• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

anyone use gear oil for your sp or any 2 stroke bikes?

any difference over 4t EO?

The mech recommended to me by prev owner used gear oil. Castrol Manual GL4. Problem is that oil is heavy duty oil meant for heavy vehicles! Caused me a lot of problems cos clutch plates got stuck. Whole clutch changed by TSK.

There is gear oil made for 2 stroke bikes - Motul Transoil Expert, Can get at X performance. The other one is Elf Moto Gear Oil 2t from TSK. Ive only tried moto gear only. These oils are semi synthetic. I still personally prefer Elf Moto 4 Tech (fully synthetic) over Moto Gear. Gear shifting feels smoother & oil lasts longer. But a bit more ex la. Moto gear abt Rm64.

Other 4t oils which ive tried is Motul 7100 sgd$26. This 1 also quite good. Planet have. Castrol power 1 racing 4t not bad but not as lasting but pricewise quite cheap sgd$18.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

gearoil not so easy to find in sg, some shops have but i prefer to buy and DIY change.

motul 7100 is good and smooth, but my brother said no need get such a good oil for 2 strokes, finding 5100 semi synth but not so common

Crazybiker,

5100 can get at planet. cant remember the price but definitely cheaper then 7100. Betn $18-$22 something like that lah.

I went jb yesterday nite but didnt realise that 2t tank almost dry! Completely forgot to top up with my motul stocks. So this morning went TSK to get Elf Moto 2 Race but they dont have. Instead they gv me Elf moto 2 tech. Fully synthetic ester based. Rm69. Also very good! Acceleration & high rev running very smooth. Also seems to feel smoother then motul.

Has anyone ever experienced the 2t oil light on speedo there come on? I havent yet. But there was once i noticed my bike very little smoke. I chkd tank, looked empty. I topped up total 1.5l of motul. I dont kno how much more 2t there is once the tank looks empty till the light comes on, but i dun think i wanna find out either!

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Crazybiker,

5100 can get at planet. cant remember the price but definitely cheaper then 7100. Betn $18-$22 something like that lah.

I went jb yesterday nite but didnt realise that 2t tank almost dry! Completely forgot to top up with my motul stocks. So this morning went TSK to get Elf Moto 2 Race but they dont have. Instead they gv me Elf moto 2 tech. Fully synthetic ester based. Rm69. Also very good! Acceleration & high rev running very smooth. Also seems to feel smoother then motul.

Has anyone ever experienced the 2t oil light on speedo there come on? I havent yet. But there was once i noticed my bike very little smoke. I chkd tank, looked empty. I topped up total 1.5l of motul. I dont kno how much more 2t there is once the tank looks empty till the light comes on, but i dun think i wanna find out either!

When 2T oil level is low,

the 2T light may flicker when riding on a slope or during sudden acceleration or deceleration.

& 2T light remain on when 2T oil level is extremely low.....

Tried a handful of brand and decided to stick with Belray Si-7 (2t) and Motul 7100 (4t).:cheer:

2001 HONDA NSR150SP FT97xxU 02 Apr 2016 to ~

1991 HONDA CBR400RR L FL35xxT 15 Dec 2017 to ~

Crazybiker,

the tank holds 1 litre or 1.2, how come you can add 1.5??

for me when it gets low and i accelerate hard then the light will flash. after that i will ride less aggressively and go home check, just poured in my first bottle of motul 510 today. it smells simliar to 710 and it also green colour, but has a bluish tint. but it more watery than 710. will give review soon.

and if your light not on but tank empty then your sensor or wiring might be spoiled which is very dangerous.

and does anyone know the headlight and tail light socket/bulb size?? the signal light looks like a t10, because i want to upgrade my lights to LED. i see on carousell some say headlight is p15d or h6m. but i cant seem to get the socket or headlight off to check.

for me when it gets low and i accelerate hard then the light will flash. after that i will ride less aggressively and go home check, just poured in my first bottle of motul 510 today. it smells simliar to 710 and it also green colour, but has a bluish tint. but it more watery than 710. will give review soon.

and if your light not on but tank empty then your sensor or wiring might be spoiled which is very dangerous.

and does anyone know the headlight and tail light socket/bulb size?? the signal light looks like a t10, because i want to upgrade my lights to LED. i see on carousell some say headlight is p15d or h6m. but i cant seem to get the socket or headlight off to check.

If your hand is small enough, maybe can squeeze behind the meter. Remove the rubber cover, push inwards, turn and it will pop out. For me i just disconnect speedo, rpm cable and remove the meter. More room to work with. On a side note, incompatible lights will melt the headlight.

2001 HONDA NSR150SP FT97xxU 02 Apr 2016 to ~

1991 HONDA CBR400RR L FL35xxT 15 Dec 2017 to ~

If your hand is small enough, maybe can squeeze behind the meter. Remove the rubber cover, push inwards, turn and it will pop out. For me i just disconnect speedo, rpm cable and remove the meter. More room to work with. On a side note, incompatible lights will melt the headlight.

i can access the left side, remove rubber cover and push and turn the socket, but it doesnt seem to come out. maybe not pushing enough or it's stuck

is removing the meter hard or time consuming? ill try that.

light needs to be max 35w and 12 volt, but i need to know the socket type :help:

for the tail light can we just unscrew to back cover and lens or need to remove side fairing? because the manual says need to remove right tail fairing to cahnge tail light bulb

and if your light not on but tank empty then your sensor or wiring might be spoiled which is very dangerous..

