Originally posted by Mihar@Nov 6 2004, 03:24 PM

I ask my friend...He everytime go overseas one...I ask him to buy me one next time he goes overseas...Should be around this month or next month...

Once i install the jetting kit and G-Pack, i'll post here to let everyone know the results...My estimate is i should get an extra 2- 5hp...If i get the akra exhaust(with silencer removed) as well, it might be between 4-8hp extra...WIth proper tuning, maybe even more...But don't expect your Fazer to outrun an R1...:smile:

My purpose in getting these performance parts is to increase the acceleration and get better performance...As for top speed, i don't really mind coz i think the Fazer is fast enough as it is...

For everyone who hasn't tried, the Fazer1000 can reach 180mph...Tested by myself on north south highway...However, i recommend getting a steering damper as the Fazer tends to wobble a bit after 240kmh...Especially if the road condition is not that good...

wattype of damper is recommended for fz6?

no siggy at the moment

• Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

Originally posted by MC21@Nov 7 2004, 06:52 AM

wattype of damper is recommended for fz6?

Seen tis set up in UK think any brand also can :smile:

Originally posted by CKC@Nov 8 2004, 09:27 AM

Seen tis set up in UK think any brand also can :smile:

is the bracket avaiable in SG?

no siggy at the moment

Originally posted by chee_teck@Nov 1 2004, 02:09 AM

How come Bandit thread got moved from Bike Bytes to Bike Specs and Preview? And now to Naked bikes? Double standards :sian:

hehe :D

last time dun have this section.. :sweat:

no siggy at the moment

Originally posted by waiyuen@Nov 5 2004, 11:18 AM

the topic shd change to "street bike" rather then "naked bike" right?

how abt those naked fz6 riders? they can also join here mah :sweat:

no siggy at the moment

Originally posted by CKC@Nov 8 2004, 10:07 AM

Don think so, d owner post said he custom made

hm... like that have to go seng kwang n make if really wan to put damper

no siggy at the moment

Any damper would do well...Depends on your budget really...

For me, i bought Ohlins steering damper...It's a kit and comes together with the bracket...Cost me $750/-...I consider it a good investment....

There's also Hyperpro which is selling at Motorworld...But for Fazer1000, it costs like $800 and above...Apparently i was told that the mounting brackets costs more than the damper itself...

For budget conscious bikers, a reasonably good steering damper is Daytona...However, it doesn't come with mounting brackets so you'll have to have it custom made...

Yamaha FZS1000E 2001

RIDE LIKE YOU STOLE IT

Originally posted by Mihar@Nov 8 2004, 10:36 AM

Any damper would do well...Depends on your budget really...

For me, i bought Ohlins steering damper...It's a kit and comes together with the bracket...Cost me $750/-...I consider it a good investment....

There's also Hyperpro which is selling at Motorworld...But for Fazer1000, it costs like $800 and above...Apparently i was told that the mounting brackets costs more than the damper itself...

For budget conscious bikers, a reasonably good steering damper is Daytona...However, it doesn't come with mounting brackets so you'll have to have it custom made...

ok thanks

no siggy at the moment

Hi guys

I was down at Mah at the open house, and got introduced to the Hornet 900, as they had no promotions on Yamaha bikes. I'm just curious if anyone of u considered the Hornet before getting a Fazer, and if u did, what made u decide on the Fazer.

Appreciate your thoughts, as I'll be taking my test soon and looking forward to upgrade from my CB4. Thanks!

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Originally posted by sfowner@Nov 8 2004, 04:37 PM

Hi guys

I was down at Mah at the open house, and got introduced to the Hornet 900, as they had no promotions on Yamaha bikes. I'm just curious if anyone of u considered the Hornet before getting a Fazer, and if u did, what made u decide on the Fazer.

Appreciate your thoughts, as I'll be taking my test soon and looking forward to upgrade from my CB4. Thanks!

Hi sfowner,

I seriously considered the Hornet 900, before getting the Fazer1000. I've always wanted a naked bike and I was riding a Blackbird at that time.

I did a lot of research on the net comparing the two bikes. Both bikes were using great detuned sportsbike engines. Both bikes had comfortable sitting positions. But the fully adjustable suspension and the mini fairing of the Fazer won me over. And of cos the price was the main factor too. Two years ago the price of the Fazer on the road was abt $17500 on the road and the Hornet was abt $18800. Nearly a thousand dollars difference. I don't know the price of the bikes nowadays but I believe the Hornet is still more expensive than the Fazer. I simply didn't want to loss too much money when I sell off the bikes because after a few years the resale price of both bikes should be around the same.

The good points abt the Fazer1000 when compared to the Hornet900.

Bigger fuel tank, good fuel consumption, more power and better wind protection for long distance touring.

One last thing. There is more demand for the Fazer1000 than the Hornet900. You see more Fazer1000 on the road right.

