Oh dear... U have points there.. I agree with u... Since u mention tampines league, I find it familiar.. I only know tt there got some ex old national bowler.. Mi not sure abt tt...

guy or gal?

uncle sam goh?

or jesmine ho ah?

haahaa.

its actually not the ex- nats whom scares u..

its the other uncle bowlers which can astonish u with their 200+ avg per game. ( they have been ard playing leagues for donkey yrs) so cannot play play..

another strong league competition is @ mt faber.. where all the uncles not only kill the pins, they suck dry the bookies too.. hee =)

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

• Replies 1.7k

guy or gal?

uncle sam goh?

or jesmine ho ah?

haahaa.

its actually not the ex- nats whom scares u..

its the other uncle bowlers which can astonish u with their 200+ avg per game. ( they have been ard playing leagues for donkey yrs) so cannot play play..

another strong league competition is @ mt faber.. where all the uncles not only kill the pins, they suck dry the bookies too.. hee =)

Wah lau.... How do u know abt tt ?? U been there before ah ?? At mount faber, how come got bookies ?? Oh gosh !! Oh my god !!

??

ohh.. i been there, but juz to bowl casually.. =)

uncle sam alrdy retired frm the nats 1yr+ back. n i know him personally n his life story in bowling since i was coached by him a lil 6+ yrs back.. haa.. back in jalan sultan there.

everywhere also got bookies, everywhere u see league, u see bookies. lolx.

dun worry, i m not from the nats.. haa.. hated being inside. =x

a place where no freedom is given..

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

??

ohh.. i been there, but juz to bowl casually.. =)

uncle sam alrdy retired frm the nats 1yr+ back. n i know him personally n his life story in bowling since i was coached by him a lil 6+ yrs back.. haa.. back in jalan sultan there.

everywhere also got bookies, everywhere u see league, u see bookies. lolx.

dun worry, i m not from the nats.. haa.. hated being inside. =x

a place where no freedom is given..

Yeah ya I agree with u lol... Huh ?? I thought tt jalan sultan bowling centre closed down le... My bowling team and I looked for another bowling centre after we were told tt it will be closed down. I forgot when ?? I cannot remember..

Need some tips.

I just bought 2 bowling balls; one new and the other used and they are drilled for hook bowling. However, i can't seem to hook the ball correctly, it just seems to go straight down the lane when i release.

Spoke to some ppl at the alley and was told to bowl hook style, the thumb have to release first and to "lift" the ball using the fingers. This will help in hooking the ball.

Can the pros here please help in explaining how do i go about releasing the thumb first and then "lift" with the fingers, please?

Cause i try to visualise it but can't seem to figure it out. And when i do release the thumb first, i'm afraid the ball will just drop down cause i will lose the grip on the ball without it. Thanks in advance.

Btw, i'm in for any bowling outing if i happen to be free.

Cheers!!!

ps. don't forget to go see my movie ;)

Need some tips.

I just bought 2 bowling balls; one new and the other used and they are drilled for hook bowling. However, i can't seem to hook the ball correctly, it just seems to go straight down the lane when i release.

Spoke to some ppl at the alley and was told to bowl hook style, the thumb have to release first and to "lift" the ball using the fingers. This will help in hooking the ball.

Can the pros here please help in explaining how do i go about releasing the thumb first and then "lift" with the fingers, please?

Cause i try to visualise it but can't seem to finger it out. And when i do release the thumb first, i'm afraid the ball will just drop down cause i will lose the grip on the ball without it. Thanks in advance.

Cheers!!!

Well... It is really very tough to teach u how to do that... I still do that.. I am left hooked player..

Yeah ya I agree with u lol... Huh ?? I thought tt jalan sultan bowling centre closed down le... My bowling team and I looked for another bowling centre after we were told tt it will be closed down. I forgot when ?? I cannot remember..

it was closed when i was in BMT @ tekong!!! in 2003... -.-"""

u know y?

coz my 6 balls n my dexter 6 were inside the storeroom n i cldnt book out to clear them!!!!

when i was out, the place was alrdy cleared.. :cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

had to scrimp n save for new arsenal again from tat time.. =/

Need some tips.

Cause i try to visualise it but can't seem to figure it out. And when i do release the thumb first, i'm afraid the ball will just drop down cause i will lose the grip on the ball without it. Thanks in advance.