Dunno leh. I only kno as you say, tank abt 1.2l or so at most. But that time when i top up 1l that time i saw still hv space for more (thinking its the 200ml more). So I took 2nd pack & kept pouring until to the tank top level. Abt half pack leh. My guess is the tank is 1.2l. But from the tank onwards, all the filled tubings & the oil collector where the sensor is, is abt 300ml.

The sensor spoiled is what im most worried abt. Cos i really dunno if spoiled or not. Thats why 1 way i use is to look at my smoke. Very little means need to be very careful liao. Do 1 medium blip, still hv a fair amt of smoke means still not entirely dry yet - so ride home v conservatively to top up. I chk tank abt every 1.5 mths.

When 2T oil level is low,

the 2T light may flicker when riding on a slope or during sudden acceleration or deceleration.

& 2T light remain on when 2T oil level is extremely low.....

Noted with thanks.

Dunno leh. I only kno as you say, tank abt 1.2l or so at most. But that time when i top up 1l that time i saw still hv space for more (thinking its the 200ml more). So I took 2nd pack & kept pouring until to the tank top level. Abt half pack leh. My guess is the tank is 1.2l. But from the tank onwards, all the filled tubings & the oil collector where the sensor is, is abt 300ml.

The sensor spoiled is what im most worried abt. Cos i really dunno if spoiled or not. Thats why 1 way i use is to look at my smoke. Very little means need to be very careful liao. Do 1 medium blip, still hv a fair amt of smoke means still not entirely dry yet - so ride home v conservatively to top up. I chk tank abt every 1.5 mths.

i check every week, depends on your settings. my current setting 2 weeks need refill, going to adjust it on sat, but 1.5 months is too long. i check coolant whenever i check 2t. there was once the coolant reserve tank was empty after my ride. lucky didnt overheat. i also check my lights, horn, chain, fairing screws etc once a week. so i will check all together, usually on a friday.

I ride on average about 2000km a month. Av speed around 110 - 120. Usually top up 2t once a month. Anyways, anyone here taking class 2A ?

wah that's double of mine. taking 2a now but not gonna change bike

So far my NSR can manage about 22-25km/L. Agar agar.

Wah. I just passed my 2A on Friday. Now looking at some 2A bikes. Sadly all the new Honda bikes doesn't really have the sports factor. The cbr400r 2014 is a total disappointment in terms of horsepower if u compare to its fireblade ancestors. :(

Anyone have any suggestions on 2A bike. Cos my butt is itchy. Haha.

So far my NSR can manage about 22-25km/L. Agar agar.

Wah. I just passed my 2A on Friday. Now looking at some 2A bikes. Sadly all the new Honda bikes doesn't really have the sports factor. The cbr400r 2014 is a total disappointment in terms of horsepower if u compare to its fireblade ancestors. :(

Anyone have any suggestions on 2A bike. Cos my butt is itchy. Haha.

ever popular super four, gsr400, drz400, ktm rc390.

or the old but gold cbr400 and rvf400. but if going to upgrade to class 2 then i would rather save up and wait

ever popular super four, gsr400, drz400, ktm rc390.

or the old but gold cbr400 and rvf400. but if going to upgrade to class 2 then i would rather save up and wait

Yup. A lot of people telling me to wait for class 2. But that's really a long way to go. Butt is itchy for touring.

Did consider RC 390. But it looks quite small and I don't like its weird front. I prefer the conventional sports bike look, squarish and low fork. The rest all kinda are old bikes but are for sales at reasonable prices.

Was thinking of Ninja 400 too.

Yup. A lot of people telling me to wait for class 2. But that's really a long way to go. Butt is itchy for touring.

Did consider RC 390. But it looks quite small and I don't like its weird front. I prefer the conventional sports bike look, squarish and low fork. The rest all kinda are old bikes but are for sales at reasonable prices.

kawasaki doesnt have a big fanbase or support in sg unlike malaysia. not counting krr150.

honda cb400x is a good choice, sameas the bikes in driving centres. yamaha mt03 gaining popularity also.

a bike with coe ending soon then upgrade once you get class 2

Work all the way in the west. Stay in the east. 1 way is about 55km.

i feel u man used to work at the far west at pioneer and stay in the far eastern part..

racer sia...

touring with sport bike .... reminds me......................

all the youngster

kawasaki doesnt have a big fanbase or support in sg unlike malaysia. not counting krr150.

honda cb400x is a good choice, sameas the bikes in driving centres. yamaha mt03 gaining popularity also.

a bike with coe ending soon then upgrade once you get class 2

Yup yup. Thought of getting CB400x. Hunting mode.

i feel u man used to work at the far west at pioneer and stay in the far eastern part..

racer sia...

touring with sport bike .... reminds me......................

all the youngster

Not racer la. Just like a beautify sporty bike. ;)

Started off with NSR up till now. Just cant imagine riding non sports posture at high speed.

Crazybiker, Kenneth

Im now waiting to retake my cl2 TP 3rd attempt. Never bought a 2a bike even tho was so tempted to either get a s4 or rvf or cbr. But at the end of the day the thought of spending some $8k for a 3 yrs more coe put me off. Then the arf thing came out which further reinforced my idea to save $$ for cl2 dream bike. Still happily riding my sp. Spent so much replacing various parts which failed during my ownership + the overhaul with brand new block & piston....I think I jus want to enjoy my 'new' bike a bit longer. lol

All the best for your 2a bros!