, even if you are just going around the corner to buy a can of beans and you decide just a helmet will do since its less than 1km. Not saying that you have to gear up everytime (again, I dont know anyone who does) but just that if suey suey this happens, you will be stuck with the scars. If you can accept that, then ok.

If you like big handbag, probably may have nowhere to store your handbag so you have to think of your box size when you shop for handbag.

This one really depends on your dress sense and way of dressing lah.

You will also have to tahan ppl staring at you all the time when you on bike. Sometimes it is ok but other times it is quite annoying and irritating.

All bikers get into accidents.

Recently I was waiting at a traffic light, the car behind brakes failed and banged into my behind. Luckily it was akin to a stationary drop only and the car admitted he's in the wrong.

So sometimes it's really really not your fault no matter how careful or evasive you are.

Whether you get out of the accident fine or not depends on your luck and karma la.

So far I am still good after 6 years, average 4 accidents alr (not counting offroad and stationary drop). Haven't broken any bones.

But we can't be complacent as riding is dangerous. I know a few ppl who passed away alr. One of my friends stomach got run over by a lorry when he fell off the bike.

And pls at least buy a good medical insurance so you wont be stuck with so much hospital bills.

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

I'm accident free so far with car and bike license, but thats also partly because I only passed my bike 1 and half years ago.

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

i have a friend whose sister quited riding bcos she had too many close calls and she said lady rider naturally get bullied on the road. I don't know exactly how credible it is but if you wish to ride then do it. Its the mentality of the rider that matters. As for me, i've learned all the tell tale signs of dangers on the road within 3 monthson the road. Most important is to be aware of your surroundings. Hope you'll enjoy the joys of riding :)

I'm accident free so far with car and bike license, but thats also partly because I only passed my bike 1 and half years ago.

Dun say such things. No good.

For beginners, ST Runner would be a great bike to own...even for seasoned riders.

It's not heavy, great pickup, nimble & powerful enough for overtaking vehicles.

The 14" thick tyres ensure for good traction and road stability.

Yr feet will still remain dry while travelling over wet roads.

Lastly, it has an underseat storage that can keep one helmet.

The only con is higher cost of maintenance but u will find it enjoyable & worthwhile to own this bike.