Cheers!!!

where do u live? u usng how many lbs?

an e.g. of how the release wrks is, when u swing the ball behind n when its coming down ( timing wld be ard juz right before it passes ur sliding foot)

1stly, u do not grip the ball. u only tap the thumb hole lightly, if u scared drop, put insert tapes. ( the thumb hole is a sensitive issue, have to really meet up to teach u if u dunno wat i toking abt. the thumb juz have to be straight

2ndly, when u swing the ball down, obviously the thumb is going to exit first if u have the right thumb clearance. tat is when u do a follow thru.

a follow thru means having ur hand following the ball den lifting it up it the same swing movement until ard 11+ - 12 on the clockhand.

last thing, rmb tat ur palm be always behind the ball n facing the pins when u swinging out the ball. not facing down the floor.

try at home, using ur ball. do a lil swing den see ur palm at the area when it juz pass ur feet. this can be corrected easily at home.

Well... It is really very tough to teach u how to do that... I still do that.. I am left hooked player..

haahaa..

^5..

I'm lefty too!!!!!! =)

u uz be good in the sport..

haa

Suck it n ride!

it was closed when i was in BMT @ tekong!!! in 2003... -.-"""

u know y?

coz my 6 balls n my dexter 6 were inside the storeroom n i cldnt book out to clear them!!!!

when i was out, the place was alrdy cleared.. :cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

had to scrimp n save for new arsenal again from tat time.. =/

where do u live? u usng how many lbs?

an e.g. of how the release wrks is, when u swing the ball behind n when its coming down ( timing wld be ard juz right before it passes ur sliding foot)

1stly, u do not grip the ball. u only tap the thumb hole lightly, if u scared drop, put insert tapes. ( the thumb hole is a sensitive issue, have to really meet up to teach u if u dunno wat i toking abt. the thumb juz have to be straight

2ndly, when u swing the ball down, obviously the thumb is going to exit first if u have the right thumb clearance. tat is when u do a follow thru.

a follow thru means having ur hand following the ball den lifting it up it the same swing movement until ard 11+ - 12 on the clockhand.

last thing, rmb tat ur palm be always behind the ball n facing the pins when u swinging out the ball. not facing down the floor.

try at home, using ur ball. do a lil swing den see ur palm at the area when it juz pass ur feet. this can be corrected easily at home.

haahaa..

^5..

I'm lefty too!!!!!! =)

u uz be good in the sport..

haa

Karen here... I live in Hougang but will move to toa payah soon next yr... Wat ?? Jialat for u le... 6 bowling balls and dexter shoes !! It cost u a very big bomb !! Expensive le !! No wonder u cannot book out of camp until the place is cleared out. U lost them liao... Heart wrenching for u rite !?! I got 3 bowling balls. They weigh 9lbs, 11lbs and 13lbs.. They are 2 zone and 1 columbia... By the way, I feel that we should meet up and teach him how to do hook and other bowling tips... I am quite gd at bowling but not really at all.. U will know when u c mi playing bowling lol

haahaa

how old r u karen?

been bowling quite long?

i live in clementi, normally bowl at csc, cdans, kallang. but kallang is due to league coz the game costs $4.30 after 6 n csc only $3

-.-"""

ok la.. bought back quite a few balls until now.. currently 9 sitting in my room n lockers outside plus one replugging.. haaa =x

yea, we shld meet him personally.. =) i m not tat gd as i m few yrs back, but shld be gd enuff to guide as i personally guide a few amateurs for quite some time liaoz.. =)

Suck it n ride!

haahaa

how old r u karen?

been bowling quite long?

i live in clementi, normally bowl at csc, cdans, kallang. but kallang is due to league coz the game costs $4.30 after 6 n csc only $3

-.-"""

ok la.. bought back quite a few balls until now.. currently 9 sitting in my room n lockers outside plus one replugging.. haaa =x

yea, we shld meet him personally.. =) i m not tat gd as i m few yrs back, but shld be gd enuff to guide as i personally guide a few amateurs for quite some time liaoz.. =)

Ha.... Mi now 28yrs old.. Yes had been playing bowling for a very long time liao.. Had been playing for almost 8yrs liao... Wow u live in clementi, very far sia... U can add mi @ [email protected] in msn chat messenger. We can chat over there easily lol... Replugging ?? Wat do u mean ?? I dun understand le..

replugging means covering ur ball finger n thumb holes by putting resin

dry up, surface back the ball to shape, n drilling another 3 holes..

in layman terms, means covering up ur ball n redrilling. haahaa

Suck it n ride!

