discovered dat my engine is leaking.after 1day nvr ride de bike saw a patch of oil beneath my bike.when checked...saw dat some parts of de engine are leaking.wat could b de prob?is it possible de gasket leak?de engine jus overhauled abt a yr ago.is wanna replace de gaskets or do anything to rectify dis prob abt how much?any shop to recommend?

• Replies 33

could be ur nut loose..try tat..my one also lose last time..did ur mech change engine oil wen ur engine is hot??

wen engine hot, and u open ur screw below..it will cause the hole to be big..so its leaking..well, i recomend u to go tampines..go to ah loo workshop..tell him its leaking ter..he will put a white tape and sumting else.. he did tat to my wave last time and my problem was solved

try tigntening a bit the screws on the side of the casing where it leaks.

c if it stops the leaks

if kenot den send to shop and spend sum money :cheeky:

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a235/royalemy/cooltext14886910.jpg

pyro...its de screw where de eo is drained out.its de other small screws at de top n front part of de engine i tink.now my engine is like covered wif oil.mayb i try wat carrot said.need to wash n den tighten de screws.hopefully can solve.cos i asked de shop n de uncle said my gasket leaking oredi.dunno true or not.

ya..mine leaked out from the screew..u see below.

see where leaking..

Originally posted by shorty@March 19, 2007 03:28 pm

pyro...its de screw where de eo is drained out.its de other small screws at de top n front part of de engine i tink.now my engine is like covered wif oil.mayb i try wat carrot said.need to wash n den tighten de screws.hopefully can solve.cos i asked de shop n de uncle said my gasket leaking oredi.dunno true or not.

My engine also last time leak. Then my trusted mechanic solve it for me. Voila. I still trust my one and only mechanic in Johor. Cheap Cheap only la......

Any problem can PM me your number. Can fix time when to go JB.

Originally posted by shorty@March 19, 2007 03:28 pm

the covers to adjust ur tap pads?

ur gasket's leaking..

just get it replaced.. few bucks only..

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

delux...seems like u got good n cheap lobang for servicing.will tel u when i'm ready to go.

gasket few bucks only?if cheap can la.hehe.i tot like 30+ or more.anyway if do full servicing they will change de gasket or not?if change den i do together.

Originally posted by shorty@March 19, 2007 07:03 pm

delux...seems like u got good n cheap lobang for servicing.will tel u when i'm ready to go.

gasket few bucks only?if cheap can la.hehe.i tot like 30+ or more.anyway if do full servicing they will change de gasket or not?if change den i do together.

that's the gasket for the tap pad covers..

not the block..

but the gasket for the block also not expensive ar..

just tell them during ur servicing that ur tap pad cover is leaking..

and ask them double check that the leakage is indeed from the tap pad cover..

that is if u dun noe how to trace back and components of ur bike..

the usual place where it will leak..

1. gasket tap pad cover.. (top/front of block)

2. the o-ring on the left side of ur engine (when ur sitting down)

rare cases

your engine oil drainage nut & thread

cause : improper steps to draining engine oil, overtightening, usage of improper tools

hope this helps dude

tap pad huh....hmm...dis is a new word i learn today.hehehe.nvr know anything abt it.n i tot only chain got o-ring.engine also got?aiyah...jialat la...anyway thanks for de useful info.mayb wil try n ask.but i scared kena cheat by de shop.later they anyhow say dis n dat leak...den change dis change dat...kena chop!

haiyaaaa, if tappet cover oni u open it out,

put sum gasket gum on it,

then screw it back

cost u less den 5 dolar to buy a gasket gum

if gasket for kapcai den cost u a loaf of gardenia bread oni,

usually kapcai tappet cover use o-ring oni, not gasket, even cheaper arr, cost u roti canai oni arr.

if gasket for big bikes, expect to pay much more lor, can buy Delifrance

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a235/royalemy/cooltext14886910.jpg

wah piang!! zorom buy spec 3 leh!!

Originally posted by pyro13@March 20, 2007 03:58 am

wah piang!! zorom buy spec 3 leh!!

U are promotin my new bike ard the threads har!

carrot...really ar?where to buy?how to do?...u do for me can?den i treat u one roti canai also.hehehe.i dunno where de tap pad is...so cant do anything abt it.

zorom...i stil dunno where leaking.no time to wash de bike yet.if look at it now seems like de whole engine is leaking.

Originally posted by CarroTT@March 19, 2007 11:22 pm

haiyaaaa, if tappet cover oni u open it out,

put sum gasket gum on it,

then screw it back

cost u less den 5 dolar to buy a gasket gum

if gasket for kapcai den cost u a loaf of gardenia bread oni,

usually kapcai tappet cover use o-ring oni, not gasket, even cheaper arr, cost u roti canai oni arr.

if gasket for big bikes, expect to pay much more lor, can buy Delifrance

correct..

for wave, it's only an o-ring for the tappet cover..

can just use gasket gum..

but if the leak is super bad..

take out the o-ring and check carefully..

most prob it's broken and needs replacement..

not ex ar.. cheap cheap..

the other o-ring i mentioned..

is the left side which u have to screw out when u need to adjust the tappet..

there's an o-ring there on the 'cap' which u screwed out..

shorty,

wave items are not ex bro..

what makes them ex are the labour charges..

but it's justifiable..

i find it more tougher to rectifier problems on my wave than my r1 and fireblade..

reason being.. small small thing have to take out lotsa plastics..

DIY ar bro..

cheaper.. and the sense of achievement is priceless..

drop by the agents..

FJT @ Rowell

Chong Aik @ Desker..

side by side only..

• 3 years later...

Does anyone know why my engine oil runs dry after 400km?

is there something on the bike that i can change? the carburator?

I have tried different types of engine oil too. they all seem to finish around 400km

Edited by wenjin

its normal for wave to eat up EO, but not after 400km. Mostly after 2500km or so. Send it for a checkup dude..