Thanks for your feedback. Definitely have the impression that Fazer is doing better in the market here than Hornets. Maybe it's spare parts too, or just the look. I like the Fazer's looks, but it's just a bit tall for me, while the Hornet seems to fit my size better (I not too tall, just 1.66 m). Other than that, it's pillion comfort and perhaps the price.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

Originally posted by sfowner@Nov 8 2004, 04:37 PM

Hi guys

from my personal point of view, i will go for fazer for the looks n speed compare to hornet900... :sweat:

no siggy at the moment

Sankar, well said~! :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

I try my friend Hornet 600 before, the rear sit really crap... The rear handle bar very difficult to use, I cant hold it in high speed, is good if u carry a mei mei (girl). Without fairing, the wing blow like crazy at 180kmh... And the maintainess fee of Hornet is higher then Fazer. Hornet need 4 bottle of 4T, if I didnt wrong, and my Fazer600 only 3 bottle (even R1 also just 3 bottle, amazing Yamaha make it cheap mantainess)

BUT if compare the siting pose, Hornet more exciting, feel more combat, corning is more sharp compare with Fazer (all compare just for 600). I think is because the weight of Fazer is longer :smile: . Fazer pose is more relax and comfortable, more suitable for touring. Top speed both almost the same, but I sure Fazer will more comfort on 200kmh. :cheeky: Because of daily use issue, so I selected Fazer. That time difficult to find Hornet 600 also. :sweat:

work is life, no a job.

Originally posted by katana777@Nov 10 2004, 01:15 AM

yamaha engine is cooler than honda, ur legs wont feel hot when riding in the hot afternoon esp when u wearing bermudas

Actually for the Fazer that's not true..The Fazer engine runs hotter than any Honda right now...Ask any Fazer owner and they'll agree with me...It runs quite hot so much so that i can even where shorts and a singlet and ride at 3am in the morning along BKE without feeling cold...Yes it's THAT hot...

But suprisingly, the engine seems to perform normally at that temperature...Dunno why leh...No matter how hot the Fazer engines get and no matter how many times the fan turns on, the engine does not overheat...

After much research, i found out that the Fazer models were designed and meant to be on sale in Europe where temperatures are colder there...But due to its immense popularity, it was decided to market the model worldwide....

But for those aspiring to be Fazer owners, fear not...Despite the engine running hot, the engine performs normally...It is designed like that

Yamaha FZS1000E 2001

RIDE LIKE YOU STOLE IT

Originally posted by Mihar@Nov 10 2004, 10:04 AM

Actually for the Fazer that's not true..The Fazer engine runs hotter than any Honda right now...Ask any Fazer owner and they'll agree with me...It runs quite hot so much so that i can even where shorts and a singlet and ride at 3am in the morning along BKE without feeling cold...Yes it's THAT hot...

But suprisingly, the engine seems to perform normally at that temperature...Dunno why leh...No matter how hot the Fazer engines get and no matter how many times the fan turns on, the engine does not overheat...

After much research, i found out that the Fazer models were designed and meant to be on sale in Europe where temperatures are colder there...But due to its immense popularity, it was decided to market the model worldwide....

But for those aspiring to be Fazer owners, fear not...Despite the engine running hot, the engine performs normally...It is designed like that

I prove this every mornign at custom jam, trust me, I just let engine on all the time, then the fan just on and off, on and off, until now, the engine never overheat. My friend in R1 and Fireblade push the bike evey morning in custom~ :smile: BUT their bike is light, is easy.

work is life, no a job.

Originally posted by waiyuen@Nov 10 2004, 10:35 AM

I prove this every mornign at custom jam, trust me, I just let engine on all the time, then the fan just on and off, on and off, until now, the engine never overheat. My friend in R1 and Fireblade push the bike evey morning in custom~ :smile: BUT their bike is light, is easy.

One of my friends riding Fazer installed a switch for the fan...Can turn on or off up to your liking...I'm also thinking of getting a switch...Anyone know where to get it done?

Yamaha FZS1000E 2001

RIDE LIKE YOU STOLE IT

Originally posted by MoNsTer^@Nov 10 2004, 11:19 AM

hey Guys,

Could you all pls advise how much does a yr old fazar6 cost now?

Will appreciate any reply.

havent see a used one Fazer6 woh....Pauche might want to sell, ask him~:smile:

work is life, no a job.

Originally posted by waiyuen@Nov 10 2004, 11:57 AM

havent see a used one Fazer6 woh....Pauche might want to sell, ask him~:smile:

who want my fazer?

04 model, efi, undertail exhaust, mileage 18k, accident free, w side boxes.

Originally posted by Mihar@Nov 10 2004, 10:04 AM

but dunno last time i ride s4 always need to open legs while riding, but not so for my current fazer6, maybe s4 was so much hotter in the 1st place

Originally posted by Pauche@Nov 10 2004, 12:17 PM

who want my fazer?

04 model, efi, undertail exhaust, mileage 18k, accident free, w side boxes.

Selling to upgrade? Fazer1?

Just checking, what's the ballpark price? Cause I'm thinking between Hornet and Fazer now, either 600 or 1 litre.

Can pm me also.