Hi thanks for offering to teach, appreciate it.

I'm staying at Jurong West.

Letme know when you are having a game and can squeeze in sometime to teach as well.

Yup the thumb part is abit confusing to grasp as in the fear of the ball just dropping and the whole process is damn fast to execute.

Btw, any recommendations of drillers to recommend. The new ball i bought, was told by someone that the span between the fingers and thumb a bit close, it should have been drilled slightly further apart. However, this ball based on the current drilling is okay for my straight shooting in converting spares so to speak, hahaha....

replugging means covering ur ball finger n thumb holes by putting resin

dry up, surface back the ball to shape, n drilling another 3 holes..

in layman terms, means covering up ur ball n redrilling. haahaa

Oh I understand liao.. I thank you for enlightening mi... I aprreciated it... I only know abt tt things but dunno wat it is called... Paisei... I learnt from u lol

Hi thanks for offering to teach, appreciate it.

I'm staying at Jurong West.

Letme know when you are having a game and can squeeze in sometime to teach as well.

Yup the thumb part is abit confusing to grasp as in the fear of the ball just dropping and the whole process is damn fast to execute.

Btw, any recommendations of drillers to recommend. The new ball i bought, was told by someone that the span between the fingers and thumb a bit close, it should have been drilled slightly further apart. However, this ball based on the current drilling is okay for my straight shooting in converting spares so to speak, hahaha....

Wa lau.. So far sia... Yes it is true that the span between finger and thumb is a bit close.. Not easy like tt cos cannot grip bowling ball properly b4 delivery of bowling ball ...

dun tink so..

most of the nats or ex nats were drivers..

haahaa..

=x

i mean almost all of them..

if not, they take cabs..

none rode in my impression..

rich fellas with a gd supporting family.

Suck it n ride!

dun tink so..

most of the nats or ex nats were drivers..

haahaa..

=x

i mean almost all of them..

if not, they take cabs..

none rode in my impression..

rich fellas with a gd supporting family.

I see I see..Anyone here used to bowl regularly at the now defunct Westside Bowl in Jurong Entertainment...trying to see if i can find some lost kakis here..:cheer:

When the game is over, the king and the pawn go into the same box. -Italian Proverb

I see I see..Anyone here used to bowl regularly at the now defunct Westside Bowl in Jurong Entertainment...trying to see if i can find some lost kakis here..:cheer:

i used to bowl alil last time b4 it closed..

i know the ex-manager there uncle billy who was my coach b4 too. =)

he personally groomed quite a few nats n my sis was one of them.

Suck it n ride!

i used to bowl alil last time b4 it closed..

i know the ex-manager there uncle billy who was my coach b4 too. =)

he personally groomed quite a few nats n my sis was one of them.

Woah wow lau....

hi guys

Just checking here, i bowled at CSC Bukit Batok - "Hilltop", yesterday. Tried to hook the ball but not very successful. Then what i did was to stand on center dot (left leg), and aim for anything between the 10-15 boards. But basically the ball just rolled straight, if there was hook it would have been minimal.

My question, releasing the ball this way, would it be termed as playing hook or straight (coming from an angle as opposed to going head-on for the center pin)? Thanks in advance.

Btw, anyone want to bowl on anyone of these days (fri or sat) in the late evenings? As for sunday anytime from around 4.30pm onwards but not too late as next day have to work, hahaha..... Location i'm fine anywhere as long as can get lane or pre-booked.

Cheers!!

Wah, suddenly got so much discussions going on...

Teaching how to hook is quite a hard thing to do. But what you can do is to take a look at some of the forums and websites online. Some of them do provide some insight on how to perform a proper release.

I'm still a beginner so i'm still learning as well. Cheers!

the tread is back...haha...guys...aniway 1 joining the comp @ cdans bukit batok on december??? aniwae im bowling tonite at 9pm at cdans... aniwan wanna join?

Plz Value Life...

Ride Safe...

http://i461.photobucket.com/albums/qq337/whoissham/IMG_0285.jpg